
Fact Sheet:  
California Paid Family Leave
California Paid Family Leave (PFL) provides partial wage-replacement benefits to California workers who take time 
off from work for what matters most – caring for a seriously ill family member, bonding with a new child (including 
newly fostered and adopted children), or participating in a qualifying military event.

Am I Eligible?
You may be eligible if you are:

• A part-or full-time employee who pays into to State Disability 
Insurance (noted as “CASDI” on paystubs) and have earned 
at least $300 in wages during the 12-month base period of the 
claim.

• A self-employed California worker or independent contractor 
who has contributed to the Disability Insurance Elective 
Coverage program (edd.ca.gov/disability/Self-Employed.htm).

Your eligibility isn’t affected by:

• Length of time worked at your current job.

• Citizenship and immigration status.

What does PFL Cover?
• Bonding with a new child entering the family through birth, 

adoption or foster care placement.

• Caring for a seriously ill family member (child, parent, parent-
in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered 
domestic partner). 

• Taking part in a qualifying event as a result of a family 
member’s (spouse, registered domestic partner, parent, or 
child) military deployment to a foreign country.

What is a Serious Health 
Condition for PFL? 
A serious health condition is an illness, injury, impairment, or 
physical or mental condition that requires:

• At-home or in-patient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential 
medical care facility. 

• Continuing treatment by a physician or health care practitioner.

Unless issues arise, cosmetic treatments, the common cold, 
flu, earaches, upset stomachs, minor ulcers, and non-migraine 
headaches do not qualify as a serious health condition.

What is Considered a  
Qualifying Event? 
A qualifying event is any military event or an essential need 
resulting from a family member’s deployment to a foreign country. 
For PFL, the military event does not have to occur in California. 
Qualifying events include:

• Arranging for childcare or parental care during the deployment.
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• Assisting in making legal or financial arrangements during the 
deployment.

• Attending counseling.

• Assisting the military member during rest and recuperation 
leave.

• Attending military sponsored events or ceremonies.

• Representing the military member at federal, state, or local 
events.

• Addressing issues due to the military member’s death.

Rest and recuperation leave can be done anywhere if you can 
provide the orders for your military family member showing the 
rest and recuperation leave.

How Much are PFL Benefits? 
You may receive approximately 60 to 70 percent of your 
paycheck. Your employer may allow you to use vacation, sick, 
paid time off, or other leave along with your PFL benefits for you 
to receive up to 100 percent pay. You can estimate your weekly 
benefit amount using the Disability Insurance and PFL Calculator 
(edd.ca.gov/PFL_Calculator).

Do I Have to Take the Benefits all 
at Once?
You can take PFL all at once or split the time over a 12-month 
period. Bonding leave can only be taken within the first 12 months 
of a child entering your family.

How Do I Apply?
You can apply online or by mail.

• Visit SDI Online (edd.ca.gov/SDI_Online).

• Order a Claim for Paid Family Leave Benefits (DE 2501F) form 
by mail from EDD Forms and Publications (edd.ca.gov/forms).

• Call 1-877-238-4373.

Submit your claim no later than 41 days after you begin your 
family leave. Do not file before your first day of leave.

For more information on filing a claim for bonding, caregiving, 
and military assistance, including the supporting documents you 
need to submit, visit California PFL (edd.ca.gov/PaidFamilyLeave).

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids 
and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 
Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made 
by calling 1-866-490-8879 (voice). TTY users, please call the California 
Relay Service at 711.
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