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Instructions for Reporting Wages and Contributions

For Employers Who Have Elected Unemployment and State Disability Insurance Coverage Under Section 708(a) of the
California Unemployment Insurance Code

Section 708(a) of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) (leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml) extends
Unemployment Insurance (Ul) and State Disability Insurance (SDI) coverage to an individual who is an employer. To obtain coverage,

the employer must file a written election for coverage, which becomes effective once approved by the Employment Development
Department (EDD). The employer must regularly perform services for the business (section 708[a] of the CUIC). Coverage will not be
approved if the business operates seasonally (section 704 of the CUIC).

Section 708(a) of the CUIC says, to determine unemployment benefits only, regardless of actual earnings, the highest amount of wages
that can be reported for each calendar quarter to qualify the individual to the maximum benefits is $11,674. For more information, refer
to the Unemployment Insurance Benefit Table found in A Guide to Benefits and Employment Services (DE 1275A) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/
siteassets/files/pdf_pub_ctr/de1275a.pdf).

Reportable Wages for Unemployment

We determine the maximum unemployment benefits a claimant receives based on reported wages. Since employers do not receive
wages, the Legislature has provided a basis for collecting wage information and contributions, and for paying benefits under elective
coverage. Compensation is reported based upon services performed.

If services are performed during the calendar quarter, all income or wages earned must be reported. For unemployment wages only, if
the individual (employer) did not perform any services during the entire or part of a quarter, wages should be reported as follows:
If no services were performed in a month, no wages are reportable for that month.

2. |If services were performed during less than one-half of the number of normal working days in the month, the monthly wages of
$1,273 should be reported for the corresponding month.

3. If services were performed during one-half or more of the normal working days in the month and for one or more other months in
the same calendar quarter criteria under 1, 2 or both above are met, the monthly wages of $2,545 should be reported, plus the
amounts required under 1, 2 or both above for the corresponding months.

4. |If services were performed during one-half or more of the number of normal working days in each month during the calendar
quarter, the quarterly wages of $7,634 should be reported.

5. The Ul contributions will be paid at the employer’s regular contribution rate. No benefits will be paid based on wages reported
under the election unless all contributions due under the election have been paid.

Taxable Wages for Unemployment

Unemployment contributions are due on the first $7,000 in wages reported for each covered individual and are reported on your Payroll
Tax Deposit (DE 88) and paid at your regular employment contribution rate.

Preparing the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) and Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)

Per section 1088(h) of the CUIC, all employers must submit tax returns and wage reports electronically effective January 1, 2018.

Employers must electronically file the DE 9C using e-Services for Business, Federal/State Employment Tax (FSET) program, or

Magnetic Media to report wages as follows:

1. Report all wages on a single DE 9C.

2. Report the total subject wages for each worker that is subject to both Ul taxes and SDI contributions with an “S” wage plan code.

3. Report the total reportable wages for each individual covered under your Ul election, whether or not all of these wages are
taxable, with an “R” wage plan code.

Per section 1110(g) of the CUIC, all employers must submit payroll tax deposits electronically effective January 1, 2018.

Employers can file and pay online with e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/e-Services) to meet these requirements. e-Services for
Business is a fast, easy, and secure way to file, pay, and manage your account 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Note: Unemployment benefits are payable to covered employees who become unemployed through no fault of their own, are able to
work, are available for work, are actively seeking employment, and who have met all of the eligibility requirements of the law. (Section
1251 of the CUIC)
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Reportable Compensation for SDI
The premiums for 2024, which include Paid Family Leave (PFL) contributions, will be based on 2021 net profit as reported to the
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) on Schedule SE by April 15, 2023.

Refer to the Disability Insurance Elective Coverage (DIEC) Rate Notice and Instructions for Computing Annual Premiums (DE 3DI-I) (PDF)
(edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3dii.pdf) for an explanation of the computation of amounts due for 2024 and future years.

Any adjustment of the reportable income credits and premiums due to a disability must be noted on the Quarterly Premium Notice
Disability Insurance Elective Coverage (DE 3DI) quarterly report. If you have any questions about computing or adjusting the premium
base and premiums, contact us at 1-888-745-3886.

Benefit Eligibility

Eligibility for unemployment and disability benefits under this elective coverage agreement does not begin with the start date of
coverage. Generally, seven months must elapse from thestart date of coverage before a valid claim may be filed.

Termination of Elective Coverage

An elective agreement under section 708(a) of the CUIC must remain in effect for not less than two complete calendar years or until you
are no longer engaged in your business. The elective agreement may be terminated effective January 1 of any calendar year following
the required two-year period if the notice of termination is filed in writing with us during January of that year.

Under the provisions of section 704.1(a) of the CUIC, we may terminate your elective coverage agreement if any of the following
conditions exist:

1. The employing unit or self-employed individual is not normally and continuously engaged in a regular trade, business, or
occupation.

The employing unit or self-employed individual has discontinued the regular trade, business, or occupation.
The regular trade, business, or occupation of the employing unit or self-employed individual is seasonal in its operations.
The major portion of the self-employed individual’s remuneration is not derived from their trade, business, or occupation.

The self-employed individual reports a net profit of less than $4,600 on their IRS Schedule SE for a third consecutive year.

2B

The employing unit or self-employed individual has failed to make a return or to pay contributions within the time required by this
division and there is an unpaid amount of contributions owed (except when the elective coverage agreement has been in effect for
less than two complete calendar years).

7. The employing unit or self-employed individual, or a representative thereof, is found by the director to have filed a false statement
to be considered eligible for elective coverage.

8. The employing unit or any officer or agent of a person having charge of the affairs of the employing unit is convicted on any
violation per Chapter 10 (commencing with section 2101 of the CUIC).

For the purposes of this paragraph, a plea or verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere is considered to be
a conviction, irrespective of:

*  Whether an order granting probation or other order is made suspending the imposition of the sentence; or,

*  Whether the sentence is imposed but execution thereof is suspended.

You will be notified in writing of any cancellation and will have 30 days to file a petition for review of the termination of elective coverage.
The termination will not affect the liability of the employer unit for any contributions due, owing, or unpaid to the EDD.

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 1-888-745-3886 (voice) or TTY 1-800-547-9565.
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