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Important Information

Electronic Reporting and Payment Requirement: All employers must electronically submit employment 
tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits to the Employment Development Department (EDD). For 
more information, visit the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/E-file_and_ 
E-pay_Mandate_for_Employers.htm) and related noncompliance penalties or refer to page 14.
e-Services for Business: Employers can file, pay, and manage their employer payroll tax account online. For
more information, visit e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm) or
refer to page 15.
State Information Data Exchange System (SIDES): Employers and third-party administrators can elect 
to electronically receive and respond to EDD notices using SIDES. For more information, visit SIDES 
(edd.ca.gov/Unemployment/SIDES.htm). 
New Employee Registry (NER): The law requires all employers to report all newly hired or rehired 
employees to the NER within 20 days of their start-of-work date. For more information, visit NER FAQS 
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/New_Hire_Reporting.htm) or refer to page 39.
Payroll Tax Seminars: The EDD partners with other agencies to provide you with information you 
need to comply with California payroll tax laws. For more information, visit Payroll Tax Seminars 
(Seminars.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars). 
Get E-mail Notices: Subscribe to our email lists to be informed of the latest news about EDD programs and 
services including news and announcements, recently added forms and publications, and events, visit our 
E-mail Notices webpage. (edd.ca.gov/about_edd/Get_Email_Notices.htm)
Quick and Easy Access to Tax Help, Forms, and Publications: Refer to page 1 for instructions on how to 
obtain payroll tax forms and assistance online, by phone, or by visiting one of our Employment Tax Offices. 
Fraud Prevention, Detection, and Reporting: For information on how to prevent and detect Unemployment 
Insurance (UI) fraud, refer to page 51. Improper payment of UI benefits to claimants is a serious 
problem that has a financial impact on employers such as higher UI taxes for all employers. You can 
help by responding timely to requests for wage information. For more information, visit UI Claim Notices 
(edd.ca.gov/Unemployment/Responding_to_UI_Claim_Notices.htm). 
California Employer News and Updates: Find the latest tax news, annual updates, and resources to 
support you and your business. Subscribe to receive emails about employment and payroll tax updates. For 
more information, visit Employer News and Updates (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/employer-news.htm). 

2022 Payroll Tax Rates, Taxable Wage Limits, and Maximum Benefit Amounts

Unemployment Insurance (UI)
• The 2022 taxable wage limit is $7,000 per employee.
• The UI maximum weekly benefit amount is $450.
• The UI tax rate for new employers is 3.4 percent (.034) for a period of two to three years.
• The employer rates are available online at e-Services for Business

(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm).
Employment Training Tax (ETT)
• The 2022 ETT rate is 0.1 percent (.001) on the first $7,000 of each employee’s wages.
State Disability Insurance (SDI)
• The 2022 SDI withholding rate is 1.1 percent (.011). The rate includes Disability Insurance (DI) and

Paid Family Leave (PFL).
• The SDI taxable wage limit is $145,600 per employee, per year.
• The 2022 DI/PFL maximum weekly benefit amount is $1,540.
California Personal Income Tax (PIT) Withholding
You are not required to withhold PIT from household employees’ wages. However, if you agree to 
withhold PIT for any of your household employees, PIT withholding is based on the amount of wages 
paid, the number of withholding allowances claimed by the employee, and the payroll period. For 
additional information on PIT Withholding, refer to pages 12 and 13, or visit Rates and Withholding
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Rates_and_Withholding.htm). 
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Gavin Newsom, Governor 

California Labor and Workforce Development Agency 

Dear Household Employer: 

We recognize that household employers have unique questions and concerns when it 
comes to payroll tax obligations. We are committed to providing you with the tools and 
resources to meet those obligations in a fast and efficient manner. 

Use e-Services for Business (eddservices.edd.ca.gov) to file, adjust, and print returns, 
make payments and much more!  

For more information about our services, visit the EDD website (edd.ca.gov). There you 
can take advantage of EDD’s virtual assistant, AskEDD, which will guide you through 
the answers to your questions. If you would like to speak to an EDD representative, call 
our Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. You can also visit one of our 
regional Tax Offices (edd.ca.gov/office_locator/) to discuss your account in person and 
answer any questions you may have.  

We stand ready to answer your questions and help you meet your payroll tax 
obligations. Here at EDD our business is your success! 

Sincerely, 

RITA SAENZ 
Director 

PO Box 826880  •  Sacramento, CA 94280-0001  •  edd.ca.gov 
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MANAGE YOUR EMPLOYER PAYROLL TAX ACCOUNT ONLINE!

Use e-Services for Business to electronically 
file returns and reports, make payments, update addresses, 

and much more! 

Enroll today at 
e-Services for Business

(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm). 

SEMINARS TO HELP EMPLOYERS SUCCEED!

The EDD offers both classroom-style seminars and online courses. 
We are here to help you succeed. 

For more information, visit Payroll Tax Seminars 
(Seminars.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars). 
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e-Services for Business
• Fulfills the e-file and e-pay

mandate for employers.
• Manage your employer

payroll tax account online.
• Register as an employer.
• File returns and reports.
• Pay deposits and liabilities.
• Make address changes.

Register online using e-Services for Business 
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm). 

Online
Visit the EDD website 
(edd.ca.gov).

• Obtain answers to frequently asked questions
(edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/faqs.htm).

• Obtain information on Payroll Tax Seminars
(Seminars.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars).

• Obtain information for tax professionals
(edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/tax_practitioners.htm). 

• Send comments and questions to the EDD online at
Ask EDD (edd.ca.gov/about_edd/contact_edd.htm).

Visit the California Tax Service Center (taxes.ca.gov) 
for federal and California tax information for businesses 
and individuals. 

Phone
Toll-free from the U.S. or Canada: 
1-888-745-3886

Hearing impaired: 1-800-547-9565 

Outside the U.S. or Canada:
1-916-464-3502

Staff are available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, 
Monday through Friday, to answer your questions. 

PAYROLL TAX HELP, FORMS AND PUBLICATIONS

Walk-In Offices

For information and advice about your payroll tax 
responsibilities, visit your local Employment Tax Office from 
8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, Monday through Friday: 

Anaheim....................2099 S. State College Blvd., #401, 92806 
Phone Number: 1-888-745-3886 

Fresno .......................1050 O Street, 93721 
Phone Number: 1-888-745-3886 

Oakland.....................7677 Oakport Street, Suite 400, 94621 
Phone Number: 1-888-745-3886 

Redding.....................1325 Pine Street, 96001 
Phone Number: 1-888-745-3886 

Sacramento...............3321 Power Inn Road, Suite 220, 95826 
Phone Number: 1-888-745-3886 

San Bernardino .........658 East Brier Drive, Suite 300, 92408 
Phone Number: 1-888-745-3886 

San Diego .................10636 Scripps Summit Ct., Suite 202, 92131 
Phone Number: 1-888-745-3886 

San Jose ...................906 Ruff Drive, 95110 
Phone Number: 1-888-745-3886 

Santa Fe Springs ......10330 Pioneer Blvd., Suite 150, 90670 
Phone Number: 1-888-745-3886 

Van Nuys...................6150 Van Nuys Blvd., Room 210, 91401 
Phone Number: 1-888-745-3886 

To find an office near you, visit the 
Office Locator (edd.ca.gov/office_locator/). 

Self-Service Offices
Tax forms and a no-cost direct-line phone are available 
from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, Monday through 
Friday at our self-service offices. 
Bakersfield............... 1800 30th Street, Suite 240, 93301 
Eureka ..................... 409 K Street, Suite 202, 95501 
Modesto................... 3340 Tully Road, Suite E-10, 95350 
San Francisco.......... 745 Franklin Street, Suite 400, 94102 
Santa Rosa.............. 50 D Street, Room 100, 95404 
Vallejo ...................... 1440 Marin Street, Suite 114, 94590 
Ventura .................... 4820 McGrath Street, Suite 200, 93003 

Forms and Publications
Download and order forms, instructions, and publications 
at Forms (edd.ca.gov/forms/). 

We Want to Hear From You.
Please let us know how we can improve this guide to
better meet your needs. Please send your comments and 
suggestions to: 

Employment Development Department 
Publications and Marketing Services Group, MIC 93 
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 
Fax: 1-916-654-6969 
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2022 CALENDAR OF FILING DATES

Delinquent if Not 
Postmarked or 
Received By Annual Household Employers Quarterly Household Employers

January 31, 2022 • File an Employer of Household
Worker(s) Quarterly Report
of Wages and Withholdings
(DE 3BHW) for quarter ending
December 31, 2021.

• File an Employer of Household
Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax
Return (DE 3HW) with payment
for 2021.

• Furnish a Wage and Tax
Statement (Form W-2) and
an Earned Income Tax Credit
(EITC) notification to employees
for 2021. Refer to page 42 for
additional information.

• Submit Payroll Tax Deposit
(DE 88) payment for quarter
ending December 31, 2021.

• File a Quarterly Contribution
Return and Report of Wages
(DE 9) and a Quarterly
Contribution Return and Report
of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)
for quarter ending
December 31, 2021.

• Furnish a Form W-2 and Earned
Income Tax Credit (EITC)
notification to employees for
2021. Refer to page 42 for
additional information.

May 2, 2022 • File DE 3BHW for quarter ending
March 31, 2022.

• Submit DE 88 payment for
quarter ending March 31, 2022.

• File a DE 9 and DE 9C for quarter
ending March 31, 2022.

August 1, 2022 • File DE 3BHW for quarter ending
June 30, 2022.

• Submit DE 88 payment for
quarter ending June 30, 2022.

• File DE 9 and DE 9C for quarter
ending June 30, 2022.

October 31, 2022 • File DE 3BHW for quarter ending
September 30, 2022.

• Submit DE 88 payment for
quarter ending
September 30, 2022.

• File DE 9 and DE 9C for quarter
ending September 30, 2022.

January 31, 2023 • Furnish Form W-2 to employees
for 2022. Refer to page 41 for
additional information.

• File DE 3BHW for quarter ending
December 31, 2022.

• File DE 3HW with payment for
2022.

• Furnish Form W-2 to employees
for 2022. Refer to page 41 for
additional information.

• Submit DE 88 payment for
quarter ending
December 31, 2022.

• File DE 9 and DE 9C for quarter
ending December 31, 2022.
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WHO IS A HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYER?

SEMINARS TO HELP EMPLOYERS SUCCEED

The Employment Development Department (EDD) offers no-fee seminars, either classroom-style or online. 
They are customized to help educate both existing and established employers, as well as new employers to 
better understand and comply with California’s payroll tax laws. 

The EDD offers both classroom and online seminars on the following topics:

• State payroll tax reporting requirements and • Managing Unemployment Insurance costs.
recordkeeping. • Calculating and completing payroll tax forms.

• Determining if workers are employees or • Using e-Services for Business.
independent contractors.

The EDD and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
jointly offer seminars on:

The EDD and the Department of Industrial
Relations’ Division of Labor Standards

Enforcement jointly presents classes on:

• Federal/state payroll reporting and
withholding requirements.

• Online filing and payment options.
• Properly classifying workers.

• Wage and hour rules and regulations.
• ABC test and statutory employment

definitions.

Additional information about seminars and tutorials is available online at Payroll Tax Seminars 
(Seminars.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars). 

WHO IS A HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYER?
You may be considered a household employer if you hire someone to work as your employee in or around 
your home for the benefit of your personal household and not your business. If you employ one or more 
employees for your business, you will need to register as a commercial employer. 

Household employment may occur in a variety of settings, such as a: 

• Private home • Summer or winter home • Local chapter of a college
• Apartment • Condominium fraternity or sorority

• Boat or mobile home • Local college club • Hotel room (when the worker is
employed by you, not the hotel)

Private homes include fixed places of residence, apartments, and hotel rooms in which an individual or 
family reside. Private homes do not include premises used primarily as a business enterprise, such as 
a residential care home, boarding house, hotel, hospital, etc., unless the workers are employed by the 
resident of such a facility and not by the business. 
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WHO IS A HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYEE?

WHO IS A HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYEE?

The worker is your employee if you control what work is done and how it is done. If the worker is your 
employee, it does not matter whether the work is temporary, full-time, or part-time, or that you hired the worker 
through an agency. 
The worker is an independent contractor, and not your employee, if only the worker controls how the work is 
done. An independent contractor usually provides his or her own tools and offers services to the general public 
in an independent business. 
Refer to the table below for a list of workers who are or are not household employees. This list is not intended to 
be a complete list of household employees. 

These Are 
Household Employees1

These Are Not
Household Employees

• Baby-sitters1 • Carpenters
• Butlers • Electricians
• Caretakers • Librarians
• Chauffeurs • Musicians
• Cooks2 • Nurses leased from a nursing registry
• Crews of private yachts • Painters
• Gardeners3 • Plumbers
• Governesses/governors • Private secretaries
• Home health care workers • Tutors
• Housekeepers • Workers from a temporary services, leasing or
• Janitors employment agency5

• Laundry workers • Workers provided by independent businesses
• Maids
• Pilots of private airplanes for family use
• Pool maintenance persons4 

(for example: a janitorial service, catering
service, gardening service, or pool
maintenance service)

• Valets
• Waiters/waitresses2 

Family Employment – Spouse, parents, minor children (under 18 years old), and registered domestic partner are excluded from 
employment for Unemployment Insurance, Employment Training Tax, and State Disability Insurance reporting and withholding 
purposes. Those providing services as household employees are excluded from Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding, but 
employers are required to report the wages that are subject to PIT. For additional information, refer to Information Sheet: Family 
Employment (DE 231FAM) and Information Sheet: Specialized Coverage (Elective Coverage for Exempt Workers) (DE 231SC) 
available online at Forms and Publications (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm).

1 A worker who performs childcare services for you in his or her home generally is not your employee. 
2 Unless employed by a catering service. 
3 Unless employed by a gardening service. 
4 Unless employed by a pool maintenance service. 
5 As long as the requirements of section 606.5 and 687.2 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code 
(CUIC) are met. 

Refer to the Information Sheet: Household Employment (DE 231L) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231l. 
pdf) online for additional information regarding household employment. 
You may also contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 to obtain a DE 231L or 
for assistance in determining whether the people who work for you are independent contractors or 
household employees. 
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WHEN SHOULD YOU REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER?

WHEN SHOULD YOU REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER?

You must register with the Employment Development Department (EDD) within 15 days after you have paid 
$750 or more in total cash wages in a calendar quarter to one or more people who work as your household 
employee. Refer to page 4 for additional information on who is a household employee.

Cash wages include payment for services by check or cash. Do not include noncash wages, such as meals 
and lodging, when calculating whether you have reached $750 in cash wages. Refer to What Are Wages? 
on page 10 for a complete definition of cash and noncash wages.

Once you meet the $750 in cash wage limit, you must then include all cash and noncash payments as 
subject wages. The amount of subject wages you pay in a calendar quarter will determine the employer 
payroll taxes you are required to withhold and pay. 

If You Pay (in a Quarter) Then

$750 to $999.99 
Withhold State Disability Insurance (SDI) for the 
remainder of the current year and through the following 
year, even if wages fall below $750 in a quarter. 

$1,000 or more Withhold SDI and pay Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
and Employment Training Tax (ETT) for the remainder of 
the current year and through the following year, even if 
wages fall below $1,000 in a quarter. 

The following examples will help clarify when you must register with the EDD, begin reporting employee 
wages and withholdings, and pay employer payroll taxes: 

Cash 
Wages

Meals and 
Lodging Am I Required to Register?

$700 $149 You are not required to register, report employee wages, or withhold/pay any 
California payroll taxes because the cash wage limit of $750 in a quarter has 
not been met (the value of meals and lodging is not included in reaching the 
$750 cash wage limit). 

$750 $75 You must register, report employee wages, and withhold SDI on the entire 
$825. You are not required to pay UI and ETT because the cash wage limit of 
$1,000 in a quarter has not been met.

$900 $150 You must register, report employee wages, and withhold SDI on the entire 
$1,050. You are not required to pay UI and ETT because the cash wage limit 
of $1,000 in a quarter has not been met (the value of meals and lodging is not 
included in reaching the $1,000 cash wage limit). 

$1,000 $100 You must register, report employee wages, pay UI and ETT, and withhold
SDI on the entire $1,100 because you have met the $1,000 cash wage limit 
in a quarter.

You are required to report employee wages that are subject to California Personal Income Tax (PIT), but 
you are not required to withhold PIT unless you and your employee(s) agree to do so. Refer to page 10 for 
information regarding PIT wages and page 13 for information about PIT withholding.
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HOW TO REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER

You must register with the Employment Development Department (EDD) as a household employer for 
California payroll tax purposes when you have paid cash wages totaling $750 or more in one calendar 
quarter to one or more people who work as your household employee. 

ACTION REQUIRED: Review the filing requirements for each type of household employer on page 16 to 
assist in determining whether you should register as an annual or quarterly household employer. 

• If you are a household employer and plan to pay $20,000 or less in cash and noncash wages in one
calendar year, you may elect to register as an ANNUAL household employer. You must complete an
Employer of Household Worker Election Notice (DE 89) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de89.pdf) to
apply for the election. You will be required to complete a tax return and pay taxes annually and submit
wage reports on a quarterly basis.

• If you are a household employer and plan to pay more than $20,000 in cash and noncash wages, you
will be registered as a QUARTERLY household employer. You will be required to complete a tax return,
wage report, and pay taxes on a quarterly basis.

• If you are a household employer and plan to pay $20,000 or less in cash and noncash wages in a
calendar year and do not elect to be an annual household employer, your account will be registered as
a quarterly household employer.

ACTION REQUIRED: Complete the registration online or by mail:

Register online using the EDD e-Services for Business 

(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm). 

Register by Mail 
Complete and mail an Employers of Household Workers Registration and Update Form (DE 1HW) (PDF) 
(edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1hw.pdf). 

Mail or fax the completed registration form to: 
Employment Development Department
Account Services Group, MIC 28 
PO Box 826880
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
Fax: 1-916-654-9211

If you have questions about registering as a household employer, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center 
at 1-888-745-3886. 

Posting Requirements
Once you are registered with the EDD, you will receive a notice to post in your workplace that informs your 
employees of their rights under the Unemployment Insurance (UI) and State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
programs. SDI includes Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL). This notice must be posted 
in a prominent location that is easily seen by your employees. You will receive one of the following notices 
if you are subject to: 

• UI, DI, and PFL – Notice to Employees (DE 1857A) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1857a.pdf).
• UI only – Notice to Employees–Unemployment Insurance Benefits (DE 1857D) (PDF)

(edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1857d.pdf).
• DI and PFL only – Notice to Employees (DE 1858) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1858.pdf).
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HOW TO REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER

Notices and Pamphlets
Employers must provide a copy of the following notice and pamphlets to each employee to explain 
employees’ benefit rights: 

• For Your Benefit: California’s Programs for the Unemployed (DE 2320) provides information on
Unemployment Insurance (UI), Disability Insurance (DI), Paid Family Leave (PFL), and Workforce
Services benefits available to the employee.

• Disability Insurance Provisions (DE 2515) outlines DI benefits.
• California Paid Family Leave (DE 2511) outlines PFL benefits.

These forms are available to download or order at Forms (edd.ca.gov/forms). 

For the latest tax news and employer resources, visit 
California Employer News and Updates (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/employer-news.htm). 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services 
(edd.ca. gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm). 
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

EMPLOYERS OF HOUSEHOLD WORKERS REGISTRATION AND UPDATE FORM
Did you know you can register online anytime? The Employment Development Department (EDD) e-Services for Business online 
application is secure, saves paper, postage, and time. You can access the online application at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business and follow the easy step-by-step process to complete your registration.
Review the instructions prior to completing this form. Do not submit this form until you have paid wages in excess of $750 to one or 
more domestic household employees in any calendar quarter. Additional information about registering with the EDD is available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Am_I_Required_to_Register_as_an_Employer.htm. 
Important: This form may not be processed if the required information is missing. 

A. I WANT TO
(Select only
one box then
complete the
items specified
for that selection.) 

Register for a New Employer Account Number (Go to Item B.) 
Existing Employer
Account Number: 
Update Employer Account Information

Address (F, L)  Personal Name Change (E) Add/Change/Delete Officer/Partner/Member (E)
(Provide the Employer Account Number at the top of Item A, then complete the Items identified above and Item O.)
Effective Date of Update(s):  ____/____/______ 

Reopen a Previously Closed Account (Provide the previous Employer Account Number at the top of Item A then go to Item B.)
 Close Employer Account Reason for Closing Account Date of Last Payroll
(Provide the Employer Account No longer have employees
Number at the top of Item A.) Out of Business ____/____/______
 Report a Change in Status: Business Ownership, Entity Type, or Name 
Reason for Change: 
Change: From To 
(Provide the Employer Account Number at the top of Item A, and complete the rest of the form.)
Effective Date of Change: ____/____/______ 

B. TAXPAYER TYPE 
(Select type then
proceed to Item C.)

 Individual Owner  Co-Ownership  Corporation  Other (Specify): 

C. FIRST PAYROLL 
DATE
(MM/DD/YYYY)

First payroll date when cash wages paid exceeded $750 but not more than $999: ____/____/______ (Wages are all
compensation for an employee’s services. Refer to Information Sheet: Wages, DE 231A, and Information Sheet: 
Types of Payments, DE 231TP, at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm.) First payroll
date when cash wages paid exceeded $1,000 or more: ____/____/______ 

D. WOULD YOU LIKE INFORMATION ON HOW TO ELECT TO PAY CALIFORNIA EMPLOYMENT TAXES ON
AN ANNUAL BASIS? See instructions for more information.

Yes No 

E. EMPLOYER 
NAME(S) NAME TITLE SSN 

CA Driver 
License 
Number

Add Chg. Del. 

F. EMPLOYEE WORK SITE ADDRESS G. COUNTY

H. FEDERAL TAX ID NUMBER (FEIN) I. DATE WORKER BEGAN WORKING (MM/DD/YYYY) 

J. STATE OR PROVINCE OF INCORPORATION K. CALIFORNIA SECRETARY OF STATE ENTITY NUMBER 

L. MAILING ADDRESS
(PO Box or Private Mail
Box is acceptable.)

 Same as Item F 

Street Number Street Name Unit Number (If applicable) 

City State/Province ZIP Code Country 

Phone Number 
M. EMAIL

Check to allow
email contact. 

Valid Email Address 

01HW11151 

DE 1HW Rev. 13 (10-16) (INTERNET) Page 1 of 4 CU 

(Enter Employer Account Number when reporting an Update, 
Purchase, Sale, Reopen, Close, or Change in Status.)– – 

02 01 2022 

JOE SMITH CO-OWNER 000-00-0000 xxxxxxxx 
JANE SMITH CO-OWNER 000-00-0000 xxxxxxxx 

123 MY HOUSE STREET, ANYTOWN, CA 12345 PISMO

99-9999999 01 03 2022 

CALIFORNIA

JOESMITH@ANYSERVER.COM 

e-Services for Business 
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_ 

for_Business.htm) 
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HOW TO REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

01HW11152 
N. CONTACT PERSON 

(Complete a Power 
of Attorney [POA] 
Declaration, DE 48, if 
applicable.) 

Name Contact Phone Number Email Address 

Relation Address 

O. DECLARATION I certify under penalty of perjury that the above information is true, correct, and complete, and that
these actions are not being taken to receive a more favorable Unemployment Insurance rate. I further
certify that I have the authority to sign on behalf of the above business.
Signature Date

Name Title Phone Number

EMPLOYERS OF HOUSEHOLD WORKERS 
REGISTRATION AND UPDATE FORM

DE 1HW Rev. 13 (10-16) (INTERNET) Page 2 of 4 CU 

JOE SMITH (123) 555-6789 JOESMITH@ANYSERVER.COM 

EMPLOYER 123 MY HOUSE ST. ANYTOWN, CA 12345 

02/16/2022 

JOE SMITH EMPLOYER (123) 555-6789

PRINT

e-Services for Business
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_ 

for_Business.htm) 
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WHAT ARE WAGES?

Wages are all compensation for an employee’s personal services, whether paid by check, cash, electronic 
debit, or the reasonable cash value of noncash payments such as meals and lodging. The method of 
payment, whether by private agreement, consent, or mandate, does not change the taxability of wages paid 
to employees. Payments are considered wages even if the employee is a casual worker, a day or contract 
laborer, part-time or temporary worker, or paid by the day, hour, or any other method or measurement. 

In addition, how employees are paid does not change the employer’s responsibility for payroll taxes. 
Supplemental payments, including bonuses, overtime pay, commissions, and vacation pay are also 
considered wages. 

If you pay your employees’ share of Social Security, Medicare, and/or State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
without deducting the amounts from their wages, these payments may also be considered wages. Refer to 
the Information Sheet: Social Security/Medicare/State Disability Insurance/Federal IncomeTaxes Paid by 
an Employer (DE 231Q) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf), or contact the Taxpayer Assistance 
Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

What Are Subject Wages?
Generally, all wages, unless excluded under the California Unemployment Insurance Code, are considered 
subject wages and are used to determine the amount of Unemployment Insurance (UI), Disability Insurance 
(DI), and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits a claimant receives. Subject wages are the full amount of wages 
paid to an employee, regardless of the UI and SDI taxable wage limits. Refer to the inside cover for the 
2022 taxable wage limits. 

What Are Personal Income Tax Wages?
Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages are cash and noncash payments subject to state income tax. Individuals 
must report PIT wages on their California income tax return. Most payments for household employees’ 
services should be reported as PIT wages. 

An employee’s calendar year total for PIT wages should match with the amount reported on the employee’s 
federal Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) in Box 16 (state wages, tips, etc.). Household employers are 
not required to withhold PIT; however, they are required to report PIT wages for each household employee. 

For additional information about PIT wages, refer to page 13.

Are Subject Wages and PIT Wages the Same?
In most situations, subject wages and PIT wages are the same. However, subject wages and PIT wages are 
reported separately on your EDD quarterly wage report. 

For additional information: 
• Annual household employers refer to Information Sheet: Personal Income Tax Wages Reported on

the Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings for Employers of Household Workers (DE 3BHW)
(DE 231PH).

• Quarterly household employers refer to Information Sheet: Personal Income Tax Wages Reported
on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) (DE 231PIT).

These forms are available online at Forms and Publications (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_ 
publications.htm) or you can contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 for assistance. 
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Values of Meals and Lodging

Meals and lodging provided to employees are wages. If your employees are covered under a contract 
of employment or union agreement, the taxable value of meals and lodging should not be less than the 
estimated value stated in that document. If the cash value is not stated in an employment contract or union 
agreement, please use the tables and information below to determine the value of the meals and/or lodging 
you provide to your employees. Meals and lodging furnished for the employer’s convenience and on the 
employer’s premises are not subject to Personal Income Tax (PIT). If you withhold PIT from your employees’ 
wages, please refer to page 13.

Value of Meals

Year
Three Meals 

per Day Breakfast Lunch Dinner
Meal Not 
Identified

2022 $ 12.95 $ 2.65 $ 4.00 $ 6.30 $ 4.65 

2021 $ 12.45 $ 2.55 $ 3.85 $ 6.05 $ 4.45 

To calculate the value of lodging, multiply the amount you could rent the property for (ordinary rental value) 
by 66 2/3 percent (0.6667). Ordinary rental value may be calculated on a monthly or weekly basis. The table 
below shows the minimum and maximum amounts to report for lodging. 

Value of Lodging
Year Minimum per Week Maximum per Month
2022 $ 55.60 $ 1,715 

2021 $ 54.75 $ 1,688 

For additional information, refer to Information Sheet: Household Employment (DE 231L) (PDF) 
(edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231l.pdf), or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 
for assistance. To view current and historical meals and lodging refer to Rates and Withholding 
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Rates_and_Withholding.htm). 

For historical rate information for the last eight years visit Tax Rates, Wages Limits, and Value of Meals and 
Lodging (DE 3395) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3395.pdf). 

For the latest tax news and employer resources, visit 
California Employer News and Updates (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/employer-news.htm). 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services 
(edd.ca. gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm). 
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2022 Payroll Tax Table

Payroll Tax Who Pays Taxable Wages Tax Rate Maximum Tax

Unemployment
Insurance (UI)
For more 
information, refer to 
Information Sheet: 
California System of 
Experience Rating 
(DE 231Z) (PDF) 
(edd.ca.gov/ 
pdf_pub_ctr/ 
de231z.pdf). 

Employer First $7,000 
of wages per 
employee, in a 
calendar year. 

New employer tax 
rate is 3.4 percent 
(.034) for a period 
of two to three 
years. Following this 
period, the tax rate is 
calculated annually 
based on each 
employer’s previous 
UI experience and 
the condition of the 
UI Fund. 

$434 per employee, 
per year (calculated 
at the highest UI tax 
rate of 6.2 percent 
[.062]). 

Your maximum UI 
tax amount will be 
less if your rate 
is less than 6.2 
percent. 

Employment Employer First $7,000 Set by law at 0.1 $7 per employee, 
Training Tax (ETT) of wages per percent (.001) of per year. 

employee, in a UI taxable wages 
calendar year. for employers with 

positive UI reserve 
account balances. 

State Disability Employee First $145,600 The 2022 $1,601.60 per 
Insurance (SDI)
Disability 
Insurance (DI) 
and Paid Family 
Leave (PFL) are 
components of 
the SDI program 
and are included 
in SDI employee 

Employer withholds 
SDI contributions 
from employee 
wages; employers 
are responsible for 
SDI not withheld 
from employee 
wages. If the 
employer pays SDI 

of wages per 
employee, in a 
calendar year. 

withholding rate is 
1.1 percent (.011). 
Set by law, the 
SDI rate may 
change each year. 
The EDD notifies 
employers of the 
new rate each 
December. 

employee, in a 
calendar year. 

contributions. for employee(s), 
refer to page 10.

California Employee Normally, all PIT PIT is withheld No maximum 
Personal Income 
Tax (PIT) Household 

employers are not 
required to withhold 
PIT from employee 
wages unless both
the employer and 
employee agree 
to withhold the tax. 
Refer to page 13. 
However, the 
employee is still 
responsible for 
reporting wages 
and paying any PIT 
due to the California 
Franchise Tax 
Board (FTB). 

wages (cash and 
noncash). 

See page 13 for 
information on 
when to exclude 
meals and lodging 
from PIT wages. 

based on each 
Employee’s 
Withholding 
Allowance 
Certificate 
(DE 4). View 
the withholding 
schedules 
available at Payroll 
Taxes, Rates and 
Withholding 
(edd.ca.gov/ 
Payroll_Taxes/ 
Rates_and_ 
Withholding.htm). 
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Withholding California Personal Income Tax

If a household employee wishes to have California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withheld from his or her 
wages and you agree to withhold it, you need to report and send the PIT withheld to the Employment 
Development Department (EDD). 

To have California PIT withheld, your employee(s) must complete an Employee’s Withholding Allowance 
Certificate (DE 4) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de4.pdf). 

Refer to the California Withholding Schedules (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Rates_and_Withholding.htm) 
to determine the amount of PIT to be withheld from wages. 

For more information, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

PIT Wages and the Value of Meals and Lodging: Meals and lodging are excluded from PIT wages and 
withholding if you provide meals and lodging to your employee(s) because it is convenient for you, and:

• Meals are furnished on your premises;
and/or
• Lodging is furnished on your premises and is required as a condition of employment.

Example: A governess lives and eats meals in your home so she can take care of your children. The value
of the meals and lodging would not be considered PIT wages, and PIT would not be withheld 
because the meals and lodging are furnished on your premises for your convenience. 

The value of the meals and lodging would be included in total subject wages reported on the 
Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW) for 
annual household employers and on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages 
(Continuation) (DE 9C) for quarterly household employers. For additional information, refer 
to the Information Sheet: Personal Income Tax Wages Reported on the Quarterly Report of 
Wages and Withholdings for Employers of Household Workers (DE 3BHW) (DE 231PH) (PDF) 
(edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ph.pdf). 

If the meals and lodging do not meet the exclusions listed above, these amounts must be added to the cash 
wages paid to your workers before computing the amount of PIT to withhold. Refer to the “Values of Meals 
and Lodging” tables on page 11 to determine the cash value to report, or visit Values of Meals and Lodging
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Rates_and_Withholding.htm). 

Remember:
• An employee’s calendar year total for PIT wages should match with the amount reported in Box 16 on

the employee’s Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2). Find additional information about the Form W-2
online by visiting Internal Revenue Service (IRS) (irs.gov).

• While household employers are not required to withhold PIT, they are required to report PIT wages on
the DE 3BHW or DE 9C. The PIT wages are reported separately from subject wages on the quarterly
wage reports (DE 3BHW or DE 9C) that you file with the EDD.
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E-FILE AND E-PAY MANDATE FOR EMPLOYERS

California passed Assembly Bill (AB) 1245 (Chapter 222, Statutes of 2015) requiring all employers to 
electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits to the Employment 
Development Department. 
Benefits of Electronic Filing and Payment
• Increases data accuracy.
• Protects data through encryption.
• Reduces paper and mailing cost.
• Eliminates lost mail.

Penalty

Paper Submittal Penalty

Tax Return: 
• Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9)
• Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW)
• Quarterly Contribution Return (DE 3D)

$50 per return 

Wage Report: 
• Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)
• Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings

(DE 3BHW)

$20 per wage item 

Payroll Tax Deposit: 
• Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)

15% of amount due 

Waiver
Employers may request a waiver from the mandate due to lack of automation, severe economic hardship, 
current exemption from the federal government, or other good cause. You can download the E-file and 
E-pay Mandate Waiver Request (DE 1245W) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1245w.pdf) or contact
the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. Instructions and mailing address are on the waiver
request form.

For more information, visit the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers and related noncompliance penalties, 
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/E-file_and_E-pay_Mandate_for_Employers.htm). 

Enroll in e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm) 
to help you meet the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers requirements. 

Fast, easy, and secure! 
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e-Services for Business

e-Services for Business allows employers and employer representatives/payroll agents to manage employer
payroll tax accounts online at no cost. With a simple one-time enrollment, e-Services for Business can be used
to electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payments 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.*

Enroll in e-Services for Business 
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm) today. 

It’s fast, easy, and secure! 

Features: 
• Register, close, or re-open an employer payroll tax account.
• File, adjust, and print returns and reports.
• Make payments.
• View and update business name, address, and more.
• Protest Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefit charges or UI rates.
• Authorize a power of attorney.
• Report new employees or independent contractors.
• Request a transfer of a reserve account.
• Change from Annual to Quarterly Filing and Payments.

Benefits: 
• Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers.
• No cost to enroll and use.
• Provides confirmation when your return, report, or payment is received.
• Saves time by saving basic account information for future transactions.
• Reduces paper and mailing cost.

*The DE 34 and DE 542 may be filed from 5 a.m. to 12 midnight, Pacific Time, 7 days a week. All other services on this page may be accessed
24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Additional e-Services for Business Information

View tutorials on how to: View answers to frequently asked questions about: 

• Enroll for a username and password.
• Register for an employer payroll tax account

number.
• File an employment tax return/wage report.
• Make a payroll tax deposit.
• And more.

Visit e-Services for Business Tutorials 
(edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/ 

e-Services_for_Business_tutorials.htm) for more! 

• Recovering username and/or resetting password.
• Handling lock-outs.
• Updating account information.
• Closing or re-opening an employer payroll

tax account.
• And more.

Frequently Asked Questions 
(edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/ 

faq_-_e-Services_for_Business.htm) 
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How to Report and Pay Your Taxes

There are two types of household employers: annual household employers and quarterly household 
employers. The following table explains the requirements for filing payroll tax reports and making tax 
payments for each type: 

Annual 
Household Employer

Quarterly 
Household Employer

Requirements Reports wages quarterly, pays 
taxes annually, and is current 
with reporting and payments. 

Reports wages quarterly and 
pays taxes quarterly. 

Refer to page 25.

Annual Wage Threshold Pays household wages of 
$20,000 or less annually 

and

elects to pay taxes on an 
annual basis. 

Pays household wages that 
exceed $20,000 annually 

or

pays household wages of 
$20,000 or less annually 

and

does not elect to pay taxes on 
an annual basis. 

Forms Required (submit online 
using e-Services for Business 
[edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-
Services_for_Business.htm]): 

Registration: 

Each Quarter: 

• Employers of Household
Workers Registration and
Update Form (DE1HW).

• Employer of Household
Worker Election Notice
(DE 89).

Employers of Household 
Workers Registration and Update 
Form (DE 1HW). 

Employer of Household • Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)
Worker(s) Quarterly Report payment.

Each Year: 

of Wages and Withholdings 
(DE 3BHW). • Quarterly Contribution Return

and Report of Wages (DE 9).

• Quarterly Contribution
Return and Report of Wages
(Continuation) (DE 9C).

Employer of Household 
Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax 
Return (DE 3HW) with payment. 
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Overview

Household employers who pay $20,000 or less in cash and noncash wages in one calendar year and 
are current on their reporting and payments may elect to make one yearly payment for their California 
payroll taxes. If you elect to pay taxes annually, you must still report employee subject wages, Personal 
Income Tax (PIT) wages, and PIT withholdings quarterly. 
You will not automatically be considered an annual household employer, even if you pay $20,000 or less in 
wages. 
To request to become an annual household employer, you must submit the following form to the EDD: 

• Employer of Household Worker Election Notice (DE 89). Refer to information below regarding the
DE 89.

If you are approved as an annual household employer, you must file the following forms: 
• Quarterly:

File an Employer of Household Workers(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings
(DE 3BHW) to report employee subject wages, Personal Income Tax (PIT), and PIT withholding.

• Annually:
File an Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW) with a payment for
the total payroll taxes due.

Submit forms online using e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm). 
Sample forms are provided on pages 8 and 18.
NOTE:

• If you are approved as an annual household employer, but you submit a tax return and payment(s)
quarterly, your account will be converted to a quarterly household employer account. In order to
revert back to an annual household employer, you will need to submit an Employer of Household
Worker Election Notice (DE 89).

• If you are an annual household employer and your total accumulated wages exceed $20,000
during the calendar year, you must contact the EDD immediately to change your filing status to
a quarterly household employer. You can submit a request to the EDD to terminate the annual
household employer election and revert the account to quarterly filing of tax returns, wage reports
and payments using e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.
htm). Refer to page 24 for additional information.

Employer of Household Worker Election Notice (DE 89)

Overview
Household employers who pay $20,000 or less in wages per year and are current on their reporting 
and payments can use the DE 89 to elect to pay California payroll taxes annually instead of quarterly. If 
approved, the election is effective the first day of the calendar year in which the election is filed. If you pay 
more than $20,000 in accumulated wages in a year, the election will be terminated and you will be required 
to file and pay all payroll taxes owed for the year at the end of that calendar quarter. 
Download the DE 89 (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de89.pdf), or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center 
at 1-888-745-3886. 
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

Date: 

Account Number: 

California law allows certain employers of household workers the option to pay California employment taxes for their 
household employees annually instead of quarterly. Information on wages paid to employees must still be reported on a 
quarterly basis. To be eligible to elect this option, an employer must: 

• Be registered with the Employment Development Department (EDD) as an employer of household workers.
• Have no delinquent taxes or returns due to the EDD.
• Intend to pay $20,000 or less in wages in a calendar year to household employees. (The sum of all subject wages,

cash or noncash, paid to all employees must be no more than $20,000 per year.)

To elect this tax payment option, complete the election notice at the bottom of this document and return it to the address 
indicated below. If approved, you will be notified in writing. Once approved, the election is effective the first day of the 
calendar year, January 1, in which the election is filed. 

As an annual payer, you will file the quarterly Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and 
Withholdings, DE 3BHW, and the annual Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return, DE 3HW. 
Until the EDD responds to your request, please continue to file the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages, 
DE 9, and the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation), DE 9C, along with your Payroll Tax 
Deposit, DE 88. 

You can submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits electronically using e-Services for Business 
at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business to comply with the e-file and e-pay mandate. For more information on this 
mandate, visit www.edd.ca.gov/EfileMandate. 

Please note, if you pay more than $20,000 in wages in any given year, the annual payer election will be terminated, your 
account will revert back to a quarterly payer, and you will be required to file and pay all payroll taxes owed for the year at 
the end of every calendar quarter. 

If you have any questions or need assistance, call the Taxpayer Assistance Center toll-free at 1-888-745-3886 or 
TTY 800-547-9565, or visit the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov to view the Household Employer's Guide, DE 8829. 

Please cut and return the bottom portion of this notice to the address below. You may also fax your election notice to 1-916-654-9211. 
— — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — 

EMPLOYER OF HOUSEHOLD WORKER ELECTION NOTICE 
I am an employer of household workers and wish to elect to pay California employment taxes annually. I intend to pay no more than $20,000 per 
year in wages to my workers. I understand that if I pay more than $20,000 during the year, the election will be terminated and I will be required to 
file and pay all payroll taxes owed for the year at the end of that calendar quarter. I will also be required to file quarterly tax returns with payment for 
the remainder of the year. I will then need to file a new election to be eligible for this program in the future. 

4/4/2022  
Signature Date Employer Payroll Tax Account Number 

( ) 
Print Name Phone Number Address 

EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT City State ZIP Code 
PO BOX 826880 MIC 28 
SACRAMENTO CA 94280-0001 

DE 89 Rev. 11 (12-17) (INTERNET) Page 1 of 1 CU  
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Employer of Household Worker(s) 
Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW)

Overview

Household employers who pay $20,000 or less in wages per year and elect to pay taxes annually use 
the DE 3BHW to report employee quarterly wages subject to Unemployment Insurance (UI), Employment 
Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI) taxes, and Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages. If PIT is 
withheld, that amount is also reported on this form. Even though taxes are paid just once a year, wages 
must be reported each quarter by state law. For any quarter that you do not have wages, you must still 
file the report. Refer to page 24 for your filing requirements if you stop employing people to work in your 
home and do not intend to hire anyone in the future. 

2022 Due Dates 
Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By

January, February, March April 1, 2022 May 2, 2022 

April, May, June July 1, 2022 August 1, 2022 

July, August, September October 1, 2022 October 31, 2022 

October, November, December January 1, 2023 January 31, 2023 

You must electronically file a DE 3BHW each quarter even if you did not pay wages during the 
quarter. Tax returns and wage reports must be submitted electronically in order to be in compliance with 
the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers. Refer to page 14 for more information on the e-file and e-pay 
mandate for employers and related noncompliance penalties. Penalty and interest will be charged on late 
filing of reports. Not having a form to complete is not considered “good cause” for filing your DE 3BHW late; 
refer to page 56 for the definition of “good cause.” Refer to page 24 for your filing requirements if you stop 
employing people to work in your home and do not intend to hire anyone in the future. 

Electronic Filing: File and pay online with e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_
Business.htm). It’s a fast, easy, and secure way to manage your employer payroll tax account online. 

• Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers.
• File returns/reports and make payments.
• View, adjust, and print returns/reports.
• Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 15.
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Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW)

Overview

Household employers who pay $20,000 or less in wages per year and elect to pay taxes annually use the 
DE 3HW to report Unemployment Insurance (UI), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability 
Insurance (SDI) amounts withheld to the Employment Development Department (EDD). If Personal Income 
Tax (PIT) is withheld, that amount is also reported to the EDD with this form. 

NOTE: If your total accumulated wages exceed $20,000 during the year, you must notify the EDD 
immediately that you need to change to a quarterly household employer. Refer to page 24 for information 
about changing from an annual household employer to a quarterly household employer. 

2022 Due Dates 
Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By

2022 January 1, 2023 January 31, 2023 

If you are unable to pay all or part of your taxes on time, you must still electronically file your 
DE 3HW. Tax returns and wage reports must be electronically submitted per the e-file and e-pay mandate 
for employers. Refer to page 14 for more information on the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers and 
related noncompliance penalties. Penalty and interest will be charged on late payroll tax payments and 
reports. Not having a form to complete is not considered “good cause” for filing your DE 3HW late; refer 
to page 56 for the definition of “good cause.” Refer to page 24 for your filing requirements if you stop 
employing people to work in your home and do not intend to hire anyone in the future. 

Electronic Filing: File and pay online with e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_
Business.htm). It’s a fast, easy, and secure way to manage your employer payroll tax account online. 

• Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers.
• File returns/reports and make payments.
• View, adjust, and print returns/reports.
• Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 15.

Learn more about employer payroll taxes through our seminars and online courses 
by visiting Payroll Tax Seminars (Seminars.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars). 
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Employer Paid Taxes for Employees

If you pay the State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax without deducting it from your employees’ wages, the 
amount of the SDI you paid is considered an increase in the employees’ wages and should be included in 
subject wages for Unemployment Insurance (UI), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and SDI purposes. 

If you pay Social Security and/or Medicare without deducting them from your employees’ wages, the 
amount you paid is not considered an increase in the employees’ wages and should not be included in 
subject wages for UI, ETT, or SDI purposes. 

If you and your employee have agreed to withhold Personal Income Tax (PIT), the amount of Social 
Security, Medicare, or SDI that you paid without deducting from the employee’s subject wages should be 
included in PIT wages and used to calculate the PIT withholding amount.

For assistance in calculating subject wages and PIT wages under these circumstances, refer to 
Information Sheet: Social Security/Medicare/State Disability Insurance/Federal Income Taxes Paid by 
an Employer (DE 231Q) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf). You can download the DE 231Q 
or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

Refer to page 29 for “How to Calculate Taxable Wages.”

For the latest tax news and employer resources, visit 
California Employer News and Updates (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/employer-news.htm). 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services 
(edd.ca. gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm). 
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2022 Due Dates and Delinquency Dates

NOTE: When the last timely date to file falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the “delinquent if not 
postmarked or received by” date falls on the next business day. 

Form Filing Due Dates
Delinquent if Not Postmarked 

or Received By

Employer of Household 
Worker(s) Quarterly Report 
of Wages and Withholdings 
(DE 3BHW) 

April 1, 2022 
for filing period of January, 

February, and March 
May 2, 2022 

July 1, 2022 
for filing period of April, May,  

and June 
August 1, 2022 

October 1, 2022 
for filing period of July, August,  

and September 
October 31, 2022 

January 1, 2023 
for filing period of October, 
November, and December 

January 31, 2023 

Employer of Household 
Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax 
Return (DE 3HW) (with payment) 

January 1, 2023 
for year of 2022 

January 31, 2023 

If you cannot pay all or part of your taxes on time, you must still electronically file the DE 3HW. Penalty and 
interest will be charged on late payroll tax payments and reports.

Electronic Filers:
• Follow the simple online instructions to submit timely reports through e-Services for Business

(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm).
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Correcting Previously Filed Reports and Returns

Electronic Adjustments: File online through e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/e-Services
_for_Business.htm) and follow the simple online instructions to make corrections to previously filed reports 
and returns. 
Paper Adjustments: Use the table below to determine how to correct your Employment
Development Department (EDD) reports with the Tax and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 678) (PDF) 
(edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/ de678.pdf). 

Form
Reason for 
Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment

Correcting 
a previously 
filed Employer 
of Household 
Worker(s) 
Quarterly Report 
of Wages and 
Withholdings 
(DE 3BHW) 

Incorrect 
employee
Social Security 
number (SSN) 
reported. 

Complete the DE 678, Section I, and make two entries in Section V 
for each quarter that was reported incorrectly. For the first entry, 
enter the quarter, incorrect SSN, employee name, and enter zeros 
in the total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld fields. For 
the second entry, enter the quarter, correct SSN, employee name, 
total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld. 

Incorrect 
employee 
name 
reported. 

Complete the DE 678, Section I, and make two entries in Section V 
for each quarter that was reported incorrectly. For the first entry, 
enter the quarter, SSN, incorrect employee name, and enter zeros 
in the total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld fields. For 
the second entry, enter the quarter, SSN, correct employee name, 
total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld. 

Incorrect Complete the DE 678, Sections I and V. Enter the correct wages 
wages and/or PIT information for each employee by quarter. Information 
and/or PIT provided in annual amounts will be returned unprocessed.
information 
reported for
employees. 

NOTE: If the DE 3HW was filed with incorrect information, also 
complete Section III. 

No SSN Complete the DE 678, Section I, and make two entries in Section V 
reported for for each quarter that was reported incorrectly. For the first entry, 
employee. enter the quarter, all zeros (000-00-0000) for the SSN, employee 

name, all zeros for total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT 
withheld. For the second entry, enter the quarter, SSN, employee 
name, total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld. 

Employee(s) Complete the DE 678, Sections I and V. Report the employees, their 
not previously SSNs, total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld by quarter. 
reported. NOTE: If the DE 3HW was filed with incorrect information, also 

complete Section III. 

Correcting Provided Complete the DE 678, Sections I, III, and IV, with the correct 
a previously incorrect UI, information. If the DE 3BHWs were filed incorrectly, also complete 
filed Employer ETT, SDI, Section V of the DE 678 as instructed above. 
of Household 
Worker(s) Annual 
Payroll Tax 

and/or PIT 
information. 

NOTE: If taxes are due, send a payment for the tax amount due
plus penalty and interest, if any, with the DE 678. 

Return (DE 3HW) 

You can download the DE 678 (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de678.pdf) and the Instructions for Completing 
the Tax and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 678-I) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de678i.pdf). For questions 
about when or how to use the form, adjusting previously reported payroll taxes or wages, or to order forms, 
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 
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No Longer Paying Wages

If you are an annual household employer and stop employing people to work in your home and do not 
intend to hire anyone in the future, you will need to submit your final Employer of Household Worker(s) 
Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW) a payment for the total payroll taxes due and your Employer of 
Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW) for the quarter within 
10 days of when you stop employing people, regardless of the normal due date. If you plan to employ 
people to work in your home in the future, but do not have payroll this quarter, file a DE 3BHW indicating 
you do not have payroll to report. If you have an approved e-file and e-pay mandate for employers waiver 
and file by paper, mark “No Payroll This Quarter” (Item B) on the DE 3BHW. These reports must be filed 
even if no wages were paid in the quarter. Contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 for 
assistance. 

Household employers may close their employer payroll tax account online using e-Services for Business 
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm). If you resume paying wages in excess of $750 
in a calendar quarter, you may also request to reopen your employer payroll tax account through e-Services 
for Business. 

When to Change From an Annual Household Employer
to a Quarterly Household Employer

If at any time during the year the total accumulated wages exceed $20,000, you must notify the 
EDD immediately. The election to pay annually will be terminated. You can submit a request to the EDD 
to terminate the annual household employer election and revert the account to quarterly filing of tax returns, 
wage reports and payments using e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_ 
Business.htm). For additional information, refer to Information Sheet: Household Employment (DE 231L) 
(PDF), (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231L.pdf), or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 
for assistance. 

As a quarterly household employer, you will no longer need to prepare a DE 3HW or a DE 3BHW. Each 
quarter, you will complete a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) and a Quarterly 
Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C). You will also need to submit a Payroll 
Tax Deposit (DE 88) payment to the EDD at least quarterly. 

If you are required to change to a quarterly household employer mid-year, then you must electronically 
submit a DE 3HW and DE 3BHW to cover the quarters you were an annual household employer. You will 
also need to submit a DE 9 and DE 9C for the quarters you were a quarterly household employer. In the 
following years, you will no longer submit a DE 3HW or a DE 3BHW. 

For an explanation of the responsibilities of a quarterly household employer, please refer to the “Quarterly 
Household Employers” section of this guide, beginning on page 25.
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Overview

If your total annual accumulated wages (both cash and noncash) are more than $20,000 or if you do not 
elect to become an annual household employer, you must file wage reports quarterly and pay taxes at 
least quarterly. 

NOTE: For information on how to elect to become an annual household employer, refer to page 17. 
As a quarterly household employer, you must electronically file the following forms: 

• Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9).

• Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C).

• Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88).

The EDD offers a full range of online services for filing and paying state payroll taxes. To learn more refer to 
e-Services for Business Tutorials (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business_Tutorials.htm).

For the latest tax news and employer resources, visit 
California Employer News and Updates (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/employer-news.htm). 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services 
(edd.ca. gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm). 
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Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9)

Overview

Quarterly household employers must use the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) to 
reconcile payroll tax payments and total subject wages reported for the quarter. You must electronically file
a DE 9 and a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) each quarter.

2022 Due Dates for the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By
January, February, March April 1, 2022 May 2, 2022 

April, May, June July 1, 2022 August 1, 2022 

July, August, September October 1, 2022 October 31, 2022 

October, November, December January 1, 2023 January 31, 2023 

You must electronically file a DE 9 each quarter even if you did not pay wages during the quarter 
indicating you do not have payroll to report for this quarter. Tax Returns and Wage Reports must be 
submitted electronically in order to be in compliance with the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers. Refer 
to page 14 for more information on the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers and related noncompliance 
penalties. Penalty and interest will be charged on late filing of reports. Not having a form to complete is 
not considered “good cause” for filing your DE 9 late; refer to page 56 for the definition of “good cause.”

Electronic Filing: File and pay online with e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_
Business.htm). It’s a fast, easy, and secure way to manage your employer payroll tax account online. 

• Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers.
• File returns/reports and make payments.
• View, adjust, and print returns/reports.
• Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 15.
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Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)

Overview

Quarterly household employers must use the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages 
(Continuation) (DE 9C) to report employee wages subject to Unemployment Insurance (UI), Employment 
Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and to report Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages. If PIT 
is withheld, that amount is also reported on this form. You must electronically submit a DE 9 and a DE 9C
each quarter.

2022 Due Dates for the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By
January, February, March April 1, 2022 May 2, 2022 

April, May, June July 1, 2022 August 1, 2022 

July, August, September October 1, 2022 October 31, 2022 

October, November, December January 1, 2023 January 31, 2023 

You must electronically file a DE 9C each quarter even if you did not pay wages during the quarter 
indicating you do not have payroll to report for this quarter. Tax returns and wage reports must be 
submitted electronically in order to be in compliance with the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers. Refer 
to page 14 for more information on the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers and related noncompliance 
penalties. Penalty and interest will be charged on late reports. Not having a form to complete is not 
considered “good cause” for filing your DE 9C late; refer to page 56 for the definition of “good cause”.

Electronic Filing: File and pay online with e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_
Business.htm). It’s a fast, easy, and secure way to manage your employer payroll tax account online. 

• Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers.
• File returns/reports and make payments.
• View, adjust, and print returns/reports.
• Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 15.
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88)

Overview

The Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) is used to report and pay Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment 
Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax, and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholdings to the 
EDD. Employers can enroll and use e-Services for Business to immediately make deposits. 

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.

Electronic Filing with e-Services for Business:
• All employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits. Refer to page 14 for additional

information on the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers and related noncompliance penalties.
• Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers.
• Fast, easy, and secure way to manage your payroll taxes online.
• Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
• Employer representatives/payroll agents can manage their clients’ payroll tax accounts by

enrolling in e-Services for Business as a representative/agent.
• For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 15.

Enroll and file online with e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm). 

When Due: 
• If you do not withhold PIT or if accumulated PIT withholdings are less than $350, taxes

(UI, ETT, SDI, and PIT) are due each quarter on January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1 (see
page 27 for delinquency dates).

• If PIT withholdings are $350 or more, SDI and PIT may need to be deposited more often.
Refer to page 32 for the California Deposit Requirements table.

• Refer to page 32 for additional deposit information and due dates.

NOTE: A penalty of 15 percent (15%) plus interest will be charged on late payroll tax payments.

Your UI, ETT, and SDI tax rates are available online with e-Services for Business. 

For additional assistance, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside of the U.S. 
or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502. 

edd.ca.gov DE 8829 Rev. 42 (1-22) (INTERNET) 28 of 58 Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 

http://edd.ca.gov
http://edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm
https://edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm


QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

 

 
 

 

 

  
 

  
 

  

 

  
 

  
 

   

  
 

  
 

  

 

 
 

 

 

  

7,0

3

7,0

1,0

7,0

31,0

How to Calculate Taxable Wages

Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax and Employment Training Tax (ETT) are calculated up to the UI taxable 
wage limit of each employee’s wages per year and are paid by the employer. State Disability Insurance 
(SDI) tax is calculated up to the SDI taxable wage limit of each employee’s wages in 2022 and is withheld 
from the employee’s wages. 

NOTE: Examples were created using the 2022 UI taxable wage limit of $7,000 and SDI taxable wage limit 
of $145,600. 

Example: An employer has two employees, Jane and John (for illustrative purposes only).

In the first quarter, Jane is paid $10,000 and John is paid $6,000. The employer pays UI and 
ETT on $7,000 of Jane’s wages and all of John’s wages. The employer will not pay UI and ETT 
for Jane for the remainder of the year since she has reached the UI taxable wage limit. SDI is 
withheld from both employees’ total wages. 
First Quarter

Jane 

Taxable Wages
UI/ETT

$ 7,000.00 

Taxable Wages
SDI

$ 10,000.00 
John + 6,000.00 + 6,000.00
Total Taxable Wages $ 13,000.00 $ 16,000.00 

In the second quarter, Jane is paid $35,000 and John is paid $500. The employer pays UI 
and ETT on John’s total wages since the UI taxable wage limit has not been met. The employer 
withholds SDI from both employees’ total wages since neither has reached the SDI taxable 
wage limit. 
Second Quarter Taxable Wages Taxable Wages

UI/ETT SDI
Jane $ 00.00 $ 35,000.00 
John + 500.00 + 500.00
Total Taxable Wages $ 500.00 $ 35,500.00 

In the third quarter, Jane is paid $35,000 and John is paid $8,000. The employer pays UI and 
ETT on $500 of John’s wages since he has now reached the UI taxable wage limit for the year. 
The employer withholds SDI from both employees’ total wages since neither has reached the 
SDI taxable wage limit. 
Third Quarter Taxable Wages Taxable Wages

UI/ETT SDI
Jane $ 00.00 $ 35,000.00 
John + 500.00 + 8,000.00
Total Taxable Wages $ 500.00 $ 43,000.00 

In the fourth quarter, Jane is paid $37,000 and John is paid $15,000. The employer only 
withholds SDI taxes from both employee’s total wages since neither has reached the SDI 
taxable wage limit. 
Fourth Quarter Taxable Wages Taxable Wages

UI/ETT SDI
Jane $ 00.00 $ 37,000.00 
John + 00.00 + 15,000.00
Total Taxable Wages $ 00.00 $ 52,000.00 
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How to Compute
State Disability Insurance Withholding

The State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax rate for the calendar year 2022, which includes Disability Insurance 
(DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL), is available on the inside cover of this guide. The SDI tax is withheld
from all cash and noncash wages paid to each employee in 2022 up to the SDI taxable wage limit. Noncash
wages include meals and lodging (refer to “Values of Meals and Lodging” tables on page 11). Refer to the
NOTE below if you do not withhold SDI from your employees’ wages.

If SDI tax is withheld from your employees’ wages, a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) must be submitted to 
the EDD at least once each quarter and must be received by the due dates listed in the table on page 32.

If you withhold more than $500 in Personal Income Tax (PIT) from your employees during a quarter, refer 
to the California Deposit Requirement table (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/timely_payroll_tax_deposits.htm) or 
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 to determine when to submit your SDI and PIT 
payment to the EDD. 

Example: Total SDI taxable wages for the quarter are $13,000 (for illustrative purposes only). Examples 
were created using the 2022 rates. Refer to the inside cover for the 2022 rates. 

SDI Taxable Wages $13,000 
x SDI Tax Rate x 0.011 

SDI Taxes Due $ 143 (Enter this amount in Box C of the DE 88) 

NOTE:

1. If, after paying $750 in cash wages in one or more quarter in a calendar year and then you begin paying
your employees less than $750 in the following quarters, you must continue withholding SDI taxes from
your employees’ wages through December of the following year. Once you exceed the threshold on
wages, you continue to be subject through the following year.

2. If you pay the SDI tax without deducting it from your employees’ wages, the amount of SDI you paid
is considered an increase in the employees’ wages and must be used to calculate Unemployment
Insurance (UI), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and SDI withholding. The additional amount must also
be included as PIT wages and used to calculate the PIT withholding amount if you and any of your
employees have agreed to withhold PIT.

If you pay Social Security and/or Medicare taxes without deducting them from your employees’ wages, 
these payments are not considered an increase in the employees’ wages for UI, ETT, and SDI but are an 
increase in PIT wages that must be used to calculate the PIT withholding amount. 

Assistance in calculating subject wages and PIT wages under these circumstances is available online. 
Refer to Information Sheet: Social Security/Medicare/State Disability Insurance/Federal and State Income 
Taxes Paid by an Employer (DE 231Q) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf), or contact the Taxpayer 
Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 
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How to Compute
Unemployment Insurance Tax and Employment Training Tax

If you pay cash and noncash wages of $1,000 or more in a calendar quarter to your household employee(s), 
in addition to State Disability Insurance (SDI) withholding, you must pay Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax and 
Employment Training Tax (ETT) at the following rates: 

• The UI tax rate for new employers or those newly subject to UI is 3.4 percent (.034). Your tax rate
will be provided to you when you register with the EDD or become subject to UI. Your tax rates (UI,
ETT, and SDI) are updated once each year. A Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of UI
Reserve Account (DE 2088) is mailed to you in December, showing the rates for the upcoming year.
The UI tax is paid on cash and noncash wages paid to each employee in 2022 up to the UI taxable
wage limit of $7,000. Refer to the inside cover for the 2022 UI taxable wage limit. Noncash wages
include meals and lodging. Refer to “Values of Meals and Lodging” on page 11.

• The ETT rate is set by law at 0.1 percent (.001) of your UI taxable wages. However, if you have a
negative UI reserve account balance on June 30, you will not be required to pay ETT the following
calendar year. The annual DE 2088 will show whether your rate is zero or 0.1 percent (.001).

Example: You have two employees and your total UI taxable wages for the quarter are $12,000 (for 
illustrative purposes only). The UI tax rate is 3.4 percent (.034). The ETT rate is 0.1 percent 
(.001). Examples were created using standard starting rates, your UI rate may differ. 

UI Taxable Wages $12,000 
x UI Tax Rate x 0.034 

UI Taxes Due $ 408 (Enter this amount for UI deposit) 

UI Taxable Wages $12,000 
x ETT Rate x 0.001 

ETT Due $ 12 (Enter this amount for ETT deposit) 

The UI tax and ETT amounts are paid by the employer and are not withheld from employees’ wages. 

Your payroll taxes and a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) must be submitted electronically to the EDD 
each quarter. 

File and pay online using e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm). 
It’s fast, easy, and secure. Refer to page 15 for more information.

Learn more about payroll taxes through our seminars and online courses. 
Visit Payroll Tax Seminars (Seminars.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars). 
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2022 Due Dates and Delinquency Dates

File and pay online using e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm). 
It’s fast, easy, and secure. Refer to page 15 for more information.

Withholding Deposits

Form Calendar Quarter

If You Have 
Accumulated PIT 
Withholding Of

PIT and SDI Deposit 
Due By2

Payroll Tax Deposit 
(DE 88) January, February,  

and March 
(1st Quarter) 

Less than $350 May 2, 20223 

$350 - $5001 15th of the 
following month 

April, May, and June 
(2nd Quarter) 

Less than $350 August 1, 20223

$350 - $5001 15th of the 
following month 

July, August, 
and September 

(3rd Quarter) 

Less than $350 October 31, 20223

$350 - $5001 15th of the 
following month 

October, November, 
and December 

(4th Quarter) 

Less than $350 January 31, 20233 

$350 - $5001 15th of the 
following month 

1 If you withhold more than $500 in Personal Income Tax (PIT), refer to the California Deposit Requirement 
table (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/timely_payroll_tax_deposits.htm) or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center 
at 1-888-745-3886 to determine the correct due date of your tax payment. 

2 If the deposit due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next 
business day. 

3 For household employers who have paid $1,000 or more in wages in a calendar quarter, a deposit of 
Unemployment Insurance (UI) and Employment Training Tax (ETT) not previously paid is also due each 
quarter by these due dates. 

NOTE: All employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Refer to page 14 for 
information on the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers and related noncompliance penalties. 
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2022 Due Dates and Delinquency Dates (Continued)

File and pay online using e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm). 
It’s fast, easy, and secure. Refer to page 15 for more information.

Withholding Deposits

To ensure timely settlement of your electronic payments, please note: 

• An Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Automated Clearing House (ACH) debit transaction must be
completed before 3 p.m., Pacific Time, on or before the last timely date to ensure a timely
settlement date.

• EFT ACH credit transactions are processed based on individual bank requirements. Ask your bank
what day you should report your payment to ensure a timely settlement date.

Quarterly Reports

Form Filing Due Dates
Delinquent if Not Postmarked 

or Received By

Quarterly Contribution Return 
and Report of Wages (DE 9) 
and

April 1, 2022 
for filing period of January, 

February, and March 
May 2, 2022 

Quarterly Contribution Return and 
Report of Wages (Continuation) 
(DE 9C) 

July 1, 2022 
for filing period of April, May, and 

June 
August 1, 2022 

October 1, 2022 
for filing period of July, August, 

and September 
October 31, 2022 

January 1, 2023 
for filing period of October, 
November, and December 

January 31, 2023 

If you cannot pay all or part of your taxes on time, you must still file the DE 9 and DE 9C. Penalty and 
interest will be charged on each late payroll tax payment and report/return. 

NOTE:

• When your DE 9 and DE 9C are electronically submitted to the EDD, the submission date is used
to determine if your returns are timely.

• For any quarter that you do not have wages to report, you are required to file a DE 9 and DE 9C
and indicate you have no payroll to report when electronically submitting the forms through
e-Services for Business. If you have any questions, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
1-888-745-3886.

• All employers must electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll
tax deposits to the EDD. Refer to page 14 for information on the e-file and e-pay mandate for
employers and related noncompliance penalties.
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Correcting Previously Submitted Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)

Deposits can be corrected online through e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_ 
for_Business.htm) even if the deposit was made using another electronic payment method or a paper 
Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon. 
The following tables clarify when to notify the EDD of adjustments and how to make them. 

Form Reason for Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment

Correcting 
previously 
submitted 
Payroll Tax 
Deposit 
(DE 88) 

Overpaid UI, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT on 
a DE 88 prior to filing your Quarterly 
Contribution Return and Report of 
Wages (DE 9) and Quarterly Contribution 
Return and Report of Wages 
(Continuation) (DE 9C).

On the next DE 88 payment for the 
same calendar quarter, reduce the 
amount of taxes due by the amount of the 
overpayment. Do not show credits on the 
DE 88. 

Overpaid UI, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT on a 
DE 88 prior to filing DE 9/DE 9C and you 
cannot reduce the overpayment on your 
next deposit within the quarter. 

Claim a refund on line J when you file your 
DE 9 at the end of the quarter. 

Over withheld PIT and DO NOT:
• DE 9 was filed. • Refund over withheld PIT to the
• DE 9C was filed. employee.

• Form W-2 was issued to the
employee.

• Change the California PIT withholding
amount shown on the Form W-2.

• File a claim for refund with the EDD.
The employee will receive a credit for the 
PIT overwithholdings when filing a California 
state income tax return with the Franchise 
Tax Board (FTB). 

Underpaid UI, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT prior to
filing your DE 9/DE 9C.

Submit a DE 88 for the additional amount 
due, including penalty and interest. Indicate 
the payroll date on the DE 88. 

Underpaid UI, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT and Submit a DE 88 for the additional amount 
your DE 9/DE 9C was filed. due for the quarter, including any penalty 

and interest, or when you receive a 
Statement of Account (DE 2176) in the mail, 
pay the balance due. 

Allocated the wrong amounts to specific 
funds on a DE 88. 

Do not adjust. The EDD will make the 
necessary adjustments at the end of the 
quarter when your DE 9 is filed. 

When written permission is obtained from an employee, you are authorized to adjust any overwithheld or 
underwithheld California PIT from the employee if the adjustment is made within the same calendar year 
and before the IRS Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) is issued. 
Overwithheld SDI and/or PIT must be credited or refunded to your employee before you can take a credit 
or receive a refund from the EDD. You should obtain a receipt from the employee whenever a credit 
adjustment or repayment of overwithheld tax is made. 
NOTE: A claim for credit or refund must be filed within three years of the delinquent date for the quarter 

being adjusted. 
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Correcting Previously Filed Reports and Returns

Most employers, including quarterly household employers, are required to file the DE 9 and DE 9C. These 
reports can be corrected through e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_ 
Business.htm) even if the return was made using another electronic method or a paper DE 9 or DE 9C. 
View the Instructions for Completing the Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ-I) 
(PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9adji.pdf). Contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 for 
additional help. 

Form
Reason for 
Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment

Correcting Provided incorrect File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and II with the correct 
previously UI, ETT, SDI, and/ information. If DE 9C forms were filed incorrectly, also complete 
filed Quarterly or PIT information. Section III of the DE 9ADJ as instructed above. 
Contribution NOTE: If taxes are due, send a payment for the tax amount
Return and Report 
of Wages (DE 9) 

plus penalty and interest, if any, with the DE 9ADJ. 

Correcting 
previously 
filed Quarterly 
Contribution 
Return and 
Report of Wages 
(Continuation) 
(DE 9C) 

Incorrect 
employee Social 
Security number 
(SSN) or name 
reported. 

File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III. Section III 
requires two entries. For the first entry, enter the quarter, 
incorrect SSN, employee name, and enter zeros in the total 
subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld fields. For the 
second entry, enter the corrected information. For examples, 
refer to page 2 of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions. 

Incorrect wages 
and/or PIT 
information 
for employees 
previously 
reported. 

File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III with correct wages 
and/or PIT information for each employee by quarter. For 
examples, refer to page 2 of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions. 
NOTE: If DE 9 has been filed with incorrect information, also 
complete Section II. 

No SSN reported File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III. Section III 
for employee. requires two entries. For the first entry, enter the quarter, all 

zeros for the SSN filed, employee name, and zeros in the 
total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld fields. In the 
second entry, enter the corrected information. For examples, 
refer to page 2 of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions. 

Employee(s) File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III with the 
not previously unreported employee(s) SSN and full name, total subject 
reported. wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld by quarter. 

NOTE: If a DE 9 has been filed with incorrect information, also 
complete Section II. 

A sample DE 9ADJ is available on pages 36 and 37.
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY
Examples were created using 2021 rates.
Refer to inside front cover for 2022 rates.

You can file this adjustment form online through the Employment Development Department’s (EDD) e-Services for Business. 
Please visit our website at www.edd.ca.gov. See Instructions for Completing the Quarterly Contribution and Wage 
Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ-I) for completing this form. 

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS
A claim for refund or credit mustQUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION AND be filed within three years of the 

WAGE ADJUSTMENT FORM last timely filing date of the quarter 
being adjusted.

SECTION I: (PLEASE PRINT) YEAR / QUARTER 

BUSINESS NAME JOHN AND JANE SMITH 21 1 

PO BOX 12345 EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO. 

ADDRESS ANYTOWN, CA 12345 000-0000-0

CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE 

REASON FOR ADJUSTMENT UNDERSTATED 1ST QUARTER BY 9,000.00, DID NOT REPORT ONE EMPLOYEE 

(1) 

Previously reported 

(2) 

Should have reported 

(3) 
DIFFERENCES 
Debit/(Credit) 

SECTION II: 
ADJUSTMENT TO WAGES AND CONTRIBUTIONS e-Services for Business 

(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_ A. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES .................................................
for_Business.htm)B. UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (UI) Taxable Wages ........ 

C. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) Taxable Wages .... 

D. EMPLOYER’S UI CONTRIBUTIONS (UI Rate 0.00 % times B)...3.4 

E. EMPLOYMENT TRAINING TAX (ETT Rate 0.00 % times B)...0.1 
F. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE* (SDI) Withheld (SDI Rate

0.00 1.2 % times C; complete Box 1 below if credit on row F.) ..
G. PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) Withheld (Complete

Box 2 below if credit on line G.) ...........................................

H. SUBTOTAL (Lines D, E, F, and G) ............................... 

9,000.00 18,000.00 9,000.00 

7,000.00 14,000.00 7,000.00 

9,000.00 18,000.00 9,000.00 

238.00 476.00 238.00 

7.00 14.00 7.00 

108.00 216.00 108.00 

150.00 300.00 150.00 

503.00 1,006.00 503.00 

I. Penalty (Refer to instructions on DE 9ADJ-I) .................................................................................................................. 

J. Interest (Refer to instructions on DE 9ADJ-I) .................................................................................................................. 

K. Erroneous SDI Deductions not refunded (See Box 1, NOTE below) ...............................................................................

L. Less contributions and withholdings paid for the quarter ................................................................................................. 

M. Total taxes due or overpaid (H2 + I + J + K) - L .............................................................................................................

75.45 

0.00 

0.00 

503.00 

578.45 

* Includes Paid Family Leave amount. 

BOX 1. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE OVERPAYMENTS (Must be completed for credit to be allowed.) 
1. Was the credit claimed in column 3 withheld from the wages of employee(s)?............................................................... Yes No 

If yes, has this amount been refunded to employee(s)? ................................................................................................. Yes No 

If not refunded: employee(s) no longer employed, unable to locate. 
NOTE: The EDD cannot refund these contributions to you unless you first refund the erroneous deductions to the employee(s). 

(List each employee name, Social Security Number, and amount of SDI not refunded.) 

BOX 2. PERSONAL INCOME TAX OVERPAYMENTS (Must be completed for credit to be allowed.) 
If you paid the Employment Development Department (EDD) more than the amount of California PIT withheld from wages of employee(s), 
you can adjust the amount reported by using this form. The EDD will allow credit adjustments prior to the issuance of Forms W-2. If you 
have already issued Forms W-2, please read the additional information on page 2 before proceeding.

1. Was the credit claimed in column 3 withheld from the pay of employee(s)? ................................................................... Yes No 
If yes, has this credit been refunded to employee(s)? .................................................................................................... Yes No 

2. Was the credit claimed in column 3 included on Forms W-2 issued to employee(s)? Yes No 

Be sure to sign this declaration: I declare that the information herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 

Signature Title EMPLOYER Phone ( 123 ) 555-7899 Date 05/03/2021 
(Owner, Accountant, Preparer, etc.) 

SIGN AND MAIL TO: Employment Development Department / P.O. Box 989073 / West Sacramento, CA 95798-9073 
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY
Examples were created using 2021 rates.
Refer to inside front cover for 2022 rates.

QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION AND WAGE ADJUSTMENT FORM

EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO. 

000-0000-0BUSINESS NAME JOHN AND JANE SMITH 

SECTION III: QUARTERLY WAGE AND WITHHOLDING ADJUSTMENTS
Enter amounts that should have been reported; if unchanged, leave field blank. Correcting the Social Security Number or Name 
requires two entries. See Instructions for Completing the Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ-I), 
Section III, for additional information and instructions.

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

21/1 000-00-0000 THOMAS T. TAYLOR 
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES 

9,000.00 9,000.00 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

e-Services for Business
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_ 

for_Business.htm)
YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES 

PIT WITHHELD 

150.00 

PIT WITHHELD 

PIT WITHHELD 

PIT WITHHELD 

PIT WITHHELD 

PIT WITHHELD 

PIT WITHHELD 

PIT WITHHELD 

PIT WITHHELD 

PIT WITHHELD 

PIT WITHHELD 

PIT WITHHELD 

DE 9ADJ Rev. 3 (7-13) (INTERNET) Page 2 of 2 
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No Longer Paying Wages

If you stop employing people to work in your home and do not intend to hire anyone in the future, 
you will need to: 
• Submit your final Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) within

10 days of paying the final wages, regardless of the normal due date.
• Submit the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)

within 10 days of paying the final wages, regardless of the normal due date.
• Submit the Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) within 10 days of paying the final wages,

regardless of the normal due date.
• Close your employer payroll tax account after submitting the above within 10 days of

paying the final wages.

If you plan to employ people to work in your home in the future and are keeping your account open, but do 
not have payroll this quarter, file a DE 9 and DE 9C indicating you do not have payroll to report. If you have 
an approved e-file and e-pay mandate for employers waiver and file by paper, select “No Wages Paid This 
Quarter” on the DE 9 and “No Payroll” on the DE 9C. These reports must be filed even if no wages were 
paid in the quarter. Contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 for assistance. 
Household employers may close their employer payroll tax account online using e-Services for Business 
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm) and, if you resume paying wages in excess of 
$750 in a calendar quarter, you may also request to reopen your employer payroll tax account. 

For the latest tax news and employer resources, visit 
California Employer News and Updates (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/employer-news.htm). 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services 
(edd.ca. gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm). 
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REPORTING NEW EMPLOYEES
The law requires all employers to report all newly hired or rehired employees to the New Employee
Registry (NER) within 20 days of their start-of-work date, which is the first day services were
performed for wages. 

• NEWLY HIRED employees are those individuals who have not previously been included on your payroll.
• REHIRED employees are those individuals who were previously included on your payroll, left your

employment, and were rehired after a separation of at least 60 consecutive days.
The NER assists California’s Department of Child Support Services and the Department of Justice in 
locating parents to collect delinquent child support payments. The NER also cross-matches the employees 
actual start-of-work date (not the date hired) data with the Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefit file. This 
will result in the early detection and prevention of UI benefit overpayments. 

Filing Options for Reporting New or Rehired Employees
The following options are available to report new or rehired employees: 

1. File online using e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm).
It’s fast, easy, and secure.

2. Download the Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de34.pdf).
3. Order DE 34 forms (edd.ca.gov/forms).

When Due: You must report all newly hired employees (refer to “Who Are Household Employees?” on
page 4) within 20 days of the start-of-work date, which is the first day of work. Any employee that is rehired
or returns to work after a separation of at least 60 consecutive days must also be reported within the 20 days. 

The following information must be included when reporting new employees: 

Employer Information Employee Information
• EDD eight-digit employer payroll tax account number
• Federal employer identification number (FEIN)
• Business name
• Business address
• Contact person and phone number

• First name, middle initial, and last name
• Social Security number (SSN)
• Home address
• Start-of-work date

A sample DE 34 is available on page 40.

Filing an Informal Report
If you are not able to obtain a DE 34 by the due date, file an informal report or a copy of the Employee’s 
Withholding Allowance Certification (DE 4) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de4.pdf) to avoid penalty and
interest charges. Your informal report should include all the information listed in the above table. 

Mail or fax your new employee information to: 
Employment Development Department
Document Management Group, MIC 96
PO Box 997016
West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016
Fax: 1-916-319-4400

NOTE: If the people who work in your home are independent contractors, you do not need to report them
to the EDD (refer to “Who Is Considered a Household Employee?” on page 4). The requirement for 
businesses and government entities to report independent contractors does not apply to household
employers. 
If you are not sure if the people who work in your home are employees or independent contractors,
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 for assistance. 
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REPORTING NEW EMPLOYEES

DE 34 Rev. 10 (3-17) (INTERNET)    Page 1 of 2         MAIL TO:  Employment Development Department / PO Box 997016, MIC 96 CU
West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016 or fax to 916-319-4400

   REPORT OF NEW EMPLOYEE(S)
NOTE:  Failure to provide all of the information below may result in  
           this form being rejected and/or a penalty being assessed.

ADDRESS STREET STATE ZIP CODECITY

BUSINESS NAME CONTACT PERSON PHONE NUMBER

STREET NAMESTREET NUMBER UNIT/APTSOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

CITY ZIP CODESTATE START-OF-WORK DATE

M  M  D  D   Y  Y

EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME

STREET NAMESTREET NUMBER UNIT/APTSOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

CITY ZIP CODESTATE START-OF-WORK DATE

M  M  D  D   Y  Y

EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME

STREET NAMESTREET NUMBER UNIT/APTSOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

CITY ZIP CODESTATE START-OF-WORK DATE

M  M  D  D   Y  Y

EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME

STREET NAMESTREET NUMBER UNIT/APTSOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

CITY ZIP CODESTATE START-OF-WORK DATE

M  M  D  D   Y  Y

EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME

STREET NAMESTREET NUMBER UNIT/APTSOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

CITY ZIP CODESTATE START-OF-WORK DATE

M  M  D  D   Y  Y

EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME

STREET NAMESTREET NUMBER UNIT/APTSOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

CITY ZIP CODESTATE START-OF-WORK DATE

M  M  D  D   Y  Y

EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME

FEDERAL ID NUMBERDATE CA EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBER

M  M  D  D   Y  Y

BRANCH CODE

00340600

030122 00000000 xxxxxxxxx

EMPLOYER CITY STORE JANE SMITH 123-555-7789

PO BOX 12345 ANYTOWN CA 12345

E MILLER

CEDAR STREET

CA 12345 022821

   

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

e-Services for Business
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_ 

for_Business.htm) 
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FEDERAL WAGE AND TAX STATEMENT (FORM W-2)
As an employer, you are required to prepare a federal Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) for each 
of your employees. You must provide your employees with their 2022 Form W-2 by January 31, 2023. 
*Prepare the Form W-2 on the federal/state four-part paper form.

If you need information on Form W-2 reporting requirements, refer to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
Employer’s Tax Guide (Publication 15, Circular E). For instructions on completing Form W-2, refer to the 
IRS publication 2022 General Instructions for Forms W-2 and W-3 available online by visiting the IRS 
(irs.gov) or contact the IRS at 1-800-829-3676. 

In addition to the federal information required, you must include California Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages, 
PIT withheld, and State Disability Insurance (SDI) withheld in the following Form W-2 boxes: 

FORM W-2
Box Enter

Box 16 (State wages, tips, etc.) California PIT wages 

Box 17 (State income tax) California PIT withheld (if any) 

Box 19 (Local income tax) The abbreviation “CASDI” and SDI withheld 

NOTE:
• If Box 19 has local taxes, use Box 14, Other. If no boxes are available, you are required to provide

your employees with a separate written statement containing:
○ Name of household employer, address, federal employer identification number (FEIN),

and the EDD eight-digit employer payroll tax account numbers.
○ The employee’s name, address, and Social Security number.
○ The amount of SDI withheld and/or paid directly by you.

• If the wages were not subject to SDI, show “CASDI 0” (zero).
• If you paid SDI taxes without withholding the SDI from the employee’s wages, you should show

the SDI taxes as if they were withheld and increase the amount you report according to the formula
shown on the Information Sheet: Social Security/Medicare/State Disability Insurance/Federal
Income Taxes Paid by an Employer (DE 231Q) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf).

Generally, the amount reported as California PIT wages on Form W-2 in Box 16 is the same as the federal 
wages (Box 1). 

If you discover an error on a previously issued Form W-2, refer to the IRS publication 2022 General 
Instructions for Forms W-2 and W-3 for instructions on how to complete an IRS Corrected Wage and Tax 
Statement (Form W-2C). 

Send Forms W-2 and Forms W-2C to your employees and the Social Security Administration. Do not send the
“state” copies of Forms W-2 and Forms W-2C to the State of California (the EDD or the Franchise Tax Board). 

* Employers failing to provide a Form W-2 to each employee, or who provide a false or fraudulent
statement, are subject to a penalty of $50 for each such failure as imposed pursuant to section 13052 of
the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC). Employers may also be subject to an additional
penalty for failure to file informational returns (Form W-2, Form 1099-MISC, or Form 1099-NEC) for
misclassified employees as provided pursuant to section 13052.5 of the CUIC. The amount of the penalty
is determined based upon the unreported payment for personal services multiplied by the maximum rate
as provided pursuant to section 17041 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. Contact the EDD Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 for additional information.
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Earned Income Tax Credit Information Act

You may be eligible to receive the California Earned Income Tax Credit (CalEITC) starting with the calendar 
year 2015 tax year. The CalEITC is a refundable state income tax credit for low-income working individuals 
and families. The CalEITC is treated in the same manner as the Federal EITC and generally will not be 
used to determine eligibility for welfare benefits under California law. To claim the CalEITC, even if you do 
not owe California taxes, you must file a California income tax return and complete and attach the form 
California Earned Income Tax Credit (Form 3514). For information on the availability of the credit, eligibility 
requirements, how to obtain the necessary California forms, and get help filing, contact the Franchise Tax 
Board at 1-800-852-5711 or visit CalEITC (ftb.ca.gov/file/personal/credits/california-earned-income-tax-
credit.html). 

Effective January 1, 2008, all employers are required to notify all of their employees of the federal Earned 
Income Tax Credit (EITC). 

Employers who are subject to and required to provide Unemployment Insurance to their employees must 
provide EITC notification to the employee by either handing it directly to the employee or mailing it to the 
employee’s last known address. Posting of this information on an employee bulletin board will not satisfy 
the notification requirement. 

The notification must be provided at the same time or within one week, before or after, the employer provides 
the employee with an annual wage summary, including, but not limited to, a Form W-2 or a Form 1099. The 
notice must include instructions on how to obtain any notices available from the Internal Revenue Service 
(IRS) for this purpose, including, but not limited to, the IRS Notice 797, or any successor notice or form, or
any notice created by you, as long as it contains substantially the same language as the notice below. 

“Based on your annual earnings, you may be eligible to receive the Earned Income Tax Credit 
from the federal government. The Earned Income Tax Credit is a refundable federal income 
tax credit for low-income working individuals and families. The Earned Income Tax Credit has 
no effect on certain welfare benefits. In most cases, Earned Income Tax Credit payments will 
not be used to determine eligibility for Medicaid, supplemental security income, food stamps, 
low-income housing, or most temporary assistance for needy families’ payments. Even if you 
do not owe federal taxes, you must file a tax return to receive the Earned Income Tax Credit. 
Be sure to fill out the Earned Income Tax Credit form in the federal income tax return booklet. 
For information regarding your eligibility to receive the Earned Income Tax Credit, including 
information on how to obtain the IRS Notice 797, or any other necessary forms and instructions, 
visit the IRS (irs.gov) or contact the IRS at 1-800-829-3676. 

For the latest tax news and employer resources, visit 
California Employer News and Updates (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/employer-news.htm). 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services 
(edd.ca. gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm). 
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WHAT PAYROLL RECORDS MUST BE KEPT?

Employers are required to keep payroll records for at least four years. If you believe that you are not a 
subject employer or your employees are exempt, state law requires that you maintain records of payments 
made to people who provide household services for at least eight years in case of an employment tax audit. 

Your records must provide a true and accurate account of all workers (employed, no longer employed, or 
on a leave of absence, and independent contractors) and all payments made. Records must include the 
following information for each worker: 

• Full name (first name, middle initial, and last name).
• Social Security number.
• Date hired, rehired, or returned to work after a temporary layoff.
• Last date services were performed.
• Place of work.
• Money paid:

○ Dates and amounts of payment.
○ Pay period covered.
○ Cash or cash value of in-kind wages (such as meals, lodging, bonuses, and gifts).

(Refer to “Values of Meals and Lodging” on page 11.)
• The amounts withheld from employee wages. (NOTE: You may be required to make withholding

deposits. Refer to “Withholding Deposits” on page 32.)
• Disbursement records showing payments to workers.
• Other information necessary to determine payments to workers.

You may use any payroll record that provides the information listed above. An Employee Earnings Record 
sample is provided on page 44.

If you have any questions about the records you must keep, refer to Information Sheet: Employment Tax 
Audit Process (DE 231TA) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ta.pdf) or contact the Taxpayer Assistance 
Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

Would you like hands-on experience on how to calculate taxes and complete payroll tax forms?
Consider attending one of the EDDs’ State Payroll Tax Workshops 
(Seminars.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars) or contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 
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__________________________________ ________________________________ 

Employee Earnings Record Sample

Date Hired/Rehired/ 
Employee’s Returned to Work 
Name: _________________________________ From Layoff: ____________________________ 

Social 
Security Last Date Services 
Number: _______________________________ Were Performed: _________________________ 

Reason for 
For Year Ending: _________________________ Separation: _____________________________ 

Withholdings

Pay Period 

Cash 
Wages 
Earned

Noncash 
Wages 
Earned

Total 
Wages 
Earned 
(Cash + 

Noncash 
Wages)

State 
Disability 
Insurance 

(SDI)

State 
Personal 
Income 

Tax (PIT)
(Optional

for 
Household 
Employers)

Social 
Security Medicare

Federal 
Income Tax 
(Optional 

for 
Household 
Employers)

Net Wages 
(Total 
Wages 

Earned– 
With-

holdings)

Year Totals

Employer’s 
Name: _________________________________________ 

Employee’s 
Work Address: __________________________________ ________________________________ 
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Your Reserve Account
Once you pay $1,000 or more in cash wages to household employees during a calendar quarter, you are 
required to pay Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax and Employment Training Tax (ETT) on each employee’s 
wages up to the UI taxable wage limit, each calendar year. Your UI reserve account is a record of the 
UI taxes you have paid (credits) and the UI benefits that the Employment Development Department (EDD) 
has paid (charges) to your former employees who were found eligible to receive UI benefits or who qualified 
for reduced UI benefits when working less than full-time for you. Your UI reserve account is a “paper” account 
for recordkeeping purposes and has no cash value. The difference between the credits and charges is the 
reserve account balance, which may be positive or negative. Your account balance is used only to determine 
your annual UI tax rate. If you have a negative reserve account balance as of June 30, you will not have to 
pay ETT for the following calendar year. 

Notices
When your former employee (“claimant”) applies for UI benefits, the last employer reported by the claimant 
will receive a Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER). Only the 
last employer of record will receive this notice to advise them that the claimant has filed a UI claim, and it 
includes the reason the claimant stated for no longer working. 

If you have any information that would affect the claimant’s eligibility for UI benefits, please complete the 
form and return it to the EDD within 10 days of the date the notice was mailed to you. If you believe that your 
UI reserve account should not be charged for the benefits, it is important that you provide information by the 
required deadline explaining why the claimant was terminated or the reasons the claimant gave for voluntarily 
quitting. The DE 1101CZ and DE 1101ER include instructions that explain how to complete the forms. Your 
information is needed to gather relevant facts that will assist the EDD in determining if the claimant is eligible 
to receive UI benefits. Failure to respond timely may result in an increase to your UI tax rate.

For added convenience, employers and third-party administrators can elect to electronically receive and 
respond to the DE 1101CZ through the State Information Data Exchange System (SIDES). Visit SIDES 
(edd.ca.gov/Unemployment/SIDES.htm) to learn more. 

If you respond to the notice within the legally required 10 days of the notice date and provide information 
about why you think the claimant should not be eligible for UI benefits, the EDD will send you a Notice of 
Determination and/or Ruling (DE 1080EZ). The DE 1080EZ advises you whether or not the claimant is 
eligible for UI benefits and if your UI reserve account will be charged for UI benefits if the claimant is found 
eligible based on the reason for separation from your employment. If you fail to respond to the DE 1101CZ 
or DE 1101ER, or respond untimely, you are not entitled to a determination and/or a ruling. However, if you 
respond untimely and provide the reason you are submitting the eligibility information untimely, the EDD will 
determine if you had good cause for not submitting your response timely. If there is a finding of good cause, 
you will be entitled to a determination and/or ruling. Also, if you respond untimely with eligibility information, 
the EDD will conduct a determination of eligibility for UI benefits with the claimant regardless of whether you 
are entitled to a notice of determination and/or a ruling. 

If the EDD finds that a claimant is eligible to receive UI benefits, a Notice of Wages Used for 
Unemployment Insurance (UI) Claim (DE 1545) is mailed to all base-period employers after the first 
benefit payment is sent to the claimant. If you are a base-period employer, you will receive a DE 1545. The 
DE 1545 will inform you of the wages used to establish the UI claim and the amount of potential charges to 
your UI reserve account. All or part of the benefits paid to the claimant may be charged to your UI reserve 
account. 

If you believe that your UI reserve account should not be charged for the benefits, it is important that you 
complete the form and return it by the required deadline to the EDD as indicated on the form. The DE 1545 
includes instructions on how to complete the form. You will need to explain why your account should not 
be charged for the UI benefits. If you previously responded to a DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER for the same 
employee concerning the same separation or other issue, you do not need to return the DE 1545. 
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However, if you have new information that may affect the claimant’s eligibility for Unemployment 
Insurance (UI) benefits then you must report the new information to the EDD. Please complete the DE 1545 
timely by returning it within 15 calendar days from the mail date of the notice. If the wage information 
is incorrect, you must provide documentation to support the correction, such as a copy of the Quarterly 
Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) or Quarterly Contribution and Wage 
Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ) within 30 days from the mail date of the notice. 

When a claimant is approved for California Training Benefits (CTB), a Notice of Potential Increased 
Liability for Training Extension Benefits (DE 1545TE) is mailed to all base-period employers. This notice
will inform you of the maximum amount of potential benefits payable, including training extension benefits 
and the amount of potential charges to your UI reserve account. If you believe that your UI reserve account 
should not be charged for the training benefits, your protest must be mailed by the date indicated on the form. 
The response should provide information explaining why the claimant should not be eligible for CTB under 
the California Unemployment Insurance Code section cited. If the DE 1545TE indicates that you previously 
received a favorable ruling, your account will not be charged and no response will be necessary. 

To maintain the integrity of the UI program, the EDD investigates cases of potential imposter fraud 
and identity theft. As part of our investigation, you may receive a Request for Additional Information 
(DE 1326ER) asking you to validate information provided to us by an individual who has filed a claim for UI 
benefits. The DE 1326ER is mailed to the last employer and base-period employers to request additional 
identifying information to validate the identity of the individual. Your prompt response to the DE 1326ER 
will protect your employer payroll tax account from charges if the determination of eligibility results in a 
disqualification, and it will assist the EDD in maintaining the integrity of the UI Fund. 

Find additional information on protecting your employer payroll tax account from fraudulent UI claims, 
protecting your employees, and fighting imposter fraud by visiting Identity Theft Prevention 
(edd.ca.gov/unemployment/fraud_prevention.htm). 

NOTE: You should keep copies of all your responses to EDD notices for your records.

Notices of Determination, Ruling, or Modification

You will receive a notice from the EDD in response to the timely information reported regarding a claimant’s 
eligibility for UI benefits on the DE 1101CZ, DE 1101ER, DE 1545, or DE 1545TE. Depending on the 
specific circumstances involved, you will receive one of the following notices: 

Notice Purpose

DE 1080EZ: 
• Notice of

Determination

Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ, DE 1101ER, DE 1545, 
or DE 1545TE, or who submits timely correspondence with claimant eligibility 
information other than information regarding a voluntary quit or discharge. 

• Notice of
Determination/
Ruling

Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER with 
information regarding a voluntary quit or discharge. This notice informs the 
employer whether or not their reserve account will be charged for UI benefits paid. 

• Notice of
Ruling

Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1545 with information regarding 
separation(s) that occurred within the base period. This notice informs the employer 
whether or not their reserve account will be charged for UI benefits paid. 

DE 1080M: 
• Notice of

Modification

Sent to an employer who previously received a DE 1080EZ stating that the claimant 
was disqualified from receiving UI benefits. The purpose of this form is to inform 
the employer that the claimant’s disqualification period has ended and the claimant 
has met the criteria required to receive UI benefits. This notice does not change the 
original ruling issued to the employer. 
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Appeal Rights

You have the right to file an appeal if you do not agree with the Employment Development Department 
(EDD) determination about: 

• A former employee’s eligibility to receive UI benefits.
• Charges made to your UI reserve account due to paid UI benefits.

You must send your written appeal to the EDD within 30 days of the mail date of the Notice of Determination 
and/or Ruling (DE 1080EZ). The EDD will send you an acknowledgment of receipt and registration of 
your appeal with the phone number for the Office of Appeals hearing the case. The Office of Appeals will 
schedule a hearing with an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). Both you and your former employee will be 
notified of the date, time, and place of the hearing at least 10 days before the hearing date. If you are filing 
an appeal to a Notice of Ruling (DE 1080EZ), the employee is not considered a party to the proceeding and 
is not notified of the hearing. The ALJ will conduct a hearing and give all interested parties the opportunity to 
present their evidence. The ALJ will consider the facts presented at the hearing and issue a written decision 
that is mailed to all concerned parties. 

If you do not agree with the ALJ’s decision, you may appeal to the California Unemployment Insurance 
Appeals Board (CUIAB). The CUIAB reviews appeals to decisions rendered by the ALJ. Both the CUIAB 
and the ALJs operate impartially and independently of the EDD. 

The CUIAB provides the following publications to assist in filing an appeal and preparing for an 
administrative hearing: 

• Appeals Procedure (DE 1433)
• Office of Appeals Tax Hearing Information (DE 6412TF)

For copies of these publications, visit the State of California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board 
(cuiab.ca.gov/index.asp) or write to: 

California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board
Sacramento Office of Appeals
2400 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95833-4224

If you have any questions about appeals: 

• Visit the Unemployment Insurance Appeals (edd.ca.gov/unemployment/appeals.htm).
• Visit the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board (cuiab.ca.gov).
• Contact UI customer service (edd.ca.gov/unemployment/contact_ui.htm) or 1-800-300-5616.
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Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T)

Each September, the annual Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T) is mailed to you. This 
statement notifies you of the Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefit charges and credits to your reserve 
account from July 1 through June 30 of the previous fiscal year. Charges are itemized and based on 
the UI benefits paid to your former employees. Charges to your reserve account may increase your UI 
contribution rate for the next calendar year. It is important to review your statement carefully and respond 
timely if you do not agree with the charges. To protest online, visit the EDD e-Services for Business 
(edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm). You must provide a valid Letter ID for the period 
you are protesting, and it must be submitted within 60 days of the issued date on the notice. A protest 
may also be filed in writing and must be postmarked within 60 days of the issued date on the notice. An 
extension of up to 60 days may be granted for “good cause” (refer to page 56) if your request is submitted 
before the protest deadline. When filing your protest, you must include your EDD eight-digit employer 
payroll tax account number, the claimant’s name, Social Security number, claim date, the dollar amount, 
total number of claimants protested, and the specific reason for protesting. Protests with missing information 
will be returned. 

For a sample form and detailed instructions on how to file a protest, visit Forms (edd.ca.gov/Forms) and 
refer to the DE 428T Protest Sample Form (DE 428C) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de428c.pdf) and 
the Information Sheet: Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T) (DE 428I) (PDF) 
(edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de428i.pdf) or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

To ensure your DE 428T is received timely, please make the necessary updates to your address and/ 
or agent information. For your convenience, these updates can be submitted online through e-Services 
for Business. 

Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of UI Reserve Account (DE 2088)

The Unemployment Insurance (UI), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
tax rates and taxable wage limits may change each year. Each December, the EDD sends you a Notice 
of Contribution Rates and Statement of UI Reserve Account (DE 2088) to notify you of your tax rates and 
taxable wage limits for the upcoming year. Your 2022 notice will show the items used to determine your 
UI rate and the balance in your UI reserve account as of July 31, 2021. 

Any item on the DE 2088 may be protested except SDI and ETT, which are specifically set by law. To 
protest online, visit e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm). 
You must provide a valid Letter ID with the associated tax rate year you are protesting within 60 days of the 
issued date on the notice. A protest may also be filed in writing and must be postmarked within 60 days of 
the issued date on the notice. Please include your employer payroll tax account number, the specific item(s) 
you wish to protest, and the reason you are protesting. An extension of up to 60 days may be granted for 
“good cause” if your request is submitted before the protest deadline. Refer to page 56 for more information. 
Mail your written protest and/or request for an extension to: 

Employment Development Department
Rate Management Group, MIC 4
PO Box 826880
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

For further information, refer to the Explanation of the Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement 
of UI Reserve Account (DE 2088) for the Period Shown on Your DE 2088 (DE 2088C) (PDF)  
(edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2088c.pdf) or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 
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STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE

The State Disability Insurance (SDI) program provides Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave 
(PFL) benefits to eligible workers who need time off of work. The SDI program is state mandated and 
funded by employee payroll deductions. 

Disability Insurance

DI is a component of the SDI program. DI provides partial wage replacement benefits to eligible California 
workers who have a loss of wages when they are unable to perform their regular or customary work due to 
a non-work-related illness or injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. 

Paid Family Leave

PFL is a component of the SDI program. PFL provides benefits to workers who take time off work to care for 
a seriously ill child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered domestic 
partner. Benefits are available to new parents who need time off work to bond with a new child through birth, 
adoption, or foster care placement. Benefits are also available to eligible workers who take time off work 
to participate in a qualifying event resulting from a spouse, registered domestic partner, parent, or child’s 
military deployment to a foreign country. 

Claim Notices

When a DI claim is filed, the employer(s) reported on the DI claim form will receive a Notice to Employer of 
Disability Insurance Claim Filed (DE 2503). When a PFL claim is filed, the employer(s) will receive a Notice 
of Paid Family Leave (PFL) Claim Filed (DE 2503F). You are required to complete and return the 
DE 2503 or DE 2503F within two working days. You may also submit the DE 2503 electronically through 
SDI Online (edd.ca.gov/disability/SDI_Online.htm). 

Your Unemployment Insurance reserve account will not be affected when your employees file DI and/or PFL 
claims. You will not be notified of claimant eligibility for DI/PFL benefits because employees pay for DI and 
PFL through payroll deductions. 

SDI Online

SDI Online is an electronic claim filing system available to employers, claimants, physicians/practitioners, 
and voluntary plan employers and third-party administrators for submission of DI and PFL claim information. 
Employers can securely submit employee information (e.g., wages earned, last day worked, etc.) for DI 
claims online. 

If you have questions about DI, visit State Disability Insurance (edd.ca.gov/disability) or contact DI at 
1-800-480-3287. If you have questions about PFL, visit Paid Family Leave (edd.ca.gov/disability/paid_
family_leave.htm) or contact PFL at 1-877-238-4373.
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Other Employment Development Department 
Programs and Services

America’s Job Center of CaliforniaSM

Visit America’s Job Center of CaliforniaSM (edd.ca.gov/office_locator) to find the nearest location to you. 

State Disability Insurance

Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) are benefits paid under the SDI program. 

DI and PFL customer service is available through the toll-free phone numbers listed below: 

DI English........................... 1-800-480-3287 PFL English ..........................1-877-238-4373 
DI Spanish ......................... 1-866-658-8846 PFL Spanish .........................1-877-379-3819 
DI Hearing Impaired (TTY) 1-800-563-2441 PFL Cantonese.....................1-866-692-5595 

PFL Vietnamese ...................1-866-692-5596 
PFL Armenian.......................1-866-627-1567 
PFL Punjabi ..........................1-866-627-1568 
PFL Tagalog..........................1-866-627-1569 
PFL Hearing Impaired (TTY) 1-800-445-1312 

In addition, visit SDI (edd.ca.gov/disability). 

Unemployment Insurance

Unemployment Insurance (UI) customer service representatives are available through the toll-free phone 
numbers listed below. When you call, an automated system will provide a menu of services. Press “5” for 
the employer menu (available in English and Spanish) that provides UI and job service information. 

English.................................  1-800-300-5616 

Spanish ...............................  1-800-326-8937 

Cantonese ...........................  1-800-547-3506 

Mandarin .............................  1-866-303-0706 

Vietnamese..........................  1-800-547-2058 

Hearing Impaired (TTY).......  1-800-815-9387 

Customers who have filed a claim for UI benefits may call the automated self-service number at 
1-866-333-4606. Press “5” for the employer menu (available in English and Spanish) for UI and America’s
Job Center of CaliforniaSM information. You can access information about UI claim processing, hiring
assistance, UI fraud, California payroll tax information, and an explanation of various employer forms.
In addition, there is a variety of UI information available for employers and claimants by visiting EDD
(edd.ca.gov). Information includes answers to several of the most frequently asked questions.
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Other Agencies You May Contact

For assistance with: 

• Federal tax requirements, visit the IRS (irs.gov) or call the IRS at 1-800-829-1040.

• Labor law requirements (such as overtime, minimum wage, and employee benefits) or to contact
the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement, visit the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR)
(dir.ca.gov/dlse).

• Workers’ Compensation requirements, visit the DIR (dir.ca.gov/dwc).

Help Us Fight Fraud

The “underground economy” is a term that refers to those individuals and businesses that deal in cash and/or 
use other schemes to conceal their activities and their true tax liability from government licensing, regulatory, 
and taxing agencies. Underground economy is also referred to as tax evasion, tax fraud, cash pay, tax gap, 
payments under-the-table, and off-the-books. When businesses operate in the underground economy, they 
gain an unfair competitive advantage over businesses that comply with the law because they do not pay 
workers’ compensation, state, and federal payroll taxes. This causes unfair competition in the marketplace 
and forces law-abiding businesses to pay higher taxes. To address this, the Employment Development 
Department (EDD), in partnership with several other governmental entities, follows up on leads and conducts 
on-site inspections of businesses throughout the state. To learn more about the Underground Economy 
Operation (UEO) programs, visit Underground Economy Operations (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/underground_ 
economy_operations.htm). 

To report businesses that are paying workers undocumented cash payments, failing to carry workers’ 
compensation insurance, or not complying with labor and licensing laws, please download and 
complete an Underground Economy Operations Lead Referral/Complaint Form (DE 660 in English or 
DE 660/S in Spanish) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660.pdf or edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660s.pdf). 
You can also request a DE 660 or contact UEO by: 

Hotline: 1-800-528-1783
Fax: 1-916-227-2772
Email: ueo@edd.ca.gov
Online: Ask EDD (askedd.edd.ca.gov/AskEDD)

The brochure Paying Cash Wages “Under the Table” (DE 573CA in English or DE 573CA/S in Spanish) 
(PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de573CA.pdf or edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de573CAS.pdf) is available at 
Forms and Publications (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm) or by contacting the 
Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

At the EDD, we are dedicated to combatting fraudulent activity and protecting benefits for 
legitimate California workers in need. To learn about how you can Help Fight Fraud visit 
(edd.ca.gov/about_edd/fraud.htm). 

edd.ca.gov DE 8829 Rev. 42 (1-22) (INTERNET) 51 of 58 Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 

http://edd.ca.gov
http://irs.gov
http://dir.ca.gov/dlse
http://dir.ca.gov/dwc
http://edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/underground_economy_operations.htm
http://edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660.pdf
http://edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660s.pdf
http://edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660s.pdf
http://askedd.edd.ca.gov/AskEDD
http://edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de573ca.pdf
http://edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de573cas.pdf
http://edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm
http://edd.ca.gov/about_edd/fraud.htm
https://edd.ca.gov/about_edd/fraud.htm
https://edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm
https://askedd.edd.ca.gov/AskEDD
mailto:ueo@edd.ca.gov
https://edd.ca.gov/en/payroll_taxes/underground_economy_operations
https://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/
https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/


ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

 

 

  

Employer’s Bill of Rights 
Commitment

The Employment Development Department (EDD) is committed to applying the payroll tax laws of the 
State of California in an equitable and impartial manner. Toward that goal, we have developed the following 
information to inform you of your rights during the employment taxation process. 

Employer Rights

As an employer, you have the right to: 

• Courteous and timely service from EDD employees.

• Expect that information maintained by the EDD be kept confidential and not published or made
available for public inspection. However, in certain instances, the law requires that this information
be shared with other governmental agencies. When those instances occur, the EDD closely follows
the law to protect your rights to confidentiality.

• Call upon the EDD for accurate information assistance and to have all your questions answered.

• Receive a clear and accurate account statement if the EDD believes you owe taxes.

• Request a filing extension for up to 60 days. The law provides that the EDD may grant a filing
extension where “good cause” is shown for a delay. (Refer to page 56 for the definition of “good
cause.”)

• Request a waiver of penalty by showing “good cause” for filing a report or making a payment late.

• An impartial audit and a full explanation of our findings if your business is selected for an audit.

• Discuss the issue(s) with an EDD representative, supervisor, office manager, and the Taxpayer
Advocate Office if you disagree with an action taken by the EDD.

• Appeal certain actions to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board.

The Employers’ Bill of Rights (DE 195) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de195.pdf) brochure has been 
developed to inform you of your rights during the employment taxation process. For more information 
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

For the latest tax news and employer resources, visit 
California Employer News and Updates (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/employer-news.htm). 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services 
(edd.ca. gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm). 

edd.ca.gov DE 8829 Rev. 42 (1-22) (INTERNET) 52 of 58 Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 

http://edd.ca.gov
http://edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de195.pdf
https://edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/employer-news.htm
https://edd.ca.gov/about_edd/Get_Email_Notices.htm
https://edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/employer-news.htm
https://edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de195.pdf


ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

 

 

 

 
 

  

Office of the Taxpayer Rights Advocate

The EDD’s Tax Branch established the Office of the Taxpayer Rights Advocate (OTRA), which is responsible 
for providing a clear and consistent focus on protecting the rights of the taxpayer. Incorporated within OTRA 
are the Taxpayer Advocate Office and the Settlements Office. 

Taxpayer Advocate Office

The Taxpayer Advocate Office is responsible for protecting the rights of taxpayers during all phases of the 
payroll tax administration, assessment, and collection process, while also protecting the interests of the state. 

If you are unable to resolve a payroll tax problem with an EDD representative, supervisor, and office
manager, you may contact the Taxpayer Advocate Office for assistance. This office will review the issues and 
facts of your case to ensure that your rights have been protected and work to facilitate a resolution. 

Employment Development Department
Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93
PO Box 826880
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Toll-free Phone: 1-866-594-4177
Phone: 1-916-654-8957
Fax: 1-916-654-6969

Protecting Your Privacy

The EDD recognizes that your privacy is a personal and fundamental right without exception. The 
EDD values and protects your privacy and places strict controls on the gathering and use of personally 
identifiable data. Your personal information is not disclosed, made available, or otherwise used for purposes 
other than those specified at or before the time of collection, except with your consent or as authorized by 
law or regulation. 

Payroll tax and benefit information collected and maintained by the EDD is confidential. As an employer, 
you have the right to obtain access to and inspect your records. You may also authorize your agent or 
representative to access your records by submitting a Power of Attorney (POA) Declaration (DE 48) (PDF) 
(edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de48.pdf) online through e-Services for Business (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-
Services_for_Business.htm) or by contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

If you have further questions regarding your privacy rights, contact the Tax Information Security Office at 
1-916-654-5981.
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Account Number

Annual Household 
Employer

Base Period

Base Period, Alternate 
(UI)

Base Period Employer

Base Period, Standard 
(UI)
California 
Unemployment 
Insurance Code (CUIC)
Cash Wages

The Employment Development Department (EDD) eight-digit employer payroll 
tax account number assigned to each registered employer (for example, 
000-0000-0). Always refer to your employer payroll tax account number when
communicating with the EDD. Omission of your employer payroll tax account
number may result in delays in processing payments, reporting documents, and
correspondence.

An employer who pays $20,000 or less in wages in a calendar year and has 
elected to pay taxes annually. The employer submits an Employer of Household 
Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholding (DE 3BHW) to the EDD 
quarterly and an Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return 
(DE 3HW) with payment annually. 

The base period consists of four calendar quarters of three months each. When 
a base period begins, and which calendar quarters are used, depends on what 
date the claim begins and whether the claim is for Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
or for State Disability Insurance (SDI). For UI, there are two types of base periods: 
the Standard Base Period (see “Base Period, Standard [UI]”) below) and Alternate 
Base Period (see “Base Period, Alternate [UI]” below). The Alternate Base Period 
can ONLY be used to file a UI claim when there are not enough wages earned in 
the Standard Base Period to file a monetarily valid UI claim. For SDI, a base period 
covers 12 months and is divided into 4 consecutive quarters. The base period 
includes wages subject to SDI tax which were paid approximately 5 to 18 months 
before the claim start date. 

The UI Alternate Base Period is the last four completed calendar quarters prior 
to the beginning date of the claim. The Alternate Base Period can only be used 
if an individual cannot monetarily establish a valid UI claim using the Standard 
Base Period. 

Employers who paid the earnings used to establish a UI claim and calculate a 
benefit amount. 

The UI Standard Base Period is the first four of the last five completed calendar 
quarters prior to the beginning date of the claim. 

The laws administering California’s UI, Employment Training Tax (ETT), SDI, 
and Personal Income Tax (PIT) programs. Visit CUIC (leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/ 
faces/codes.xhtml) for more information. 

Checks, currency, and electronic payments paid to people who work for you. 
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Claim An application for Unemployment Insurance (UI), Disability Insurance (DI), or 
Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits: 

• UI – The process that establishes a UI benefit year is called a new claim.
The weekly Continued Claim (DE 4581) is used by claimants to certify
for UI benefits during the benefit year. The EDD has three methods that
unemployed individuals may use to certify for UI benefits. Claimants
can complete and submit a paper DE4581 by mail, use EDD Tele-CertSM

to certify for benefits using the phone, or certify electronically through
UI OnlineSM. After establishing a benefit year, a claimant may interrupt
his or her claim for a variety of reasons. For example, the claimant
could receive a disqualification, obtain intervening employment, or fail to
continue to certify for benefits. The claimant may request to reopen an
existing claim with a claim balance by filing an additional or reopened
claim during the benefit year.

• DI – The application that establishes a DI benefit period is called an
initial claim. Subsequent certifications on an active DI claim are called
continued claims. For each separate period of disability, a new initial
claim must be filed.

• PFL – The application that establishes a PFL benefit period is called an
initial claim. Subsequent certifications on that claim are called continued
claims. For each separate period of family leave, a new initial claim must
be filed.

Claimant A wage earner who files a claim for UI, DI, or PFL benefits. 

Contributions Payroll tax payments for UI and ETT. The California Unemployment Insurance 
Code refers to taxes under its provisions as “contributions.” In this guide, 
“contributions” are generally referred to as “taxes.” 

Disability Insurance (DI) Benefits paid to eligible California workers who have a loss of wages when 
they are unable to perform their regular or customary work due to a non-work-
related illness or injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. DI is a component of the State 
Disability Insurance (SDI) program and funded through SDI employee payroll 
withholdings. 

Domestic Employee Same as “Household Employee.” 

Domestic Employer Same as “Household Employer.” 

Employment Training A payroll tax of 0.1 percent (.001) used to fund job training for people likely to 
Tax (ETT) become unemployed or people who have been receiving UI benefits. 

E-file and E-pay Mandate State law requires all employers to electronically submit employment tax returns,
for Employers wage reports, and payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Beginning January 1, 2018, 

all employers became subject to this requirement. 
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e-Services for Business

Exempt Employment

Experience Rating

Good Cause

Household Employee

Household Employer

New Employee
Registry (NER)

Noncash Wages

Online tool that allows employers to manage their employer payroll tax accounts 
online. New employers can register for an EDD employer payroll tax account 
number online. Registered employers can access account and payment 
information, file most returns and reports, including New Employee Registry 
(NER) and Independent Contractor Reporting (ICR), pay tax deposits and tax 
liabilities, review statements, correspondence, and email messages, obtain tax 
rates, change addresses, make payment arrangements, and close their account. 

Employment specifically excluded from coverage pursuant to the California 
Unemployment Insurance Code. 

The system by which an employer’s Unemployment Insurance (UI) contribution 
rate is determined each calendar year based on previous employment 
experience. 

A substantial reason that provides a legal basis for an employer filing a tax 
report or payment late. “Good cause” cannot exist unless there are unusual 
circumstances or situations that could not be reasonably foreseen; for example, 
earthquakes or floods. For more information, refer to the Information Sheet, 
Waiver of Penalty Policy (DE 231J) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231j.pdf) 
or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

A person hired to work for wages in or around your home, same as Domestic 
Employee. 

A person who hires one or more people to work for wages in or around his or 
her home, same as Domestic Employer. 

California’s new-hire reporting program. Employers are required to report their 
new or rehired employees within 20 days of their start-of-work date. Refer to the 
Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) on page 39.

Payments other than cash that are made to people who work for you, for 
example, meals and/or lodging you provide to your employee(s). 

Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits paid to eligible California workers who take time off work to care 

Payroll Period

Payroll Records

Payroll Taxes (State)

Personal Income Tax 
(PIT) Wages

for a seriously ill family member, to bond with a new child, or to participate 
in a qualifying event resulting from the overseas military deployment of 
the employee’s family member. PFL is a component of the State Disability 
Insurance (SDI) program and funded through SDI employee payroll 
withholdings. 

The frequency you pay wages: daily, weekly, biweekly (every two weeks), 
monthly, or etc. 

Information you keep regarding wages paid to each employee. 

Unemployment Insurance (UI), Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability 
Insurance (SDI), and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding. 

All wages paid that are subject to California PIT, even if no PIT is withheld. For 
a calendar year, an employee’s PIT wages should match the amount reported 
in Box 16 (state wages, tips, etc.) of the employee’s Internal Revenue Service 
Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2). 
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Personal Income Tax 
(PIT) Withholding

Quarter

Quarterly Household 
Employer

Reserve Account

SDI Online

Settlement Date

SSN

State Information Data 
Exchange System 
(SIDES)

State Disability 
Insurance (SDI)

Subject Employer

Subject Quarter

Commonly known as state income tax, which you are not required to withhold 
from your household employees’ wages. You and your employee(s) may 
voluntarily agree to withhold PIT. 

A three-month period in a calendar year, as shown below: 
Quarter Months in Quarter 

1st January, February, March 
2nd April, May, June 
3rd July, August, September 
4th October, November, December 

A household employer who pays more than $20,000 in accumulated wages in 
a calendar year or who has not elected to pay taxes annually. The employer 
is required to submit payroll taxes (with a DE 88) and a Quarterly Contribution 
Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) and a Quarterly Contribution Return and 
Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) quarterly to the EDD. 

A book account kept for each tax-rated employer to measure employment 
experience and set the employer’s Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax rate. Your 
UI reserve account is a “paper” account for recordkeeping purposes and has no 
cash value. 

An electronic claim filing system available to employers, claimants, physicians/ 
practitioners, and voluntary plan employers and third-party administrators for 
submission of Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) claim 
information. 

The date an Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) transaction is completed and 
posted on the books of the Federal Reserve Bank and the state’s bank account. 

Also known as Social Security number. All employee wage records and claim 
actions are filed under this number, rather than by name. 

Allows employers and third-party administrators to electronically receive and 
respond to the EDD’s Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed 
(DE 1101CZ). 

The SDI program provides Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave 
(PFL) benefits to eligible workers who need time off work. DI benefits are paid 
to eligible California workers who have a loss of wages when they are unable to 
work due to an illness or injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. PFL benefits are paid to 
eligible California workers who take time off work to care for a seriously ill family 
member, bond with a new child, or to participate in a qualifying event resulting 
from the military deployment of the employee’s family member. The SDI 
program is funded by mandatory payroll withholdings from employee wages. 

An employer who is liable under the rules and regulations of the California 
Unemployment Insurance Code. 

Calendar quarter when an employer first meets the requirements for reporting 
their payroll taxes. 
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Subject Wages Subject wages are used to determine Unemployment Insurance (UI), Disability 
Insurance (DI), and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits. DI and PFL are 
components of SDI. Generally all wages, unless otherwise excluded in the 
California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC), are considered subject 
wages, regardless of the UI and State Disability Insurance (SDI) taxable wage 
limits. Refer to inside front cover of this guide for current rates and taxable wage 
limits. 

Tax Return Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) or an Employer of 
Household Workers Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW). Quarterly household 
employers are required to file a tax return each quarter to reconcile California 
payroll tax payments and the total subject wages reported. Annual household 
employers are required to file the tax return annually. 

Taxable Wage Limit The maximum amount of an employee’s wages that certain taxes apply to 
in a calendar year. For example, in 2022, the taxable wage limit for UI and 
Employment Training Tax (ETT) is $7,000. Therefore, an employer’s UI and ETT 
tax rate applies to the first $7,000 paid to each worker during the calendar year. 
The taxable wage limit for SDI is $145,600. Since the SDI tax rate is (.011), the 
maximum 2022 SDI tax on any one employee is $1,601.60. There is no limit 
on the taxability of wages for California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding 
purposes. 

Unemployment Benefits paid to eligible California workers who are unemployed. Claimant(s) 
Insurance (UI) must meet specific eligibility requirements in order to receive benefits, which are 

funded by employer payroll taxes. 

Wage Report A Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) 
(DE 9C) or an Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages 
and Withholdings (DE 3BHW). Both Quarterly and annual household employers 
are required to file a wage report each quarter to report employee wage and 
payroll tax withholding information. 

Wages All payments made to people who work for you whether paid by check, cash, 
electronic debit, or the reasonable cash value of noncash payments, such as 
meals and lodging. 

Withholding Money deducted from your employees’ wages for SDI and California Personal 
Income Tax (PIT). You must send SDI and PIT withholdings to the EDD at least 
quarterly, unless you are an annual household employer. 

For the latest tax news and employer resources, visit 
California Employer News and Updates (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/employer-news.htm). 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services 
(edd.ca. gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm). 
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The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon 
request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to 

be made by calling 1-888-745-3886 (voice), or TTY 1-800-547-9565. 
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