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Mandatory E-file and E-pay Phase-In for Employers Begins in 2017
A new state law mandating employers to 
file and pay electronically is coming into 
effect soon.

Beginning January 1, 2017, employers 
with 10 or more employees must 
electronically submit employment tax 
returns, wage reports, and payroll tax 
deposits to the Employment Development 
Department (EDD). This requirement 
will apply to all remaining employers 

beginning January 1, 2018. 

With e-file and e-pay, your information 
is protected with encryption and your 
returns and payments post sooner to your 
employer payroll tax account. You will 
benefit from reduced paper and mailing 
costs and will no longer have to worry 
about lost or misdirected mail.

The EDD’s e-Services for Business can 
help you meet the mandate at no cost. All 

Online. Anytime. e-Services for Business.

you need is an Internet connection. No 
special software is required.
For assistance with enrolling, filing, or 
paying with e-Services for Business, 
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
888-745-3886, Monday through Friday,  
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. (Pacific Time). 
Enroll now. It’s fast, easy, and secure. 
Look for more reminders as the deadline 
for the requirement draws near.

The EDD has recently updated the 
e-Services for Business tutorials. 

The changes make it easier and quicker 
to find the tutorials you need to better 
manage your employer payroll tax 
accounts. The updated tutorials are more 
concise, strategically categorized, and 
easy to find.

The list of tutorials includes:

Enroll/Register/Login

• I Want to Enroll for a Username 
and Password to Use Employer 
Services Online.

• I Want to Register for a California
Employer Payroll Tax Account
Number.

• I Want to Register for a California
Employer Payroll Tax Account

Updated e-Services for Business Tutorials Are Easier to Use
Source or Make a Bulk Payment .   

• I Want to Adjust a Quarterly
Contribution Return and Report
of Wages (DE 9) or Quarterly
Contribution Return and Report of
Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C).

Other

• I Want to File a Report of Indepen-
dent Contractor(s) (DE 542) or Report
of New Employee(s) (DE 34).

• I Want to Get My UI Rate or Update
Account Information.

• I Want to Get Bulk Rates or Attach a
Return File.

You can view the tutorials at e-Services 
for Business Tutorials 24 hours a day, 7 
days a week.

Number for Employers of Household 
Workers.

• I Want to Enroll as an Employer in
e-Services for Business.

• I Want to Enroll as an Agent and Add
Access to Accounts in e-Services for
Business.

Returns/Payments

• I Want to File a Quarterly
Contribution Return and Report
of Wages (DE 9) or Quarterly
Contribution Return and Report of
Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C).

• I Want to Make a Payroll Tax Deposit
(DE 88) Payment.

• I Want to Set Up Stored Bank
Account Information.

• I Want to Set Up a Shared Payment

You will receive your annual Statement 
of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T) 
in the mail in September. This statement 
notifies you of the Unemployment 
Insurance (UI) benefit charges and credits 
to your reserve account during the fiscal 
year July 1, 2015, through June 30, 2016. 

The itemized charges to your reserve 

account are based on the UI benefits paid 
to your former employees. These charges 
may increase your UI contribution rate 
for the 2017 tax year.  Review your DE 
428T and respond within 60 days of the 
statement issued date to protest charges 
you believe to be incorrect.  

If you have address changes and/or agent 

updates, you must immediately notify the 
EDD in order to receive your DE 428T. 

For more information, refer to the 
Explanation and Instruction Sheet-
Statement of Charges to Reserve 
Account (DE 428C) included with the 
DE 428T or call the Taxpayer Assistance 
Center at 888-745-3886. 

Statement of Charges to Your UI Reserve Account Is Coming in September

https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov
a.	www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business_Tutorials.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de428c.pdf
a.	www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business_Tutorials.htm
a.	www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business_Tutorials.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business_Tutorials.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de428c.pdf
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Effective July 1, 2016, the EDD’s  
depository bank for the Electronic 
Funds Transfer (EFT) program will 
change to Union Bank with a new State 
Data Collector, First Data Government 
Solutions. 

The change will impact both the 
Automated Clearing House (ACH) 
credit and the ACH debit filers for 
Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) payments. 

ACH Credit Filers 

ACH credit payments with a settlement 
date of July 5, 2016, or later must 
contain the EDD’s new bank account 
number and routing transit number. 
This information was already provided 
in the Important Notification (DE 28C) 
sent to ACH credit filers in May 2016. 

To avoid any returned payment 
transactions and possible late payment 
penalty and interest, you must provide 
your bank with the EDD’s new bank 
account information. You will need 
to give sufficient notice to ensure 
timely settlement of your ACH credit 
payments during the conversion period.

Important: If you are using a bank 

statewide EFT program or need to 
make an online payment right away, 
you may submit your electronic 
payment through First Data’s website 
by using the One-Time Payment 
option. To submit your payment, visit 
www.govone.com/PAYCAL.

• Warehousing Payments: You will not
be allowed to warehouse your ACH
debit payment with a settlement date
of July 1, 2016, using the current
EDD vendor. You may, however,
warehouse your payments with
Union Bank once the transition is
made.

• Fedwire Payments: Fedwire
payments are also impacted by the
bank change. Contact the e-Pay Unit
at 916-654-9130 before initiating
a Fedwire request to ensure the
banking information is correct.

Important: You must have a valid EDD 
employer payroll tax account number 
before registering for the ACH debit 
method. You may register online for an 
employer payroll tax account number by 
using e-Services for Business. 

For more information on the EFT 
program, visit Electronic Funds Transfer 
(EFT) or contact the Taxpayer Assistance 
Center at 888-745-3886. 

Bank Change Will Affect Electronic Funds Transfer Filers
program to make your payments to the 
EDD, check with your bank to ensure 
it is using your valid eight-digit EDD 
employer payroll tax account number 
to submit your payments and NOT 
your federal Employer Identification 
Number.
ACH Debit Filers 

The overall process for making ACH 
debit payments will remain the same; 
however, please make a note of the 
following: 
• State Data Collector’s website: There

will be a new look to the State Data
Collector’s website. Registered users
using the current vendor’s system
must create a new profile on the new
vendor system www.govone.com/
PAYCAL with their EDD employer
payroll tax account number and
current security code on or after
July 1, 2016.

Note: If you pay by phone, your
payment process remains the same.
Continue to use 800-554-7500 to
make a payment.

• One-Time Payment through First
Data: If you are not registered in the

As a business owner in California, 
it is important to be familiar with 
California’s unclaimed property law. 

Whether you are starting a business, 
relocating, expanding, or closing, it 
is important to regularly review your 
books and records to determine if 
your business holds any property 
that is considered unclaimed. Such 
items may be reportable to the State 
Controller’s Office (SCO).

For decades, California’s unclaimed 
property law has required banks, 
corporations, insurance companies, 
and other businesses to report and 
transfer money to the SCO after a 
period of no activity. 

Common types of unclaimed property 
include:

• Uncashed payroll checks

• Accounts payable checks

• Refunds

• Accounts receivable

• Credit balances

• Bank accounts

• Customer overpayments

• Money orders

• Insurance proceeds

The SCO safeguards lost or forgotten 
property for as long as it takes to 
reunite it with the rightful owners. 
Once the items are turned over to the 
SCO, there is no deadline for someone 
to submit a property claim.

The Outreach and Compliance Unit 
of the SCO’s Unclaimed Property 
Division provides business education 
and resources. 

For assistance, call 916-464-6088, or 
visit Reporting Resources, or email 
UPDHolderOutreach@sco.ca.gov. 

In addition, you may search the SCO 
online database to see if the state is 
safeguarding any property belonging 
to you.

Check Your Records, Send Unclaimed 
Property to the State Controller’s Office

www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Electronic_Funds_Transfer.htm
https://ucpi.sco.ca.gov/UCP/Default.aspx
https://www.govone.com/PAYCAL/Home/SelectAgency
www.sco.ca.gov/upd_rptg.html



