About Paid Family Leave
California Paid Family Leave (PFL) provides up to 6 weeks of partial pay to employees who take time off from work to care for a seriously ill family member (child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner) or to bond with a new child (including newly fostered and adopted children).
To receive benefits, you must:
- File a claim for PFL benefits using SDI Online or by mail.
- Serve a 7-day, unpaid waiting period unless you are a new mother transitioning from a Disability Insurance pregnancy-related claim.
- Have at least $300 in wages that are subject to State Disability Insurance (SDI) contributions (look for “CASDI” on your paystubs) during the 12-month base period of your claim.
- Provide proof of relationship for bonding claims (birth certificate or record, adoption paperwork, etc.).
- Have the care recipient’s physician/practitioner certify to the need for care by completing the “Physician/Practitioner’s Certification” for care claims.
Approximately 18.1 million California workers are covered by the PFL program, which is funded through mandatory employee payroll deductions. Eligible workers can receive up to 55 percent of their previous weekly earnings (maximum reimbursement amount is $1,173 per week) for up to 6 weeks within any 12-month period.
Have more questions? Visit our FAQs page.
Findings about the PFL program: