Legal Holidays

When the due date for reporting or paying payroll taxes falls on a legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day. If a holiday falls on a Saturday, normally the holiday is observed on the preceding Friday. If a holiday falls on a Sunday, the following Monday is considered a holiday. These legal holidays for reporting and payment purposes may not be the same as the State holidays that EDD offices are closed.

Legal Holidays Observed
Holiday Observed Date Observed in 2014 Next Business Day in 2014
New Year’s Day January 1 January 2 (Thursday)
Martin Luther King Jr Day January 20 January 21 (Tuesday)
Lincoln’s Birthday February 12 – EDD offices are open on this legal holiday February 13 (Thursday)
Presidents’ Day February 17 February 18 (Tuesday)
Cesar Chavez Day March 31 April 1 (Tuesday)
Emancipation Day April 16 – EDD offices are open on this legal holiday April 17 (Thursday)
Good Friday April 18 – EDD offices are open on this legal holiday April 21 (Monday)
Memorial Day May 26 May 27 (Tuesday)
Independence Day July 4 July 7 (Monday)
Labor Day September 1 September 2 (Tuesday)
California Admission Day September 9 – EDD offices are open on this legal holiday September 10 (Wednesday)
Columbus Day October 13 – EDD offices are open on this legal holiday October 14 (Tuesday)
Veterans Day November 11 November 12 (Wednesday)
Thanksgiving Day (and the day after) November 27 & 28 December 1 (Monday)
Christmas Day December 25 December 26 (Friday)

This Google Translate™ translation service is provided for informational purposes only as the EDD is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation. View Disclaimer

 

Self-Service Options

Top Links This Month

FAQs

Contact Us