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EDD Offers
No-Fee Tax
Seminars

Did you know the Em-
ployment Development
Department (EDD) offers
no-fee payroll tax semi-
nars in partnership with
other tax agencies?

The EDD offers a variety
of no-fee payroll tax
seminars to assist em-
ployers in complying
with payroll tax laws.

Our classroom seminars
are conducted at many
convenient locations
throughout California.

Some seminars are pre-
sented in partnership
with the federal or state
agencies to provide im-
portant information on
related federal tax and
labor law topics.

The Federal/State Basic
Payroll Tax Seminar pro-
vides information on
both federal and state
reporting requirements.

The State Labor Law and
Payroll Tax Seminar, pre-
sented by the EDD and
the Department of Indus-
trial Relations, offers in-
formation on wage and
hour regulations and
payroll tax require-
ments.

For more information on
other seminars, dates,
locations, and registra-
tion, visit the EDD Pay-
roll Tax Seminars page
at www.edd.ca.gov/
Payroll_Tax_Seminars.
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Federal Health Care Tax Credit Is Available .

for Small Businesses and Tax-Exempt Groups

The small business tax credit included in the
federal health care law is specifically designed
for small businesses and small tax-exempt or-
ganizations to help make maintaining exist-
ing coverage or offering health insurance to
employees for the first time more affordable.
What are the requirements to qualify?

Small and tax-exempt employers that provide

health care coverage to their employees are

eligible for the tax credit if they have:

= Fewer than 25 full-time employees.

= Average wages less than $50,000 per year.

= Pay at least 50 percent or more of employ-

ees’ premium cost for health insurance.

How much is the tax credit?

To help offset the costs of covering employ-

ees, there is a sliding-scale tax credit of up to

35 percent of the employer’s eligible premium

expenses for tax years 2010-2013.

= Employers with 10 or fewer full-time em-
ployees, paying annual average wages of
$25,000 or less, qualify for the maximum
credit of 35 percent.

= For tax-exempt employers, the maximum
tax credit is 25 percent of eligible premium
expenses for tax years 2010-2013, increas-
ing to 35 percent in 2014.

= Beginning in 2014, the maximum tax credit
increases to 50 percent of premium expenses
and coverage must be purchased from the
California Health Benefit Exchange.

How to claim the tax credit

Small employers can claim the small business
health care tax credit as part of the general
business credit starting with the 2010 income
tax return. Small businesses can calculate the
credit with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
Form 8941 and tax exempt employers can cal-
culate the refund with the Form 990-T. Both
forms are available at http://www.irs.gov/uac/
Small-Business-Health-Care-Tax-Credit-for-
Small-Employers.

Small businesses that have already filed a tax
return and later determine they are eligible for
the credit can file an amended tax return.
This federal tax credit is not a state EDD
program. Questions must be directed to the IRS.

Reducing Paper and Costs, Two Guides Go Online

Beginning with the 2013 Employer Guides, the
EDD discontinued the automatic annual mail-
ing of the California Employer’s Guide (DE 44)
and the Household Employer’s Guide (DE 8829).

In our continuing effort to become more effi-
cient and effective, the EDD mails the guides
only to employers who request them.

Effective immediately, employers who wish
to continue to receive a paper guide must go
to https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov/ and select
the link “Submit a request to receive an an-
nual mailing.” Employers can also go directly
to https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov/tap/open/
annualguide/_/#1 and choose to receive the
guide. Employers who choose to receive the
paper guide will receive one annually until
they change their designated preference. Em-
ployers do not need to be registered for e-Ser-
vices for Business to make their choice.

No action is required for employers who do not
wish to receive a paper copy of the guide.

The guides may be viewed and downloaded at

www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_
Publications.htm.

Also, paper copies of the guide(s) will continue
to be available through www.edd.ca.gov/forms
or can be obtained at a local employment tax
office. In addition, Frequently Asked Ques-
tions (FAQ’s) are available at www.edd.ca.gov/
Payroll_Taxes/FAQ_-_Employers_Guide.htm.

While on the e-Services for Business Web page,
consider enrolling in our new online services.
Employers can now manage accounts, file re-
ports, make deposits, update addresses ,and much
more! It is now even accessible through smart
phones and tablets and has never been easier!
Take a test-drive at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_
Taxes/e-Services_for_Business_Tutorials.htm.

CORRECTION
Correction to the Taxable Value of Meals
and Lodging for 2013. See http://
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/
Rates_and_W.ithholding.htm

e-Services for Business. Online Anytime at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov/index.html
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Helpful Reminders
Business Name Change

To report a change in business

name, corporation name, personal

name (e.g., marriage), or change

in ownership of the business:

= Use e-Services for Business at
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov
to make these changes.

= Obtain the Change of Employer
Account Information (DE 24)
form at www.edd.ca.gov/
pdf_pub_ctr/de24.pdf.

e Order DE 24 forms online at
www.edd.ca.gov/Forms.

Mailing Address Change

To change your mailing address
with the EDD, you can:

= Use e-Services for Business at
https://edd.services.edd.ca.gov.

= Obtain DE 24 forms from our
website at www.edd.ca.gov/
pdf_pub_ctr/de24.pdf.

e Order DE 24 forms online at
www.edd.ca.gov/Forms.

= Complete the change of address
form provided in the Payroll Tax
Deposit (DE 88) coupon booklet.

No Longer Have Employees

If you no longer have employees
and will not be reporting wages in
any future quarter, you must send a
final DE 88 with payment, Quar-
terly Contribution Return and Report
of Wages (DE 9) and Quarterly Con-
tribution Return and Report of
Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C). For
the EDD to close your account, you
must complete box “B” and “B1”
on the DE 9. Employers may inac-
tivate their account at https://
eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

If you do not have employees, but
may have employees in future quar-
ters, you are still required to file your
DE 9, marking the Box “A” and DE
9C marking Box “C” showing “0”
(zero) payroll, otherwise, the EDD
may presume you have employees
and assess your account.

Close Your Business

If you close your business, you are
required to file a final DE 88 with
payment, DE 9 and DE 9C within
10 days of quitting business, regard-
less of the normal due dates. For
the EDD to close your employer
account, you must complete Box
“B” and “B1” on the DE 9. Employ-
ers may inactivate their account at
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

Reporting Newly Hired or Rehired Employees

Employers are required by law to report
all newly hired or rehired employees to
the New Employee Registry (NER) within
twenty (20) days of their start-of-work
date. The start-of-work date is the first day
services were performed for wages. Ef-
fective January 1, 2013, the passage of
new legislation now defines an individual
as a rehire if the employer/employee
relationship has ended and the returning
individual had been separated from that
same employer for at least 60 consecu-
tive days.

California children benefit from employ-
ers reporting new or rehired employees

through the timely filing of the Report of
New Employee(s) (DE 34). The informa-
tion provided will assist the California
Department of Child Support Services and
the Department of Justice in locating
parents to collect delinquent child sup-
port obligations. This key information will
also result in early detection, prevention,
and recovery of the Unemployment In-
surance benefit overpayments.

Please refer to Information Sheet: Report-
ing New Employees and Independent
Contractors (DE 231Y) at www.edd.ca.
gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231y.pdf.

Subscribe to Notices by E-mail — It’s Fast & Easy

The Employment Development Depart-
ment (EDD) wants to remind you of our
convenient and complimentary e-mail
subscription services that make it easier
than ever for you to stay up-to-date
online.

You can subscribe to our e-mail list to
keep updated on the latest news about
our programs and services, forms and pub-
lications, events, and upcoming an-
nouncements!

These subscription services are available:

= Employment and Payroll Tax Informa-
tion.
= Labor Market Information.
e Paid Family Leave Information.
= Workforce Investment Act and
Wagner-Peyser Act.
To subscribe, go to www.edd.ca.gov/
about EDD/Get_Email_Notices.htm,
then select the option “I want to sub-
scribe.”
It's easier than ever to keep updated and
informed with the EDD!

Change From ‘Banking Day’ to ‘Business Day’

Effective January 1, 2013, employers
should use “business days” to measure
the due date for payroll tax deposits in-
stead of “banking days.” A recent change
to federal regulations removed refer-
ences to “banking days” and instead de-
termined the timeliness of deposits by
reference to “business days.” A “busi-
ness day” is defined as any day other
than a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holi-
day as recognized by the Internal Rev-
enue Service, statewide legal holiday as
recognized by the State of California, or
a day in which the EDD is closed. What

Quarter Reporting Format

Many EDD forms require you to
specify the quarter on the report
and/or deposit. The date format used
on forms for reporting and/or mak-
ing deposits is the last two digits of
the year and then one digit repre-
senting each quarter. Entering the
incorrect format may cause delays,
penalties, interest, and/or misappli-
cation of funds. For example:
= 1st quarter of 2013 is entered as
131, which is 13 for 2013 and 1
for the first quarter.
= Subsequent quarters would be
132, 133, and 134.

does this mean for you? Since state and
federal holidays are not necessarily the
same day, this definition covers employ-
ers for weekends and all federal and Cali-
fornia holidays. For a listing of all the
legal holidays, go to www.edd.ca.gov/
payroll_taxes/Legal_Holidays.htm.
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