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Businesses and government entities 
that are required to file a federal Form 
1099-MISC for services received from an 
independent contractor may be required 
to report specific independent contractor 
information to the EDD. 

This information is used to locate parents 
who are delinquent in their child support 
obligations. 

The independent contractor reporting 
requirements apply if you meet all of the 
following conditions: 

• You have to file a Form 1099-MISC 

Are you a new employer? Do you need 
help getting started? If so, we have a great 
seminar just for you. 

The Federal/State Basic Payroll Tax 
Seminar is designed to assist you in 
complying with California payroll tax 
laws and is available in multiple locations 
throughout the state. You will learn:

• California payroll reporting 
requirements, including forms, 

Seminar Helps Employers Get Started 
employer obligations, reporting, and 
payment requirements.

• Independent contractor reporting 
requirements.

• Electronic filing and payment 
requirements and options.

• Federal payroll reporting requirements,   
including Forms 940, 941, 1099, W-2, 
W-9, and alternative filing.

To register, go to Tax Seminars.  

Independent Contractor Report Aids Child Support 

Online. Anytime: e-Services for Business.  

Amateur Coach Could 
be Employee Subject   
to Payroll Tax
Do you pay a coach for a school 
sports program, travel sports team, 
or league-sponsored sports event?  
These workers may be employees 
and payments for their services may 
be subject to employment taxes.
The most important factor in 
determining whether a worker/
coach is an employee is the right of 
the principal to control the manner 
and means of accomplishing a 
desired result. The Information 
Sheet: Employment (DE 231) lists 11 
factors to consider in determining 
whether a worker is an employee 
or independent contractor. The 
determination will depend upon a 
group of factors in relationship to 
the services being performed rather 
than a single controlling factor.
For information on other types 
of workers in the amateur sports 
industry such as officials, assistant 
coaches, trainers, directors, 
administrators, and administrative 
support, please refer to the 
following resources:
• Information Sheet: Amateur 

Athletic Officials  (DE 231AA)
• Information Sheet: Wages            

(DE 231A)
• Information Sheet: Nonprofit 

and/or Public Entities               
(DE 231NP) 

• Information Sheet: Types of 
Employment (DE 231TE)

For further assistance on the 
employment status of coaches, 
please contact our Taxpayer 
Assistance Center at 1-888-
745-3886,  or visit the nearest 
Employment Tax Office listed in the 
California Employer’s Guide (DE 
44) and on our website at Office_
Locator. 

for the services performed by the 
independent contractor.

• You pay the independent contractor 
$600 or more, or enter into a contract 
for $600 or more.

• The independent contractor is an 
individual or sole proprietorship.

To report your independent contractor 
information, you are required to submit 
the Report of Independent Contractor(s) 
(DE 542).

For more information about this 
requirement, visit: Independent 
Contractor Reporting Requirements.

The DCSS may use the information to 
issue Income Withholding Orders (IWO) 
to attach an employee’s wages to collect 
delinquent child support. For your 
convenience, the DCSS offers employers 
electronic options to receive IWOs and to 
remit payments:

• To receive IWO’s electronically, sign 
up at Income Withholding Orders. 

•  To remit payments, go to Make a 
Payment.

Timely filing of the DE 34 reports helps 
children receive their support payments 
and may also assist in the early detection 
and prevention of Unemployment 
Insurance benefit overpayments.

New Employee Report Aids Children 
California employers are required 
to report newly hired employees by 
completing a Report of New Employee(s) 
(DE 34) to the Employment Development 
Department (EDD) within 20 days of 
their start-of-work date. In addition, 
any employee who is rehired after a 
separation of at least 60 consecutive days 
must also be reported within 20 days. 
Employers can submit the DE 34 online 
using the EDD’s e-Services for Business.

The EDD provides the new hire data to 
the Department of Child Support Services 
(DCSS) and to the National Directory of 
New Hires. The purpose of the program 
is to help locate parents to collect 
delinquent child support payments.

www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/css/employers/e-iwo
https://www.childsup.ca.gov/Payments/StateDisbursementUnitSDU.aspx
www.childsup.ca.gov/Payments/StateDisbursementUnitSDU.aspx.
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/Classroom_Seminars.aspx
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Independent_Contractor_Reporting.htm
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov
www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator
http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf
http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231.pdf
http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231aa.pdf
http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231a.pdf
http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231np.pdf
http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf
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Who Is a Household Employer?

These are examples of  
household employees:

• Baby-Sitters

• Butlers

• Caretakers

• Chauffeurs

• Cooks

• Crews of private 
yachts

• Gardeners

• Home health care 
workers

• Housekeepers

• Janitors

• Laundry workers

• Maids

• Personal valet

• Pilots of private 
airplanes for family 
use

• Waiters/waitresses 

If you pay wages for someone to work in or around your 
home, you may be considered a household employer. A 
household employer must report when he/she employs one 
or more individuals and pays cash wages of $750 or more 
in a calendar quarter. 

Refer to the table below for a partial list of workers to 
determine what is or what is not considered a household 
employee. A household employee may perform services on 
a part-time or full-time basis.  

These are not household 
employees:

• Carpenters

• Electricians

• Librarians

• Musicians

• Nurses leased from a 
nursing registry

• Painters

• Plumbers

• Private secretaries

• Tutors

• Workers leased from 
an employee leasing 
service

• Workers provided by 
independent businesses 
(for example: a 
janitorial service, 
catering service, 
gardening service, 
or pool maintenance 
service) 

More information is available at Household Employers.

Penalty Has Increased
Effective the 3rd quarter 2014, penalties 
for late filing and late deposits increased 
from 10% to 15%. In addition, penalties 
charged for not reporting employee wage 
information increased from $10 per 
employee to $20 per employee. For more 
information, refer to the EDD website.

Have You Made 
a Change to Your 
Business?
A change of status for an employer 
occurs when you:

• Purchase or sell a business.
• Change business ownership.
• Change your business name.
• Change your mailing address.
• No longer have employees.
• Close your business.
To report your change, go to          
e-Services for Business or contact 
the Taxpayer Assistance Center at   
1-888-745-3886 to request a form.  
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