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MOVING EXPENSE REIMBURSEMENT — WARN ACT PAYMENTS

Supplemental Wage Payments

When supplemental wages (bonuses, commissions,
overtime pay, sales awards, back pay - including
retroactive wage increases, reimbursement for
nondeductible moving expenses, etc.) are paid at the
same time as regular wages, the Personal Income Tax
(PIT) to be withheld shall be computed on the total of the
supplemental and regular wages and shall be determined
as if the total of the supplemental wages and the regular
wages constituted a single wage payment for the regular
payroll period.

When supplemental wages are not paid at the same time
the employee’s regular wages are paid, you may choose
one of two methods for determining the amount of PIT to

withhold:

e Compute the amount of PIT to withhold based on the
total of the supplemental wages and the employee’s
current or most recent regular (gross) wage payment.
The computed tax minus the tax already withheld
from the regular wages is the tax to be withheld from
the supplemental wages, or

*  Withhold at a flat rate without allowing for any
withholding exemptions claimed on the employee’s
withholding allowance certificate. For stock options
and bonuses that were paid on or after November 1,
2009, the flat rate is 10.23 percent. For other types
of supplemental wage payments made on or after
November 1, 2009, the flat rate is 6.6 percent.
(Note: Supplemental wage payments made prior to
November 1, 2009, were subject to rates of 9.3 and
6 percent respectively.)

If vacation pay is paid in addition to regular wages for the

vacation period, such vacation pay is to be treated as a
supplemental wage payment.
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Moving Expense Reimbursement

A moving expense reimbursement in connection with a
move out of California is considered compensation for
future services. The reimbursement would not be included
as California income because the individual is no longer
considered a resident of California. The reimbursement is
not subject to California PIT withholding.

If an employee receives reimbursement in connection
with a move to or within California, the reimbursement
is considered compensation paid to a California resident
for future services. Whether the compensation is
considered wages for PIT purposes depends on whether
the reimbursement was for qualified expenses.

e Reimbursement for qualified expenses is not subject
to PIT withholding and not reportable as PIT wages
on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of
Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C). Qualified expenses
are those which, at the time of payment, it was
reasonable to believe would be deductible by the
employee under Section 217 of the Internal Revenue
Code (IRQ).

e Reimbursement for nonqualified expenses is subject
to PIT withholding and reportable as PIT wages on
the DE 9C. Nonqualified expenses are those which,
at the time of the payment, it was not reasonable
to believe would be deductible by the employee
under Section 217 of the IRC. Compensation for
nondeductible expenses (for example, loss on the sale
of a home, househunting expenses, meal expenses
while traveling to the new location, etc.) - including
any payment made under a non-accountable plan -
would be considered reimbursement for nonqualified
expenses.

Page 1 of 2 cu


http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9c.pdf
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text

WARN Act Payments

Employers subject to Federal and/or California Worker
Adjustment and Retraining Notification (WARN)
legislation are required to provide a 60-day notice to their
employees prior to a plant closure or mass layoff. Failure
to comply with the notification requirements may result in
the employer being liable for back pay to each impacted
employee for each day of violation. Although not subject
to Unemployment Insurance, Employment Training Tax, or
State Disability Insurance,* these payments are subject to
PIT withholding and should be reported as PIT wages on
the DE 9C.

* If the back pay award is paid to the employee using
the employee’s regular pay periods, compute the tax
as if the payments were regular wages, taking into
consideration the employee’s withholding allowances
as shown on the employee’s withholding allowance
certificate.

e If the back pay award is paid to the employee in a
single lump sum, withhold at a flat rate of 6.6 percent
without allowing for any withholding exemptions
claimed on the employee’s withholding allowance
certificate. (Note: Back pay awards made prior to
November 1, 2009, were subject to a flat rate of 6
percent.)

*Includes Paid Family Leave (PFL).

For more detailed information regarding WARN
legislation and relevant legal citations, refer to the
California Employer’s Guide (DE 44).

Additional Information

For further assistance, please contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886 or visit the nearest
Employment Tax Office listed in the DE 44 or access the
Employment Development Department’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/.

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to
individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids,
and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling
(888) 745-3886 (voice) or TTY (800) 547-9565.

professional advice.

This information sheet is provided as a public service, and is intended to provide non-technical assistance. Every attempt has been
made to provide information that is consistent with the appropriate statutes, rules, and administrative and court decisions. Any

information that is inconsistent with the law, regulations, and administrative and court decisions is not binding on either the Employment
Development Department or the taxpayer. Any information provided is not intended to be legal, accounting, tax, investment or other
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http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf



