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2010 Payroll Tax Rates, Taxable Wage Limits, and Maximum Benefit Awards

Unemployment Insurance (Ul)

The Ul taxable wage limit for 2010 is $7,000 per employee, per year. The Ul tax rate for new employers is 3.4 percent (.034)
for up to three years.” The Ul tax rate for experienced employers varies based on each employer’s experience and the
balance in the Ul Fund. The 2010 maximum weekly benefit award is $450. Please refer to page 8 for additional
information.

Employment Training Tax (ETT)

The 2010 ETT rate is 0.1 percent (.001) of the first $7,000 per employee, per year. Please refer to page 8 for additional
information.*

State Disability Insurance (SDI)

The 2010 SDI tax rate (which includes Disability Insurance [DI] and Paid Family Leave [PFL] is 1.1 percent [.011]). The
SDI taxable wage limit is $93,316 per employee, per year.* The 2010 maximum weekly DI/PFL benefit award is $987.
Please refer to page 8 for additional information.

California Personal Income Tax (PIT) Withholding

California PIT withholding is based on the amount of wages paid, the number of withholding allowances claimed by the
employee, and the payroll period. Please refer to page 12 for more information on PIT withholding and page 36 for the
California PIT withholding schedules.

*Ul, ETT, and SDI rate information is available on the Employment Development Department (EDD) 24-hour automated
call system at (916) 653-7795.

What’s New in 20107?

e The automated Telefile System has been discontinued. For information regarding alternate filing options, please call
(800) 796-9330.

e EDD’s e-Services for Business has a new option available, the Just Pay It option allows employers to make an EFT
payment without registering with the EFT program. Refer to page 87 for additional information.

Hot Topics

Tips for Reducing Your Ul Rate — for tips on ways to reduce your Ul rate, refer to page 100.
Fraud Prevention, Detection, and Reporting — for information on how to prevent and detect Ul fraud, see page 101.
Ul Rate Manipulation — for more information on this illegal practice, see page 101.

Important Information

Tax Seminars

EDD continues to partner with other agencies to provide you with the information you need. To find out more about a tax
seminar near you or to register online, access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/.

Web-Based Seminars

EDD has web-based seminars on employee and independent contractor issues available in both English and Spanish.
Access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Web_Based_Seminars.htm for additional information.

Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) Coupon

Preprinted DE 88 coupons are encoded to identify the EDD employer account that should be credited for the payroll tax
payment. Using another employer’s preprinted DE 88 (original or copy) to send your payroll tax payments will result in
your payments being applied to the other employer’s account. See page 73 for the methods to obtain coupons.

Workers’ Compensation

If you have employees, you are required by law to have workers’ compensation insurance coverage. Please refer to
page 111 for additional information.

Value of Meals and Lodging

If you provide meals and/or lodging to your employees, you are required to report their value as wages. For the value of
meals and lodging or additional information, see page 11.
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State of California

Arnold Schwarzenegger
Patrick W. Henning, Director Governor

Dear California Employer:

The Employment Development Department (EDD) understands the difficulties
employers face while trying to move their businesses forward. California is struggling
with the tough economic times as is most of the nation. We recognize that the business
community is essential to California’s recovery and are working to make tools available
to the employer to reduce the time required to meet their payroll tax obligations.

As part of this effort, we have expanded the options available through our Electronic
Funds Transfer (EFT) program through our e-Services for Business. These options
include an ability to pay through our data collector's Web site, by telephone, or on an as
needed basis through the new Just Pay It option. The Just Pay It option does not
require registration with the EFT program. Also available is the Bulk Filer Solution,
which allows payroll agents or payroll services to initiate EFT payments on behalf of
multiple taxpayers. For these and other e-Services for Business options visit
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

We also offer EDD's free e-mail subscription services which make it easier than ever to
stay up-to-date online. Subscribe to our e-mail lists and stay tuned to the latest news
about programs and services online, including What's New on EDD's Web site, recently
added forms and publications, events, and announcements at
www.edd.ca.gov/About_EDD/Get_Email_Notices.htm.

For additional information about any of these services, seminars, forms, publications,
and more visit our Web site at www.edd.ca.gov You may also call us toll-free at
(888) 745-3886 or visit one of our Employment Tax Offices located throughout
California. Office locations are listed on page two.

We appreciate your commitment to doing business in California and wish you continued
success in the year ahead.

Sincerely,

</ok - Llasor

PATRICK W. HENNING
Director

P.O. Box 826880 ¢ Sacramento CA 94280-0001 ¢ www.edd.ca.gov

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET) Page ii of 136



SIN3LNOD 40 319Vl

g Lo Lo 1T 4T o o 1T 1

Quick and Easy Access for Tax Help, Forms, and Publications ................ccccccooiii e, 2
HOW 0 G STArt@d ..........oooiiiiiii e ettt e e ettt e e e sttt e e e s aeee e e s teeee s s baeeeesseeeeeeansaeeeeansaneanns 3
L 01 o -V 4
2010 FOrms and DUE DAtES ...........oooouiiiiiiiiiiieiee ettt e st e e e st e e e s a bt e e e e ab e e e e eanbeeeeenbeeeeenbeeeeennnes 5
Who Is an Employer and When to RegQISTer ... 6
L Lo TN E== T o T =t o] o) Y=Y o USSR 6
WHeEN t0 REGISIEN ... e e e oo e e e e oo e e e e e e s mme e e e e mee e e s e e e e s aemnnneeaanes 6
L1 ¢ Lo 30 3= T TN = 4o o)== SR 7
“Common Law” Employee or Independent CONFACIOr ...........coeiiiiiieiiiiie e cciiie e eee e e e e ee e e srae e e e snaeeeenes 7
What Are State Payroll TAXES? .......ccoociii ittt ettt et e et e e st e e e abe e e sabe e e bee e aaeeesbeeesabeesabeesbeeesbeeanneeanns 8
Unemployment INSUFANCE (U1) ..ottt et e e et e e e e et e e e e st e e e aneeeeaanneeeeanseeeeanneeeeaanneaaaan 8
Employment TraiNing TaX (ETT) ..cooo ittt e e et e e e et e e e e aneee e enneeeeeneeeeeanneeeeaanneaaann 8
State Disability INSUFANCE (SDI) ......eiiiiiie ettt e e et e e e e te e e e e aaeeeeeaneeeaaneeeeaanneeeeeanneeeeanneeas 8
California Personal INCOME TaX (PIT) ....ceiiiiiieeiiiee e et e e et e e e e et e e e s ae e e e e aneeeeeanseeeeanneeeeaanneeeeanneeas 8
State Payroll TAXES (TADIE) .....ooiiiiie ettt ettt e e et e e e e et e e e s e e e e e aeeeeeanneeee e nneeeeenneeeaanneeas 9
Help Us Fight Fraud ... e e s s e e e e s e e e s s n e e s e e e e e e e e e amnneeaan 9
LA F L = T T RSP 10
1] o] [=To2 A= Vo = PRSP SPRTSRI 10
Personal INCOME TaX (PIT) WAGES ......uiiiiiiiiiieiee ettt ettt et e et e ab e et e e b e e saneesneeenneeeans 10
Difference Between Subject Wages and PIT WAGES ......ooiiiiiiiiiiii ittt ettt 10
Employers Subject to California Personal Income Tax (PIT) ONIY ...c..oiiiiiiiiiiiieie e 10
Y[ SR TaTo N oo [o [ o [N P ST OPPPP PRSPPI 11
Additional INFOrMEATION ... .o ettt e e et e e e e e e e nn e e e enne e e s enneeeean 11
California Personal Income Tax Withholding ..o e 12
Wages Subject t0 PIT WIthNOIAING ....cioiiiiieeiee ettt e st e e et e e e s s e e e e snreeeennneeeeennaeeean 12
How to Determine Which Wages Require PIT Withholding .........cccoeeriiiiiiie e 12
Marital Status, Withholding Allowances, and Exemptions (Form W-4 and DE 4) .........cccccciiiiiiiiniiee e, 12
Employer's Obligations for the FOrm W-4 and DE 4 .........oooiiiiiiiii ettt 13
How to Determine PIT Withholding AMOUNES ......coiiiiiiiie e 14
What if Your Employee Wants Additional PIT Withholding? ..........ccceoioiiiiiiiiiiee e 14
How to Withhold PIT on Supplemental WagES ...ttt 14
Quarterly EStIMated PAYMENTS ........eiiiiiiiiie ettt ettt e b e et e it e e s e e e sab e e eaneeeneeesnseesaneeenee s 14

Wages Paid to:
L0711 (0] 1= T =TS (o =T o SRS 15
Nonresidents Of CalifOrNIa ..........ooi ittt e s e e e e e e e aneee s 15
Additional INFOrMEATION ... ..ot et e e et e e e e e e e e e e e eane e e e enneeeean 15
Types of EMPIoYMENt (TaDI@) ............ooiiiiiiie e e e e s e s e e e e e e e e s e re e e e e e e e e annrereees 16
Types of Payments (TabI@) ..............oo ittt ae e e st e e sbe e e sare e enee s 26
California Withholding Schedules for 2010 ... e e 36
ReQUITEO FOIMS ...ttt h et ettt e e e a b et e e st et e e e sb e e e e e s s et e e eane et e snnse e e s annreeeeaanneeens 68
Report of NeW EMPIOYEE(S) (DE S4) ...ttt et e et e e et e e e e ssae e e e e nneeeeenssaeaeesnneesanneeaeensnanennn 69
STV ] L= I 7 0T ¢ oo 70
Report of Independent Contractor(s) (DE B42) ......... oottt e st e et e e s ne e e e enneeeean 71
SAMPIE DE 542 FOIMM ...eiiiiieiiee ettt ettt e e e ettt e e e e st eeeeeeeeaa s saaeeeeeeeeaanssseeeeeaeeeaansssaneeeaeenannnnnes 72
Payroll Tax DepPoSit (DE 88) .......couiiiiiiiiie ettt ettt ettt e ae e e st e s te e sbe e e sn e e saneesaneeeneeean 73
L@ Y= TSP 73
SAMPIE DE 88 FOIMM ..ttt ettt e et e e e e a bt e e e e aee e e e e bt e e e eabe e e e eaneeeesenneeeeeanneeeeenneeeean 73
LAV 1 (] gTe] (o [T aTo B L=Y oo 1= 1 TP PPPPRN 74
California Deposit REQUIFEIMENTS ........oii ittt e e et e e s eabe e e e eane e e e enneeeean 75
Due Dates for Quarterly TaX DEPOSIES ......ccoiiiuiiiiiiiiiee ittt ettt se e e rae e e e e ae e e e enneeeean 76

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET) Page iii of 136



2010 Quarterly EFT Payment Chart .........c.oo ottt 76

Correcting Payroll TaX DEPOSIES ......cccviiiiiiiiie ittt ettt e e e ne e e nan e enee s 77
Quarterly Wage and Withholding REpOrt (DE B) .........cccueiiiiiiiee ettt 79
L@ 7= TSP 79
STV ] o] (= =G o o o SRS 80
Annual Reconciliation Statement (DE 7) ... oottt e e et e e et e e e e see e e e aneeeeeaneeeeaanneeeean 81
L@ Y= VTSP 81
STV 0] o] (= I = o o o SRR 82
Federal FOrms W-2 and 1099 ...t e s e e e e e e e ae e e e e e e e e e s nnnnn e e e e e e e e s nnnnnneeeas 84
LT T 0 o 1o 3 = PR T 86
LS 1] 4 oY PSSR 86
L= 1= TSP OP PP UPPRPPROPPRPN: 86
Federal/State Employment TaXes (FSET) ...occuuiiiiiiie ittt e e e e e e e e snae e e snneeeeas 86

L= = 1Y PUPPPRE 87
Electronic FUNAS TranSfer (EFT) ..ottt e e s e e et e e e s e e an e e e e e e e e snnnreeeeeas 87

L N PSP UPRTPRUPRN 87

Lo =T 0] (= PP PURPPE 88
EZREG ... ettt h e h et eaE e ettt R et e R et e oA e e e e R e e e be e e bt e e be e e ne e e aaeeeeneeaneeean 88

Wa¥e Lo 11 iToTaF= LN T TaTe T @] o} (T} o TS 88
[V E= o | g L=y o 1Y (=T [F= T o 1T o To] i1 T R PSPPI 88
Change Of STAUS ........oooiiiiiiii e e s e e e et e e e e st e e e e e steeeeesteeeeenbeeeeensteeeeansaeeeaannees 89
Purchase, Sell, Transfer, or Change OWNEIShID ........oooi it e e 89
What Is @ SUCCESSOr EMPIOYEIT? ...ttt st sr e s n e e e e e eeeans 90
BUSINESS NAME CRANGE ...ttt et e et e s et e e r e e e te e e be e e se e e s sneesaneesneeenneenns 90
MailiNG AdAreSS ChANGE .....eeiiiriiiiee ettt et s et e s e e bt e s et e e st e e neeeseeeseeeesneesaneesaneeenneeane 90
No Longer Have EMPIOYEES ... e e e s e s 90
ClOSE YOUI BUSINESS ... .eeeiieiiiie et e e ettt e ettt e ettt e e e a e ee e e e st eeeaaaseeeaaamseeeeanseeeaanseeaeaanseeeaanseeeeaaneeeeaannneaeanns 90
[tiS AQAINST TG LAW ... e e e e e e e e e e e e e s e e e e e s mmn e e e amnneeaan 90
Additional REQUIFEMENTS ..o e e e e e e s s e eeeaeessaaareeeeaeeeeaanreraeeeeeeeeannnnrnreees 91
Required Notices and PampPhIelS .........cooi it e e e e e e e e e e e e e e nnnaeeeeas 91
Earned Income Tax Credit INfOrmation ACt ...........oo i s 92
Plant Closure or Mass Layoff (WARNY) ........oiiiiiiie e eiiee et e e ettt e e et e e e s aae e e e snneeeeanseeeeansseeeennseeeeenseeeennnses 93
U.S. Government Contractor Job Listing REQUIrEMENTES ........cc.eiiiiiiiiieiciee e e e 95
LR ToT0] (0|1 C=T=T o] 1o T NPT 95
Employers’ Bill of RiGhts ... ... ettt e e e e e e e e e e e e e e nnaeeeeaaaa s 96
L0707 00141114 1=T o1 (PP RRRSTRR 96
gl (o) =T gl 1T | €=U 96
Office of the Taxpayer RightS AGVOCALE ........coocuiiiiiiiiii et 96
Taxpayer AAVOCAte OFfiCe .......ooiiiiiiieeie et et 96

RS T=Y 11T oY o (SRS 97
Protecting YOUr PHVACY ... ... e e e e e e e e s e e e e e e e e e mnneas 97
Offers in ComMPromiSE (OIC) ..ottt e e et e e e e et e e e e aeee e e neeeaeanseeeeaanseeeeanseeeaaanseeeaaanneaaaanns 97
Unemployment INSUFANCE TAXES .........c..uiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie ettt ettt e et e e s ee e e e s aabe e e e saaseeeesanseeeesaasseeesanseeeesanneeeesn 98
Methods of Paying for Ul BENEFItS ........coo i e e e e 98
How Your Ul Tax Rate IS Determined .........coooiiiiiiiiiieeieee ettt e s e e e e e e 98
NOEICE Of TAX RAIES ... et e e e e et e e e e e e e e e e e e e ean e e e e eanneeesannneas 99
Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) CertifiCation ...........occeieiiiiiieiciie st e e s 929
Reserve ACCOUNT TIANSTEIS ... et e e e e e e e e e e e e nn e e e e e nneas 99
Interstate Reciprocal Coverage Elections for Multistate WOIKEIS .........cceeeieiiieiiiciie e 100
Tips for Reducing YOUr Ul TaX RAE ...cooii oottt et e e e e s st e e e e s e e nnnneeeeeas 100
Fraud Prevention, Detection, and REPOMNG .......ccouiiiiiiiiiiiiii ettt e e e e e e e e nnees 101
LU o=t L1V F= T 1T 01U F= 1 (o) o I PP PPPPN 101

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET) Page iv of 136

TABLE OF CONTENTS



SIN3LNOD 40 319Vl

Unemployment INSUraNCe BeNEFitS............coouiiiiiiiii e 102

UL FUNGING < e e e e e e e e e e oo e s s e e e e e mee e e s mme e e s s mmeee s e mmneesamnneesannneaanns 102

LT oY {1 7= T o PP 102

Benefit QUAIITICAtIONS .....oo ettt ettt e e et e e e e s et e e e e aee e e e anseeeeaaaeeee e nneeeeaanneeeaaaneeeaaanns 102
QUAIFYING UTWEJES ...ttt ettt ettt ettt et et et e bt et e e et eae e eae e eaeesaeesaeesaeeeneeeaes 103

Ul Eligibility Determination ... e ee e e e e e e e e e e 103

How t0 Designate an AQeNt ... e s e e s e e s nn e e 103

How to Request an EleCtronic DE 1545 ...t e e e e e s e e e e e e e nnnee 103
Responding 10 NOLICES ... .. e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e s mnneeaanes 104

T8 o1 o (U T=T o1 ==Y 0 T=Y {1 G =Y SRS 105

Notices of Determination, Ruling, or ModifiCation .............c.coiiiiiiii e e 106

Ul Benefits - ApPeal RIGNES ..o ittt e ettt e e e st e e e e eat e e e e nne e e e enneeeeeneeeeaanns 106

False Statement PENAITY ........oi it e et es 107

Benefit Audits t0 Determing Fraud ...t e et e e et e e e et e e e e nae e e e enneeeeeneeeeenne 107

BaCK Pay AWAIA ... e e e e e e e s e e e e e e e e e e e e s neneeenee 108
Workers’ Compensation BENETIES ..o it e e et e e e e e e e ne e e e e e e e e e eneeas 108
STAtEMENT Of CRAIGES ..ot ettt s e s e s e e e be e e se e e ease e sneeenneennreennnes 108

LaYOff ARBINALIVES ......eiiiiii ettt e e et e et e s e e e s e e e be e e et e s an e e saneeenneennreennnes 109

L= LU= ] - 4TSRS 109

WOrK Sharing PrOGIaM .....cooiiiiiiiiieieeit ettt sttt st st e e ae e e s se e e sane e saneesbe e e saneesaneesnneenes 109

NOHICE OF LAYOFT ...t et a et e e et e e n e e s ne e et e e e e ar e e ean e e saneeenreennnes 109

WEAGE NOLICES ... e e e e e e e e s e e e e s e e e e e e e e e e e e me e e e e mme e e e e men e e e aneeeeeennneas 109

State Disability Insurance (SDI) Program ................ccoooiiiiiiiiiii et 110
TaXES - WHO PayS fOr SDI? ...ttt ee et e e et e e et e e e e ste e e e e asaeeeenseeeeessaeeennneeeeanseeeeannnes 110
EMPIOYEE BENEFIES ..eiiiiiiiieeeiie e ettt e e e e e e sttt e e e e e e e e e rbe e e e e e e e nanaeeeeeeeeennnnnee 110

(O] =114 o T N L] (o= PSPPSR 110
Employer Sponsored VOIUNLArY PIAN .........c..uiii ittt e st e e e see e e e sseae e e s aeee e e sneeeeennseeesenneeeennnns 111

LY B g aTo] o) Te I 2T 1= 1 SRR 111
Workers’ COMPENSALION INSUIANCE........cuuiieiiiiieeeeiiieeeeeeieeestteeeeteeeeeeateeeessaeeeesssaeeeasssaeeeaassaeeeaaseeesansseeesansnnes 111
Additional INFOrMEATION ...t e et e e e e e e s e e e s e sne e e e e nr e e e eenneas 111
Employment and TraiNing SEIVICES ..........c.ooo ittt sttt e e ae e e s be e sbe e s sareesneeens 112
EDD WOTKFOICE SEIVICE .....neiiiieiieii ettt ettt ettt e e ettt e e e et ee e e e s eeeeaaseeeaaanseeeeaanseeeaanseeeeaanseeeaanneeeaaanns 112
Employment Training Panel ... ... e s s 112
LU T 1 USSP 112

L Lo T I D13 (=Y =Y o SRR 112

LT oT=T = 1 ) (o] 2 T 1] o 1RSSR 113

Trade AdJUSTMENT ASSISTANCE ........eeiiiiiiii i et e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e s nann e e e e e e e e eannnnnneeeas 113

L oY Q@] o] o] o (0] a1 4720 1K= Va7 =T [ SRS 114
WOrKFOrCE INVESTMENT ACT. ... ettt e ettt e e et e e et e e e e ne e e e e neee e e nneeeeaneeeesanneas 114

Labor Market INFOrMAatioN ... et e e e e e e et e e e e a bt e e e e nbe e e e e nbeee e e nnees 115
What Labor Market Information Is Available onthe Web ... 115

Multiple Location and/or FUNCION EMPIOYETS ........ccouiiiiiiiiie ettt e e e et e e e nte e e ennnaeeenanes 115

How Your Industry Code IS DEterMINEd ..........ccueieiiiiieiiiiiieeeieeeeeeee e et e e s eeteeessseeeesssseeesensaeeeanssseeesessseeeannes 115
Information and AsSiSTaNCe BY TOPIC ..o e 116
L] (o T=1= T T SRR 122
g T =) RS 126
EDD Forms and PUDBIICAtIONS ...t et e e nbe e e e 130
Instructions for Ordering FOrms and PUDIICAtIONS ..........c.ueviiiiiiii e e e e e e 130

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET) Page v of 136



This guide is published to help you understand your rights and responsibilities as an employer.

How to Use This Guide
Information in this guide is presented in a chronological sequence, beginning with what you need to know or do first, such
as who is an employer, when to register, who is an employee, and what are wages.

To simplify reporting requirements, the Employment Development Department (EDD) follows federal tax guidelines and
due dates whenever possible. However, California laws and rates may differ from federal laws and rates. The EDD
administers payroll tax reporting laws according to the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) and California
Code of Regulations (CCR).

Regardless of the size of your business, this guide is an important resource on the procedures required for compliance
with California payroll tax laws. It clarifies both the provisions of the CUIC and CCR and their application to your business.

This guide provides general information that applies to the majority of employers. The guide provides references to
additional information on specialized topics. Information on detailed or complex issues that only apply to a small number of
employers is not included in the guide.

How to Obtain Assistance and Additional Information

If you have questions that are not addressed in this guide or need additional information, you can access reference
materials on EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center toll-free at (888) 745-3886.
For your convenience, EDD’s Web site and the telephone number are listed at the bottom of most pages. Also, this guide
is available on EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf. To access the guide, as well as other online
forms and publications you need the free Adobe Reader, which can be downloaded from
www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.htmi.

We also offer workshops on California payroll tax reporting requirements and customized seminars and presentations to
help you:

Understand your California payroll tax reporting requirements.

Avoid common pitfalls and costly mistakes.

Control Unemployment Insurance costs.

Learn the differences between employees and independent contractors.

Understand your reporting requirements for new employees and independent contractors.
Discover no-cost services and resources available to you.

We tailor our education and outreach activities to meet your needs, such as providing seminars in Spanish,
accommodations for the hearing-impaired, and personalized consultations. We offer seminars, workshops, and
presentations at locations throughout California. To find out more about a payroll tax education event near you, contact the
Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886 or register online by accessing EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars.

Other Services

This guide also contains useful information on the many services that EDD offers specifically for employers. The EDD
supplies information on a wide range of programs, including programs offering tax credits. The EDD also provides a
number of employment services, such as job development and job search workshops that are designed to reduce
unemployment and, consequently, your taxes. Whether you are a new or established employer, we offer a variety of
services to assist you in building a more successful business while complying with California laws.

We Want to Hear From You
Please let us know what you think about our products and services, especially what we can do to improve this guide to
better meet your needs. Please send your comments and suggestions to:

Employment Development Department
Publications and Marketing Services Group, MIC 93
P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Email: pmsg@edd.ca.gov

Fax: (916) 654-6969

Other Web Site of Interest

www.taxes.ca.gov — This is a joint Web site sponsored by the Board of Equalization, Employment Development
Department, Franchise Tax Board, and Internal Revenue Service.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 1 of 136
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Employment Development Department °

e-Services

e Register as an Employer
o File Reports

e Pay Deposits

Make Address Changes

e |nactivate Your Account

Using the Internet at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov

Telephone

Toll-free from the U.S. or Canada:
(888) 745-3886

Hearing impaired: (800) 547-9565
Qutside U.S. or Canada:

(916) 464-3502

Staff is available Monday through
Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific
Time (PT) to answer your questions.

Personal Computer
Access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov to:

e Download and order forms, instructions, and
publications at www.edd.ca.gov/Forms/

¢ Obtain answers to Frequently Asked Questions at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/FAQs.htm

¢ Obtain information on payroll tax seminars at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_seminars

¢ Obtain information for tax professionals at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Tax_Practitioners

.htm

e Send comments and questions to EDD online at
www.edd.ca.gov/About_EDD/Contact_edd.htm
(click on “ask EDD").

Access the California Tax Service Center Web site at
www.taxes.ca.gov for federal and California tax
information for businesses and individuals.

Fax on Demand

Call (877) 547-4503 to get most tax
forms, publications, and information
sheets faxed to you. You can also
listen to recorded messages on

various payroll tax topics. Request
Document No. 1001 for a catalog of
all available documents.

Self-Service Offices

Tax forms and a free direct-line telephone are available
from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., PT, at our self-service offices.

Bakersfield
Capitola
Chico

El Centro
Eureka

Los Angeles
Modesto

San Francisco
San Luis Obispo
Santa Rosa
Vallejo
Ventura

1800 30" Street, Suite 310, 93301
2045 40" Avenue, Suite A, 95010

240 West 7" Street, 95928

1550 West Main Street, 92243

409 “K” Street, Suite 202, 95501

5401 S. Crenshaw Blvd., 90043

3340 Tully Road, Suite E-10, 95350
745 Franklin Street, Suite 400, 94102
3196 South Higuera Street, Suite C, 93401
50 “D” Street, Room 415, 95404

1440 Marin Street, 94590

4820 McGrath Street, Suite 200, 93003

Walk-In Offices

For information and advice on your payroll tax
responsibilities, visit your local Employment Tax Office
between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., PT, Monday through Friday:

Anaheim
Fresno
Oakland
Redding
Sacramento
San Bernardino
San Diego

San Jose

2099 S. State College Blvd., #401, 92806
1050 “O” Street, 93721

7700 Edgewater Drive, Suite 100, 94621
1255 Shasta Street, 96001

3321 Power Inn Road, Suite 220, 95826
658 East Briar Drive, Suite 300, 92408

10636 Scripps Summit Court, Suite 202, 92131

906 Ruff Drive, 2" Floor, 95110

Santa Fe Springs 10330 Pioneer Blvd., Suite 150, 90670

Van Nuys

6150 Van Nuys Blvd., Room 210, 91401

Forms and Publications

For a listing of forms and publications, access EDD’s Web

site at www.edd.ca.gov/Forms/.

www.edd.ca.gov
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HOW TO GET STARTED?

To help you meet your employer reporting and tax payment obligations, we have highlighted some essential
steps to ensure that you get off to a good start. Please keep in mind that your employer requirements may not
be limited to what is listed on this page. You may also register by telephone or online using EDD’s e-Services.
Refer to page 6 for additional information.

Are You an Employer?
If you have paid in excess of $100 in total wages in a calendar quarter to one or more employees, you are an
employer and must register with the Employment Development Department (EDD).

ACTION REQUIRED: Complete and submit a Registration Form for Commercial Employers (DE 1) no
later than 15 days after the date you paid in excess of $100 in wages. A “commercial employer” is a business
connected with commerce or trade, operating primarily for profit. This form is appropriate for most employers.

NOTE: Industries such as agriculture, government, nonprofit, or household are required to register using an
alternate form. Refer to page 6 to determine the appropriate registration form for your type of industry.

Be sure to complete all items on the DE 1. You will be assigned an eight-digit EDD employer account number,
which identifies your business for the purpose of reporting and paying payroll taxes. Include your EDD employer
account number on all correspondence, including reports and payments that you send to EDD.

ACTION REQUIRED:

¢ Report new employee(s) within 20 days of the employee’s start-of-work date. All employees who are
newly hired, rehired, or returning to work from a furlough, separation, leave of absence without pay, or
termination must be reported to EDD on the Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) form. If you acquire an
ongoing business and employ any of the former owner’s workers, these employees are considered new
hires, and you should report them to EDD’s New Employee Registry. For additional information on reporting
new employees, refer to page 69.

e Report independent contractor information within 20 days of paying an independent contractor $600 or
more, or entering into a contract for $600 or more, whichever is earlier. Independent contractor information
must be reported to EDD by completing the Report of Independent Contractor(s) (DE 542) form. For
additional information on Independent Contractor Reporting, refer to page 71.

e Provide your employees with pamphlets on employee withholdings and Unemployment Insurance (Ul),
State Disability Insurance (SDI), and Paid Family Leave (PFL). For additional information on employee
pamphlets, refer to page 91.

¢ Post an employee notice with Ul, SDI, and Paid Family Leave claim and benefit information. This notice
should be posted in a prominent location, easily seen by your employees. The appropriate notice will be
sent to you after you register. For additional information on employee notices, refer to page 91.

ACTION REQUIRED: Make your Ul, Employment Training Tax (ETT), SDI, and California Personal
Income Tax (PIT) deposits by submitting a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon with your remittance by mail
or through Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) or the EZPAY credit card program (some limitations may apply).
Your SDI and PIT withholdings deposit due dates are based on your federal deposit schedule/requirement and
the amount of accumulated PIT that you have withheld. Your Ul and ETT payments are due quarterly. For
additional information on your deposit requirements, refer to pages 74 and 75.

ACTION REQUIRED: File a Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6) to report wages paid and PIT
withheld for each employee for each quarter. The reports are due on January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1
each year. This report must be submitted even if no wages are paid during a calendar quarter. For additional
information on DE 6 reporting requirements, refer to page 79.

ACTION REQUIRED: File an Annual Reconciliation Statement (DE 7) to reconcile the tax and withholding
amounts with your DE 88 deposits for the year. Your 2010 DE 7 must be postmarked by January 31, 2011, to
be timely. This report must be submitted even if you had no payroll for the year. For additional information on
DE 7 reporting requirements, refer to page 81.

NOTE: Failure to complete the above steps on time may result in penalty and interest charges.

Most forms and publications are available on EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm or by contacting our Taxpayer Assistance
Center at (888) 745-3886. If outside U.S. or Canada, call (916) 464-3502.

For information on your federal employment tax reporting requirements, access the IRS’ Web site at
www.irs.gov, or contact IRS at (800) 829-1040.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 3 of 136
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No
registration
requirement

Have you paid cumulative wages in excess of $100 No |
in a calendar quarter?

Yesl

Complete Registration Form for Commercial Employers (DE 1)

1

After registering as an employer with EDD, the information below will be
mailed to you to do the following:

§ 88

|
- 1 5 i
i ithi Give to Employee(s
Provide to EDD within ployee(s) Post in Workplace
20 Days DE 35 Notice to Employees
) DE 1857A Notice to Employees
DE 34 Report of New Employee(s) DE 2320 For Your Benefit
DE 542 Report of Independent DE 2511 cCalifornia Paid Family Leave (If you are a public entity or not
Contractor(s) DE 2515 State Disability subject to Ul, refer to page 91 for your
Insurance Provisions posting requirements.)
1 1 ]
A

Continuous Filing Requirements
The required tax forms below are preprinted and mailed to you.*

!

Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)

(Quarterly or More Frequently)
Submit your deposit (taxes and withholding) with your DE 88 coupon

according to the schedule on page 74.

1

Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6)
(Quarterly)

Report total wages paid to employees, PIT wages, and PIT withheld on a
DE 6. This report must be filed even if no wages were paid in the quarter.

1

Annual Reconciliation Statement (DE 7)

(Annually)
Reconciles your payroll tax deposits (DE 88s) and the wages you reported

(DE 6) for the year.

* To ensure that you receive your forms, it is important that EDD has your correct mailing address and that you notify EDD of any address change.
Most forms are available on our Web site at www.edd.ca.gov, or by calling our Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886 or Fax on Demand at
(877) 547-4503.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 4 of 136



2010 FORMS AND DUE DATES

Due Form Name
Within 15 calendar days after paying over $100 DE 1 Registration Form for Commercial Employers (If you
in wages. are not a commercial employer, refer to page 6.)

Within 20 days of start of work for new or rehired

employees. DE 34 Report of New Employee(s)

Within 20 days of paying an independent
contractor $600 or more or entering into a contract DE 542 | Report of Independent Contractor(s)
for $600 or more, whichever is earlier.

2010 FORMS AND
DUE DATES

Due Delinquent if Not Filed by'| Report Quarter/Annual (Covering)
April 1, 2010 April 30, 2010 DE 6 1** (January, February, March)
July 1, 2010 August 2, 2010 DE 6 2™ (April, May, June)
October 1, 2010 November 1, 2010 DE 6 3" (July, August, September)
January 1, 2011 January 31, 2011 DE 6 4" (October, November, December)
January 1, 2011 January 31, 2011 DE7 2010 (Entire Year)

CALIFORNIA DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS

If Your Federal Deposit And You Have PIT and SDI
Schedule/Requirement| Accumulated State If Payday Is Deposit Due by
Is' PIT Withholding of P y
Less than $350 Any day Quarterly’
Next Banking Day $350 to $500 Any day 15" of the following month
More than $500 Any day Next Banking Day
Less than $350 Any day Quarterly’
t A 15" of the followi th
Semiweekly $350 to $500 ny day 5" of the following mon
More than $500 Wed., Thurs., or Fri. Following Wednesday’
More than $500 Sat., Sun., Mon., or Tues. Following Friday’
terly’
Monthly Less than $350 Any day Quarterly
$350 or more Any day 15" of the following month
Quar‘terly4’5 April 30, 2010
August 2, 2010
or Less than $350 Any day November 1, 2010
. January 31, 2011
Annually X
$350 or more Any day 15th of the following month
NOTE:
1

Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) transactions for Next Banking Day deposits must be settled in the State’s bank account on or before the third
banking day following the payroll date.

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day. For example, if a deposit is due on
Friday, but Friday is a holiday, the deposit due date is extended to the following Monday.

If you have accumulated less than $350 of PIT and choose to make an additional deposit before the quarterly due date, designate the
“DEPOSIT SCHEDULE” as QUARTERLY on your DE 88 coupon.

If you are not required to follow one of the above federal deposit schedules/requirements, you are still required to make California payroll tax
deposits of accumulated SDI deductions and PIT withholding quarterly or more often, based on the guidelines in this table.

A deposit of employer Ul and ETT taxes not previously paid is also due each quarter by the due dates shown.

If your federal deposit requirement is annually, you are required to make California payroll tax deposits quarterly or monthly based on the
guidelines in this table.

The transition period of the semiweekly schedule allows employers to make deposits in any of the three business days following the last pay
date. If any of the transition period days is a legal holiday, the employer is given an extra business day to make the deposit.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 5 of 136
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WHO IS AN EMPLOYER?

An employer is a person or legal entity that hires one or more persons to work for a wage, salary, or other compensation.
Employers include sole proprietors, joint ventures, partnerships, co-ownerships, corporations, S corporations, limited
liability companies, limited liability partnerships, nonprofit organizations, associations, trusts, charitable foundations, public
entities, and State and federal agencies.

Private households, local college clubs, and local chapters of fraternities and sororities that employ workers to perform
household services are “household employers.” For more information on household employment, obtain a Household
Employer’s Guide (DE 8829) by accessing EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de8829.pdf or contacting
the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

NOTE: If you acquired an existing business, refer to “What is a Successor Employer?” on page 90 for further details.

When Do | Become an Employer?

When you pay wages in excess of $100 in a calendar quarter to one or more employees, you become an employer. Wages
are compensation for services performed, including, but not limited to, cash payments, commissions, bonuses, and the
reasonable cash value of nonmonetary payments for services, such as meals and lodging. For more information, refer to
“What are Wages” on page 10.

WHEN TO REGISTER

All employers conducting business in California are subject to the employment tax laws of the California Unemployment
Insurance Code (CUIC). Once a business hires an employee, the business is considered an employer and must complete
and submit a registration form to the Employment Development Department (EDD) within 15 days after paying wages in
excess of $100 in a quarter.

Employers are responsible for reporting wages paid to their employees and paying Unemployment Insurance (Ul) tax and
Employment Training Tax (ETT) on those wages, as well as withholding and remitting State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax
and California Personal Income Tax (PIT) due on wages paid to their workers. Once subject, an employer must report
wages for that year and the following year, regardless of the amount of wages paid.

Q ACTION REQUIRED: Register with EDD for an employer account number if you have paid wages in excess of $100
in a calendar quarter to one or more employees.

How to Register (Obtaining an EDD Employer Account Number)

Register online from EDD’s e-Services at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov by selecting EZREG or by completing the
appropriate registration form for your industry.

e Commercial DE 1 e Household DE 1HW
e Agricultural DE 1AG e Nonprofit DE 1NP
e Government/Schools/Indian Tribes DE 1GS e Personal Income Tax Only DE 1P

To obtain your industry-specific registration form, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm, call our automated Fax on Demand system at
(877) 547-4503, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. Please mail or fax the completed
registration form to:

Employment Development Department
Account Services Group, MIC 28

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Fax: (916) 654-9211

You may also register by telephone by calling EDD’s Tele-Reg at (916) 654-8706. When you use Tele-Reg, you will
receive your EDD employer account number over the telephone and your new employer packet in three separate mailings.

NOTE: If you employ workers in and around your private residence, refer to the Household Employer’s Guide (DE 8829)
for your reporting requirements. The DE 8829 is available on our Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de8829.pdf.

REMEMBER:

¢ Employment occurs when an employer engages the services of an employee for pay.

e You become an employer when you pay total wages in excess of $100 in a quarter to one or more employees.

e You must complete a registration form and submit to EDD within 15 days of paying wages in excess of $100.

o Employers are responsible for reporting wages paid to employees and paying Ul and ETT on the wages, as well as
withholding and remitting SDI and PIT.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 6 of 136



WHO IS AN EMPLOYEE?
An “employee” includes all of the following:
e Any officer of a corporation.
e Any worker who is an employee under the usual common law rules.
e Any worker whose services are specifically covered by law.

An employee may perform services on a temporary or less than full-time basis. The law does not exclude services from
employment what are commonly referred to as day labor, part-time help, casual labor, temporary help, probationary, and
outside labor.

“COMMON LAW” EMPLOYEE OR INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR

What Is “Common Law”?

Common law, as we know it, has evolved slowly over the years based upon decisions rendered by the courts on individual
cases. The common law rules of employment, as they exist today, are the total of all court decisions related to the
question of what constitutes an employment relationship.

When Does an Employer-Employee Relationship Exist?

An employer-employee relationship exists when a person who hires an individual to perform services has the right to
exercise control over the manner and means by which the individual performs those services. The “right of control,”
whether or not exercised, is the most important factor in determining the relationship. Tax decisions by the California
Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board (CUIAB) are based on the right of control factor along with the examination of
secondary factors, when necessary.

NOTE: California does not provide relief under the “Safe Harbor” provisions of the Internal Revenue Code. Therefore, it is
important that workers are properly classified under the usual common law rules which determine employer-
employee relationships.

How Can | Get Additional Information on This Topic?

Incorrectly classifying your workers can be a costly mistake. If you have incorrectly treated employees as independent
contractors, you could be liable for back taxes, penalties, and interest. To help you determine if you have correctly
classified your workers, EDD has several resources available:

o Employment Determination Guide (DE 38) - Asks a series of “Yes” or “No” questions regarding your treatment of
workers to help determine if a problem may exist and whether you need to seek additional guidance. To obtain this
guide, access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de38.pdf.

e Determination of Employment Work Status for Purposes of State of California Employment Taxes and
Personal Income Tax Withholding (DE 1870) - Provides a series of questions regarding your relationship with the
workers. After you complete and return this form, EDD will send you a written determination stating whether your
workers are employees or independent contractors based on the facts that you have provided. To obtain this
publication, access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1870.pdf.

+ Information Sheets on general and industry-specific issues including Information Sheet: Employment (DE 231) - To
obtain information sheets, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm, call our automated Fax on Demand system at
(877) 547-4503, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

e Precedent Tax Decisions by the CUIAB - Available on CUIAB’s Web site at
www.cuiab.ca.gov/precedent_decisions.shtm.

e Payroll Tax Seminars on employee and independent contractor issues - Access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/ or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

¢ Web-Based Seminars on employee and independent contractor issues are available in both English and Spanish.
Access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Web_Based_Seminars.htm for additional information.

e Verbal Guidance on worker classification issues - Contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

REMEMBER:

e An employee includes any officer of a corporation, a worker who is an employee under common law, and a worker
whose services are specifically covered by law. (Refer to the “Types of Employment” table on page 16 for additional
information.)

e An employee may perform services on a temporary or less than full-time basis.

e The “right of control” is the most important factor in determining an employer-employee relationship.

o The EDD has several resources available to help you correctly classify your workers.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 7 of 136
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WHAT ARE STATE PAYROLL TAXES?

The EDD administers the following California payroll tax programs:

Unemployment Insurance (Ul)

Employment Training Tax (ETT)

State Disability Insurance (SDI)

California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding

NOTE: Paid Family Leave (PFL) is a component of the State Disability Insurance Program.

The Ul and ETT are employer paid contributions. The SDI and PIT are withheld from employee wages. Wages are subject
to all four payroll taxes unless otherwise stated.

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (Ul)
What Is Ul Tax?
The Ul program was established as part of a national program administered by the U.S. Department of Labor under the
Social Security Act. The Ul program provides temporary payments to individuals who are unemployed through no fault of
their own.

Who Pays It?

The Ul program is an employer-paid tax. Tax-rated employers pay a percentage on the first $7,000 in wages paid to each
employee in a calendar year. The Ul rate schedule and amount of taxable wages are determined annually. New
employers pay 3.4 percent (.034) for up to three years. The Ul rate could increase to a maximum of 6.2% (.062) based on
an employer’s experience rating. For a detailed explanation of the experience rating method, refer to the Information
Sheet: California System of Experience Rating (DE 231Z) by accessing EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231z.pdf.

Governmental and certain nonprofit employers may elect the reimbursable method of financing Ul in which they reimburse
the Ul Fund on a dollar-for-dollar basis for all benefits paid to their former employees.

EMPLOYMENT TRAINING TAX (ETT)
What Is ETT?
The ETT provides funds to train employees in targeted industries to improve the competitiveness of California businesses.
The ETT funds promote a healthy labor market by helping California businesses invest in a skilled and productive
workforce and develop the skills of new and incumbent workers.

Who Pays It?
The ETT is an employer-paid tax. Employers subject to ETT pay one-tenth of one percent (.001) on the first $7,000 in
wages paid to each employee in a calendar year.

STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI)

What Is SDI Tax?

The SDI Program provides temporary benefit payments to workers for non-work-related disabilities. The SDI tax provides
Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits. The DI benefits are paid to eligible California workers
experiencing a loss of wages when they are unable to perform their regular or customary work due to a non-work-related
illness or injury, pregnancy, and childbirth. The PFL is a component of SDI. The PFL extends benefits to individuals
unable to work because they need to care for a seriously ill family member or bond with a new child.

Who Pays It?
The SDI is a deduction from employees’ wages. Employers withhold a percentage for SDI on the first $93,316 in wages
paid to each employee in a calendar year.

CALIFORNIA PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT)

What Is PIT?

California PIT is a tax levied on the income of California residents and on income that nonresidents derive within
California. The EDD administers the reporting, collection, and enforcement of PIT wage withholding. The Franchise Tax
Board (FTB) and EDD administer the California PIT program for the Governor to provide resources needed for California
public services such as schools, public parks, roads, and health and human services.

Who Pays It?
California PIT is withheld from employees’ pay based on the Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate (Form W-4 or
DE 4) on file with their employer.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 8 of 136



STATE PAYROLL TAXES

Unemployment
Insurance (Ul)

Employment
Training Tax (ETT)

State Disability
Insurance (SDI)

California
Personal Income
Tax (PIT)

Who Pays

Employer

Employer

Employee (employer
withholds from
employee wages).

Employee (employer
withholds from
employee wages).

Taxable Wages

First $7,000 of subject
wages per employee,
per year.

First $7,000 of subject
wages per employee,
per year.

First $93,316 of
subject wages per
employee, per year.

No limit. Please refer
to PIT withholding

schedules on page 36.

Tax Rate

New employer tax rate
is 3.4 percent (.034)
for up to three years.
Following this period,
the tax rate is
calculated annually
based on each
employer’s previous
experience. The EDD
notifies employers of
their new rate each
December.

Set by statute at

0.1 percent (.001) of Ul
taxable wages for
employers with
positive Ul reserve
account balances and
employers subject to
CUIC § 977(c)

The 2010 SDI tax rate
is 1.1 percent (.011)
(this includes the rate
for DI and PFL) of SDI
taxable wages per
employee, per year.
Set by the California
State Legislature, SDI
may change each
year.

Withheld based on the
employee’s Form W-4
or DE 4.

Maximum Tax
(Except if employer is
subject under CUIC §
977(c)

$434 per employee,

per year. (Calculated
at the highest Ul tax

rate of 6.2 percent x

$7,000.)

$7 per employee, per
year ($7,000 x .001).

$1026.48 per
employee, per year
($93,316 x .011).

No maximum.

NOTE: Some types of employment are not subject to payroll taxes and/or PIT withholding. Please refer to the “Types of
Employment” table on page 16. Certain types of wages and benefits are not subject to payroll taxes. Please refer to the
“Types of Payments” table on page 26.

conceal their activities and their true tax liability from government licensing and taxing agencies. When businesses operate

HELP US FIGHT FRAUD

The “underground economy” comprises those individuals and businesses that deal in cash and/or use other schemes to

in the underground economy, they gain an unfair competitive advantage over businesses that comply with the law

because they do not pay workers’ compensation and State and federal payroll taxes. This causes unfair competition in the

marketplace and forces law-abiding businesses to pay higher taxes. To address this, EDD, in partnership with several
other governmental entities, follows up on leads and conducts on-site inspections of businesses throughout the State.*
To learn more about EDD’s Underground Economy Operation (UEO) programs, access EDD’s Web site at

www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Underground_Economy_Operations.htm.

To report businesses that are paying workers undocumented cash payments, failing to carry workers’ compensation
insurance, or not complying with labor and licensing laws, please download and complete an Underground Economy

Operations Lead Referral/Complaint Form (DE 660 in English or DE 660/S/ in Spanish) available at

www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660.pdf or de660s.pdf or contact UEO at:

Hotline:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-mail:
Online:

(800) 528-1783
(916) 227-2730
(916) 227-2772
ueo@edd.ca.gov
www.edd.ca.gov (Select “Report Fraud”)

To obtain the Paying Cash Wages “Under the Table” brochure (DE 573CA in English or DE 573CA/S/ in Spanish), access

EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm, request Document No. 2141
(English) or Document No. 2142 (Spanish) from our Fax on Demand at (877) 547-4503, or contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

*More information about the joint task force effort may be found in the publication Employment Enforcement Task Force
(DE 631) on EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de631.pdf.
Further information about how to help EDD fight fraud may be found in the Help Us Fight Fraud brochure (DE 2370) at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2370.pdf.

www.edd.ca.gov

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET)
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WHAT ARE WAGES?

Wages are all compensation for an employee’s personal services, whether paid by check or cash, or the reasonable cash
value of noncash payments such as meals and lodging. The method of payment, whether by private agreement, consent,
or mandate, does not change the taxability of wages paid to employees. Payments are considered wages even if the
employee is: a casual worker; a day or contract laborer; part-time or temporary worker; or paid by the day, hour, or any
other method or measurement. Supplemental payments, including bonuses, overtime pay, sales awards, commissions,
and vacation pay are also considered wages.

SUBJECT WAGES

Generally, all wages are considered subject wages and are used to determine the amount of Unemployment Insurance
(Ul), State Disability Insurance (SDI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits a claimant should receive. Subject wages are
the full amount of wages, regardless of the Ul and SDI taxable wage limits. Refer to inside cover for UI/SDI taxable wage
limits. Enter the Total Subject Wages in “ltem G” for each employee on the Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report

(DE 6). Certain types of employment and payments are not considered subject (refer to the “Types of Employment” table
on page 16 and “Types of Payments” table on page 26).

PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) WAGES

Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages are cash and noncash payments subject to State income tax. Wages that must be
reported on an individual’s California income tax return are PIT wages. Most payments for employees’ services are
reportable as PIT wages. An employee’s calendar year total for PIT wages should agree with the amount reported on the
employee’s federal Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) in Box 16 (State wages, tips, etc.). The PIT wages for each
employee must be reported quarterly in “Item H” on the DE 6. For additional information, obtain the Information Sheet:
Personal Income Tax Wages Reported on the Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 231PIT). To obtain the

DE 231PIT, access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231pit.pdf, call our automated Fax on Demand
system at (877) 547-4503, request Document No. 3300 (English), or Document No. 3305 (Spanish) or contact the
Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

NOTE: Some wages excluded from PIT withholding are still considered PIT wages and must be reported to EDD (for
example, wages paid to agricultural workers).

DIFFERENCE BETWEEN SUBJECT WAGES AND PIT WAGES

In most situations, when wages are subject to Ul, ETT, SDI, and PIT withholding, subject wages and PIT wages are the
same. Examples of when subject wages and PIT wages are different are:

e Employee salary reduction contributions to a qualified retirement or pension plan are included as subject wages, but
are not reportable as PIT wages (refer to the “Retirement and Pension Plans” section of the “Types of Payments”
table on page 26).

e Under certain situations, wages paid to family employees (minor child under 18, registered domestic partner, spouse,
and parent) may not be reported as subject wages but are reportable as PIT wages (refer to the “Family Employees”
section of the “Types of Employment” table on page 16).

¢ Payments made to employees of churches are not reported as subject wages, but are reportable as PIT wages (refer
to the “Nonprofit Organization Employees” section of the “Types of Employment” table on page 16).

EMPLOYERS SUBJECT TO CALIFORNIA PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) ONLY

Employers, who are only required to withhold California PIT, but not the other payroll taxes, are still required to register
with EDD using the Registration Form for Employers Depositing Only Personal Income Tax Withholding (DE 1P). The
employer is liable for the required PIT, whether or not it is withheld. By law, the filing of federal Form 1099-MISC (issued to
the worker) with the Internal Revenue Service or Franchise Tax Board does not relieve the employer of liability.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 10 of 136



MEALS AND LODGING

Meals and lodging provided free of charge or at a reduced rate to an employee are wages. If your employees are covered
under a contract of employment or union agreement, the taxable value of meals and lodging cannot be less than the
estimated value stated in the contract or agreement.

If the cash value is not stated in an employment contract or union agreement, please refer to the table below for the value
of the meals and/or lodging. To determine the value of lodging, multiply the amount you could rent the property for
(ordinary rental value) by 66 2/3 percent (0.6667). Ordinary rental value may be calculated on a monthly or weekly basis
as follows:

Value of Meals Value of Lodging

3 Meals Meal Not | Minimum | Maximum

Year | per Day | Breakfast | Lunch | Dinner | Identified | Per Week | Per Month
2010 | $ 10.35 $2.25 $3.15 $4.95 $ 3.60 $ 38.60 $1,190
2009 | $ 10.00 $2.20 $3.00 $4.80 $3.50 $37.20 $1,145
2008 | $ 9.60 $2.10 $2.90 $4.60 $3.35 $ 35.40 $ 1,092
2007 | $ 9.30 $2.00 $2.80 $4.50 $3.20 $ 33.80 $ 1,041

The values above apply to non-maritime employees only.

For more information on meals and lodging, including values for those provided to maritime employees, access EDD’s
Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Rates_and_Withholding.htm or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center
at (888) 745-3886. If outside U.S. or Canada, call (916) 464-3502.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

e Fax on Demand (request Document No. 1001 for a catalog of available documents) (877) 547-4503
e Who is an Employee Page 7
e Types of Employment (table) Page 16
e Types of Payments (table) Page 26
o EDD Web site (forms and publications) www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm
e Information Sheets:

- DE231A - Wages

- DE 231PIT — Personal Income Tax Wages Reported on the Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6)

- DE 231W — Personal Income Tax Adjustment Process

Subscribe to EDD’s free e-mail subscription services
www.edd.ca.gov/about_EDD/Get_Email_Notices.htm

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET) Page 11 of 136
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WAGES SUBJECT TO PIT WITHHOLDING

With certain exceptions, compensation for services performed by an employee is considered wages and subject to
California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding. California wages include, but are not limited to, salaries, bonuses,
commissions, fees (except fees paid to public officials), and payments in forms other than checks or cash. Wages in any
form other than checks or cash are measured by the fair market value of the goods, lodging, meals, or other
compensation given in payment for the employee's services.

How to Determine Which Wages Require PIT Withholding

Most wages require California PIT withholding. In order to determine which wages require PIT withholding, refer to the
“Types of Employment” table on page 16 and the “Types of Payments” table on page 26. These tables identify special
classes of employment and special types of payments and their treatment for Ul, ETT, SDI, and California PIT wages and
withholding. Also refer to “Who Is an Employee” on page 7.

To obtain information sheets for specific industries and types of services, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm, call our automated Fax on Demand system at
(877) 547-4503, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. If outside U.S. or Canada call,
(916) 464-3502.

MARITAL STATUS, WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES, AND EXEMPTIONS
(FORM W-4 AND DE 4)

An Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate (Form W-4) is normally used for
California PIT withholding. However, if an employee wants to claim a different marital status and/or a different number of
allowances than are claimed for federal withholding purposes, the employee must file an Employee’s Withholding
Allowance Certificate (DE 4). For instance, California recognizes the “Head of Household” status, and an employee would
need to file a DE 4 to claim that status.

If employees expect to itemize deductions on their California income tax return, they can claim additional withholding
allowances, which are greater than their regular withholding allowances. When reduced withholding amounts are
appropriate because of large amounts of itemized deductions, employees must complete a DE 4, including the attached
worksheets, to support additional allowances for the itemized deductions. An online DE 4 calculator is available at
www.taxes.ca.gov/ded.xlIs (requires Microsoft Excel). For information on treatment of additional withholding allowances
for estimated deductions, refer to “Instructions for Additional Withholding Allowances for Estimated Deductions” on

page 36 and the “Estimated Deduction” table on page 38.

Use of the DE 4 is optional; however, if employees provide you with a DE 4, you must use it to determine their California
PIT withholdings. To obtain copies of the DE 4, access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de4.pdf, call
our automated Fax on Demand system at (877) 547-4503, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886, or
use the online calculator as mentioned above.

Employees may request that no California PIT be withheld if they:

e Incurred no liability for federal income tax for the preceding taxable year; and
e Anticipate that no federal income tax liability will be incurred for the current taxable year.

Q ACTION REQUIRED: Each employee must complete a Form W-4 for federal and California withholding. If the
employee wants to claim a different marital status and/or different number of allowances for California PIT
withholding, the employee also must complete a DE 4.

If Then

Employee does not file a DE 4 You must use the marital status and allowances claimed (including any additional

allowances) by the employee on the federal Form W-4 to calculate the employee’s
California PIT withholding.

Exception: Do not withhold any California PIT from wages of employees who have
filed “EXEMPT” on their Form W-4 unless you receive a written notice from IRS or
Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to withhold at a special rate. To maintain “EXEMPT”
status, the employee must file a new Form W-4 each year on or before February 15.

Employee files a DE 4 You must use the DE 4 to calculate and withhold California PIT.

Employee's marital status cannot | Request the employee correct the Form W-4 or DE 4 or submit a new one. Until the
be determined from the Form W-4 | new or corrected form is received, consider the employee as single with zero
orDE 4 withholding allowances for California PIT withholding purposes.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 12 of 136




Employer’s Obligations for the Form W-4 and DE 4

Each employee must complete a Form W-4 for federal and California withholding. Employers withhold taxes based
on what the employee reports on the Form W-4. If the employee wants to claim a different marital status and/or
different number of allowances for California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding, the employee must also
complete a DE 4. Employers retain the Form W-4 and/or DE 4 for payroll records.

If you question the Form W-4 or DE 4 because it meets either of the following two conditions, then you must submit
a copy of this form to Franchise Tax Board (FTB) by fax at (916) 843-1094 or mail to the address shown below.
Please retain the original form in the employee’s payroll records.

e The employee claims more than 10 withholdings.
e The employee claims exemption from State or federal income tax withholding and the employee’s usual
weekly wages will exceed $200.

Continue to treat the Form W-4 and/or DE 4 as valid until notified in writing by FTB of the proper marital status and
number of allowances to use for California withholding purposes for the employee.

If an employee disagrees with an FTB determination as it applies to California withholding, the employee may
request a review of the determination by writing to:

W-4 Unit

Franchise Tax Board MS F 180
P.O. Box 2952

Sacramento, CA 95812-2952

Fax: (916) 843-1094

The burden of proof rests with the employee to show that the determination is incorrect for California withholding
purposes. Continue to withhold California PIT based on the FTB determination until notified in writing by FTB of any
changes. In the event FTB finds no reasonable basis for the number of withholding allowances claimed on the DE 4,
the employee may be subject to a $500 penalty.

If either of the following two conditions exist the W-4/DE 4 is considered invalid per the Code of Federal
Regulations, Title 26, Section 31.3402(f)(2)-1(e) and the California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Section 4340-1(b):

e The employee makes major changes to Form W-4 or DE 4, such as crossing out words or writing more than
is asked.
e The employee admits that Form W-4 or DE 4 is false.

When you receive an invalid Form W-4 or DE 4, do not use it to calculate PIT withholding. Tell the employee that it
is invalid and ask for another one. If the employee does not give you a valid one, withhold PIT as if the employee
was single and claiming no withholding allowances. However, if you have an earlier Form W-4 or DE 4 for this
worker that is valid, withhold as you did before.

Subscribe to EDD’s free e-mail subscription services
www.edd.ca.gov/about_EDD/Get_Email_Notices.htm

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 13 of 136
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HOW TO DETERMINE PIT WITHHOLDING AMOUNTS

Refer to page 36 for the 2010 California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding schedules and information on how to
calculate withholdings.

What if Your Employee Wants Additional PIT Withholding?

In addition to the tax required to be withheld from salaries and wages, you may, upon written request from the employee,
agree to withhold an additional amount from the employee’s wages. This agreement will be effective for the periods you
and the employee mutually agree upon or until written termination of the agreement.

If employees rely on the Form W-4 instructions when calculating California withholding allowances, their California PIT
could be significantly underwithheld. This is particularly true if the household income is derived from more than one
source. If an employee wants more California PIT withheld than the schedules and the alternate methods allow, the
employee should either request additional withholding or, if married, indicate “single” on the DE 4. For more information,
refer to the DE 4 form and instructions. An online DE 4 calculator is available at www.taxes.ca.gov/de4.xls (requires
Microsoft Excel).

HOW TO WITHHOLD PIT ON SUPPLEMENTAL WAGES

Supplemental wages include, but are not limited to, bonuses, overtime pay, sales awards, commissions, stock options,
vacation pay, dismissal or severance pay. Under certain circumstances, bonuses and stock options are taxed at a different
flat rate than other types of supplemental wages (refer to “Supplemental Wages” below). This only applies to stock
options that are considered wages subject to PIT withholding.

If the supplemental wage is given to the employee at the same time as the employee's regular wages are paid, you are
required to treat the sum of the payments as regular wages and withhold PIT based on the regular payroll period using
the PIT withholding schedules.

If the supplemental wage is not given to the employee at the same time as the employee's regular wages are paid, you
may use either of the following two options:

1. Compute the amount of PIT to withhold from the supplemental wage based on the combined regular wages and the
supplemental wage. Compute the PIT withholding on the total of the supplemental wage and the current or most
recent regular (gross) wage payment using the PIT withholding schedules. From that amount, subtract the PIT you
withheld from the regular wages. The difference is the PIT amount you should withhold from the supplemental wages.

or

2. Withhold the percentage noted below on the following types of supplemental wages without allowing for any
withholding allowances claimed by the employee:

Supplemental Wages Percentage
Bonuses and stock options 10.23 percent (.1023)
Other types (such as overtime pay, commissions,

sales awards, severance, and vacation pay) 6.6 percent (.066)

To find out if stock options are wages subject to PIT withholding, obtain the Information Sheet: Stock Options (DE 231SK)
by accessing EDD's Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231sk.pdf or by calling our automated Fax on Demand
system at (877) 547-4503, or calling the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

QUARTERLY ESTIMATED PAYMENTS

Wages are subject to mandatory California PIT withholding at the time they are paid to the employee. Quarterly estimates
paid directly to Franchise Tax Board (FTB) are intended to satisfy taxes on income that is not subject to withholding.
Quarterly estimates paid by an employee directly to FTB in lieu of proper withholdings from wages may result in an
assessment to the employer. If you have questions regarding quarterly estimated payments, contact FTB at

(800) 852-5711.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 14 of 136



WAGES PAID TO CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS

If

Then

A California resident performs
services in California or in
another state

Wages paid to the resident employee are subject to California PIT withholding, and PIT
must be withheld from all wages paid, in accordance with the employee’s
Form W-4 or DE 4.

The wages paid must be reported as PIT wages on the Quarterly Wage and
Withholding Report (DE 6). The PIT withheld must also be reported on the DE 6.

A California resident performs
services that are subject to
personal income tax withholding
laws of both California and
another state, political
subdivision, or the District of
Columbia

Make the withholding required by the other jurisdiction and:

e For California, withhold the amount by which the California withholding amount
exceeds the withholding amount for the other jurisdiction; or

e Do not withhold any California PIT if the withholding amount for the other
jurisdiction is equal to, or greater than, the withholding amount for California.

The wages reported as PIT wages on the Quarterly Wage and Withholding
Report (DE 6) are the same wages that are entered in “Box 16” on your employee’s
Form W-2. The PIT withheld must also be reported on the DE 6.

WAG

ES PAID TO NONRESIDENTS OF CALIFORNIA

If

Then

A nonresident employee
performs all services in
California

The wages paid to the nonresident employee are subject to California PIT withholding,
and PIT must be withheld from all wages paid, in accordance with the employee’s
Form W-4 or DE 4.

The wages paid must be reported as PIT wages on the DE 6. The PIT withheld must
also be reported on the DE 6.

A nonresident employee
performs services both in
California as well as in another
state

Only the wages earned in California are subject to California PIT withholding. The
amount of wages subject to California PIT withholding is that portion of the total number
of working days employed in California compared to the total number of working days
employed in both California and the other state.

The California wages must be reported as PIT wages on the DE 6. The PIT withheld
must also be reported on the DE 6.

NOTE: For employees whose compensation depends on the volume of business
transacted, the amount of earnings subject to California PIT withholding is that
portion received for the volume of business transacted in California compared
to the total volume of business in both California and the other state.

PIT Withholding on Payments to Nonresident Independent Contractors

Please refer to Franchise Tax Board (FTB) Publication 1017 for guidance regarding PIT withholding on payments to
nonresident independent contractors for services performed in California. Publication 1017 can be obtained by calling FTB
at (800) 852-5711 or by accessing their Web site at www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/2009/09_1017.pdf.

e Fax on Demand (request Document No. 1001 for a catalog of all available documents)
EDD Web site (forms and publications)

¢ Information Sheets:

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

(877) 547-4503
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm

— DE 231D — Multistate Employment

— DE 231P — Withholding From Pensions, Annuities, and Certain Other Deferred Income

— DE 231PS - Personal Income Tax Withholding - Supplemental Wage Payments, Moving Expense
Reimbursement - WARN Act Payments

— DE 231R — Third-Party Sick Pay

Types of Employment (table)
Types of Payments (table)

Page 16
Page 26

www.edd.ca.gov
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET)

Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
Page 15 of 136
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TYPES OF EMPLOYMENT

This table identifies special classes of employment and whether the type of employment is subject to California payroll
taxes. For additional information on the taxability for a particular type of employment, refer to the Code section(s) noted
under the specific tax. If you have questions regarding an individual’s proper status in working for/with you, please contact
the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

In addition to this table, EDD has prepared the “Types of Payments” table on page 26 and information sheets for specific
industries, types of services, or types of payments. To obtain the information sheets, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm, call our automated Fax on Demand system at

(877) 547-4503, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. If outside U.S. or Canada call

(916) 464-3502.

TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment

Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Employment and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'
Agricultural Labor Subject Subject Not sub%ect2 Reportable
Also refer to federal Agricultural California CUIC §611 CUIC §13009(a) CUIC §13009.5
Employer’s Tax Guide Unemployment
(Publication 51, Circular A). Insurance Code
(CUIC) Section
(§) 611
Artists and Authors:
A. Common law employees. Subject Subject Subject Reportable
CUIC §621(b) CUIC §621(b) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
B. Statutory employees hired for Subject Subject Not subject Not reportable
specific work in the motion CUIC §601.5 CUIC §601.5 California Code of | CUIC §13009.5
picture, radio, or television Regulations
industry. Refer to Information (CCR), Title 22 §
Sheet: Statutory Employees 4304-1
(DE 231SE).
Automotive Repair Industry Subject Subject Subject Reportable
Refer to Information Sheet: CUIC § 621(b) CUIC § 621(b) CUIC § 13009 CUIC § 13009.5
Automotive Repair Industry
(DE 231B).
Barber and Beauty Shops Subject Subject Subject Reportable
Refer to Information Sheet: CUIC §621(b) CUIC §621(b) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Barbering and Cosmetology
Industry (DE 231C).
Baseball Players Subject unless Subject unless Subject Reportable
under agreement under agreement CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

to perform for
expenses and a
share of the profits
of the club.

CUIC §653

to perform for
expenses and a
share of the profits
of the club.

CUIC §653

Brokers and/or Salespersons
(does not apply to nonprofit or
public agencies):

A. Gas, oil, or mineral.

B. Real estate.

Not subject if all
three of the
conditions in

Not subject if all
three of the
conditions in

Not subject if all
three of the
conditions in

Not reportable if all
three of the
conditions in

C. Yacht. endnote 3 are met. | endnote 3 are met. | endnote 3 are met. | endnote 3 are met.
CUIC §650 CUIC §650 CUIC §13004.1 CUIC §13004.1

D. Cemetery. Not subject if all Not subject if all Subject if common | Reportable if
three of the three of the law employee. common law
conditions in conditions in CUIC §13009 employee.
endnote 3 are met. | endnote 3 are met. CUIC §13009.5
CUIC §650 CUIC §650

See page 25 for endnotes

www.edd.ca.gov
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET)

Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment

Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Employment and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'
Casual Labor:
Refer to Information Sheet: Casual
Labor (DE 231K)
A. Part-time or temporary workers. | Subject Subject Subject Reportable
CUIC §621(b) CUIC §621(b) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
B. Service not in the course of
employer’s trade or business:
¢ Noncash payments (e.g., Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
meals and lodging) CUIC §936 CUIC §936 CUIC §13009(h) CUIC §13009.5

e Cash payments

Subject only if $50
or more is paid in
a quarter and
employee works
some part of 24 or
more different
days in that
quarter or on 24 or
more days in the
preceding quarter.
CUIC § 640

Subject only if $50
or more is paid in
a quarter and
employee works
some part of 24 or
more different
days in that
quarter or on 24 or
more days in the
preceding quarter.
CUIC § 640

Subject only if $50
or more is paid in
a quarter and
employee works
some part of 24 or
more different
days in that
quarter or on 24 or
more days in the
preceding quarter.
CUIC §13009(c)

Reportable only if
$50 or more is paid
in a quarter and
employee works
some part of 24 or
more different days
in that quarter or on
24 or more days in
the preceding
quarter.

CUIC §13009.5

Construction Contractors
Refer to Information Sheet:
Construction Industry (DE 231G).

Subject unless
contractor has a
valid contractor’'s
license and is not
a common law
employee. CUIC

Subject unless
contractor has a
valid contractor’s
license and is not
a common law
employee. CUIC

Subject unless
contractor has a
valid contractor’s
license and is not
a common law

Reportable unless
contractor has a
valid contractor’s
license and is not
a common law

employee. CUIC employee.
§621(b) or621.5 | §621(b) or621.5 | §13009 or 13004.5 | CUIC §13009.5
Domestic (Household) Subject for the Subject for the Not subject’ Reportable if

Employment

In private homes, local college
clubs, fraternities, and sororities.
Refer to Information Sheet:
Household Employment (DE 231L),
Household Employer’s Guide

(DE 8829), and the federal
Household Employer’s Tax Guide
(IRS Publication 926).

remainder of the
calendar year and
the following
calendar year
once $1,000 or
more in cash is
paid in any
calendar quarter
for household
services. CUIC

remainder of the
calendar year and
the following
calendar year
once $750 or more
in cash is paid in
any calendar
quarter for
household
services. CUIC

CUIC §13009(b)

otherwise required
to register with
EDD.

CUIC §13009.5

§629 and 682 §2606.5 and 684
Election Campaign Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
Workers for candidates or CUIC §636 CUIC §636 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
committees. Refer to Information
Sheet: Election Campaign
Workers (DE 231V).
Election Officials or Election Subject if the Generally not Not subject Not reportable

Workers

individual’s
remuneration
reasonably
expected to be
received during
the calendar year
for such service
will be $1,000 or
more. CUIC
§634.5(c)(7)

subject, unless an
elective coverage
agreement is in
place. CUIC §605
and 2606

Considered a fee
paid to a public
official. CUIC
§13009 and CCR,
Title 11, §4309-
2(b)(2)

Considered a fee
paid to a public
official. CUIC §
13009.5

See page 25 for endnotes

www.edd.ca.gov
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET)

Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment

Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Employment and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'
Family Employees Not subject —only | Not subject unless | Subject Reportable
Minor child under 18 employed by | applies to sole an approved CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

a father or mother; an individual
employed by spouse, registered

proprietorships
and partnerships.

elective coverage
agreement is in

domestic partner, son, or CUIC §631 effect. (This only
daughter. Refer to Information applies to sole
Sheet: Family Employment proprietorships
(DE 231FAM) and Information and partnerships.)
Sheet: Specialized Coverage CUIC §631
(DE 231S0).
Federal Employees:
A. Members of the U.S. Armed Not subject Not subject Subject if stationed | Reportable if
Forces. CUIC §632 CUIC §632 in and domiciled in | stationed in and
California; both domiciled in
conditions must be | California; both
present. conditions must be
CCR, Title 22 present.
§4305-1(d) CUIC §13009.5
B. Federal civilian employees. Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
Certain nonprofit CUIC §632 CCR, Title 22 CUIC §13009.5
organizations §4305-1(d)
which are
instrumentalities of
the federal
government pay
cost of benefits.
CUIC §632
Fishing and Related Activities Subject Subject Not subject Not reportable

Refer to Information Sheet:
Commercial Fishing (DE 231CF).

CUIC §621(b)

CUIC §621(b)

CUIC §13009()

CUIC §13009.5

Foreign Government and Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable

International Organizations CUIC §643, 644, CUIC §643, 644, CUIC §13009(d) CUIC §13009.5
and 644.5 and 644.5

Foreign Service Performed by a

U.S. Citizen:

A. U.S. Government employee. Not subject Not subject Subject if Subject if
CUIC §632 CUIC §632 employee is a employee is a

B. For an American employer or a

California resident.
CUIC §13009

California resident.
CUIC §13009.5

Subject if the

Subject if the

Subject if

Reportable if

foreign subsidiary of U.S. conditions in conditions in employee is a employee is a
corporation or other private endnote 4 are met. | endnote 4 are met. | California resident. | California resident.
employer. Refer to Information | CUIC §610 CUIC §610 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Sheet: Foreign Employment
and Employment on American
Vessels or Aircraft (DE 231FE).
Golf Caddies Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
CUIC §651 CUIC §651 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Homeworkers (Industrial):
A. Common law employees Subject Subject Subject Reportable
Refer to Information Sheet: CUIC §621(b) CUIC §621(b) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

Employment (DE 231).

See page 25 for endnotes
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TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment

Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Employment and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'

Homeworkers (Industrial): (cont.)

B. Statutory employees Subject Subject Not subject Not reportable
Refer to Information Sheet: CUIC §621(c)(1)(C) | CUIC §621(c)(1)(C) | CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Statutory Employees
(DE 231SE).

Hotel and Restaurant Industries | Subject Subject Subject Reportable

Refer to Information Sheet: CUIC §621(b) CUIC §621(b) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

Restaurant and Hotel Industries

(DE 231E).
Household (Domestic) Subject if $1,000 Subject if $750 or | Not subject’ Reportable if
Employment or more in cash more in cash paid | CUIC §13009(b) otherwise required

In private homes, local college
clubs, fraternities, and sororities.
Refer to Information Sheet:
Household Employment (DE 231L),
Household Employer’s Guide

(DE 8829), and the federal
Household Employer’s Tax Guide
(IRS Publication 926).

paid in any
calendar quarter
for household
services.

CUIC §629 and
682

in any calendar
quarter for
household
services.

CUIC §2606.5 and
684

to register with
EDD.
CUIC §13009.5

Interns Working in Hospitals Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
(Also, refer to “Students” item D CUIC §645 CUIC §645 unless | CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Nurse working for a hospital or employed by a
nursing school). nonprofit or district

hospital.

CUIC §2606
Janitors (Business Services Subject Subject Subject Reportable
Industry) CUIC §621(b) CUIC §621(b) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Refer to Information Sheet:
Service Industries (DE 2311).
Jockeys or Exercise Persons Not subject Not subject Subject if a Reportable if a
working freelance, if licensed by CUIC §654 CUIC §654 common law common law
the California Horse Racing Board. employee. employee.

CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

Manufacturing Industry Subject Subject Subject Reportable
Refer to Information Sheet: CUIC §621(b) CUIC §621(b) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

Manufacturing Industry (DE 231H).

Ministers of churches and
members of religious orders,
performing duties as such, may
elect coverage. Refer to
Information Sheet: Specialized
Coverage (DE 231SC).

Not subject
CUIC §634.5(b)

Not subject unless
an approved
elective coverage
agreement is in
effect.

CUIC §634.5(b)

Not subject”
CUIC §13009(f)

Reportable if
otherwise required
to register with
EDD.

CUIC §13009.5

Multistate Employment
Refer to Information Sheet:

Multistate Employment (DE 231D).

Subject
CUIC §602
and 603

Subject
CUIC § 602
and 603

Go to
www.edd.ca.gov/
pdf_pub_ctr/de23
1d.pdf

Goto
www.edd.ca.gov/
pdf_pub_ctr/de23
1d.pdf

Newspaper Carriers under 18
years old delivering to consumers.

Not subject if not
regular, full-time
work.

CUIC §634.5(g)

and 649(a)

Not subject if not
regular, full-time
work.

CUIC §634.5(g)

and 649(a)

Not subject®
CUIC §13009(g)(1)

Not reportable
CUIC §13009.5

See page 25 for endnotes
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Unemployment

Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Employment and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'
Newspaper and Magazine Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
Vendors buying at fixed prices CUIC §634.5(h) CUIC §634.5(h) CUIC §13009(g)(2) | CUIC §13009.5
and retaining excess from sales to | and 649(b) and 649(b)
consumers.
Nonprofit Organization
Employees:
Refer to Information Sheet:
Nonprofit and/or Public Entities
(DE 231NP).
A. Churches, conventions, or Not subject Not subject unless | Subject Reportable
associations of churches, or CUIC §634.5(a) employed by a CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

religious organizations which
are operated primarily for
religious purposes and
operated, supervised,
controlled, or principally
supported by a church,
convention, or association of
churches. (Also refer to
Ministers and members of
religious orders.)

nonprofit hospital
CUIC §645 (g) and
2606 or while an
approved elective
coverage
agreement is in
effect.

(except ministers
and members of
religious orders)

B. Elected or appointed officials Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
of nonprofit fraternal CUIC §652 CUIC §652 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
organizations earning less
than $100 per month.

C. All other nonprofit Subject Subject Subject Reportable
organizations exempt under (Employees (Employees CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) earning less than earning less than
§501(c) (3) except those $50 in any quarter | $50 in any quarter
under “A” and “B” above. are exempt.) are exempt.)

CUIC §641 CUIC §641

D. All other organizations exempt | Subject Subject Subject Reportable
under IRC §501(a), other than | CUIC §608 CUIC §608 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
a pension, profit-sharing, or
stock bonus plan described in
IRC §401(a) or under IRC
§521.

Nonresidents of California:

A. U.S. Residents: Subject Subject Subject Reportable

e Service performed in CUIC §601 CUIC §601 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
California.

e Service performed outside Subject if Subject if Not subject Not reportable
u.S. employee is a U.S. | employee is a U.S. | CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

citizen, and the
employer’s
principal place of
business in U.S. is
in California.*
CUIC §610

citizen, and the
employer’s
principal place of
business in U.S. is
in California.*
CUIC §610

See page 25 for endnotes
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Unemployment

Insurance State Personal Personal
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Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
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Nonresidents of California: (cont.)
B. Aliens Working in California: Subject (unless Subject (unless Not subject Not reportable

¢ Residents of Canada or
Mexico entering California
frequently in transportation
service across the border.

¢ Residents of Canada or
Mexico entering California
frequently for construction,
maintenance, or operation of
waterway, bridge, etc.,
traversing the border.

e Residents of any foreign
country entering California
frequently, employed wholly
within California.

e Workers from any foreign
country or its possession
lawfully admitted on a
temporary basis to perform
agricultural labor.

e Students, scholars, trainees,
or teachers as nonimmigrant
aliens under sections of the
Immigration and Nationality
Act (INA).°

railroad service)
CUIC §621(b)

railroad service)
CUIC §621(b)

CUIC §13009(e)
and CCR, Title 22
§4309-2(f)(2)(A)

CUIC §13009.5

Subject
CUIC §621(b)

Subject
CUIC §621(b)

Not subject
CCR, Title 22
§4309-2(f)(2)(B)

Not reportable
CUIC §13009.5

Subject
CUIC §621(b)

Subject
CUIC §621(b)

Subject
CUIC §13009

Reportable
CUIC §13009.5

Subject
CUIC §611

Subject
CUIC §611

Not subject’
CUIC §13009(a)

Reportable
CUIC §13009.5

Subject unless
excluded per
CUIC §642 orifa
nonresident
nonimmigrant
temporarily
residing in U.S.
performs services
for a CUIC §608
nonprofit employer
to carry out the
purpose specified
in the employee’s
“F )M, or “‘Q”

Subject unless
excluded per
CUIC §642 orifa
nonresident
nonimmigrant
temporarily
residing in the U.S.
performs services
for a CUIC §608
nonprofit employer
to carry out the
purpose specified
in the employee’s
“F )M, or “Q”

Subject unless
exempted by
regulations or
treaty with a
foreign
government.
Treaty must
specify exemption
from “State or local
taxes.”

CUIC §13009(e)

Reportable
CUIC §13009.5

type visa. type visa.
¢ Professional athlete, in Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
California for occasional or CUIC §655 CUIC §655 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
incidental engagements.
Officer of a Corporation
performing services as an
employee:
A. Corporation subject to FUTA. Subject Subject unless sole | Subject unless Reportable

Refer to Sole Shareholder/
Corporate Officer Exclusion
Statement (DE 459).

CUIC §621(a)

shareholder or only
shareholder other
than his/her
spouse or
registered
domestic partner
and has filed an
exclusion for SDI
(DE 459).

CUIC §621(a) and
637.1

agricultural labor.
CUIC §13009 and
13009(a)

CUIC §13009.5

See page 25 for endnotes
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Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Employment and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'
B. Corporation not subject to Subject unless Subject unless Subject unless Reportable if

FUTA.

excluded as an
officer and/or

excluded as an
officer and/or

agricultural labor.
CUIC §13009 and

otherwise required
to register with

director who is director who is the | 13009 (a) EDD.
sole shareholder sole shareholder or CUIC §13009.5
or the only the only shareholder
shareholder other | other than his/her
than his/her spouse.
spouse or CUIC §637
registered
domestic partner.
CUIC §637
Patients employed by hospitals. Not subject Not subject unless | Subject Reportable
CUIC §647 nonprofit or district | CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
hospital.
CUIC §647 and
2606
Private Postsecondary School Subject Not subject if the Not subject if the Not reportable if

Intermittent and Adjunct
Instructors

Services must be performed for an
institution that meets the
requirements of the Education
Code, Article 8 (commencing with
§94900), Chapter 7, Part 59.

CUIC §621(b)

conditions in
endnote 5 are met.
CUIC §633

conditions in

endnote 5 are met.

CUIC §13009(r)

the conditions in
endnote 5 are met.
CUIC §13009.5

Public Entity Employees of cities | Subject Not subject unless | Subject Reportable
and counties, local public CUIC §605 employed by a CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
agencies, and schools. Refer to district hospital or
Information Sheet: Nonprofit public housing
and/or Public Entities (DE 231NP) administration
and Information Sheet: agency operated
Specialized Coverage by state or local
(DE 231SC). governmental
subdivisions or an
approved elective
coverage
agreement is in
effect.
CUIC §605 and
2606
Restaurant and Hotel Industries | Subject Subject Subject Reportable
Refer to Information Sheet: CUIC §621(b) CUIC §621(b) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Restaurant and Hotel Industries
(DE 231E).
Salespersons:
Refer to Information Sheet:
Salespersons (DE 231N).
A. Common law employees. Subject Subject Subject Reportable
CUIC §621(b) CUIC §621(b) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

B. Real estate or direct sales
salespersons.

Not subject if all
three conditions in

endnote 3 are met.

CUIC §650

Not subject if all
three conditions in
endnote 3 are met.

CUIC §650

Not subject if all
three conditions in

endnote 3 are met.

CUIC §13004.1

Not reportable if all
three conditions in
endnote 3 are met.
CUIC §13009.5

See page 25 for endnotes
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Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Employment and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'

C. Traveling or City Salespersons. | Subject Subject Not subject Not reportable
Refer to Information Sheet: cuic cuic CCR, Title 22 CUIC §13009.5
Statutory Employees §621(c)(1)(B) §621(c)(1)(B) §4304-1
(DE 231SE).

Services on or in Connection
With an American Aircraft or
Vessel, and such services are
subject to the Federal
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA).
Refer to Information Sheet:
Foreign Employment and
Employment on American Vessels
or Aircraft (DE 231FE).

Subject if the
operations are
ordinarily and
regularly directed
and controlled
from the
employer’s
California office.
CUIC §125.3,
125.5, and 609

Subject if the
operations are
ordinarily and
regularly directed
and controlled
from the
employer’s
California office.
CUIC §125.3,
125.5, and 609

Subject if services
are performed on
an aircraft by a
California resident
orbya
nonresident if over
50 percent of the
nonresident’s
scheduled flight
time is in
California.

CUIC §13009 and
Title 49, U.S.
Code, §40116

Not subject if
services are
performed on a
vessel.

Reportable if
services are
performed on an
aircraft by a
California resident
orbya
nonresident if over
50 percent of the
nonresident’s
scheduled flight
timeisin
California.

CUIC §13009.5
and Title 49,

U.S. Code,
§40116

Not reportable if
services are
performed on a
vessel.

Standby Employee doing no Subject Subject Subject Reportable
actual work in period for which CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
paid.

State Government and Political

Subdivisions, services performed

as:

A. An elected official Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable

CUIC §634.5(c) CUIC §634.5(c) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

B. A member of a legislative body, | Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
or a member of the judiciary, or | CUIC §634.5(c) CUIC §634.5(c) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
a State or political subdivision
thereof.

C. A member of a State National Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
Guard, Ready Reserve, or Air CUIC §634.5(c) CUIC §634.5(c) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
National Guard.

D. An employee serving on a Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
temporary basis in case of fire, | CUIC §634.5(c) CUIC §634.5(c) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
storm, snow, earthquake, flood,
or other similar emergency.

E. In a position which, under or
pursuant to State law, is
designated as either of the
following:
¢ A major, nontenured policy- Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable

making or advisory position. CUIC §634.5(c) CUIC §634.5(c) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
¢ A policymaking or advisory Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
position, the performance of CUIC §634.5(c) CUIC §634.5(c) CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

the duties of which ordinarily
does not require more than
eight hours per week.

See page 25 for endnotes
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State Government and Political
Subdivisions, services
performed as: (cont.)

. Employees of State or local Subject Not subject unless | Subject Reportable
governments and CUIC §605 an approved CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
instrumentalities not included election by a
above. bargaining unit is

in effect.
CUIC §710.5
G. Fees of public officials Subject Subject Not reportable Not reportable
CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CCR, Title 22 CUIC §13009.5
§4309-2(b)

Students:

A. Working for a public or private Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
school, college, or university, if | CUIC §642 CUIC §642 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
enrolled and regularly attending
classes at that school.

. Spouse or registered domestic Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
partner of student, if such CUIC §642 CUIC §642 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
person is advised at the time
service commences at the
school that employment is
provided under a program to
provide financial assistance to
the student by the school,
college, or university, and that
employment will not be covered
by unemployment insurance or
State disability insurance.

. Under age 22 enrolled in a full- | Not subject unless | Not subject unless | Subject Reportable
time program at a nonprofit or program program CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
public education institution. established solely | established solely
Institution must normally for one employer for one employer
maintain a regular faculty and or one group of or one group of
curriculum and normally have a | employers. employers.
regularly organized body of CUIC §646 CUIC §646
students where its educational
activities are located. Student’s
service must be taken for credit
at such an institution. It must
combine academic instruction
with work experience. It must
be an integral part of such
program, and the institution
must have so certified to the
employer.

. Student nurse working for a Not subject Subject if Subject Reportable
hospital or nursing school. CUIC §645 employed by a CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

nonprofit or district
hospital.

CUIC §2606

Not subject if
employed by any
other hospital or
nursing school.
CUIC §645

See page 25 for endnotes
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Students: (cont.)
E. Full-time students’ working for Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
an organized camp.® CUIC §642.1 CUIC §642.1 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Temporary Services and Subject Subject Subject Reportable
Employee Leasing Industries CUIC §621(b) and | CUIC §621(b) and | CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

Refer to Information Sheet:
Temporary Services and
Employee Leasing Industries
(DE 231F).

606.5

606.5

Transcribers of depositions, court
proceedings, and hearings
performed away from the office of
the person, firm, or association
obligated to produce a transcript of
the proceedings.

Not subject
CUIC §630

Not subject
CUIC §630

Not subject
CCR, Title 22
§4304-1

Not reportable
CUIC §13009.5

1 Employers who have elected the “cost of benefits” or “reimbursable method” of financing Unemployment Insurance
contributions or who have a negative reserve account balance are not required to contribute to the Employment Training Tax

Fund.

2 Subject if employer and employee voluntarily agree to withhold California Personal Income Tax.

3 Not subject if all three of the following conditions are met:

a) Substantially all payments are directly related to sales or other output.
b) Services are performed pursuant to a written contract that provides the individual will not be treated as an employee with

respect to those services for State tax purposes.
c) The individual has the license if required to perform the services.

4 |If the employer’s principal place of business in the U.S. is in California or if the employer has no place of business in the U.S.

but:

a) The employer is an individual who is a resident of California, or
b) The employer is a corporation, limited liability company, or limited liability partnership which is organized under the laws of

California, or

c) The employer is a partnership or a trust and the number of partners or trustees who are residents of California is greater

than the number who are residents of any one other state.
If none of the criteria above applies, but the employer has elected coverage in California or the employer has not elected
coverage in any state and an individual has filed for benefits in California, based on such service.

S Not subject if service is performed under written contract with all of the following provisions:

a) Any federal or State income tax liability shall be the responsibility of the party providing the services.

b) No disability insurance coverage is provided under the contract.
c) The party performing the services certifies that he/she is doing so as a secondary occupation or as a supplemental

source of income.

6 “Employment” excludes services performed by a nonresident alien for the period temporarily in the U.S. as a nonimmigrant

under IRC §3306(c)(19).

7 Full-time student — enrolled full-time for the current term of an academic year or, if between terms, for the immediately
preceding period with a reasonable assurance of enrollment in the immediately subsequent period.

8 Organized camp — offers outdoor group living experience for social, spiritual, educational, or recreational purposes; must not
operate more than 7 months a year, or at least two-thirds of its previous yearly gross income must have been in any 6 of the

12 months of the year.

NOTE: A registered domestic partner means an individual partner in a domestic relationship within the meaning of Section 297

of the Family Code.

The California Unemployment Insurance Code is available online at www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html.

www.edd.ca.gov
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TYPES OF PAYMENTS

This table identifies special types of payments and whether the type of payment is subject to California payroll taxes. For
additional information on the taxability for a particular type of payment, refer to the Code section(s) noted under the
specific tax. If you have questions regarding if or how an individual payment is taxed, please call the Taxpayer Assistance

Center at (888) 745-3886.

In addition to this table, EDD has prepared the “Types of Employment” table on page 16 and information sheets for
specific industries, types of services, or types of payments. To obtain the information sheets, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm, call our automated Fax on Demand system at

(877) 547-4503, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. If outside U.S. or Canada call

(916) 464-3502.

TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment
Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Payments and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'’

Adoption Assistance:

Payments as defined in the

Internal Revenue Code (IRC)

Section (§)137.

A. If the adoption assistance Subject California | Subject Not subject Not reportable
program is not under an Unemployment CUIC §926 CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5
IRC §125 Cafeteria Plan. Insurance Code

(CUIC)
Section §926

B. If the adoption assistance
program is under an IRC §125
Cafeteria Plan:

o Employer contributions Subject Subject Not subject Not reportable
(into the plan). CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009(i)(5) | CUIC §13009.5

o Employee contributions Subject Subject Not subject Not reportable
(into the plan). CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009(i)(5) | CUIC §13009.5

¢ Payments from the plan. Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009(i)(5) | CUIC §13009.5

Board of Director Fees Not subject Not subject Subject if a Reportable if a

A director of a corporation or CUIC §622 CUIC §622 common law common law

association performing services in employee. employee.

the capacity of a director.

Not subject if Not reportable if
corporation pays corporation pays
compensation to a | compensation to a
nonresident nonresident
corporate director | corporate director
for director for director
services services
performed in performed in
California. California.

CUIC §13020(c) CUIC §13009.5

Bonuses Subject Subject Subject Reportable - refer

CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009 to page 14.
CUIC §13009.5

Business Expenses:

A. Employer reimbursement of Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
required or necessary business| CUIC §929 CUIC §929 CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5
expenses incurred by the
employee while performing
services for the employer.

B. Long-term travel expenses Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
allowed under IRC §162. CUIC §929 CUIC §929 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

See page 35 for endnotes
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Training Tax'
Cafeteria Plan Payments Under | Generally not Generally not Not subject Not reportable if

IRC §125

Refer to Information Sheet:
Taxability of Employee Benefits
(DE 231EB).

subject
CUIC §938.3(d)

subject
CUIC §938.3(d)

CUIC §13009(i)(5)

excluded from
taxable income.
CUIC §13009.5

Commissions Subject Subject Subject Reportable — refer
CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009 to page 14.
CUIC §13009.5
Debts Paid by Employer:
(Amounts in lieu of cash wages
offset by the employer.)
A. Amounts paid against a debt Subject Subject Subject Reportable
due from employee. CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
B. Amounts applied to a debt Subject Subject Subject Reportable
owed to a third-party by the CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
employee.
Deceased Employee Wages Subject in the Subject in the Not subject Not reportable

Wages paid to beneficiary or
estate after the date of the
worker’s death.

calendar year in
which the
employee died.
CUIC §938.7

calendar year in
which the
employee died.
CUIC §938.7

CUIC §13009(q)

CUIC §13009.5

Dependent Care Assistance
Programs

(Limited to $5,000; $2,500 if
married, filing separately.)

Not subject if at
the time paid or
furnished, it is
reasonable to
believe the
amounts are
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §129.
CUIC §938.3(b)

Not subject if at
the time paid or
furnished, it is
reasonable to
believe the
amounts are
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §129.
CUIC §938.3(b)

Not subject if at
the time paid or
furnished, it is
reasonable to
believe the
amounts are
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §129.
CUIC §13009(q)

Not reportable if at
the time paid or
furnished, it is
reasonable to
believe the
amounts are
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §129.
CUIC §13009.5

Dismissal or Severance Pay

Not subject if
conditions of CUIC
§1265 are met.

Not subject if
conditions of CUIC
§1265 are met

Subject
CUIC §13009(q)

Reportable
CUIC §13009.5

Educational Assistance
(Payments under IRC §127)

Undergraduate and graduate level
courses excluded up to $5,250
(maximum), per employee, per
calendar year.

Not subject if at
the time paid or
furnished, it is
reasonable to
believe the
amounts are
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §127.
CUIC §938.3(a)

Not subject if at
the time paid or
furnished, it is
reasonable to
believe the
amounts are
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §127.
CUIC §938.3(a)

Not subject if the
amounts are
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §127.
CUIC §13009(q)

Not reportable if
the amounts are
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §127.
CUIC §13009.5

See page 35 for endnotes
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Types of Payments

TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment
Insurance
and
Employment
Training Tax'

State
Disability
Insurance

Personal
Income Tax
Withholding

Personal
Income Tax
Wages

Employee Achievement Awards

Not subject if at
the time awarded,
it is reasonable to
believe the
amount is
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §74(c).
CUIC §938.3(c)

Not subject if at
the time awarded,
it is reasonable to
believe the
amount is
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §74(c).
CUIC §938.3(c)

Not subject if at
the time awarded,
it is reasonable to
believe the
amount is
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §74(c).
CUIC §13009(q)

Not reportable if at
the time awarded,
it is reasonable to
believe the
amount is
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §74(c).
CUIC §13009.5

Fringe Benefits:

A. Employee use of employer’'s
vehicle for personal use.

B. Employer-paid transportation
costs that have no business
connection and are not
excluded under IRC §132.

C. Employer-paid FICA, SDI,
and/or Medicare. Refer to
Information Sheet: Social
Security/Medicare/SDI Taxes
Paid by an Employer
(DE 231Q).

D. Employer-paid FICA and/or
Medicare for domestic service
in private home or agricultural
labor. Refer to Information
Sheet: Social Security/
Medicare/SDI Taxes Paid by
an Employer (DE 231Q).

E. Benefits excluded from gross
income under IRC §132 (i.e.,
services supplied to employees
at no additional cost to the
employer, discounts, parking,
bus passes, athletic facilities,
free coffee, moving expenses,
qualified retirement planning
services, etc.).

F. Rideshare subsidies defined in
Revenue and Taxation Code
(R&TC) §17149. Subsidies
include vanpool, commuter
bus, bus pool, etc.

Subject Subject Subject Reportable
CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Subject Subject Subject Reportable
CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Subject Subject Subject Reportable
CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Not subject Not subject Not subject Reportable
CUIC §935 CUIC §935 CUIC §13009(a) CUIC §13009.5
and 13009(b)
Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable

CUIC §938.3(c)

CUIC §938.3(c)

CUIC §13009(q)

CUIC §13009.5

Not subject unless
the subsidies
exceed the federal
limits of IRC §132.
CUIC §926

Not subject unless
the subsidies
exceed the federal
limits of IRC §132.
CUIC §926

Not subject
CUIC §13009(q)

Not reportable
CUIC §13009.5

Gifts of nominal value given as an
expression of goodwill and not
based on the rate of pay, length or
degree of prior personal service,
or required under union
agreement or contract of hire.

Not subject

CUIC §926 and
California Code of
Regulations
(CCR),

Title 22 §926-2

Not subject
CUIC §926 and
CCR,

Title 22 §926-2

Not subject
CUIC §13009(q)

Not reportable
CUIC §13009.5

Group Legal Services

Subject
CUIC §926 and
IRC §120

Subject
CUIC §926 and
IRC §120

Subject
CUIC §13009

Reportable
CUIC §13009.5

See page 35 for endnotes
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TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment

Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Payments and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'

Health Plans:

A. Employer-provided coverage Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
under accident or health plans CUIC §931 CUIC §931 (subject for 2% (reportable for 2%
or medical expense shareholder- shareholder-
reimbursements. employees of employees of

S corporations) S corporations)
CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5

B. Employer-provided coverage Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
under accident or health plans | CUIC §931 CUIC §931 CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5
or medical expense
reimbursements to an
employee’s registered
domestic partner.

Health Savings Accounts

(HSAs):

Contributions as defined in IRC

§106(d).

A. Contributions to a Health Subject Subject Subject Reportable
Savings Account not under an | CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5
IRC §125 Cafeteria Plan. and R&TC and R&TC

§17131.4 §17131.4

B. Contributions to a Health Subject Subject Subject Reportable
Savings Account under an IRC | CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5
§125 Cafeteria Plan. and R&TC and R&TC

§17131.5 §17131.5
Life Insurance Premiums Paid Not subject Not subject Not subject if Reportable if face

on Behalf of Employees

CUIC §931(c)

CUIC §931(c)

group-term life
insurance.
CUIC §13009()

value of group-
term life insurance
exceeds $50,000.
CUIC §13009.5
refer to endnote 4

Lodging Subject Subject Subject unless Reportable unless
CUIC §926 and CUIC §926 and furnished on furnished on
CCR, Title 22 CCR, Title 22 employer’s employer’s
§926-3, 926-4, §926-3, 926-4, premises, for the premises, for the
and 926-5 and 926-5 employer’s employer’s
convenience, and | convenience, and
as a condition of as a condition of
employment. employment.
CCR, Title 22 CUIC §13009.5
§4309-1(b)(9)
Meals Subject Subject Subject unless Reportable unless
CUIC §926 and CUIC §926 and furnished for furnished for
CCR, Title 22 CCR, Title 22 employer’s employer’s
§926-3, 926-4, §926-3, 926-4, convenience and convenience and
and 926-5 and 926-5 on employer's on employer's

premises. premises.
CCR, Title 22 CUIC §13009.5
§4309-1(b)(9)
Moving Expenses: Not subject if you Not subject if you Not subject Not reportable
A. Qualified expenses reasonably believe | reasonably believe | CUIC §13009(m) CUIC §13009.5
expenses are expenses are and IRC §217 and IRC §217
deductible by the deductible by the
employee under employee under
IRC §217. IRC §217.
CUIC §937 CUIC §937
B. Nonqualified expenses Subject Subject Subject Reportable
CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

See page 35 for endnotes
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TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment

Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Payments and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'
Noncash Payments:
Refer to “Lodging” and “Meals”
sections in this table.
A. Household employees- Refer to Refer to Not subject’ Reportable®
For Personal Income Tax Household Household CUIC §13009(b) CUIC §13009.5
wages, refer to Information Employer's Guide | Employer’s Guide

Sheet: Personal Income Tax
Wages Reported on the
Quarterly Report of Wages and
Withholdings for Employers of
Household Workers

(DE 231PH).

(DE 8829) or
Information Sheet:
Household
Employment

(DE 231L). CCR,
Title 22 §926-3

(DE 8829) or
Information Sheet:
Household
Employment

(DE 231L). CCR,
Title 22 §926-3

B. Services not in the course of Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
employer’s trade or business. CUIC §936 CUIC §936 CUIC §13009(h) CUIC §13009.5
Railroad Retirement Tax Act Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
and Railroad Unemployment CUIC §635 CUIC §635 CCR, Title 22 CUIC §13009.5
Insurance Act (payments to §4304-1
employees covered by these acts)
Retirement and Pension Plans:
Refer to Information Sheet:
Withholding From Pensions,
Annuities, and Certain Other
Deferred Income (DE 231P).
A. Payments from a qualified Not subject Not subject Subject if Not reportable
plan.® CUIC §934 CUIC §934 employee is a CUIC §13009.5
California resident,
unless recipient
elects exemption
from withholding.
CUIC §13028
B. Employee contributions to a Subject Subject Not subject if Not reportable if

qualified cash or deferred
compensation plan as defined
in IRC §401(k).

C. Employer contributions to a
qualified cash or deferred
compensation plan as defined
in IRC §401(k).

D. Employer contributions to a
Simplified Employee Plan-
Individual Retirement
Arrangement (SEP-IRA) as
defined in IRC §408(k).

CUIC §928.5(a)

CUIC §928.5(a)

payments are not
includable in gross
income for
California income
tax purposes.
CUIC §13009(i)(5)

payments are not
includable in gross
income for
California income
tax purposes.
CUIC §13009.5

Not subject unless
the contributions
result from a
salary reduction
agreement.

CUIC §934

Not subject unless
the contributions
result from a
salary reduction
agreement.

CUIC §934

Not subject if
payments are not
includable in gross
income for
California income
tax purposes.
CUIC §13009(i)(1)

Not reportable if
payments are not
includable in gross
income for
California income
tax purposes.
CUIC §13009.5

Not subject unless
the contributions
result from a
salary reduction
agreement.

CUIC §934(c)

Not subject unless
the contributions
result from a
salary reduction
agreement.

CUIC §934(c)

Not subject if
payments are not
includable in gross
income for
California income
tax purposes.
CUIC §13009(i)(1)

Not reportable if
payments are not
includable in gross
income for
California income
tax purposes.
CUIC §13009.5

See page 35 for endnotes
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TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment

Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Payments and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'
Retirement and Pension Plans:
(cont.)
E. Employer contributions to a Not subject Not subject Not subject if Not reportable if

Savings Incentive Match Plan
for Employees of Small
Employers Individual
Retirement Account

(SIMPLE IRA) as defined in
IRC §408(p).

F. Employee contributions to a
SIMPLE IRA under salary
reduction agreement as
defined in IRC 408(p).

G. Employee contributions to a
“Deemed IRA” as defined in
IRC §498(q).

H. Employee contributions to a
Roth contribution program as
defined in IRC § 402A.

I. Employer contributions to a
qualified annuity contract as
defined in IRC §403(a) (applies
to IRC §501[c][3] organizations
and public school employees).

J. Employer contributions to a
qualified annuity contract as
defined in IRC§403(b)
(applies to IRC §501[c][3]
organizations and  public
school employers).

K. Employer contributions under
an exempt governmental
deferred compensation plan
as defined in IRC §3121(v)(3).

L. Employer contributions to
certain nonqualified deferred
compensation plans.

M. Payments upon death or
retirement for disability to
employee or his/her
dependent made under a plan
providing for employees or a
class or classes of employees.

CUIC §934(d)

CUIC §934(d)

payments are not
includable in gross
income for
California income
tax purposes.
CUIC §13009(i)(2)

payments are not
includable in gross
income for
California income
tax purposes.
CUIC §13009.5

Subject Subject Not subject if Not subject if

CUIC §926 CUIC §926 payments are not payments are not
includable in gross | includable in gross
income for income for
California income California income
tax purpose. CUIC | tax purpose. CUIC
§13009(i)(2) §13009.5

Subject Subject Subject CUIC Reportable CUIC

CUIC §926 CUIC §926 §13009 §13009.5

Subject Subject Subject Reportable

CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5

Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable

CUIC §934(b)

CUIC §934(b)

CUIC §13009(i)(2)

CUIC §13009.5

Not subject unless
the contributions
result from a
salary reduction

Not subject unless
the contributions
result from a
salary reduction

Not subject
CUIC §13009(i)(2)

Not reportable
CUIC §13009.5

agreement. agreement.
CUIC §934(e) CUIC §934(e)
Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable

CUIC §934(f)

CUIC §934(f)

CUIC §13009(q)

CUIC §13009.5

Subject at the time | Subject at the time | Subject Reportable
services are services are CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5
performed or when | performed or when | and CUIC and CUIC
thereisno thereisno §13003(b)(4) §13003(b)(4)
substantial risk of a | substantial risk of a

forfeiture of the forfeiture of the

right to the amount, | right to the amount,

whichever is later. whichever is later.

CUIC §928.5(c) CUIC §928.5(c)

Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
CUIC §938 CUIC §938 CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5

Salary Advances

Subject at the time
the advance is
paid, not when it
is deducted from
future earnings
(wage payments).
CUIC §926

Subject at the time
the advance is
paid, not when it
is deducted from
future earnings
(wage payments).
CUIC §926

Subject at the time
the advance is
paid, not when it
is deducted from
future earnings
(wage payments).
CUIC §13009

Reportable at the
time the advance
is paid, not when
it is deducted from
future earnings
(wage payments).
CUIC §13009.5

See page 35 for endnotes
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Types of Payments

TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment
Insurance
and
Employment
Training Tax'

State
Disability
Insurance

Personal
Income Tax
Withholding

Personal
Income Tax
Wages

Scholarship Payments,
Fellowship Grants, Tuition
Reductions, or Stipend Award

Not subject if it is
reasonable to
believe that the
benefit is
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §117.
CUIC §938.3(c)

Not subject if it is
reasonable to
believe that the
benefit is
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §117.
CUIC §938.3(c)

Not subject if it is
reasonable to
believe that the
benefit is
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §117.
CUIC §13009(q)

Not reportable if it
is reasonable to
believe that the
benefit is
excludable from
gross income
under IRC §117.
CUIC §13009.5

Sickness or Injury Payments
under:

A. Workers’ Compensation law.

B. Employer plans and contracts
of insurance.

Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
CUIC §931(a) CUIC §931(a) CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5
Not subject after Not subject after Subject to the Reportable to the
the end of six the end of six extent the extent the

calendar months
after the calendar
month employee
last worked for

calendar months
after the calendar
month employee
last worked for

payments into the
plan were made by
the employer and
were not included

payments into the
plan were made by
the employer and
were not included

employer. employer. in the gross in the gross
CUIC §933 CUIC §933 taxable income of | taxable income of
the employee. the employee.
CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
C. Sick pay while employed. Subject Subject Subject Reportable
CUIC §931 CUIC §931 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
D. A plan entirely funded by Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
employees. CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5
Sick Pay Paid by Third-Party
Payers such as insurance
companies and trusts:
Reporting is the responsibility of
the last employer if timely notified
by the payer. Refer to Information
Sheet: Third-Party Sick Pay
(DE 231R).
Third-party payer notifies the Subject — Not subject Subject if Reportable —
recipient’s last employer within recipient’s CUIC §931.5 employee recipient’s
15 days after payment. Refer to | employer is requests employer is
Request for State Income Tax responsible for withholding by responsible for
Withholding from Sick Pay reporting Ul and filing form DE 4S reporting PIT
(DE 4S). ETT. with the third-party | wages.
CUIC §931.5 who is responsible | CUIC
for reporting PIT §13009.5(a)(3)(A)
withholding. CUIC
§931.5 and
13028.6
B. Third-party payer does not Subject - Not subject — Subject if Reportable — third-
notify the recipient’s last third-party payer is | neither employer employee party payer is
employer within 15 days after responsible for nor third-party requests responsible for

payment. Third-party payer is
responsible for reporting U,
ETT, any voluntary PIT
withholding, and PIT wages.

reporting Ul and
ETT.

CUIC §931.5

payer are required
to report.
CUIC §931.5

withholding by
filing form DE 4S
with the third-party
payer.

CUIC §931.5 and
13028.6(c)

reporting PIT
wages.

CuIC
§13009.5(a)(3)(B)

See page 35 for endnotes
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TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment

Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Payments and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'
Sick Pay Paid by Third-Party
Payers (cont.)
C. Sick pay paid after the end of Not subject — Not subject — Subject if Reportable —
six calendar months after the neither employer neither employer employee recipient’s
calendar month the employee nor third-party nor third-party requests employer is

last worked for the employer,

payer are required

payer are required

withholding by

responsible for

. Nonstatutory Stock Option

(NSO):

o With Readily Ascertainable
Fair Market Value when

and the third-party payer to report. to report. filing form DE 4S reporting PIT
notifies the recipient’s last CUIC §933 CUIC §933 with the third-party | wages.
employer within 15 days after who is responsible | CUIC
payment. for reporting PIT §13009.5(a)(3)(A)
withholding.
CUIC §931.5 and
13028.6(c)
. Sick pay paid after the end of Not subject — Not subject — Subject if Reportable —
six calendar months after the neither employer neither employer employee third-party payer is
calendar month the employee nor third-party nor third-party requests responsible for
last worked for the employer, payer is required payer is required withholding by reporting PIT
and the third-party payer does | to report. to report. filing form wages.
not notify the recipient’s last CUIC §933 CUIC §933 DE 4S with the CuIC
employer within 15 days after third-party payer. §13009.5(a)(3)(B)
payment. CUIC §13009
Stock Options:
Refer to page 14 and Information
Sheet: Stock Options (DE 231SK)
A. Incentive Stock Option (ISO):
¢ Qualifying Disposition (after Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
minimum holding period). CUIC §928 CUIC §928 CUIC §13003(b)(4) | CUIC §13009
and 13009
¢ Disqualifying Disposition. Not subject Not subject Not subject Reportable when
CUIC §928 CUIC §928 CUIC §13003(b)(4) | disposed
and 13009 CUIC §13009
. Employee Stock Purchase
Plan (ESPP):
¢ Qualifying Disposition. Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
CUIC §928 CUIC §928 CUIC §13003(b)(4) | CUIC §13009
and 13009
¢ Disqualifying Disposition. Not subject Not subject Not subject Reportable when
CUIC §928 CUIC §928 CUIC §13003(b)(4) | disposed
and 13009 CUIC §13009

Subject when

Subject when

Subject when

Reportable when

granted granted granted granted
granted. CUIC §928 CUIC §928 CUIC §13003(b)(4) | CUIC §13009
and 13009
e Without Readily Subject when Subject when Subject when Reportable when
Ascertainable Fair Market exercised exercised exercised exercised
Value when granted. CUIC §928 CUIC §928 CUIC §13003(b)(4) | CUIC §13009
and 13009

TYPES OF PAYMENTS
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TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment

Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Payments and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'
Stock Options: (cont.)
D. California Qualified Stock
Option:
o Defined by R&TC §17502. Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
CUIC §928 CUIC §928 CUIC §13003(b)(4) | CUIC §13009

« Not defined by R&TC
§17502.

Same treatment as
NSO

Same treatment as
NSO

Same treatment as
NSO

Same treatment as
NSO

Supplemental Unemployment Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable

Compensation Plan Benefits CUIC §1265 CUIC §1265 CCR, Title 22 CUIC §13009.5

paid under an employer’s plan §4309-1(b)(4)

Supplemental Wages Subject Subject Subject Reportable - refer
CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009 to page 14.

CUIC §13009.5

Tips:

Refer to Information Sheet: Tips

(DE 231T)

A. Cash tips that are received by
the employee while performing
services in employment and

Subject if $20 or
more in a month.
CUIC §927 and

Subject if $20 or
more in a month.
CUIC §927 and

Subject if $20 or
more in a month.
CUIC §13009 and

Reportable if $20
ormoreina
month.

included in a written statement | CCR, Title 22 CCR, Title 22 13009(n)(2) CUIC §13009.5
furnished to the employer. §927-1 §927-1

B. Employer controlled tips, such Subject Subject Subject Reportable
as banquet tips, that are CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
received by the employee from
the employer while performing
services in employment.

C. Noncash tips. Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable

IRC §3121(a)(12)(A) | IRC §3121(a)(12)(A) | CUIC §13009(n)(1) | CUIC §13009.5

Tuition Programs

Payments as defined in R&TC

§17140, including Golden State

Scholarshare Trust.

A. Contribution to trust by Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
participant. CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5

B. Contribution to trust by Subject Subject Subject Reportable
participant’s employer. CUIC §926 and CUIC §926 and CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5

R&TC §17140(c)(2) | R&TC §17140(c)(2)

C. Distribution from trust to school | Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable

or participant for educational CUIC §926 CUIC §926 CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5

expenses.

See page 35 for endnotes
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TREATMENT FOR TAX PURPOSES

Unemployment

Insurance State Personal Personal
Types of Payments and Disability Income Tax Income Tax
Employment Insurance Withholding Wages
Training Tax'
Vacation Pay, Sick Pay, and Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
Holiday Pay CUIC §1265.5, CUIC §1265.5, CUIC §13009 CUIC §13009.5
Only when earned, but not paid, 1265.6, and 1265.6, and
prior to termination of employment | 1265.7 1265.7
due to a voluntary quit, discharge,
or layoff due to lack of work with
no specific date to return to work.
Worker Adjustment and Not subject Not subject Subject Reportable
Retraining Notification (WARN) | CUIC §1265.1 CUIC §1265.1 CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5
Payments received by an
individual from an employer who
has failed to provide the advance
notice of a facility closure as
required by federal and California
WARN legislation.
Workers’ Compensation Not subject Not subject Not subject Not reportable
CUIC §931 CUIC §931 CUIC §13009(q) CUIC §13009.5

1 Employers who have elected the “cost of benefit reimbursable method” of financing Unemployment Insurance contributions or who have a

negative reserve account balance are not required to contribute to the Employment Training Tax fund.

2  Subject if employer and employee voluntarily agree to withhold California PIT.

3  Pension, annuity, and other deferred income distributions reported on Form 1099R.

4 Employer should report the same amount as PIT wages that is reported for federal income tax wages.

NOTE: A registered domestic partner means an individual partner in a domestic relationship within the meaning of
Section 297 of the Family Code.

The California Unemployment Insurance Code is available online at www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html.

Subscribe to EDD’s free e-mail subscription services
www.edd.ca.gov/about_EDD/Get_Email_Notices.htm

www.edd.ca.gov
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET)
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CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2010

California provides two methods for determining the amount of wages and salaries to be withheld for state personal income tax:

METHOD A - WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD (Limited to wages/salaries less than $1 million)
METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD

METHOD A provides a quick & easy way to select the appropriate withholding amount, based on the payroll period,

filing status, and number of withholding allowances (regular and additional) if claimed. The STANDARD DEDUCTION
and EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE CREDIT are already included in the wage bracket tables. Even though this method
involves fewer computations than Method B, it cannot be used with your computer in determining amounts to be withheld.

METHOD B may be used to calculate withholding amounts either manually or by computer. This method will give an exact
amount of tax to withhold. To use this method, you must enter the payroll period, filing status, number of withholding
allowances, standard deduction, and exemption allowance credit amounts. These amounts are included in TABLES 1
through 5 of the EXACT CALCULATION Section.

If there are any questions concerning the operation/methodology of Method B for computer software, you may contact:

Franchise Tax Board, Statistical Research Section - 516 Mail Stop A-351
P.O. Box 942840, Sacramento, CA 94240.

SPECIAL NOTE FOR MARRIED EMPLOYEES WITH EMPLOYED SPOUSES: to avoid underwithholding of State
income tax liability we recommend that you use one of the following options: Single filing status to compute withholding
amounts for the employee and spouse; or withhold an additional flat amount of tax.

Instructions for additional withholding allowances for estimated deductions:

All additional allowances for ESTIMATED DEDUCTIONS that are claimed on a DE 4 must be used to reduce the amount
of salaries & wages subject to withholding by using steps 1 and 2 shown below. If the Form W-4 is used for California
withholding purposes, all additional allowances for ESTIMATED DEDUCTIONS claimed must be treated as regular
withholding allowances; unless the employee requests in writing that they be treated in accordance with the following:

1.

Subtract the employee's estimated deduction allowance shown in the "TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE"
from the gross wages subject to withholding; and

Compute the tax to be withheld using:

METHOD A - WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD; or
METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD

If the DE 4 is used for California withholding purposes, compute the tax to be deducted and withheld based on the total
number of regular withholding allowances claimed on line 1 of DE 4.

If the Form W-4 is used for California withholding purposes, compute the tax to be deducted and withheld based on the
total number of withholding allowances claimed on line 1 of Form W-4; minus the number of additional allowances for
estimated deductions claimed. If Form W-4 does not separately identify the number of additional allowances for estimated
deductions, the employee's request must specify the number claimed. The employee's request will remain in effect until
the employee terminates it by furnishing a signed written notice or by furnishing a DE 4.

Employers may require employees to file DE 4 when they wish to use additional allowances for estimated deductions
to reduce the amount of wages subject to withholding.
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CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2010
METHOD A - WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD
To determine the amount of tax to be withheld follow these steps:
Step 1 Determine if the employee's gross wages are less than, or equal to, the amount shown in “TABLE 1 - LOW

INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE”. If so, no income tax is required to be withheld.

Step 2 If the employee claims any additional withholding allowances for deductions, subtract the amount shown in
"TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE" from the gross wages.

Step 3 Subtract the number of additional withholding allowances from the total allowances to obtain the net
allowances for tax computational purposes.

Step 4 Refer to the correct wage bracket table to arrive at the amount of tax to be withheld.

EXAMPLE A: METHOD A - WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD. Weekly earnings of $900.00, married, and claiming
five withholding allowances on form W-4 or DE 4, three of which are for estimated deductions.

Step 1 Earnings for the weekly pay period of $900.00 are GREATER than the amount shown in “TABLE 1 -
LOW INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE” ($428.00); therefore, income tax should be withheld.

Step 2 Earnings for the payroll period $900.00
Subtract amount from “TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE” -58.00
Salaries and wages subject to withholding $842.00

Step 3 Total number of withholding allowances claimed 5
Subtract number of estimated deduction allowances claimed -3
Net allowances for tax computation purposes 2

Step 4 Refer to the appropriate wage bracket table (weekly taxable earnings of $842.00
with two deductions) to arrive at the amount of tax to be withheld. $11.91

EXAMPLE B: METHOD A - WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD. Monthly earnings of $3,400.00, married, and
claiming six withholding allowances on form W-4 or DE 4, two of which are for estimated deductions.

Step 1 Earnings for the monthly payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($1,855.00); therefore, income tax should be withheld.
Step 2 Earnings for the payroll period. $3,400.00
Subtract amount from “TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE". -167.00
Salaries and wages subject to withholding. __$3,233.00
Step 3 Total number of withholding allowances claimed. 6
Subtract number of estimated deduction allowances claimed. -2
Net allowances for tax computation purposes. _4
Step 4 Refer to the appropriate wage bracket table (monthly taxable
earnings of $3,233.00 with four deductions) to arrive at the
amount of tax to be withheld. $16.60
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CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2010
METHOD A---WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD

TABLE 1 - LOW INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE

SINGLE, MARRIED

DUAL INCOME MARRIED UNMARRIED

OR MARRIED WITH ALLOWANCES ON DE 4 OR W-4 HEAD OF

PAYROLL PERIOD MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS '0'OR "1 '2' OR MORE HOUSEHOLD
WEEKLY $214 $214 $428 $428
BIWEEKLY $428 $428 $856 $856
SEMI-MONTHLY $464 $464 $928 $928
MONTHLY $928 $928 $1,855 $1,855
QUARTERLY $2,783 $2,783 $5,565 $5,565
SEMI-ANNUAL $5,565 $5,565 $11,131 $11,131
ANNUAL $11,130 $11,130 $22,261 $22,261
DAILY/MISCELLANEOUS $43 $43 $86 $86

TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE

PAYROLL PERIOD

ADDITIONAL
WITHHOLDING BI- SEMI- SEMI- DAILY/
ALLOWANCES * WEEKLY WEEKLY MONTHLY MONTHLY QUARTERLY ANNUAL ANNUAL MISC.
1 $19 $38 $42 $83 $250 $500 $1,000 $4
2 $38 $77 $83 $167 $500 $1,000 $2,000 $8
3 $58 $115 $125 $250 $750 $1,500 $3,000 $12
4 $77 $154 $167 $333 $1,000 $2,000 $4,000 $15
5 $96 $192 $208 $417 $1,250 $2,500 $5,000 $19
6 $115 $231 $250 $500 $1,500 $3,000 $6,000 $23
7 $135 $269 $292 $583 $1,750 $3,500 $7,000 $27
8 $154 $308 $333 $667 $2,000 $4,000 $8,000 $31
9 $173 $346 $375 $750 $2,250 $4,500 $9,000 $35
10** $192 $385 $417 $833 $2,500 $5,000 $10,000 $38

* Number of Additional Withholding Allowances for Estimated Deductions claimed on form DE-4 or W-4.

** If the number of Additional Withholding Allowances for Estimated Deductions claimed is greater than 10, multiply
the amount shown for one Additional Allowance by the number claimed.
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SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS----WEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $160

160 170  1.31

170 180 1.44

180 190 1.58

190 200 1.72

200 210 1.86

210 220 2.09 0.03

220 230 234 0.27

230 240 259 0.52

240 250 2.84 0.77

250 260 3.08 1.02

260 270 3.33 1.26

270 280 3.58 1.51

280 290 3.83 1.76

290 300 4.07 2.01

300 310 4.32 2.25 0.19

310 320 457 2.50 0.43

320 330 4.82 2.75 0.68

330 340 5.06 3.00 0.93

340 350 5.31 3.24 1.18

350 360 5.56 3.49 1.42

360 370  5.81 3.74 1.67

370 380 6.05 3.99 1.92

380 390 6.30 4.23 2.17 0.10

390 400 6.62 4.55 2.49 0.42

400 410 7.09 5.02 2.95 0.89

410 420 7.56 5.49 3.42 1.35

420 430 8.02 5.96 3.89 1.82

430 440 8.49 6.42 4.36 2.29 0.22

440 460 9.19 7.13 5.06 2.99 0.92

460 480 10.13 8.06 5.99 3.92 1.86

480 500 11.06 9.00 6.93 4.86 2.79 0.72

500 520 12.00 9.93 7.86 5.79 3.73 1.66

520 540 12.93 10.87 8.80 6.73 4.66 2.59 0.53

540 560 13.87 11.80 9.73 7.66 5.60 3.53 1.46

560 580 14.80 12.74 10.67 8.60 6.53 4.46 2.40 0.33

580 600 16.01 13.94 11.87 9.81 7.74 5.67 3.60 1.53

600 620 17.38 15.32 13.25 11.18 9.1 7.04 4.98 2.91 0.84

620 640 18.76 16.69 14.62 12.56 10.49 8.42 6.35 4.28 2.22 0.15

640 680 20.82 18.75 16.69 14.62 12.55 10.48 8.41 6.35 4.28 2.21 0.14

680 720 23.57 21.50 19.44 17.37 15.30 13.23 11.16 9.10 7.03 4.96 2.89

720 760 26.32 24.25 22.19 20.12 18.05 15.98 13.91 11.85 9.78 7.71 5.64

760 800 29.18 27.11 25.04 22.98 20.91 18.84 16.77 14.70 12.64 10.57 8.50

800 840 32.81 30.74 28.67 26.61 24.54 22.47 20.40 18.33 16.27 14.20 12.13

840 880 36.44 34.37 32.30 30.24 28.17 26.10 24.03 21.96 19.90 17.83 15.76

880 920  40.07 38.00 35.93 33.87 31.80 29.73 27.66 25.59 23.53 21.46 19.39

920 960 43.70 41.63 39.56 37.50 35.43 33.36 31.29 29.22 27.16 25.09 23.02

960 1000 47.61 45.54 43.47 41.40 39.34 37.27 35.20 33.13 31.06 29.00 26.93
1000 1040 51.81 49.74 47.67 45.61 43.54 41.47 39.40 37.33 35.27 33.20 31.13
1040 1080 56.01 53.94 51.88 49.81 47.74 45.67 43.60 41.54 39.47 37.40 35.33
1080 1120 60.21 58.15 56.08 54.01 51.94 49.87 47.81 45.74 43.67 41.60 39.53

1120 and over
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MARRIED PERSONS----WEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $160
160 170 1.31
170 180 1.44
180 190 1.58
190 200 1.72
200 210 1.86
210 220 199
220 230 213 0.06
230 240 227 0.20
240 250 2.41 0.34
250 260 2.54 0.48
260 270 2.68 0.61
270 280 2.82 0.75
280 200 2.96 0.89
290 300 3.09 1.03
300 310 3.23 1.16
310 320 3.37 1.30
320 330 3.51 1.44
330 340 3.64 1.58
340 350 3.82 1.75
350 360 4.06 2.00
360 370  4.31 224
370 380 4.56 2.49
380 390 4.81 2.74
390 400 5.0 2.99
400 410 5.30 3.23
410 420 555 3.48
420 430 5.80 3.73
430 440 6.04 3.98 0.18
440 460 6.41 4.35 0.55
460 480  6.91 4.84 1.04
480 500 7.40 5.34 1.54
500 520 7.90 5.83 2.03
520 540 8.39 6.33 2.53 0.46
540 560 8.89 6.82 3.02 0.95
560 580 9.38 7.32 3.52 1.45
580 600 9.88 7.81 4.01 1.94
600 620 10.37 8.31 4.51 244 0.37
620 640 10.87 8.80 5.00 2.93 0.87
640 660 11.36 9.30 5.50 3.43 1.36
660 680 11.86 9.79 5.99 3.92 1.86
680 700 12.35 10.29 6.49 4.42 2.35 0.28
700 720 12.85 10.78 6.98 4.91 2.85 0.78
720 740 13.71 11.64 7.48 5.41 3.34 1.27
740 760 14.64 12.58 7.97 5.90 3.84 1.77
760 780 15.58 13.51 8.47 6.40 4.33 2.26 0.20
780 800 16.51 14.45 9.1 7.04 4.97 2.90 0.84
800 820 17.45 15.38 10.04 7.98 5.91 3.84 1.77
820 840 18.38 16.32 10.98 8.91 6.84 4.77 2.71 0.64
840 860 19.32 17.25 11.91 9.85 7.78 5.71 3.64 1.57
860 880 20.25 18.19 12.85 10.78 8.71 6.64 4.58 2.51 0.44

--- CONTINUED NEXT PAGE ---
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MARRIED PERSONS----WEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...

880 900 21.19 19.12 13.78 11.72 9.65 7.58 5.51 3.44 1.38

900 920 22.12 20.06 14.72 12.65 10.58 8.51 6.45 4.38 2.31 0.24

920 940 23.06 20.99 15.65 13.59 11.52 9.45 7.38 5.31 3.25 1.18

940 960 23.99 21.93 16.59 14.52 12.45 10.38 8.32 6.25 4.18 2.1 0.04

960 980 24.93 22.86 17.52 15.46 13.39 11.32 9.25 7.18 5.12 3.05 0.98

980 1000 25.86 23.80 18.46 16.39 14.32 12.25 10.19 8.12 6.05 3.98 1.91
1000 1020 26.80 24.73 19.39 17.33 15.26 13.19 11.12 9.05 6.99 4.92 2.85
1020 1040 27.73 25.67 20.33 18.26 16.19 14.12 12.06 9.99 7.92 5.85 3.78
1040 1060 28.67 26.60 21.26 19.20 1713 15.06 12.99 10.92 8.86 6.79 4.72
1060 1080 29.60 27.54 22.20 20.13 18.06 15.99 13.93 11.86 9.79 7.72 5.65
1080 1100 30.64 28.57 23.13 21.07 19.00 16.93 14.86 12.79 10.73 8.66 6.59
1100 1120 32.01 29.95 24.07 22.00 19.93 17.86 15.80 13.73 11.66 9.59 7.52
1120 1140 33.39 31.32 25.00 22.94 20.87 18.80 16.73 14.66 12.60 10.53 8.46
1140 1180 35.45 33.38 26.51 24.44 22.37 20.30 18.24 16.17 14.10 12.03 9.96
1180 1220 38.20 36.13 29.26 27.19 25.12 23.05 20.99 18.92 16.85 14.78 12.71
1220 1260 40.95 38.88 32.01 29.94 27.87 25.80 23.74 21.67 19.60 17.53 15.46
1260 1300 43.70 41.63 34.76 32.69 30.62 28.55 26.49 24.42 22.35 20.28 18.21
1300 1340 46.45 44.38 37.51 35.44 33.37 31.30 29.24 27.17 25.10 23.03 20.96
1340 1380 49.20 47.13 40.26 38.19 36.12 34.05 31.99 29.92 27.85 25.78 23.71
1380 1420 51.95 49.88 43.01 40.94 38.87 36.80 34.74 32.67 30.60 28.53 26.46
1420 1460 54.70 52.63 45.76 43.69 41.62 39.55 37.49 35.42 33.35 31.28 29.21
1460 1500 57.45 55.38 48.51 46.44 44.37 42.30 40.24 38.17 36.10 34.03 31.96
1500 1540 61.08 59.01 51.26 49.19 47.12 45.05 42.99 40.92 38.85 36.78 34.71
1540 1580 64.71 62.64 54.22 52.16 50.09 48.02 45.95 43.88 41.82 39.75 37.68
1580 1620 68.34 66.27 57.85 55.79 53.72 51.65 49.58 47.51 45.45 43.38 41.31
1620 1660 71.97 69.90 61.48 59.42 57.35 55.28 53.21 51.14 49.08 47.01 44.94
1660 1700 75.60 73.53 65.11 63.05 60.98 58.91 56.84 54.77 52.71 50.64 48.57
1700 1740 79.23 77.16 68.74 66.68 64.61 62.54 60.47 58.40 56.34 54.27 52.20
1740 1780 82.86 80.79 72.37 70.31 68.24 66.17 64.10 62.03 59.97 57.90 55.83
1780 1820 86.49 84.42 76.00 73.94 71.87 69.80 67.73 65.66 63.60 61.53 59.46
1820 1860 90.12 88.05 79.63 77.57 75.50 73.43 71.36 69.29 67.23 65.16 63.09
1860 1900 94.16 92.09 83.26 81.20 79.13 77.06 74.99 72.92 70.86 68.79 66.72
1900 1940 98.36 96.29 86.89 84.83 82.76 80.69 78.62 76.55 74.49 72.42 70.35
1940 1980 102.56 100.50 91.08 89.01 86.94 84.88 82.81 80.74 78.67 76.60 74.54
1980 2020 106.77 104.70 95.28 93.21 91.15 89.08 87.01 84.94 82.87 80.81 78.74
2020 2060 110.97 108.90 99.48 97.42 95.35 93.28 91.21 89.14 87.08 85.01 82.94
2060 2100 11517 113.10 103.69 101.62 99.55 97.48 95.41 93.35 91.28 89.21 87.14
2100 2140 119.37 117.30 107.89 105.82 103.75 101.68 99.62 97.55 95.48 93.41 91.34
2140 2180 123.57 121.51 112.09 110.02 107.95 105.89 103.82 101.75 99.68 97.61 95.55
2180 2220 127.78 125.71 116.29 114.22 112.16 110.09 108.02 105.95 103.88 101.82 99.75

2220 and over
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UNMARRIED HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD----WEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
_.THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $250

250 260 1.58

260 270  1.72

270 280 1.86

280 290  2.00 0.00

290 300 213 0.06

300 310 2.27 0.20

310 320 2.41 0.34

320 330 255 0.48

330 340 2.68 0.61

340 350 2.82 0.75

350 360 2.96 0.89

360 370  3.10 1.03

370 380 3.23 1.16

380 390 3.37 1.30

390 400 3.51 1.44

400 410  3.65 1.58

410 420 3.82 1.75

420 430  4.06 2.00

430 440  4.31 2.24 0.18

440 450  4.56 2.49 0.42

450 460  4.81 2.74 0.67

460 470 5.05 2.99 0.92

470 480 5.30 3.23 1.17

480 490 555 348 1.41

490 500 5.80 3.73 1.66

500 520 6.17 4.10 2.03

520 540 6.66 4.60 2.53 0.46

540 560 7.16 5.09 3.02 0.95

560 580 7.65 5.59 3.52 1.45

580 600 8.15 6.08 4.01 1.94

600 620 8.64 6.58 4.51 244 0.37

620 640 9.14 7.07 5.00 2.93 0.87

640 660 9.63 7.57 5.50 343 1.36

660 680 10.13 8.06 5.99 3.92 1.86

680 700 10.62 8.56 6.49 4.42 2.35 0.28

700 740 11.37 9.30 7.23 5.16 3.09 1.03

740 780 12.36 10.29 8.22 6.15 4.08 2.02

780 820 13.70 11.63 9.56 7.50 5.43 3.36 1.29

820 860 15.57 13.50 11.43 9.37 7.30 5.23 3.16 1.09

860 900 17.44 15.37 13.30 11.24 9.17 7.10 5.03 2.96 0.90

900 950 19.54 17.48 15.41 13.34 11.27 9.20 7.14 5.07 3.00 0.93

950 1000 22.00 19.93 17.86 15.80 13.73 11.66 9.59 7.52 5.46 3.39 1.32
1000 1050 25.44 23.37 21.30 19.23 17.17 15.10 13.03 10.96 8.89 6.83 4.76
1050 1100 28.88 26.81 24.74 22.67 20.60 18.54 16.47 14.40 12.33 10.26 8.20
1100 1150  32.31 30.24 28.18 26.11 24.04 21.97 19.90 17.84 15.77 13.70 11.63
1150 1200 35.93 33.86 31.79 29.72 27.65 25.59 23.52 21.45 19.38 17.31 15.25
1200 1250  40.46 38.40 36.33 34.26 32.19 30.12 28.06 25.99 23.92 21.85 19.78
1250 1300 45.00 42.93 40.86 38.80 36.73 34.66 32.59 30.52 28.46 26.39 24.32
1300 1400 51.81 49.74 4767 45.60 43.54 41.47 39.40 37.33 35.26 33.20 31.13
1400 1500 62.28 60.21 58.14 56.07 54.00 51.94 49.87 47.80 4573 43.66 41.60

1500 and over
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SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS----BIWEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $260

260 280 1.79

280 300 2.06

300 320 234

320 340 261

340 360 2.89

360 380 3.16

380 400 344

400 420 3.7

420 440 419 0.05

440 460 4.68 0.55

460 480 5.18 1.04

480 500 5.67 1.54

500 520 6.17 2.03

520 540 6.66 2.53

540 560 7.16 3.02

560 580 7.65 3.52

580 600 8.15 4.01

600 620 8.64 4.51 0.37

620 640 9.14 5.00 0.87

640 660 9.63 5.50 1.36

660 680 10.13 5.99 1.86

680 700 10.62 6.49 2.35

700 720  11.12 6.98 2.85

720 740 11.61 7.48 3.34

740 760  12.11 7.97 3.84

760 780 12.60 8.47 4.33 0.20

780 800 13.23 9.10 4.96 0.83

800 820 14.17 10.03 5.90 1.76

820 860 15.57 11.43 7.30 3.16

860 900 17.44 13.30 9.17 5.03 0.90

900 940 19.31 15.17 11.04 6.90 277

940 980 21.18 17.04 12.91 8.77 4.64 0.50

980 1020 23.056 18.91 14.78 10.64 6.51 2.37
1020 1070  25.15 21.02 16.88 12.75 8.61 4.47 0.34
1070 1120 27.49 23.36 19.22 15.08 10.95 6.81 2.68
1120 1170  29.83 25.69 21.56 17.42 13.29 9.15 5.01 0.88
1170 1220 33.03 28.89 24.76 20.62 16.48 12.35 8.21 4.08
1220 1270  36.47 32.33 28.19 24.06 19.92 15.79 11.65 7.51 3.38
1270 1320 39.90 35.77 31.63 27.49 23.36 19.22 15.09 10.95 6.81 2.68
1320 1370 43.34 39.20 35.07 30.93 26.80 22.66 18.52 14.39 10.25 6.12 1.98
1370 1420 46.78 42.64 38.51 34.37 30.23 26.10 21.96 17.83 13.69 9.55 5.42
1420 1470  50.22 46.08 41.94 37.81 33.67 29.54 25.40 21.26 17.13 12.99 8.86
1470 1520 53.65 49.52 45.38 41.24 37.11 32.97 28.84 24.70 20.56 16.43 12.29
1520 1620 59.26 55.12 50.98 46.85 42.71 38.58 34.44 30.30 26.17 22.03 17.90
1620 1720 68.33 64.20 60.06 55.92 51.79 47.65 43.52 39.38 35.24 31.11 26.97
1720 1820 77.41 73.27 69.13 65.00 60.86 56.73 52.59 48.45 44.32 40.18 36.05
1820 1920 86.48 82.35 78.21 74.07 69.94 65.80 61.67 57.53 53.39 49.26 45.12
1920 2020 96.25 92.11 87.97 83.84 79.70 75.57 71.43 67.29 63.16 59.02 54.89
2020 2120 106.75 102.61 98.48 94.34 90.21 86.07 81.93 77.80 73.66 69.53 65.39
2120 2220 117.26 113.12 108.98 104.85 100.71 96.58 92.44 88.30 84.17 80.03 75.90

2220 and over
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MARRIED PERSONS----BIWEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $260

260 280 1.79

280 300 2.06

300 320 234

320 340 261

340 360 2.89

360 380 3.16

380 400 344

400 420 3.71

420 440  3.99

440 460 4.26 0.13

460 480 4.54 0.40

480 500 4.81 0.68

500 520 5.09 0.95

520 540 5.36 1.23

540 560 5.64 1.50

560 580 5.91 1.78

580 600 6.19 2.05

600 620 6.46 2.33

620 640 6.74 2.60

640 660  7.01 2.88

660 680 7.29 3.15

680 700 7.63 3.50

700 720 8.13 3.99

720 740  8.62 4.49

740 760 912 4.98

760 780  9.61 5.48

780 800 10.11 5.97

800 820 10.60 6.47

820 840 11.10 6.96

840 860 11.59 7.46

860 880 12.09 7.95 0.35
880 900 12.58 8.45 0.85
900 920 13.08 8.94 1.34
920 940 13.57 9.44 1.84
940 960 14.07 9.93 2.33
960 980 14.56 10.43 2.83

980 1000 15.06 10.92 3.32
1000 1020 15.55 11.42 3.82

1020 1060 16.29 12.16 4.56 0.42

1060 1100 17.28 13.15 5.55 1.41

1100 1140 18.27 14.14 6.54 2.40

1140 1180 19.26 15.13 7.53 3.39

1180 1220 20.25 16.12 8.52 4.38 0.25

1220 1260 21.24 17.11 9.51 5.37 1.24

1260 1300 22.23 18.10 10.50 6.36 2.23

1300 1340 23.22 19.09 11.49 7.35 3.22

1340 1380 24.21 20.08 12.48 8.34 4.21 0.07
1380 1420 25.20 21.07 13.47 9.33 5.20 1.06
1420 1460 26.46 22.32 14.46 10.32 6.19 2.05
1460 1500 28.33 24.19 15.45 11.31 7.18 3.04
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MARRIED PERSONS----BIWEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...

1500 1540 30.20 26.06 16.44 12.30 8.17 4.03
1540 1580 32.07 27.93 17.43 13.29 9.16 5.02 0.89
1580 1620 33.94 29.80 19.13 14.99 10.86 6.72 2.59
1620 1660 35.81 31.67 21.00 16.86 12.73 8.59 4.46 0.32
1660 1700 37.68 33.54 22.87 18.73 14.60 10.46 6.33 2.19
1700 1740 39.55 35.41 24.74 20.60 16.47 12.33 8.20 4.06
1740 1780 41.42 37.28 26.61 22.47 18.34 14.20 10.07 5.93 1.79
1780 1820 43.29 39.15 28.48 24.34 20.21 16.07 11.94 7.80 3.66
1820 1860 45.16 41.02 30.35 26.21 22.08 17.94 13.81 9.67 5.53 1.40
1860 1900 47.03 42.89 32.22 28.08 23.95 19.81 15.68 11.54 7.40 3.27
1900 1940 48.90 44.76 34.09 29.95 25.82 21.68 17.55 13.41 9.27 5.14 1.00
1940 1980 50.77 46.63 35.96 31.82 27.69 23.55 19.42 15.28 11.14 7.01 2.87
1980 2020 52.64 48.50 37.83 33.69 29.56 25.42 21.29 17.15 13.01 8.88 4.74
2020 2060 54.51 50.37 39.70 35.56 31.43 27.29 23.16 19.02 14.88 10.75 6.61
2060 2100 56.38 52.24 41.57 37.43 33.30 29.16 25.03 20.89 16.75 12.62 8.48
2100 2140 58.25 54.11 43.44 39.30 35.17 31.03 26.90 22.76 18.62 14.49 10.35
2140 2180 60.12 55.98 45.31 4117 37.04 32.90 28.77 24.63 20.49 16.36 12.22
2180 2220 62.61 58.47 47.18 43.04 38.91 34.77 30.64 26.50 22.36 18.23 14.09
2220 2260 65.36 61.22 49.05 44.91 40.78 36.64 32.51 28.37 24.23 20.10 15.96
2260 2300 68.11 63.97 50.92 46.78 42.65 38.51 34.38 30.24 26.10 21.97 17.83
2300 2350 71.20 67.07 53.31 49.18 45.04 40.91 36.77 32.63 28.50 24.36 20.23
2350 2400 74.64 70.50 56.75 52.62 48.48 44.34 40.21 36.07 31.94 27.80 23.66
2400 2450 78.08 73.94 60.19 56.05 51.92 47.78 43.65 39.51 35.37 31.24 27.10
2450 2500 81.52 77.38 63.63 59.49 55.35 51.22 47.08 42.95 38.81 34.67 30.54
2500 2550 84.95 80.82 67.06 62.93 58.79 54.66 50.52 46.38 42.25 38.11 33.98
2550 2600 88.39 84.25 70.50 66.37 62.23 58.09 53.96 49.82 45.69 41.55 37.41
2600 2650 91.83 87.69 73.94 69.80 65.67 61.53 57.40 53.26 49.12 44.99 40.85
2650 2700 95.27 91.13 77.38 73.24 69.10 64.97 60.83 56.70 52.56 48.42 44.29
2700 2750 98.70 94.57 80.81 76.68 72.54 68.41 64.27 60.13 56.00 51.86 47.73
2750 2800 102.14 98.00 84.25 80.12 75.98 71.84 67.71 63.57 59.44 55.30 51.16
2800 2850 105.58 101.44 87.69 83.55 79.42 75.28 71.15 67.01 62.87 58.74 54.60
2850 2900 109.02 104.88 91.13 86.99 82.85 78.72 74.58 70.45 66.31 62.17 58.04
2900 2950 112.45 108.32 94.56 90.43 86.29 82.16 78.02 73.88 69.75 65.61 61.48
2950 3000 116.23 112.10 98.00 93.87 89.73 85.59 81.46 77.32 73.19 69.05 64.91
3000 3100 123.04 118.90 103.16 99.02 94.89 90.75 86.61 82.48 78.34 74.21 70.07
3100 3200 132.12 127.98 111.15 107.01 102.88 98.74 94.61 90.47 86.33 82.20 78.06
3200 3300 141.19 137.05 120.22 116.09 111.95 107.82 103.68 99.54 95.41 91.27 87.14
3300 3400 150.27 146.13 129.30 125.16 121.03 116.89 112.76 108.62 104.48 100.35 96.21
3400 3500 159.34 155.20 138.37 134.24 130.10 125.97 121.83 117.69 113.56 109.42 105.29
3500 3600 168.42 164.28 147.45 143.31 139.18 135.04 130.91 126.77 122.63 118.50 114.36
3600 3700 177.49 173.35 156.52 152.39 148.25 144.12 139.98 135.84 131.71 127.57 123.44
3700 3800 187.22 183.09 165.60 161.46 157.33 153.19 149.06 144.92 140.78 136.65 132.51
3800 3900 197.73 193.59 174.76 170.63 166.49 162.36 158.22 154.08 149.95 145.81 141.68
3900 4000 208.23 204.10 185.27 181.13 177.00 172.86 168.72 164.59 160.45 156.32 152.18
4000 4100 218.74 214.60 195.77 191.64 187.50 183.37 179.23 175.09 170.96 166.82 162.69

4100 and over
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UNMARRIED HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD----BIWEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $560

560 580  3.99

580 600 4.27 0.13

600 620 4.54 0.40

620 640 4.82 0.68

640 660 5.09 0.95

660 680 5.37 1.23

680 700 5.64 1.50

700 720 5.92 1.78

720 740 6.19 2.05

740 760 6.47 2.33

760 780 6.74 2.60

780 800 7.02 2.88

800 820 7.29 3.15

820 840 7.63 3.50

840 860 8.13 3.99

860 880  8.62 4.49 0.35

880 900 9.12 4.98 0.85

900 920 9.61 5.48 1.34

920 940 10.11 5.97 1.84

940 960 10.60 6.47 2.33

960 980 11.10 6.96 2.83

980 1000 11.59 7.46 3.32
1000 1040 12.34 8.20 4.06
1040 1080 13.33 9.19 5.05 0.92
1080 1120 14.32 10.18 6.04 1.91
1120 1160  15.31 1117 7.03 2.90
1160 1200 16.30 12.16 8.02 3.89
1200 1250 17.41 13.27 9.14 5.00 0.87
1250 1300 18.65 14.51 10.38 6.24 2.10
1300 1350 19.89 15.75 11.61 7.48 3.34
1350 1400 21.12 16.99 12.85 8.72 4.58 0.44
1400 1450 22.36 18.22 14.09 9.95 5.82 1.68
1450 1500 23.60 19.46 15.33 11.19 7.05 2,92
1500 1550 24.84 20.70 16.56 12.43 8.29 4.16 0.02
1550 1600 26.23 22.10 17.96 13.82 9.69 5.55 1.42
1600 1650 28.57 24.43 20.30 16.16 12.03 7.89 3.75
1650 1700 30.91 26.77 22.64 18.50 14.36 10.23 6.09 1.96
1700 1750 33.24 29.11 24.97 20.84 16.70 12.56 8.43 4.29 0.16
1750 1800 35.58 31.45 27.31 23.17 19.04 14.90 10.77 6.63 2.49
1800 1850 37.92 33.78 29.65 25.51 21.38 17.24 13.10 8.97 4.83 0.70
1850 1950 41.43 37.29 33.15 29.02 24.88 20.75 16.61 12.47 8.34 4.20 0.07
1950 2050 47.43 43.29 39.15 35.02 30.88 26.75 22.61 18.47 14.34 10.20 6.07
2050 2150 54.30 50.17 46.03 41.89 37.76 33.62 29.49 25.35 21.21 17.08 12.94
2150 2250 61.18 57.04 52.90 48.77 44.63 40.50 36.36 32.22 28.09 23.95 19.82
2250 2350 68.05 63.92 59.78 55.64 51.51 47.37 43.24 39.10 34.96 30.83 26.69
2350 2450 76.39 72.25 68.12 63.98 59.85 55.71 51.57 47.44 43.30 39.17 31.84
2450 2550 85.46 81.33 77.19 73.06 68.92 64.78 60.65 56.51 52.38 48.24 44.10
2550 2650 94.54 90.40 86.27 82.13 78.00 73.86 69.72 65.59 61.45 57.32 53.18
2650 2750 103.61 99.48 95.34 91.21 87.07 82.93 78.80 74.66 70.53 66.39 62.25
2750 2850 114.04 109.90 105.76 101.63 97.49 93.36 89.22 85.08 80.95 76.81 72.68

2850 and over
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SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS----SEMI-MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED |S...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST  THAN OR MORE
_.THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $300

300 320 218

320 340 245

340 360 273

360 380  3.00

380 400 3.28

400 420 355

420 440 383

440 460  4.16

460 480 465

480 500  5.15 0.66

500 540  5.89 1.40

540 580  6.88 2.39

580 620 7.87 3.38

620 660  8.86 4.37

660 700  9.85 5.36 0.87

700 740 1084  6.35 1.86

740 780 11.83  7.34 2.85

780 820 1282 833 3.84

820 860  13.81 9.32 4.83 0.35

860 900 1550  11.01 6.52 2.03

900 940 1737 1288 839 3.90

940 980 1924 1475 1026 577 1.28

980 1020 2111 1662 1213 764 3.15
1020 1060 2298 1849 1400 951 5.02
1060 1100 2485 2036 1587 1138  6.89 2.41
1100 1140 2672 2223 1774 1325 876 4.28
1140 1180 2859 2410 1961 1512 1063  6.15 1.66
1180 1220 3046 2597 2148 1699 1250 802 3.53
1220 1260 3233  27.84 2335 1886 1437  9.89 5.40 0.91
1260 1300 3480  30.31 2582 2134 1685 1236  7.87 3.38
1300 1340 3755 3306 2857 2409 1960 1511 1062  6.13 1.65
1340 1380 4030 3581 3132 2684 2235  17.86 1337 888 4.40
1380 1420 4305 3856 3407 2959 2510 2061 1612 1163 7.5 2.66
1420 1460 4580 4131 3682 3234 2785 2336 1887 1438  9.90 5.41
1460 1500 4855  44.06 3957 3509 3060 2611 2162 1743 1265 816 3.67
1500 1540 5130 4681 4232 3784 3335 2886 2437 1988 1540  10.91 6.42
1540 1580 54.05 4956 4507 4059 3610 3161 2742 2263 1815 1366  9.17
1580 1620 56.80 5231  47.82 4334 3885 3436 2987 2538 2090 1641  11.92
1620 1660 59.55 5506 5057 4609 4160 3711 3262 2813 2365 1916  14.67
1660 1700 6231  57.82 5334 4885 4436 3087 3538 3090 2641  21.92  17.43
1700 1750 6640  61.91  57.42 5293 4844 4396 3947 3498 3049 2600 2152
1750 1800 7093 6645 6196  57.47 5298 4849 4401 3952 3503 3054  26.05
1800 1850 7547  70.98 6650 6201 5752 5303 4854 4406 3957 3508  30.59
1850 1900 80.01 7552 7103 6654 6206 5757 5308 4859 4410 3962 3513
1900 1950 8455  80.06 7557  71.08 6659 6211  57.62 5313 4864 4415  39.67
1950 2000 89.08 8460 8011 7562 7113 6664 6216 5767 5318 4869  44.20
2000 2100 9580 9140 8691 8243  77.94 7345 6896 6447 5999 5550  51.01
2100 2200 10593 10144 9696 9247 8798 8349 7900 7452 7003 6554  61.05
2200 2300 11644 11195 10746 10297 9849 9400 8951 8502 8053 7605 7156
2300 2400 12694 12245  117.97 11348 10899 10450  100.01 9553 9104 8655 8206

2400 and over
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MARRIED PERSONS----SEMI-MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $300
300 320 218
320 340 245
340 360 273
360 380 3.00
380 400 3.28
400 420 3.55
420 440  3.83
440 460 4.10
460 480 4.38
480 500 4.65 0.17
500 520 4.93 0.44
520 540 5.20 0.72
540 560 5.48 0.99
560 580 5.75 1.27
580 600 6.03 1.54
600 620  6.30 1.82
620 640  6.58 2.09
640 660 6.85 2.37
660 680 7.13 2.64
680 700 7.40 2.92
700 720 7.68 3.19
720 740 7.95 3.47
740 760  8.35 3.87
760 780 8.85 4.36
780 800 9.34 4.86
800 820 9.84 5.35
820 840 10.33 5.85
840 860 10.83 6.34
860 880 11.32 6.84
880 900 11.82 7.33
900 920 12.31 7.83
920 940 12.81 8.32
940 960 13.30 8.82 0.58
960 980 13.80 9.31 1.07
980 1000 14.29 9.81 1.57
1000 1040 15.04 10.55 2.31

1040 1080 16.03 11.54 3.30
1080 1120 17.02 12.53 4.29

1120 1160 18.01 13.52 5.28 0.79

1160 1200  19.00 14.51 6.27 1.78

1200 1240 19.99 15.50 7.26 2.77

1240 1280 20.98 16.49 8.25 3.76

1280 1320 21.97 17.48 9.24 4.75

1320 1360 22.96 18.47 10.23 5.74 1.25

1360 1400 23.95 19.46 11.22 6.73 2.24

1400 1440 24.94 20.45 12.21 7.72 3.23

1440 1480 25.93 21.44 13.20 8.71 4.22

1480 1520 26.92 22.43 14.19 9.70 5.21 0.73
1520 1560 27.91 23.42 15.18 10.69 6.20 1.72
1560 1600 29.66 25.17 16.17 11.68 7.19 2.7

--- CONTINUED NEXT PAGE ---
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MARRIED PERSONS----SEMI-MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...

1600 1640 31.53 27.04 17.16 12.67 8.18 3.70
1640 1680 33.40 28.91 18.15 13.66 9.17 4.69
1680 1720 35.27 30.78 19.21 14.72 10.23 5.75 1.26
1720 1760 37.14 32.65 21.08 16.59 12.10 7.62 3.13
1760 1800  39.01 34.52 22.95 18.46 13.97 9.49 5.00
1800 1840 40.88 36.39 24.82 20.33 15.84 11.36 6.87 2.38
1840 1880 42.75 38.26 26.69 22.20 17.71 13.23 8.74 4.25
1880 1920 44.62 40.13 28.56 24.07 19.58 15.10 10.61 6.12 1.63
1920 1960 46.49 42.00 30.43 25.94 21.45 16.97 12.48 7.99 3.50
1960 2000 48.36 43.87 32.30 27.81 23.32 18.84 14.35 9.86 5.37
2000 2040 50.23 45.74 34.17 29.68 25.19 20.71 16.22 11.73 7.24 2.75
2040 2080 52.10 47.61 36.04 31.55 27.06 22.58 18.09 13.60 9.1 4.62
2080 2120 53.97 49.48 37.91 33.42 28.93 24.45 19.96 15.47 10.98 6.49 2.01
2120 2160 55.84 51.35 39.78 35.29 30.80 26.32 21.83 17.34 12.85 8.36 3.88
2160 2200 57.71 53.22 41.65 37.16 32.67 28.19 23.70 19.21 14.72 10.23 5.75
2200 2250 59.81 55.33 43.75 39.27 34.78 30.29 25.80 21.31 16.83 12.34 7.85
2250 2300 62.15 57.66 46.09 41.60 37.12 32.63 28.14 23.65 19.16 14.68 10.19
2300 2350 64.49 60.00 48.43 43.94 39.45 34.97 30.48 25.99 21.50 17.01 12.53
2350 2400 67.30 62.81 50.77 46.28 41.79 37.30 32.81 28.33 23.84 19.35 14.86
2400 2450 70.74 66.25 53.10 48.62 44.13 39.64 35.15 30.66 26.18 21.69 17.20
2450 2500 74.17 69.69 55.44 50.95 46.47 41.98 37.49 33.00 28.51 24.03 19.54
2500 2550 77.61 73.12 58.22 53.73 49.24 44.75 40.27 35.78 31.29 26.80 22.31
2550 2600 81.05 76.56 61.66 57.17 52.68 48.19 43.70 39.22 34.73 30.24 25.75
2600 2650 84.49 80.00 65.09 60.60 56.12 51.63 47.14 42.65 38.16 33.68 29.19
2650 2700 87.92 83.44 68.53 64.04 59.55 55.07 50.58 46.09 41.60 37.11 32.63
2700 2750 91.36 86.87 71.97 67.48 62.99 58.50 54.02 49.53 45.04 40.55 36.06
2750 2800 94.80 90.31 75.41 70.92 66.43 61.94 57.45 52.97 48.48 43.99 39.50
2800 2850 98.24 93.75 78.84 74.35 69.87 65.38 60.89 56.40 51.91 47.43 42.94
2850 2900 101.67 97.19 82.28 77.79 73.30 68.82 64.33 59.84 55.35 50.86 46.38
2900 2950 105.11 100.62 85.72 81.23 76.74 72.25 67.77 63.28 58.79 54.30 49.81
2950 3000 108.55 104.06 89.16 84.67 80.18 75.69 71.20 66.72 62.23 57.74 53.25
3000 3100 113.71 109.22 94.31 89.82 85.34 80.85 76.36 71.87 67.38 62.90 58.41
3100 3200 120.58 116.09 101.19 96.70 92.21 87.72 83.23 78.75 74.26 69.77 65.28
3200 3300 128.40 123.91 108.06 103.57 99.09 94.60 90.11 85.62 81.13 76.65 72.16
3300 3400 137.47 132.98 114.94 110.45 105.96 101.47 96.98 92.50 88.01 83.52 79.03
3400 3500 146.55 142.06 123.82 119.33 114.84 110.35 105.86 101.38 96.89 92.40 87.91
3500 3600 155.62 151.13 132.89 128.40 123.92 119.43 114.94 110.45 105.96 101.48 96.99
3600 3700 164.70 160.21 141.97 137.48 132.99 128.50 124.01 119.53 115.04 110.55 106.06
3700 3800 173.77 169.28 151.04 146.55 142.07 137.58 133.09 128.60 124.11 119.63 115.14
3800 3900 182.85 178.36 160.12 155.63 151.14 146.65 142.16 137.68 133.19 128.70 124.21
3900 4000 191.92 187.43 169.19 164.70 160.22 155.73 151.24 146.75 142.26 137.78 133.29
4000 4100 201.52 197.03 178.27 173.78 169.29 164.80 160.31 155.83 151.34 146.85 142.36
4100 4200 212.03 207.54 187.34 182.85 178.37 173.88 169.39 164.90 160.41 155.93 151.44
4200 4300 222.53 218.04 197.64 193.15 188.66 184.17 179.68 175.20 170.71 166.22 161.73
4300 4400 233.04 228.55 208.14 203.65 199.17 194.68 190.19 185.70 181.21 176.73 172.24

4400 and over
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UNMARRIED HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD----SEMI-MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $600

600 620 4.22

620 640 4.50

640 660 4.77 0.28

660 680 5.05 0.56

680 700 5.32 0.83

700 720 5.60 1.1

720 740 587 1.38

740 760 6.15 1.66

760 780 6.42 1.93

780 800 6.70 2.21

800 820 6.97 2.48

820 840 7.25 2.76

840 860  7.52 3.03

860 880 7.80 3.31

880 900 8.07 3.58

900 940 8.79 4.30

940 980 9.78 5.29 0.80

980 1020 10.77 6.28 1.79
1020 1060 11.76 7.27 2.78
1060 1100 12.75 8.26 3.77
1100 1140 13.74 9.25 4.76
1140 1180 14.73 10.24 5.75 1.26
1180 1220 15.72 11.23 6.74 2.25
1220 1260 16.71 12.22 7.73 3.24
1260 1300 17.70 13.21 8.72 4.23
1300 1350 18.81 14.32 9.83 5.35 0.86
1350 1400 20.05 15.56 11.07 6.58 2.10
1400 1450 21.29 16.80 12.31 7.82 3.33
1450 1500 22.52 18.04 13.55 9.06 4.57
1500 1550 23.76 19.27 14.78 10.30 5.81 1.32
1550 1600 25.00 20.51 16.02 11.53 7.05 2.56
1600 1650 26.24 21.75 17.26 12.77 8.28 3.80
1650 1700 27.47 22.99 18.50 14.01 9.52 5.03 0.55
1700 1750  29.31 24.82 20.33 15.84 11.36 6.87 2.38
1750 1800 31.65 27.16 22.67 18.18 13.69 9.21 4.72
1800 1900 35.15 30.66 26.18 21.69 17.20 12.71 8.22 3.74
1900 2000 39.83 35.34 30.85 26.36 21.88 17.39 12.90 8.41 3.92
2000 2100 44.50 40.01 35.53 31.04 26.55 22.06 17.57 13.09 8.60 4.11
2100 2200 50.26 45.77 41.28 36.79 32.30 27.82 23.33 18.84 14.35 9.86 5.38
2200 2300 57.13 52.64 48.16 43.67 39.18 34.69 30.20 25.72 21.23 16.74 12.25
2300 2400 64.01 59.52 55.03 50.54 46.05 41.57 37.08 32.59 28.10 23.61 19.13
2400 2500 70.88 66.39 61.91 57.42 52.93 48.44 43.95 39.47 34.98 30.49 26.00
2500 2600 78.22 73.73 69.24 64.75 60.26 55.78 51.29 46.80 42.31 37.82 33.34
2600 2700 87.29 82.80 78.32 73.83 69.34 64.85 60.36 55.88 51.39 46.90 42.41
2700 2800 96.37 91.88 87.39 82.90 78.41 73.93 69.44 64.95 60.46 55.97 51.49
2800 2900 105.44 100.95 96.47 91.98 87.49 83.00 78.51 74.03 69.54 65.05 60.56
2900 3000 114.78 110.29 105.80 101.31 96.82 92.34 87.85 83.36 78.87 74.38 69.90
3000 3100 125.28 120.79 116.30 111.82 107.33 102.84 98.35 93.86 89.38 84.89 80.40
3100 3200 135.79 131.30 126.81 122.32 117.83 113.35 108.86 104.37 99.88 95.39 90.91
3200 3300 146.29 141.80 137.31 132.83 128.34 123.85 119.36 114.87 110.39 105.90 101.41

3300 and over
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SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED

OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS----MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST  THAN OR MORE
__THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $600
600 640  4.36
640 680  4.91
680 720 546
720 760  6.01
760 800 6.56
800 840 7.1
840 880 7.66
880 920 831
920 960 9.30
960 1000  10.29 1.31
1000 1050  11.40 2.42
1050 1100  12.64 3.66
1100 1150  13.87 4.90
1150 1200  15.11 6.14
1200 1250  16.35 7.37
1250 1300  17.59 8.61
1300 1350  18.82 9.85 0.87
1350 1400 20.06  11.09 2.11
1400 1450 2130  12.32 3.35
1450 1500 2254  13.56 4.59
1500 1600 2439 1542 6.44
1600 1700 26.87  17.89 8.92
1700 1800 30.51 2154 1256 3.59
1800 1900 3519  26.21 17.24 8.26
1900 2000 39.86  30.89  21.91 12.94 3.96
2000 2100 4454 3556 2659  17.61 8.63
2100 2200 4921 4024 3126 2229  13.31 4.33
2200 2300 53.89 4491 3594 2696  17.98 9.01
2300 2400 5856 4959 4061 3164 2266  13.68 471
2400 2500 63.24 5426 4529 3631  27.33 1836 9.38
2500 2600 68.90  59.93  50.95 4197  33.00 2402  15.05 6.07
2600 2700 7578  66.80  57.82 4885  39.87 3090 2192  12.94 3.97
2700 2800 8265 7368 6470 5572 4675  37.77 2880  19.82  10.84
2800 2900 89.53  80.55 7157 6260 5362 4465 3567 2669  17.72 8.74
2900 3000 9640  87.43 7845 6947 6050 5152 4255 3357 2459 1562 6.64
3000 3100 10328 9430 8532 7635  67.37 5840 4942 4044 3147 2249 1352
3100 3200 11015  101.18 9220 8322 7425 6527 5630  47.32 3834 2937  20.39
3200 3300 117.03  108.05  99.07  90.10 8112 7215 6317 5419 4522 3624  27.27
3300 3400 12390 11493 10595 9697 8800  79.02  70.05 6107 5209 4312  34.14
3400 3500 13278 12381 11483 10585  96.88  87.90 7893 6995  60.97 5200  43.02
3500 3600 141.86  132.88  123.90 11493 10595 9698  88.00  79.02  70.05 6107  52.10
3600 3700 15093  141.96 13298 12400 11503 106.05  97.08 8810  79.12 7015  61.17
3700 3800 160.01  151.03 14205 133.08 12410 11513 10615 9717 8820 7922  70.25
3800 3900 169.08  160.11 15113 14215 13318 12420 11523 10625  97.27  88.30  79.32
3900 4000 178.16  169.18  160.20 15123 14225 13328 12430 11532 10635  97.37  88.40
4000 4200 191.77 18279 17382 164.84 15587 14689  137.91 12894  119.96  110.99  102.01
4200 4400 21185 202.88 193.90 18493 17595  166.97  158.00  149.02  140.05  131.07  122.09
4400 4600 232.86 223.89 21491 20594 19696  187.98  179.01  170.03  161.06  152.08  143.10
4600 4800 253.87 24490 23592 22695 217.97 20899  200.02  191.04 18207  173.09  164.11
4800 5000 274.88 26591  256.93 247.96 23898 230.00 221.03 21205 203.08 19410  185.12

5000 and over

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET)
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MARRIED PERSONS----MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $600
600 640 4.36
640 680  4.91
680 720 546
720 760  6.01
760 800 6.56
800 840 7.1
840 880 7.66
880 920 8.21
920 960 8.76
960 1000 9.31 0.33
1000 1040 9.86 0.88
1040 1080 10.41 1.43

1080 1120 10.96 1.98
1120 1160  11.51 2.53
1160 1200 12.06 3.08

1200 1240 12.61 3.63
1240 1280 13.16 4.18

1280 1320 13.71 4.73
1320 1360 14.26 5.28
1360 1400 14.81 5.83
1400 1440 15.36 6.38
1440 1480 15.91 6.93
1480 1520 16.69 7.71
1520 1560 17.68 8.70
1560 1600 18.67 9.69

1600 1640 19.66 10.68
1640 1680 20.65 11.67

1680 1720 21.64 12.66
1720 1760 22.63 13.65
1760 1800 23.62 14.64
1800 1840 24.61 15.63
1840 1880 25.60 16.62
1880 1920 26.59 17.61 1.13

1920 1960 27.58 18.60 212
1960 2000 28.57 19.59 3.1

2000 2040 29.56 20.58 4.10
2040 2080 30.55 21.57 5.09
2080 2140 31.79 22.81 6.33
2140 2200 33.27 24.29 7.82
2200 2260 34.76 25.78 9.30

2260 2320 36.24 27.26 10.79 1.81
2320 2380 37.73 28.75 12.27 3.30
2380 2440  39.21 30.23 13.76 4.78
2440 2500 40.70 31.72 15.24 6.27
2500 2560 42.18 33.20 16.73 7.75

2560 2620 43.67 34.69 18.21 9.24

2620 2680 45.15 36.17 19.70 10.72 1.75
2680 2740 46.64 37.66 21.18 12.21 3.23
2740 2800 48.12 39.14 22.67 13.69 4.72
2800 2860 49.61 40.63 24.15 15.18 6.20

--- CONTINUED NEXT PAGE ---
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MARRIED PERSONS----MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
2860 2920 51.09 42.11 25.64 16.66 7.69
2920 2980 52.58 43.60 27.12 18.15 9.17
2980 3040 54.06 45.08 28.61 19.63 10.66 1.68
3040 3100 55.55 46.57 30.09 21.12 12.14 3.16
3100 3160 57.90 48.92 31.58 22.60 13.63 4.65
3160 3220 60.70 51.73 33.06 24.09 15.11 6.13
3220 3280 63.51 54.53 34.55 25.57 16.60 7.62
3280 3340 66.31 57.34 36.03 27.06 18.08 9.10
3340 3400 69.12 60.14 37.52 28.54 19.57 10.59 1.61
3400 3460 71.92 62.95 39.80 30.83 21.85 12.87 3.90
3460 3520 74.73 65.75 42.61 33.63 24.65 15.68 6.70
3520 3580 77.53 68.56 45.41 36.44 27.46 18.48 9.51
3580 3640 80.34 71.36 48.22 39.24 30.26 21.29 12.31 3.34
3640 3700 83.14 7417 51.02 42.05 33.07 24.09 15.12 6.14
3700 3800 86.88 77.91 54.76 45.79 36.81 27.83 18.86 9.88
3800 3900 91.56 82.58 59.44 50.46 41.48 32.51 23.53 14.56 5.58
3900 4000 96.23 87.26 64.11 55.14 46.16 37.18 28.21 19.23 10.26
4000 4100 100.91 91.93 68.79 59.81 50.83 41.86 32.88 23.91 14.93 5.95
4100 4200 105.58 96.61 73.46 64.49 55.51 46.53 37.56 28.58 19.61 10.63
4200 4300 110.26 101.28 78.14 69.16 60.18 51.21 42.23 33.26 24.28 15.30 6.33
4300 4400 114.93 105.96 82.81 73.84 64.86 55.88 46.91 37.93 28.96 19.98 11.00
4400 4500 119.61 110.63 87.49 78.51 69.53 60.56 51.58 42.61 33.63 24.65 15.68
4500 4600 124.28 115.31 92.16 83.19 74.21 65.23 56.26 47.28 38.31 29.33 20.35
4600 4700 128.96 119.98 96.84 87.86 78.88 69.91 60.93 51.96 42.98 34.00 25.03
4700 4800 134.58 125.60 101.51 92.54 83.56 74.58 65.61 56.63 47.66 38.68 29.70
4800 4900 141.45 132.48 106.19 97.21 88.23 79.26 70.28 61.31 52.33 43.35 34.38
4900 5000 148.33 139.35 110.86 101.89 92.91 83.93 74.96 65.98 57.01 48.03 39.05
5000 5100 155.20 146.23 116.41 107.44 98.46 89.49 80.51 71.53 62.56 53.58 44.61
5100 5200 162.08 153.10 123.29 114.31 105.34 96.36 87.38 78.41 69.43 60.46 51.48
5200 5300 168.95 159.98 130.16 121.19 112.21 103.24 94.26 85.28 76.31 67.33 58.36
5300 5400 175.83 166.85 137.04 128.06 119.09 110.11 101.13 92.16 83.18 74.21 65.23
5400 5500 182.70 173.73 143.91 134.94 125.96 116.99 108.01 99.03 90.06 81.08 72.11
5500 5600 189.58 180.60 150.79 141.81 132.84 123.86 114.88 105.91 96.93 87.96 78.98
5600 5700 196.45 187.48 157.66 148.69 139.71 130.74 121.76 112.78 103.81 94.83 85.86
5700 5800 203.33 194.35 164.54 155.56 146.59 137.61 128.63 119.66 110.68 101.71 92.73
5800 5900 210.20 201.23 171.41 162.44 153.46 144.49 135.51 126.53 117.56 108.58 99.61
5900 6000 217.08 208.10 178.29 169.31 160.34 151.36 142.38 133.41 124.43 115.46 106.48
6000 6200 227.39 218.41 188.60 179.62 170.65 161.67 152.70 143.72 134.74 125.77 116.79
6200 6400 241.14 232.16 202.35 193.37 184.40 175.42 166.45 157.47 148.49 139.52 130.54
6400 6600 256.77 247.79 216.10 207.12 198.15 189.17 180.20 171.22 162.24 1563.27 144.29
6600 6800 274.92 265.94 229.85 220.87 211.90 202.92 193.95 184.97 175.99 167.02 158.04
6800 7000 293.07 284.09 247.61 238.64 229.66 220.68 211.71 202.73 193.76 184.78 175.80
7000 7200 311.22 302.24 265.76 256.79 247.81 238.83 229.86 220.88 211.91 202.93 193.95
7200 7400 329.37 320.39 283.91 274.94 265.96 256.98 248.01 239.03 230.06 221.08 212.10
7400 7600 347.52 338.54 302.06 293.09 284.11 275.13 266.16 257.18 248.21 239.23 230.25
7600 7800 365.67 356.69 320.21 311.24 302.26 293.28 284.31 275.33 266.36 257.38 248.40
7800 8000 383.82 374.84 338.36 329.39 320.41 311.43 302.46 293.48 284.51 275.53 266.55
8000 8200 403.02 394.05 356.51 347.54 338.56 329.58 320.61 311.63 302.66 293.68 284.70
8200 8400 424.03 415.06 374.66 365.69 356.71 347.73 338.76 329.78 320.81 311.83 302.85
8400 8600 445.04 436.07 395.25 386.28 377.30 368.32 359.35 350.37 341.40 332.42 323.44

8600 and over

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET)

(Table Amount PLUS 10.505 Percent of the Amount Over 8500)
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UNMARRIED HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD----MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 1400
1400 1450 11.26 2.28
1450 1500 11.95 2.97
1500 1550 12.63 3.66
1550 1600 13.32 4.35
1600 1650 14.01 5.03
1650 1700 14.70 5.72
1700 1750 15.38 6.41
1750 1800 16.07 7.10
1800 1850 17.21 8.24
1850 1900 18.45 9.48
1900 1950 19.69 10.71 1.74
1950 2000 20.93 11.95 297
2000 2050 22.16 13.19 4.21
2050 2100 23.40 14.43 5.45
2100 2150 24.64 15.66 6.69
2150 2200 25.88 16.90 7.92
2200 2250 27.1 18.14 9.16
2250 2300 28.35 19.38 10.40 1.42
2300 2350 29.59 20.61 11.64 2.66
2350 2400 30.83 21.85 12.87 3.90
2400 2450 32.06 23.09 14.11 5.14
2450 2500 33.30 24.33 15.35 6.37
2500 2600 35.16 26.18 17.21 8.23
2600 2700 37.63 28.66 19.68 10.70 1.73
2700 2800 40.11 31.13 22.16 13.18 4.20
2800 2900 42.58 33.61 24.63 15.65 6.68
2900 3000 45.06 36.08 27.11 18.13 9.15
3000 3100 47.53 38.56 29.58 20.60 11.63 2.65
3100 3200 50.01 41.03 32.06 23.08 14.10 5.13
3200 3300 52.48 43.51 34.53 25.55 16.58 7.60
3300 3400 54.96 45.98 37.01 28.03 19.05 10.08
3400 3500 58.62 49.64 40.67 31.69 22.71 13.74 4.76
3500 3600 63.29 54.32 45.34 36.36 27.39 18.41 9.44
3600 3700 67.97 58.99 50.02 41.04 32.06 23.09 14.11 5.14
3700 3800 72.64 63.67 54.69 45.71 36.74 27.76 18.79 9.81
3800 3900 77.32 68.34 59.37 50.39 41.41 32.44 23.46 14.49 5.51
3900 4000 81.99 73.02 64.04 55.06 46.09 37.11 28.14 19.16 10.18
4000 4100 86.67 77.69 68.72 59.74 50.76 41.79 32.81 23.84 14.86 5.88
4100 4200 91.34 82.37 73.39 64.41 55.44 46.46 37.49 28.51 19.53 10.56
4200 4300 97.08 88.10 79.12 70.15 61.17 52.20 43.22 34.24 25.27 16.29 7.32
4300 4500 107.39 98.41 89.44 80.46 71.48 62.51 53.53 44.56 35.58 26.60 17.63
4500 4700 121.14 112.16 103.19 94.21 85.23 76.26 67.28 58.31 49.33 40.35 31.38
4700 4900 134.89 125.91 116.94 107.96 98.98 90.01 81.03 72.06 63.08 54.10 45.13
4900 5100 148.64 139.66 130.69 121.71 112.73 103.76 94.78 85.81 76.83 67.85 58.88
5100 5300 165.51 156.53 147.56 138.58 129.60 120.63 111.65 102.68 93.70 84.72 75.75
5300 5500 183.66 174.68 165.71 156.73 147.75 138.78 129.80 120.83 111.85 102.87 93.90
5500 5700 201.81 192.83 183.86 174.88 165.90 156.93 147.95 138.98 130.00 121.02 112.05
5700 5900 219.96 210.98 202.01 193.03 184.05 175.08 166.10 157.13 148.15 139.17 130.20
5900 6100 240.06 231.08 222.10 213.13 204.15 195.18 186.20 177.22 168.25 169.27 150.30
6100 6300 261.07 252.09 243.11 234.14 225.16 216.19 207.21 198.23 189.26 180.28 171.31

6300 and over

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET)
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SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED

OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS----DAILY / MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...

$1 $28

28 30 0.21

30 32 023

32 34 0.26

34 36 0.29

36 38 0.32

38 40 0.34

40 42 037

42 44 042

44 46 047 0.06

46 48  0.52 0.10

48 50 0.57 0.15

50 54 0.65 0.23

54 58 0.75 0.33

58 62 0.84 0.43

62 66  0.94 0.53 0.11

66 70 1.04 0.62 0.21

70 74 114 0.72 0.31

74 78 1.24 0.82 0.40

78 82 1.38 0.96 0.54 0.13

82 86  1.57 1.15 0.73 0.31

86 90 1.75 1.34 0.92 0.50 0.08

90 94 1.94 1.52 1.1 0.69 0.27

94 98 213 1.71 1.29 0.87 0.46

98 102 232 1.90 1.48 1.06 0.64 0.23
102 106  2.50 2.08 1.67 1.25 0.83 0.41
106 110  2.69 2.27 1.85 1.44 1.02 0.60 0.18
110 114 288 2.46 2.04 1.62 1.20 0.79 0.37
114 118  3.07 2.65 2.23 1.82 1.40 0.98 0.56 0.14
118 122 3.34 2.93 2.51 2.09 1.67 1.25 0.84 0.42
122 126 3.62 3.20 2.78 2.37 1.95 1.53 1.1 0.69 0.28
126 130 3.89 3.48 3.06 2.64 2.22 1.80 1.39 0.97 0.55 0.13
130 135 420 3.79 3.37 2.95 2.53 2.1 1.70 1.28 0.86 0.44
135 140 455 4.13 3.71 3.29 2.88 2.46 2.04 1.62 1.20 0.79 0.37
140 145  4.89 4.47 4.06 3.64 3.22 2.80 2.38 1.97 1.55 1.13 0.71
145 150 5.24 4.82 4.40 3.98 3.56 3.15 2.73 2.31 1.89 1.47 1.06
150 155  5.58 5.16 4.74 4.33 3.91 3.49 3.07 2.65 2.24 1.82 1.40
155 160  5.98 5.56 5.14 4.73 4.31 3.89 3.47 3.05 2.64 2.22 1.80
160 165 6.43 6.02 5.60 5.18 4.76 4.34 3.93 3.51 3.09 2.67 2.25
165 170  6.89 6.47 6.05 5.63 5.22 4.80 4.38 3.96 3.54 3.13 2.7
170 175  7.34 6.92 6.51 6.09 5.67 5.25 4.83 4.42 4.00 3.58 3.16
175 180 7.80 7.38 6.96 6.54 6.12 5.71 5.29 4.87 4.45 4.03 3.62
180 185 8.25 7.83 7.41 7.00 6.58 6.16 5.74 5.32 4.91 4.49 4.07
185 190 8.70 8.29 7.87 7.45 7.03 6.61 6.20 5.78 5.36 4.94 4.52
190 200 942 9.01 8.59 8.17 7.75 7.33 6.92 6.50 6.08 5.66 5.24
200 210 10.47 10.06 9.64 9.22 8.80 8.38 7.97 7.55 7.13 6.71 6.29

210 and over
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MARRIED PERSONS----DAILY / MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $32
32 34 0.26
34 36 0.29
36 38 0.32
38 40 0.34
40 42 037
42 44 040
44 46 043 0.01
46 48 045 0.04
48 50 048 0.06
50 52 0.51 0.09
52 54 054 0.12
54 56 0.56 0.15
56 58 0.59 0.17
58 60 0.62 0.20
60 62 0.65 0.23
62 64  0.67 0.26
64 66  0.70 0.28
66 68 0.73 0.31
68 70 0.77 0.35
70 72 0.82 0.40
72 74 0.87 0.45
74 76  0.92 0.50
76 78 097 0.55
78 80 1.02 0.60
80 82 1.07 0.65
82 84 112 0.70
84 86  1.17 0.75
86 88 1.22 0.80 0.04
88 90 1.27 0.85 0.09
90 92 132 0.90 0.14
92 94 137 0.95 0.18
94 96  1.42 1.00 0.23
96 98  1.47 1.05 0.28
98 100 1.52 1.10 0.33
100 102 1.56 1.15 0.38
102 104  1.61 1.20 0.43
104 106 1.66 1.25 0.48 0.06
106 108 1.71 1.30 0.53 0.11
108 110 1.76 1.34 0.58 0.16
110 112 1.81 1.39 0.63 0.21
112 114  1.86 1.44 0.68 0.26
114 118  1.94 1.52 0.75 0.34
118 122 2.04 1.62 0.85 0.43
122 126 213 1.72 0.95 0.53 0.12
126 130 2.23 1.82 1.05 0.63 0.21
130 134 233 1.91 1.15 0.73 0.31
134 138 243 2.01 1.25 0.83 0.41
138 142 253 2.1 1.35 0.93 0.51 0.09
142 146 2.62 2.20 1.45 1.03 0.61 0.19
146 150  2.81 2.39 1.55 1.13 0.71 0.29

--- CONTINUED NEXT PAGE ---
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MARRIED PERSONS----DAILY / MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...

150 154  3.00 2.58 1.64 1.23 0.81 0.39
154 158  3.18 2.76 1.74 1.33 0.91 0.49 0.07
158 162  3.37 2.95 1.88 1.46 1.04 0.63 0.21
162 166  3.56 3.14 2.07 1.65 1.23 0.81 0.39
166 170  3.74 3.33 2.25 1.84 1.42 1.00 0.58 0.16
170 174 3.93 3.51 244 2.02 1.60 1.19 0.77 0.35
174 178  4.12 3.70 2.63 2.21 1.79 1.37 0.96 0.54 0.12
178 182  4.30 3.89 2.81 240 1.98 1.56 1.14 0.72 0.31
182 186  4.49 4.07 3.00 2.58 217 1.75 1.33 0.91 0.49
186 190 4.68 4.26 3.19 277 2.35 1.93 1.52 1.10 0.68 0.26
190 195 4.89 4.47 3.40 2.98 2.56 2.14 1.73 1.31 0.89 0.47
195 200 5.12 4.70 3.63 3.21 2.80 2.38 1.96 1.54 1.12 0.71 0.29
200 205 5.36 4.94 3.87 3.45 3.03 2.61 2.19 1.78 1.36 0.94 0.52
205 210 5.59 5.17 4.10 3.68 3.26 2.85 2.43 2.01 1.59 1.17 0.76
210 215 582 5.41 4.33 3.92 3.50 3.08 2.66 2.24 1.83 1.41 0.99
215 220 6.7 5.76 4.57 4.15 3.73 3.31 2.90 2.48 2.06 1.64 1.22
220 225 6.52 6.10 4.80 4.38 3.97 3.55 3.13 2.71 2.29 1.88 1.46
225 230 6.86 6.44 5.03 4.62 4.20 3.78 3.36 2.94 2.53 2.1 1.69
230 235 720 6.79 5.41 4.99 4.57 4.15 3.73 3.32 2.90 2.48 2.06
235 240 755 7.13 5.75 5.33 4.91 4.50 4.08 3.66 3.24 2.82 2.41
240 245  7.89 7.47 6.09 5.68 5.26 4.84 4.42 4.00 3.59 3.17 2.75
245 250 8.24 7.82 6.44 6.02 5.60 5.18 4.77 4.35 3.93 3.51 3.09
250 255  8.58 8.16 6.78 6.36 5.95 5.53 5.11 4.69 4.27 3.86 3.44
255 260 8.92 8.51 7.13 6.71 6.29 5.87 5.45 5.04 4.62 4.20 3.78
260 265 9.27 8.85 7.47 7.05 6.63 6.22 5.80 5.38 4.96 4.54 4.13
265 270 9.61 9.19 7.81 7.39 6.98 6.56 6.14 5.72 5.30 4.89 4.47
270 280 10.13 9.71 8.33 7.91 7.49 7.07 6.66 6.24 5.82 5.40 4.98
280 290 10.81 10.40 9.02 8.60 8.18 7.76 7.34 6.93 6.51 6.09 5.67
290 300 11.50 11.08 9.70 9.29 8.87 8.45 8.03 7.61 7.20 6.78 6.36
300 310 12.32 11.91 10.39 9.97 9.55 9.14 8.72 8.30 7.88 7.46 7.05
310 320 13.23 12.81 11.13 10.71 10.29 9.87 9.45 9.04 8.62 8.20 7.78
320 330 14.14 13.72 12.03 11.62 11.20 10.78 10.36 9.94 9.53 9.1 8.69
330 340 15.05 14.63 12.94 12.52 12.10 11.69 11.27 10.85 10.43 10.01 9.60
340 350 15.95 15.54 13.85 13.43 13.01 12.59 12.18 11.76 11.34 10.92 10.50
350 360 16.86 16.44 14.76 14.34 13.92 13.50 13.08 12.67 12.25 11.83 11.41
360 370 17.77 17.35 15.66 15.25 14.83 14.41 13.99 13.57 13.16 12.74 12.32
370 380 18.64 18.22 16.57 16.15 15.73 15.32 14.90 14.48 14.06 13.64 13.23
380 390 19.69 19.27 17.38 16.96 16.55 16.13 15.71 15.29 14.87 14.46 14.04
390 400 20.74 20.32 18.43 18.01 17.60 17.18 16.76 16.34 15.92 15.51 15.09
400 410 21.79 21.37 19.48 19.07 18.65 18.23 17.81 17.39 16.98 16.56 16.14

410 and over
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UNMARRIED HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD----DAILY / MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2010

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...
BUT
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
LEAST THAN OR MORE
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE...
$1 $56
56 58 0.40
58 60 0.43
60 62 0.45 0.04
62 64 0.48 0.06
64 66  0.51 0.09
66 68 0.54 0.12
68 70  0.56 0.15
70 72 0.59 0.17
72 74 0.62 0.20
74 76  0.65 0.23
76 78 0.67 0.26
78 80 0.70 0.28
80 82 0.73 0.31
82 84 0.77 0.36
84 86 0.82 0.40
86 88  0.87 0.45 0.04
88 90 0.92 0.50 0.09
90 92 0.97 0.55 0.14
92 94 1.02 0.60 0.18
94 96  1.07 0.65 0.23
96 100 1.14 0.73 0.31
100 104 1.24 0.83 0.41
104 108 1.34 0.92 0.51 0.09
108 112 144 1.02 0.61 0.19
112 116 1.54 1.12 0.70 0.29
116 120 1.64 1.22 0.80 0.39
120 126 175 1.33 0.91 0.50 0.08
125 130 1.87 1.46 1.04 0.62 0.20
130 135 2.00 1.58 1.16 0.74 0.33
135 140 212 1.70 1.29 0.87 0.45 0.03
140 145  2.25 1.83 1.41 0.99 0.57 0.16
145 150 2.37 1.95 1.53 1.12 0.70 0.28
150 155 249 2.08 1.66 1.24 0.82 0.40
155 160 2.63 2.21 1.80 1.38 0.96 0.54 0.12
160 165  2.87 2.45 2.03 1.61 1.19 0.78 0.36
165 170  3.10 2.68 2.26 1.84 1.43 1.01 0.59 0.17
170 175 3.33 2.91 2.50 2.08 1.66 1.24 0.82 0.41
175 180  3.57 3.15 2.73 2.31 1.89 1.48 1.06 0.64 0.22
180 185  3.80 3.38 2.96 2.55 2.13 1.71 1.29 0.87 0.46
185 190 4.03 3.62 3.20 2.78 2.36 1.94 1.53 1.1 0.69 0.27
190 200 440 3.99 3.57 3.15 2.73 2.31 1.90 1.48 1.06 0.64
200 210 5.09 4.67 4.26 3.84 3.42 3.00 2.58 217 1.75 1.33 0.91
210 220 578 5.36 4.94 4.53 4.1 3.69 3.27 2.85 244 2.02 1.60
220 230 647 6.05 5.63 5.21 4.79 4.38 3.96 3.54 3.12 2.70 2.29
230 240 720 6.78 6.37 5.95 5.53 5.11 4.69 4.28 3.86 3.44 3.02
240 250 8.1 7.69 7.27 6.85 6.44 6.02 5.60 5.18 4.76 4.35 3.93
250 260 9.02 8.60 8.18 7.76 7.34 6.93 6.51 6.09 5.67 5.25 4.84
260 270  9.92 9.51 9.09 8.67 8.25 7.83 7.42 7.00 6.58 6.16 5.74
270 280 10.89 10.48 10.06 9.64 9.22 8.80 8.39 7.97 7.55 7.13 6.71
280 290 11.94 11.53 1.1 10.69 10.27 9.85 9.44 9.02 8.60 8.18 7.76

290 and over
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CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2010

METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD

This method is based upon applying a given percentage to the wages (after deductions) which fall within a taxable
income class, adding to this product the accumulated tax for all lower tax brackets; and then subtracting a tax credit
based upon the number of allowances claimed on the Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate (Form W-4 or DE 4).

This method also takes into consideration the special treatment of additional allowances for estimated deductions.

The steps in computing the amount of tax to be withheld are as follows:

Step 1

Step 2

Step 3

Step 4

Step 5

Determine if the employee's gross wages are less than, or equal to, the amount shown in “TABLE 1 -
LOW INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE.” If so, no income tax is required to be withheld.

If the employee claims any additional withholding allowances for estimated deductions on a DE 4 form,
subtract the amount shown in “TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE” from the gross wages.

Subtract the standard deduction amount shown in “TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE” to
arrive at the employee's taxable income.

Use "TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE” for the payroll period and marital status to find the applicable line on
which the taxable income is located. Perform the indicated calculations to arrive at the computed tax
liability.

Subtract the tax credit shown in “TABLE 4 — EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE™ from the computed tax
liability to arrive at the amount of tax to be withheld.

* If the employee uses additional allowances claimed for estimated deductions, such allowances MUST NOT be used
in the determination of tax credits to be subtracted.

CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING

EXAMPLE A: Weekly earnings of $210.00, single, and claiming one withholding allowance on form W-4 or DE 4.
Step 1 Earnings for the weekly payroll period are LESS than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW INCOME
EXEMPTION TABLE" ($214.00); therefore, no income tax is to be withheld.
EXAMPLE B: Biweekly earnings of $1,250.00, married, and claiming three withholding allowances, one of which is for
estimated deductions.
Step 1 Earnings for the biweekly payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 — LOW
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($856.00); therefore, income tax should be withheld.
Step 2 Earnings for biweekly payroll period. $1,250.00
Subtract amount from "TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE". -38.00
Salaries and wages subject to withholding. $1,212.00
Step 3 Subtract amount from "TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE". -280.00
Taxable income. $932.00
Step 4 Tax computation from "TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE":
Entry covering $932.00 (over $544.00 but not over $1,288.00).
e 2.475% amount over $544.00 (.02475 x ($932.00 — 544.00)). $ 960
¢ Plus the marginal amount. +7.48
e Computed tax. 17.08
Step 5 Subtract amount from "TABLE 4 — EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE"
for two regular withholding allowances. -8.29
Net amount of tax to be withheld. $ 879
NOTE: Table 5 provides a method comparable to the federal alternative method for percentage calculation of

withholding. This method is a minor simplification of the exact calculation method described above in that
the tax rate applies to the total taxable income with the excess amount subtracted.
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CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2010

METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD (CONTINUED)

EXAMPLE C: Monthly earnings of $3,800.00, married, and claiming five withholding allowances on form W-4 or DE 4.

Step 1 Earnings for the monthly payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($1855.00); therefore, income tax should be withheld.
Earnings for monthly payroll period. $3,800.00
Step 2 Not applicable - no estimated deduction allowance claimed.
Step 3 Subtract amount from "TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE" . -606.00
Taxable income. $3,194.00
Step 4 Tax computation from "TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE":
e Entry covering $3,194.00 (over $2,788.00 but not over $4,404.00)
e 4.675% of amount over $2,788.00 (.04675 x ($3,194.00 - $2,788.00)) $ 18.98
e Plus marginal tax amount. +56.07
e Computed tax. $ 75.05
Step 5 Subtract amount from "TABLE 4 — EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE" for
5 regular withholding allowances. -44.92
Net amount of tax to be withheld. $ 30.13

EXAMPLE D: Weekly earnings of $800.00, unmarried head of household, three withholding allowances on form W-4 or DE 4.

Step 1 Earnings for the weekly payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($428.00); therefore, income tax should be withheld.
Earnings for weekly payroll period. $ 800.00
Step 2 Not applicable - no estimated deduction allowance claimed.
Step 3 Subtract amount from "TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE". -140.00
Taxable income. $ 660.00
Step 4 Tax computation from "TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE":
e Entry covering $660.00 (over $644.00 but not over $830.00).
e 4.675% of amount over $644.00 (.04675 x ($660.00 - $644.00)). $ 075
¢ Plus marginal tax amount. +12.95
e Computed tax. $ 13.70
Step 5 Subtract amount from "TABLE 4 - EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE" for
3 regular withholding allowances. -6.22
Net amount of tax to be withheld. $ 748
NOTE: Employers may determine the amount of income tax to be withheld for an annual payroll period and

prorate the tax back to the payroll period. This method may be useful to employers who have employees
being paid for more than one payroll period and want to conserve computer memory by storing only the
annual tax rates, wage brackets, deduction values, and tax credits.

EXAMPLE E: Semi-monthly earnings of $1,800.00, married, and claiming four allowances on form W-4 or DE 4.

Step 1 Earnings for the semi-monthly payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($928.00); therefore, income tax should be withheld.
Annualized wages and salary (24 x $1,800.00). $43,200.00
Step 2 Not applicable - no estimated deduction allowance claimed.
Step 3 Subtract amount from "TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE". -7,274.00
Taxable income. $35,926.00
Step 4 Tax computation from “TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE”:
e Entry covering $35,926.00(over $33,478.00 but not over $52,838.00)
e 4.675% of amount over $33,478.00 (.04675 x ($35,926.00 - $33,478.00)). $ 11444
e Plus marginal tax amount. +673.26
e Computed annual tax. $ 787.70
Step 5 Subtract amount from "TABLE 4 - EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE" for
4 regular withholding allowances. -431.20
Annual amount of tax to be withheld. $ 356.50
Divide by number of payroll periods in year (24). $ 14.85
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CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2010

METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD (CONTINUED)

NOTE: Employers may determine the amount of income tax to be withheld for an annual payroll period and figure
the tax for the payroll period. This method may be useful to employers who have employees being paid
for a lump sum, or a yearly amount not withheld on; and want to conserve computer memory by storing
only the annual tax rates, wage brackets, deduction values, and tax credits.

EXAMPLE F: Annual earnings of $45,000.00, monthly pay period, married, and claiming four allowances on form W-4 or DE 4.

Step 1 Earnings for the annual payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($22,261.00); therefore, income tax should be withheld.
Annualized wages and/or monthly salary (12 x $3,750.00). $45,000.00
Step 2 Not applicable - no estimated deduction allowance claimed.
Step 3 Subtract amount from "TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE". -7,274.00
Taxable income. $37,726.00
Step 4 Tax computation from “TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE”:
e Entry covering $37,726.00(over $33,478.00 but not over $52,838.00)
e 4.675% of amount over $33,478.00 (.04675 x ($37,726.00 - $33,478.00)). $ 198.59
e  Plus marginal tax amount. +673.26
e Computed annual tax. $ 871.85
Step 5 Subtract amount from "TABLE 4 - EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE" for
4 regular withholding allowances. -431.20
Annual amount of tax to be withheld. $ 440.65
(Divide by number of payroll periods in year (12). $ 36.72
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CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2010
METHOD B---EXACT CALCULATION METHOD

TABLE 1 - LOW INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE

SINGLE, MARRIED

DUAL INCOME MARRIED UNMARRIED

OR MARRIED WITH ALLOWANCES ON DE 4 OR W-4 HEAD OF

PAYROLL PERIOD MULTIPLE EMPLOYER '0'OR'1' '2' OR MORE HOUSEHOLD
WEEKLY $214 $214 $428 $428
BIWEEKLY $428 $428 $856 $856
SEMI-MONTHLY $464 $464 $928 $928
MONTHLY $928 $928 $1,855 $1,855
QUARTERLY $2,783 $2,783 $5,565 $5,565
SEMI-ANNUAL $5,565 $5,565 $11,131 $11,131
ANNUAL $11,130 $11,130 $22,261 $22,261
DAILY/MISCELLANEOUS $43 $43 $86 $86

TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE

PAYROLL PERIOD

ADDITIONAL
WITHHOLDING BI- SEMI- SEMI- DAILY/
ALLOWANCES * WEEKLY WEEKLY MONTHLY MONTHLY QUARTERLY ANNUAL ANNUAL MISC.
1 $19 $38 $42 $83 $250 $500 $1,000 $4
2 $38 $77 $83 $167 $500 $1,000 $2,000 $8
3 $58 $115 $125 $250 $750 $1,500 $3,000 $12
4 $77 $154 $167 $333 $1,000 $2,000 $4,000 $15
5 $96 $192 $208 $417 $1,250 $2,500 $5,000 $19
6 $115 $231 $250 $500 $1,500 $3,000 $6,000 $23
7 $135 $269 $292 $583 $1,750 $3,500 $7,000 $27
8 $154 $308 $333 $667 $2,000 $4,000 $8,000 $31
9 $173 $346 $375 $750 $2,250 $4,500 $9,000 $35
10** $192 $385 $417 $833 $2,500 $5,000 $10,000 $38

* Number of Additional Withholding Allowances for Estimated Deductions claimed on Form DE 4 or W-4.

** If the number of Additional Withholding Allowances for Estimated Deductions claimed is greater than 10,
multiply the amount shown for one Additional Allowance by the number claimed.
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CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2010
METHOD B---EXACT CALCULATION METHOD

TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE

SINGLE, MARRIED
DUAL INCOME MARRIED UNMARRIED
OR MARRIED WITH ALLOWANCES ON DE 4 OR W-4 HEAD OF
PAYROLL PERIOD MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS '0'OR "' '2' OR MORE HOUSEHOLD
WEEKLY $70 $70 $140 $140
BIWEEKLY $140 $140 $280 $280
SEMI-MONTHLY $152 $152 $303 $303
MONTHLY $303 $303 $606 $606
QUARTERLY $909 $909 $1,819 $1,819
SEMI-ANNUAL $1,819 $1,819 $3,637 $3,637
ANNUAL $3,637 $3,637 $7,274 $7,274
DAILY/MISCELLANEOUS $14 $14 $28 $28
TABLE 4 - EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE
PAYROLL PERIOD

ALLOWANCES
ON DE 4 OR BI- SEMI- SEMI- DAILY/
W-4 WEEKLY WEEKLY MONTHLY MONTHLY QUARTERLY  ANNUAL ANNUAL MISC.
0 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00
1 $2.07 $4.15 $4.49 $8.98 $26.95 $53.90 $107.80 $0.41
2 $4.15 $8.29 $8.98 $17.97 $53.90 $107.80 $215.60 $0.83
3 $6.22 $12.44 $13.48 $26.95 $80.85 $161.70  $323.40 $1.24
4 $8.29 $16.58 $17.97 $35.93 $107.80 $215.60 $431.20 $1.66
5 $10.37 $20.73 $22.46 $44.92 $134.75 $269.50 $539.00 $2.07
6 $12.44 $24.88 $26.95 $53.90 $161.70 $323.40 $646.80 $2.49
7 $14.51 $29.02 $31.44 $62.88 $188.65 $377.30 $754.60 $2.90
8 $16.58 $33.17 $35.93 $71.87 $215.60 $431.20 $862.40 $3.32
9 $18.66 $37.32 $40.43 $80.85 $242.55 $485.10 $970.20 $3.73
10* $20.73 $41.46 $44.92 $89.83 $269.50 $539.00 $1,078.00 $4.15

* If the number of allowances claimed exceeds 10, you may determine the amount of tax credit to be allowed by

multiplying the amount for

one allowance by the total number of allowances.

For example, the amount of tax credit for a married taxpayer with 15 allowances, as determined on Form DE 4 or W-4,

on a weekly payroll period

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET)

would be $31.05.
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CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2010
METHOD B---EXACT CALCULATION METHOD

TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE

ANNUAL PAYROLL PERIOD

DAILY / MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD

SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED,
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS

SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED,
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS

IF THE TAXABLE IF THE TAXABLE
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAXIS...
OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER... OVER OVER...
$0 $7,060 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00 $0 $27 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$7,060 $16,739 ... 2.475% $7,060 $97.08 $27 $64 ... 2.475% $27 $0.37
$16,739 $26,419 ... 4.675%  $16,739 $336.64 $64 $102 ... 4.675% $64 $1.29
$26,419 $36,675 ... 6.875%  $26,419 $789.18 $102 $141 .. 6.875% $102 $3.07
$36,675 $46,349 ... 9.075%  $36,675 $1,494.28 $141 $178 ... 9.075% $141 $5.75
$46,349 $1,000,000 ... 10.505%  $46,349  $2,372.20 $178 $3,846 ... 10.505% $178 $9.11
$1,000,000  and over 11.605% $1,000,000 $102,553.24 $3,846 and over 11.605% $3,846 $394.43
MARRIED PERSONS MARRIED PERSONS
IF THE TAXABLE IF THE TAXABLE
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAXIS... INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAXIS...
OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER... OVER OVER...
$0 $14,120 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00 $0 $54 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$14,120 $33,478 ... 2475%  $14,120 $194.15 $54 $128 ... 2.475% $54 $0.74
$33,478 $52,838 ... 4.675%  $33,478 $673.26 $128 $204 ... 4.675% $128 $2.57
$52,838 $73,350 ... 6.875%  $52,838 $1,578.34 $204 $282 ... 6.875% $204 $6.12
$73,350 $92,698 ... 9.075%  $73,350 $2,988.54 $282 $356 ... 9.075% $282 $11.48
$92,698 $1,000,000 ... 10.505%  $92,698  $4,744.37 $356 $3,846 ... 10.505% $356 $18.20
$1,000,000  and over 11.605% $1,000,000 $100,056.45 $3,846 and over 11.605% $3,846  $384.82

UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD

IF THE TAXABLE

UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD

IF THE TAXABLE

INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAXIS... INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAXIS...

OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER... OVER OVER...

$0 $14,130 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00 $0 $54 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$14,130 $33,479 ... 2.475%  $14,130 $194.29 $54 $129 ... 2.475% $54 $0.74
$33,479 $43,157 ... 4.675%  $33,479 $673.18 $129 $166 ... 4.675% $129 $2.60
$43,157 $53,412 ... 6.875%  $43,157 $1,125.63 $166 $205 ... 6.875% $166 $4.33
$53,412 $63,089 ... 9.075%  $53,412  $1,830.66 $205 $243 ... 9.075% $205 $7.01
$63,089 $1,000,000 ... 10.505%  $63,089 $2,708.85 $243 $3,846 ... 10.505% $243 $10.46
$1,000,000  and over 11.605% $1,000,000 $101,131.35 $3,846 and over 11.605% $3,846 $388.96
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CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2010
METHOD B---EXACT CALCULATION METHOD

TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE

QUARTERLY PAYROLL PERIOD

SEMI-ANNUAL PAYROLL PERIOD

SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED,
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS

SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED,
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS

IF THE TAXABLE

INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER...

$0 $1,765 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$1,765 $4,185 ... 2.475% $1,765 $24.27
$4,185 $6,605 ... 4.675% $4,185 $84.17
$6,605  $9,169 ... 6.875%  $6,605  $197.31
$9,169 $11,587 ... 9.075%  $9,169  $373.59
$11,587 $249,999 ... 10.505% $11,587  $593.02
$249,999 and over 11.605% $249,999 $25,638.20

MARRIED PERSONS

IF THE TAXABLE

INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER...

$0 $3,530 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$3,530 $8,370 ... 2.475% $3,530 $48.54
$8,370  $13,210 ... 4.675% $8,370  $168.33
$13,210 $18,338 ... 6.875% $13,210  $394.60
$18,338  $23,174 ... 9.075% $18,338  $747.15
$23,174 $249,999 ... 10.505% $23,174 $1,186.02
$249,999 and over 11.605% $249,999 $25,013.99

UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD

IF THE TAXABLE

INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER...

$0 $3,533 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$3,533 $8,370 ... 2.475% $3,533 $48.58
$8,370 $10,789 ... 4.675% $8,370  $168.30
$10,789  $13,353 ... 6.875% $10,789  $281.39
$13,3563  $15,772 ... 9.075% $13,353  $457.67
$15,772 $249,999 ... 10.505% $15,772  $677.19
$249,999 and over 11.605% $249,999 $25,282.74
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IF THE TAXABLE
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...
OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER...
$0 $3,530 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$3,530 $8,370 ... 2.475% $3,530 $48.54
$8,370  $13,210 ... 4.675% $8,370 $168.33
$13,210 $18,338 ... 6.875% $13,210 $394.60
$18,338  $23,174 ... 9.075% $18,338 $747.15
$23,174 $499,998 ... 10.505% $23,174 $1,186.02
$499,998 and over 11.605% $499,998 $51,276.38
MARRIED PERSONS
IF THE TAXABLE
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...
OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER...
$0 $7,060 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$7,060 $16,740 ... 2.475% $7,060 $97.08
$16,740  $26,420 ... 4.675% $16,740 $336.66
$26,420 $36,676 ... 6.875% $26,420 $789.20
$36,676  $46,348 ... 9.075% $36,676 $1,494.30
$46,348 $499,998 ... 10.505% $46,348 $2,372.03
$499,998 and over 11.605% $499,998 $50,027.96

UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD

IF THE TAXABLE

INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER...

$0 $7,066 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$7,066 $16,740 ... 2.475% $7,066 $97.16
$16,740 $21,578 ... 4.675% $16,740 $336.59
$21,578  $26,706 ... 6.875% $21,578 $562.77
$26,706  $31,544 ... 9.075% $26,706 $915.32
$31,544 $499,998 ... 10.505% $31,544 $1,354.37
$499,998 and over 11.605% $499,998 $50,565.46
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CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2010
METHOD B---EXACT CALCULATION METHOD

TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE

010C HO4 S3TNAIHIS
ONI@TOHHLIM VINHO4ITVO

SEMI-MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD

SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED,
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS

SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED,
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS

IF THE TAXABLE IF THE TAXABLE

INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAXIS... INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAXIS...

OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER... OVER OVER...

$0 $294 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00 $0 $588 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$294 $697 ... 2.475% $294 $4.04 $588 $1,394 ... 2.475% $588 $8.09
$697 $1,101 ... 4.675% $697 $14.01 $1,394 $2,202 ... 4.675% $1,394 $28.04
$1,101 $1,528 ... 6.875% $1,101 $32.90 $2,202 $3,056 ... 6.875% $2,202 $65.81
$1,528 $1,931 ... 9.075% $1,528 $62.26 $3,056 $3,862 ... 9.075% $3,056 $124.52
$1,931  $41,667 ... 10.505% $1,931 $98.83 $3,862 $83,334 ... 10.505% $3,862 $197.66
$41,667 and over 11.605%  $41,667 $4,273.10 $83,334 and over 11.605%  $83,334 $8,546.19

MARRIED PERSONS

MARRIED PERSONS

IF THE TAXABLE IF THE TAXABLE

INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER... OVER OVER...

$0 $588 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00 $0 $1,176 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$588 $1,394 ... 2.475% $588 $8.09 $1,176 $2,788 ... 2.475% $1,176 $16.17
$1,394 $2,202 ... 4.675% $1,394 $28.04 $2,788 $4,404 ... 4.675% $2,788 $56.07
$2,202 $3,056 ... 6.875% $2,202 $65.81 $4,404 $6,112 ... 6.875% $4,404  $131.62
$3,056 $3,862 ... 9.075% $3,056 $124.52 $6,112 $7,724 ... 9.075% $6,112  $249.05
$3,862 $41,667 ... 10.505% $3,862 $197.66 $7,724  $83,334 ... 10.505% $7,724  $395.34
$41,667 and over 11.605% $41,667 $4,169.08 $83,334 and over 11.605%  $83,334 $8,338.17

UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD

UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD

IF THE TAXABLE IF THE TAXABLE

INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER... OVER OVER...

$0 $589 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00 $0 $1,178 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$589 $1,395 ... 2.475% $589 $8.10 $1,178 $2,790 ... 2.475% $1,178 $16.20
$1,395 $1,798 ... 4.675% $1,395 $28.05 $2,790 $3,596 ... 4.675% $2,790 $56.10
$1,798 $2,226 ... 6.875% $1,798 $46.89 $3,596 $4,452 ... 6.875% $3,596 $93.78
$2,226 $2,629 ... 9.075% $2,226 $76.32 $4,452 $5,258 ... 9.075% $4,452 $152.63
$2,629 $41,667 ... 10.505% $2,629 $112.89 $5,258 $83,334 ... 10.505% $5,258 $225.77
$41,667 and over 11.605% $41,667 $4,213.83 $83,334 and over 11.605% $83,334 $8,427.65

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET)
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CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2010
METHOD B---EXACT CALCULATION METHOD

TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE

WEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

BIWEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD

SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED,
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS

IF THE TAXABLE

INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER...
$0 $136 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$136 $322 ... 2.475% $136 $1.87
$322 $508 ... 4.675% $322 $6.47
$508 $705 ... 6.875% $508  $15.17
$705 $891 ... 9.075% $705 $28.71
$891  $19,231 ... 10.505% $891 $45.59
$19,231 and over 11.605% $19,231 $1,972.21
MARRIED PERSONS
IF THE TAXABLE

INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER...

$0 $272 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$272 $644 ... 2.475% $272 $3.74
$644 $1,016 ... 4.675% $644 $12.95
$1,016 $1,410 ... 6.875% $1,016 $30.34
$1,410 $1,782 ... 9.075% $1,410 $57.43
$1,782 $19,231 ... 10.505% $1,782 $91.19
$19,231 and over 11.605% $19,231 $1,924.21

UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD

IF THE TAXABLE

INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER...

$0 $272 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$272 $644 ... 2.475% $272 $3.74
$644 $830 ... 4.675% $644  $12.95
$830  $1,027 ... 6.875% $830  $21.65
$1,027  $1,213 ... 9.075%  $1,027  $35.19
$1,213  $19,231 ... 10.505%  $1,213  $52.07
$19,231 and over 11.605% $19,231 $1,944.86

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET)

SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED,
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS

IF THE TAXABLE
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...
OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER...
$0 $272 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$272 $644 ... 2.475% $272 $3.74
$644  $1,016 ... 4.675% $644 $12.95
$1,016  $1,410 ... 6.875% $1,016  $30.34
$1,410  $1,782 ... 9.075% $1,410  $57.43
$1,782  $38,462 ... 10.505% $1,782 $91.19
$38,462 and over 11.605% $38,462 $3,944.42
MARRIED PERSONS
IF THE TAXABLE
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...
OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER...
$0 $544 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$544  $1,288 ... 2.475% $544 $7.48
$1,288  $2,032 ... 4.675% $1,288  $25.89
$2,032  $2,820 ... 6.875% $2,032 $60.67
$2,820  $3,564 ... 9.075% $2,820 $114.85
$3,564 $38,462 ... 10.505% $3,564 $182.37
$38,462 and over 11.605% $38,462 $3,848.40

UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD

IF THE TAXABLE

INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT OF AMOUNT PLUS
OVER OVER...

$0 $544 ... 1.375% $0 $0.00
$544  $1,288 ... 2.475% $544 $7.48
$1,288  $1,660 ... 4.675%  $1,288  $25.89
$1,660  $2,054 ... 6.875%  $1,660  $43.28
$2,054  $2,426 ... 9.075%  $2,054  $70.37
$2,426 $38,462 ... 10.505%  $2,426 $104.13
$38,462 and over 11.605% $38,462 $3,889.71
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REQUIRED FORMS

Under California law, you are required to report specific information periodically or upon notification or request. Timely
filing of the required forms will avoid penalty and interest charges. In addition, it will enable EDD to pay Unemployment
Insurance, State Disability Insurance, and Paid Family Leave benefits and assist the California Department of Child
Support Services and the Department of Justice in the collection of delinquent child support obligations.

The required reporting forms are:

o Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34)

e Report of Independent Contractor(s) (DE 542)
e Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)

e Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6)
e Annual Reconciliation Statement (DE 7)

Registered employers receive the forms by mail automatically. New employers will receive the required reporting forms by
mail after they register with the Employment Development Department (EDD) for their eight-digit employer account
number. Please use the forms mailed to you. If you do not have a form, you can obtain blank forms and detailed
instructions by accessing EDD's Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm or calling
the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. If you are not able to obtain the forms by the delinquency date, you
may file an informal report. Detailed instructions on completing informal reports are explained later in this chapter.

When sending payments to EDD, always include your EDD employer account number and make checks/money
orders payable to the “Employment Development Department.”

REMEMBER:
e Use black ink only.

e  Print or type the information. If printing, stay within the boxes.
¢ Include the cents on your wage and tax reports. Do not round to the nearest dollar or use dashes.

e Make sure your employer account number appears on your tax forms, tax payments and any correspondence
you send to the EDD.

¢ Note the correct quarter on your tax forms and tax payments.
¢ Remove all stubs and vouchers from your checks.

¢ Do not use staples, paper clips, or tape.

¢ Do not use highlighters.

e Do not alter preprinted information.

Use the preprinted envelope provided by EDD. If you do not have a preprinted envelope, send your form and
payment to:

Employment Development Department
P.O. Box 826276
Sacramento, CA 94230-6276

The information on the following pages explains the purpose of the required reporting forms, how to obtain the
forms, and the due dates. If you need to make adjustments to a previous deposit, refer to “Correcting Payroll Tax
Deposits Chart” in this chapter.

Subscribe to EDD’s free e-mail subscription services
www.edd.ca.gov/about_EDD/Get_Email_Notices.htm

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 68 of 136



REPORT OF NEW EMPLOYEE(S) (DE 34)

Purpose: All employers are required to report new employees to the New Employee Registry (NER). The NER
assists California’s Department of Child Support Services and Department of Justice in locating parents to collect
delinquent child support payments. Employers must also report the actual start-of-work date (not the date hired) for each
newly hired employee so that the NER data can be cross-matched to the Unemployment Insurance (Ul) benefit payment
file. This will result in the early detection and prevention of Ul benefit overpayments.

How to Obtain: New employers receive a Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) as part of their new employer package.
You may also file online using EDD’s e-Services at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov. To obtain DE 34 forms, access
EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de34.pdf, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at

(916) 657-0529 or (888) 745-3886.

When Due: You must report all newly hired employees within 20 days of the start-of-work date. If an employee returns
to work after a layoff or leave of absence and is required to complete a new IRS Employee’s Withholding Allowance
Certificate (Form W-4), you must report the employee as a new hire. If the returning employee was not formally terminated
or removed from payroll records, you do not need to report the employee as a new hire.

The following information must be included when reporting new employees:

Employer Information Employee Information

EDD employer account number

Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
Business name

Business address

Business telephone number

Contact person

First name, middle initial, and last name
Social security number

Home address

Start-of-work date

Refer to sample DE 34 form on page 70.

Filing an Informal Report
If you are not able to obtain a DE 34 by the due date, file an informal report or a copy of the employee’s Form W-4 to avoid
penalty and interest charges. Your informal report must include all the information listed in the table above.

Mail or fax your new employee information to:

Employment Development Department
Document Management Group, MIC 96
P.O. Box 997016

West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016

Fax: (916) 319-4400

If you are reporting a large number of new employees, we encourage you to send the information magnetically or
electronically. Multistate employers who report new hires magnetically or electronically may select one state in which they
have employees to report all of their new hires. If you report magnetically or electronically, you do not need to submit a
paper DE 34 form. For additional information, access the Magnetic Media Reporting Requirements for New Employee
Registry Program (DE 340) on EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de340.pdf or contact:

Employment Development Department
Magnetic Media Coordinator, MIC 15
P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

(916) 651-6945

Registered employers may report new employees online using EDD’s e-Services at
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 69 of 136
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

EDD i REPORT OF NEW EMPLOYEE(S)

Department See detailed instructions on page 2. Please type or print
m NOTE: Report new employees within 20 days of start-of-work

 (WORADGINMM -

00340600
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MAIL TO: Employment Development Department / P.O. Box 997016, Document Management Group, MIC96  CU
West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016 or fax to (916) 319-4400
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REPORT OF INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR(S) (DE 542)

Purpose: Any business or government entity that is required to file a federal Form 1099-MISC for services
performed must also report specific information to EDD regarding any independent contractor providing services
to you or your business. The independent contractor information assists California’s Department of Child Support
Services and Department of Justice in locating parents for the purpose of collecting delinquent child support. An
independent contractor is an individual who is not an employee of a business/government entity for California purposes
and who receives compensation for or executes a contract for services performed for a business/government entity, either
in or outside of California.

How to Obtain: New employers receive a Report of Independent Contractor(s) (DE 542) as part of their new employer
package. You may also file online using EDD’s e-Services at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov. To obtain DE 542 forms,
access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542.pdf or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
(916) 657-0529 or (888) 745-3886.

When Due: Independent contractor information must be reported to EDD within 20 days of either making payments
totaling $600 or more, or entering into a contract for $600 or more with an independent contractor in any calendar year,
whichever occurs first. This is in addition to your requirement to report the total annual payments to the Internal Revenue
Service on a Form 1099-MISC after the close of the calendar year.

The following information must be included when reporting independent contractors:

Business or Government Entity Independent Contractor
(Service-Recipient) Information (Service-Provider) Information

e Federal Employer Identification Number e  First name, middle initial, and last name (do not use company name)
(FEIN) e Social security number (do not use FEIN)
e EDD employer account number e Address

e Social security number (if no FEIN number | 4  Siart date of contract
or EDD employer account number)

e Business or government entity name,
address, and telephone number

e Amount of contract (including cents)
e Contract expiration date or check box if the contract is ongoing

Refer to sample DE 542 form on page 72.

Filing an Informal Report
If you are not able to obtain a DE 542 form by the due date, you may file an informal report to avoid penalty and interest
charges. Your informal report must include all the information listed in the table above.

Mail or fax your independent contractor information to:

Employment Development Department
Document Management Group, MIC 96
P.O. Box 997350

Sacramento, CA 95899-7350

Fax: (916) 319-4410

If you are reporting a large number of independent contractors, we encourage you to send the information magnetically or
electronically. If you report magnetically or electronically, you do not need to submit a paper DE 542. For additional
information, access the Magnetic Media Reporting Requirements for Independent Contractor Reporting (DE 542M)
booklet on EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542m.pdf or contact:

Employment Development Department
Magnetic Media Coordinator, MIC 15
P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

(916) 651-6945

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 71 of 136
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

2 e ey EMPlOYment REPORT OF
ED Department  INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR(S)
State of California @

05420101
See detailed instructions on page 2. Please type or print.

__SERVICE-RECIPIENT (BUSINESS OR GOVERNMENT ENTITY):

DATE FEDERAL ID NO. CA EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO. SOCIAL SECURITY NO.

L OXOOKKXXXXX 00000000
SERVICE-RECIPIENT NAME / BUSINESS NAME CONTACT PERSON
T T S Y N A A S B A - I S I 0 N I A
EMPLOYERCITYSTORE JANEJONES | |
ADDRESS - TELEPHONE NO.
123 MAIN ST 123
oy STATE zp
AN;YT:)V\N CA | 12345
SERVICE-PROVIDER (INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR): B
FIRST NAME . :
FRED | [ L[] |
éOCIA} SECURITY NO, . . UNIT/APT
000000000 ERER L1
ANYTOWN | | 12345
START DATE OF CONTRACT  CONTRACT EXPIRATION cnr—:ck HERE IF CONTRACT IS ONGOING i

i
i

1063010

M M D D Y Y

CHECK HERE IF CONTRACT IS ONGOING

AMOUNT OF GONTRACT

ford i

DE 542 Rev. 3 (3-05) (INTERNET) MAIL TO: Employment Development Department » P.O. Box 997350, MIC 96 * Sacramento, CA 95899-7350
@ or Fax to (916) 319-4410
Page 1 of 2
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88)

Overview

Purpose: The Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon is used to report and pay Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment
Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding to EDD.

How to Obtain: Each year (by March), a DE 88 coupon booklet with preprinted payroll tax rates is mailed to you.
Preprinted envelopes are also sent with each DE 88 booklet. Newly registered employers are sent a DE 88 booklet
containing preprinted coupons about six weeks after registering with EDD. You may also file online using EDD’s
e-Services at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

To obtain additional DE 88 booklets, use the tear-out reorder postcard at the back of your DE 88 booklet. Allow six to
eight weeks for delivery. If you do not have a reorder postcard, contact:

Employment Development Department
Document Management Group, MIC 96
ATTN: Forms Request Desk

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento CA 94280-0001

(916) 654-7041 or (888) 745-3886
Outside U.S. or Canada call (916) 464-3502

To obtain blank DE 88 coupons (DE 88ALL), access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de88all.pdf.
Detailed instructions on completing a DE 88 coupon can be found in your Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon booklet or
refer to the DE 88ALL-I (instructions) at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de88alli.pdf on the Internet. Simple instructions
on how to complete items 1, 2, 3, and 4 on the DE 88/DE 88ALL coupon are available at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de88allsi.pdf. If you have questions about completing your DE 88 coupon, please
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (916) 654-7041 or (888) 745-3886.

PLEASE DO NOT USE ANOTHER EMPLOYER’S DE 88 COUPON. The coupons we provide you are encoded with your
EDD employer account number. If you use another employer’s coupon, our computers will read the EDD employer
account number coded on the coupon and apply the payment accordingly.

When Due: If you do not withhold PIT or if accumulated PIT withholdings are less than $350, taxes (Ul, ETT, SDI, and
PIT) are due each quarter on January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1. If your PIT withholdings are $350 or more, your
SDI and PIT will need to be deposited more often. For additional information, refer to page 75.

NOTE: Sample forms were completed using 2009 rates. Refer to inside cover for 2010 rates.

PO BOX 826276

__CUTALONG DASHED LINES

EDD s PAYROLLTAX DEPOSIT DE88ALL

. Department
s - -
tate of California MUST BE COMPLETED

(MUST MARK ONE BOX) Rate  Tax
DU Pube B e [ [
| O,W@B §”3 | 1 | 1 ! 0] BANKING A 3.4% Ul (! 1213181010
RN o on 942306275 (425t PAY DATE covered by deposi) SEMIWEEKLVEWW N 1% ETI' ] » 21olo
Emploger | I S . |
JAMES AND JANE JONES [ o, I : o
. o DEA MONTH.YE C) 1.1% sDl | | 9/i0:0/0
EMPLOYER CITY STORE A
| California |
Tnatayour Rocount Nienoer e Paass i your e~ QUARTERY || D) PIT 13101049010
CTaTe] TeTaToTsl (o] o ouamren [TToTSl EE I
[0]0]0} 10]070j07 10 coveren |1 011 B Penalty | | _ L

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY
Sample DE 88 Form

(TYPE OR PRINT IN BLACK INK ONLY)

1. PAY DATE: 2. DEPOSIT SCHEDULE: 4. DEPOSIT AMOUNTS:

F) Interest |

EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT

@ ‘paiD

TOTAL $ ; 5

01880698

PAY THIS AMOUNT
TOTAL LINES ATHROUGH F.
DO NOT FOLD OR STAPLE.

| PREPARER'S SIGNATURE

www.edd.ca.gov
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET)

Make check payable to EDD. .

DEBBALL Rov. 16 (1-04) INTERNET)

TELEPHONE NO.
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
Withholding Deposits

All tax payments must be submitted with a properly completed Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88/DE 88ALL) coupon unless
payments are made by Electronic Funds Transfer or by credit card using EDD’s e-Services. Although employer contributions of
Ul and ETT are due quarterly, withholdings from employees’ wages for SDI and California PIT may need to be deposited more
often. California SDI and PIT deposit due dates are based on each employer’s federal deposit schedule/requirement and the
amount of accumulated PIT the employer has withheld. Details are provided below and in the table on page 75. For information
on federal deposit schedules, download IRS’ Employer’s Tax Guide (Publication 15, Circular E) from the IRS’ Web site at
www.irs.gov or contact the IRS at (800) 829-3676. A penalty of 10 percent plus interest will be charged on late payroll tax
payments. The postmark date is used to determine the timeliness of tax payments submitted by mail.

Mail all tax payments with Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88/DE 88ALL) to:

Employment Development Department
P.O. Box 826276
Sacramento, CA 94230-6276

Please write your EDD employer account number on your check or money order.

CALIFORNIA DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS

CALIFORNIA

DEPOSIT REQUIREMENT DEFINITION

SCHEDULE

Next Banking You are required to make Next Banking Day SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal Next
Day Banking Day deposits AND you accumulate more than $500* in California PIT during one or more payroll

periods. If you accumulate $350-$500 in PIT during one or more pay period, refer to Monthly
requirements below.*

The Next Banking Day deposit schedule requires deposits to be made by the next banking day. Banking
days do not include Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays.

Semiweekly You are required to make semiweekly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal semiweekly
deposits AND you accumulate more than $500* in California PIT during one or more payroll periods. If you
accumulate $350-$500 in PIT during one or more pay periods, refer to Monthly requirements below.*

The semiweekly deposit schedule requires deposits for paydays on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday to be
made by the following Wednesday. For paydays on Saturday, Sunday, Monday, or Tuesday, deposits must
be made by the following Friday.

Semiweekly depositors always have three banking days after the end of the semiweekly period to make a
deposit. If any of the three banking days after the end of the semiweekly period is a legal holiday, you will
have an additional business day to make your deposit.

Monthly You are required to make Monthly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal annual,
quarterly, or monthly deposits AND you accumulate $350 or more in California PIT during one or more
months of a quarter.

Monthly deposits are due by the 15" day of the following month. If the 15" is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal
holiday, the last timely date would be the next business day.

You are required to make Monthly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal
semiweekly or Next Banking Day deposits and you accumulate $350-$500* in California PIT during
one or more months of a quarter.

Quarterly Quarterly tax payments are due and delinquent on the same dates as the Quarterly Wage and Withholding
Report (DE 6). (Refer to monthly deposit schedule if you are a quarterly depositor but accumulate $350 or
more in California PIT during one or more months of the quarter.)

Employer contributions for Ul and ETT are due quarterly. However, they may be submitted more often with
any required SDI and PIT deposits.

*California PIT deposit threshold may be adjusted annually.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
WITHHOLDING DEPOSITS

California Deposit Requirements

If Your Federal

And You Have

PIT and SDI

California “Deposit
Schedule” box to mark

Deposit Schedule/ | Accumulated State | If Payday Is Deposit Due By’
Requirement Is’ PIT Withholding of on the DE 88/DE 88ALL

Less than $350 Any day Quarterly® Quarterly

Next Banking Day $350 to $500 Any day 15" of the following month Monthly
More than $500 Any day Next Banking Day Next Banking Day

Less than $350 Any day Quarterly® Quarterly

$350 to $500 Any day 15" of the following month Monthly

Semiweekly More than $500 Wed., Thurs., or Following Wednesday’ Semiweekly
Fri.
More than $500 Sat., Sun., Mon., Following Friday’ Semiweekly
or Tues.
Less than $350 Any day Quarterly’ Quarterly
Monthly -
$350 or more Any day 15" of the following month Monthly
X April 30, 2010
Quarterly*® ’
August 2, 2010
or Less than $350 Any day November 1, 2010 Quarterly
Annually6 January 31, 2011
$350 or more Any day 15" of the following month Monthly

NOTE:
1

Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) transactions for Next Banking Day deposits must be settled in the State’s bank
account on or before the third banking day following the payroll date.

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day. For

example, if a deposit is due on Friday, but Friday is a holiday, the deposit due date is extended to the following

Monday.

date, designate the “DEPOSIT SCHEDULE” as QUARTERLY on your DE 88 coupon.

If you have accumulated less than $350 of PIT and choose to make an additional deposit before the quarterly due

If you are not required to follow one of the above federal deposit schedules/requirements, you are still required to

make California payroll tax deposits of accumulated SDI deductions and PIT withholding quarterly or more often
based on the guidelines in this table.

A deposit of employer Ul and ETT taxes not previously paid is also due each quarter by the due dates shown.

If your federal deposit requirement is annually, you are required to make California payroll tax deposits quarterly or
monthly based on the guidelines in this table.

The transition period of the semiweekly schedule allows employers to make deposit in any of the three business

days following the last pay date. If any of the transition period days is a legal holiday, the employer is given an
extra business day to make the deposit.

REMEMBER:

¢ Once you make a Next Banking Day deposit to IRS, your Federal Deposit Schedule automatically becomes
semiweekly for the remainder of that calendar year and all of the following year.

e Semiweekly depositors always have three banking days after the end of the semiweekly period to make a deposit. If
any of the three weekdays after the end of a semiweekly period is a holiday, you will have one additional banking
day to deposit. By law, the EZPAY DE 88 credit card program is not considered an electronic payment and,
therefore, does not satisfy the EFT mandatory requirement for SDI and PIT deposits. Tax deposits made by credit
card use the same deposit due dates as the DE 88 coupon and remittance.

e The EFT transactions for quarterly deposits must settle into the State’s bank account on or before the banking day
following the last timely date. (Refer to page 76 for the timely settlement dates and page 87 for additional
information regarding EFT.)

www.edd.ca.gov

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET)

Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)

Due Dates for Quarterly Tax Deposits

Using a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) Coupon

Mail your tax payments with a DE 88 to EDD or remit electronically through EDD’s e-Services. Complete all sections on
your DE 88 so that your deposit can be applied correctly to your account. Please use the preprinted DE 88 coupons and
envelopes mailed to you. When your payroll tax deposits are mailed to EDD, the postmark date is used to determine
timeliness. Penalty and interest are charged on late deposits. If you mail your DE 88 coupon or use e-Services, the filing
due dates and delinquency dates for 2010 quarterly payroll tax deposits are:

Reporting Period Filing Due Date Delinquent If Not Paid By
January, February, March April 1, 2010 April 30, 2010
April, May, June July 1, 2010 August 2, 2010
July, August, September October 1, 2010 November 1, 2010
October, November, December January 1, 2011 January 31, 2011

Using Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)

The EFT transactions for quarterly Ul and ETT payments and quarterly SDI and PIT payments must settle in the State’s
bank account on or before the timely settlement date. Please refer to the last column in the chart below for specific
settlement dates.

2010 Quarterly EFT Payment Chart

Reporting Period Taxes Due _L_a_st Timely Date Timely Settlement
(initiate on or before) Date
January, February, March April 1, 2010 April 30, 2010 May 1, 2010
April, May, June July 1, 2010 August 2, 2010 August 3, 2010
July, August, September October 1, 2010 November 1, 2010 November 2, 2010
October, November, December January 1, 2011 January 31, 2011 February 1, 2011

To ensure timely settlement of your EFT payments, please note:

e Automated Clearing House (ACH) credit transactions are processed based on individual bank requirements. Ask
your bank what day you should report your payment to ensure a timely settlement date.

e ACH debit transactions must be reported by 3 p.m., Pacific Time, on or before the last timely date to ensure a timely
settlement date.

Late Deposit, Penalty, and Interest

When your tax payments are mailed to EDD, the postmark date is used to determine timeliness. When tax payments are
remitted electronically, the settlement date is used to determine timeliness. If the last timely filing date falls on a Saturday,
Sunday, or legal holiday, the next business day is considered to be the last timely date. A penalty of 10 percent plus
interest will be charged on late payroll tax payments. If you are late sending your payment, you can use the same DE 88
coupon to pay the penalty and interest. Please refer to your Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon booklet for instructions on
how to calculate late penalty and interest or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886 for assistance
and/or the current daily interest factor. The interest rate is reestablished every six months.

To avoid erroneous penalty and interest on late deposits, be sure your DE 88 is properly completed. It must include
your EDD employer account number, business name, address, telephone number, pay date, deposit schedule, quarter to
which the deposit applies, and the dollar amount to be applied to each payroll tax (Ul, ETT, SDI, and PIT). Your check or
money order should also include your business name and EDD employer account number. Please use the preprinted

DE 88 envelope to mail your DE 88 and payment to EDD. If you do not have a DE 88 coupon, it is not “good cause” for
filing or paying your taxes late.

NOTE: If you do not make timely payments, you will receive an Employer Account Statement (DE 2176) that provides
details of the delinquent balance due. If the delinquency is not paid, a tax lien may be issued. If a tax lien is issued,
it will be recorded at the county recorder’s office. Tax lien information is a matter of public record after it is recorded.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) (INTERNET) Page 76 of 136



PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)

Penalty for Failure to Deposit Payroll Taxes

Employers are required to withhold payroll taxes and send them to EDD. Any person or employer who fails to do this, even
by mistake, can be charged with a misdemeanor. If convicted, the person or employer can be fined up to $1,000 or
sentenced to jail for up to one year, or both, at the discretion of the court.

Filing an Informal Report

If you are not able to locate a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon by the due date, use the form available on EDD’s
Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de88all.pdf and then request replacement coupons by contacting the
Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. Do not use DE 88 coupons from another business as the account
information is embedded in the scanline at the bottom of the coupon, and that account may be credited with your deposit.
This may result in penalty and interest being established on your account.

If a DE 88 coupon cannot be obtained prior to the delinquency date, file an informal report to avoid penalty and interest
charges. An informal DE 88 should include the following:

Owner name

EDD employer account number

Business name

Business address

Business phone number

Pay date (the date payroll was issued to employees, not the date you prepare the DE 88 form.)
Ul tax (if end of quarter payment)

ETT (if end of quarter payment)

SDI withheld

PIT withheld

Quarter covered (year and quarter that wages were paid)

Deposit schedule (Next Banking Day, semiweekly, monthly, or quarterly)

Sign and mail the informal report with any payment due to:

Employment Development Department
P.O. Box 826276
Sacramento, CA 94230-6276

Correcting Payroll Tax Deposits

The EDD no longer reconciles employer accounts each quarter. Use the following chart to determine when you should
notify EDD of any deposit adjustments:

Reason for Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment Form to Use
Correcting | Overpaid | Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT on a On the next DE 88 (for the same DE 88 (DO NOT
Payroll Tax DE 88 prior to filing your calendar year), regardless of quarter, | ySE A DE 678)
Deposits Annual Reconciliation reduce the amount of taxes due by
(DE 88) Statement (DE 7). the amount of the overpayment. Do

Coupon not show credits on the DE 88.

Overpaid | Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT on a File one Tax and Wage Adjustment DE 678, complete
DE 88 prior to filing your DE 7, | Form (DE 678) for each tax deposit | gections I, II, Ill,

and it is not feasible to offset for which you are requesting a and IV
the overpayment against your refund. NOTE: This is for a refund
next tax deposit. prior to filing your year-end DE 7.

Overpaid | Ul, ETT, or SDI and your DE 7 Do not file a Tax and Wage None
was filed. Adjustment Form (DE 678) if the

DE 7 was filed with correct
information. The overpayment will
be refunded if your account does not
have an outstanding liability. For

DE 7 corrections, refer to “Correcting
a prior DE 7” on page 81.

The Tax and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 678) is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de678.pdf.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
Correcting Payroll Tax Deposits (cont.)

Correcting
Payroll Tax
Deposits
(DE 88)
Coupon
(cont.)

Over-
withheld

PIT and:

e DE 7 was filed.
e Form W-2 was issued to the
employee.

Do not:

e Refund PIT overwithholding to
the employee,

e Change the California PIT
withholding amount shown on
the Form W-2, or

e File a claim for refund with EDD.

The employee will receive a credit for

the PIT overwithholding when filing a

California State income tax return

with the Franchise Tax Board (FTB)

None

Underpaid

Underpaid

Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT prior to
filing your DE 7.

File a DE 88 and pay the amount
due, including penalty and interest.

DE 88 (indicate the
delinquent quarter)

Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT, and
your DE 7 was filed.

Complete a DE 88 and pay the
additional amount due for the quarter,
including penalty and interest, if any,
or when you receive an Employer
Account Statement (DE 2176) in the
mail, pay the balance due.

DE 88 or DE 2176

Allocated the wrong amounts to specific
funds on a DE 88.

Do not file a correction form; EDD
will make the necessary adjustments
at the end of the year when your

DE 7 is filed.

None

When written permission is obtained from an employee, you are authorized to adjust any overwithholding or
underwithholding of California PIT from the employee, if the adjustment is made within the same calendar year and before
IRS Form W-2 is issued. You should obtain a receipt from the employee whenever a credit adjustment or repayment of
overwithheld tax is made.

Overwithheld California PIT must be credited or refunded to your employee before you can take a credit or receive a
refund from EDD. This overpayment can be adjusted in one of the following ways:

e If you have issued an IRS Form W-2 to the employee, you cannot adjust any overwithholding of PIT reported. The
employee will receive credit for any overwithholding when he/she files a California State income tax return with FTB.

e If you have issued IRS Form W-2 showing the wrong amount, you must issue an IRS Corrected Wage and Tax
Statement (Form W-2c) to the employee. Do not send the State copy of the IRS Form W-2c to EDD or FTB.

NOTE: A claim for credit or refund must be filed within three years of the delinquent date for the quarter being adjusted.
When adjusting a tax deposit prior to filing your DE 7, file a separate DE 678 for each tax deposit being adjusted.

Reason for Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment Form to Use
Correcting | Overpaid Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or On your next EFT transaction for | EFT transaction*
Payroll Tax PIT via Electronic the same calendar year,
Deposits Funds Transfer (EFT) | regardless of quarter, reduce the
Made by prior to filing your amount of taxes due by the
Electronic DE 7. amount of the overpayment. Do
Funds not show the credit on the EFT
Transfer transaction.
(EFT)
Underpaid Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or Initiate two separate EFT EFT transaction*
PIT via EFT prior to transactions, one for the
filing your DE 7. delinquent fund(s) and another for
the calculated penalty and interest
amount. Indicate the delinquent
quarter.

*Mandatory EFT filers are subject to noncompliance penalty if an SDI/PIT deposit is paid by check with a DE 88 coupon.
NOTE: If you overpaid or underpaid Ul, ETT, SDI, or PIT after filing your DE 7, refer to the tables on Correcting Payroll

Tax Deposits on pages 77 and 78.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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QUARTERLY WAGE AND WITHHOLDING REPORT (DE 6)

Overview

Purpose: Employers use the Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6) to report employee wages subject to
Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and to report Personal
Income Tax (PIT) withheld and PIT wages.

How to Obtain: The DE 6 is mailed to you in March, June, September, and December each year. You may also file
online using EDD’s e-Services at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov. To obtain a DE 6, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de6.pdf or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

When Due: January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1 each year (refer to the table below for last timely filing dates). You
must file a DE 6 each quarter even if you paid no wages during the quarter.

Refer to sample DE 6 form on page 80.
2010 Due Dates for the Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent If Not Filed By
January, February, March April 1, 2010 April 30, 2010
April, May, June July 1, 2010 August 2, 2010
July, August, September October 1, 2010 November 1, 2010
October, November, December January 1, 2011 January 31, 2011

NOTE:

e As an active employer, you must file a DE 6 even if you paid no wages during the quarter. If you have no
payroll during a quarter, you are still considered an employer and are required to sign and file a DE 6. Please enter
“0” (zero) in each box in Item A. Check Box “C,” sign and date the report, and send it to EDD.

o Wages are reported when they are paid to the employee, not when the employee earns the wages. Because Ul and
SDI benefits are based on the highest quarter of wages, it is important that wages are reported for the correct
quarter. If you have any questions on reporting your employees’ wages, please contact the Taxpayer Assistance
Center at (888) 745-3886.

e A wage item penalty of $10 per employee will be charged for late reporting or unreported employee wages.

e If your reports are filed late or you do not make timely payments, you will receive an Employer Account Statement
(DE 2176) that provides details of the delinquent balance due. If the delinquency is not paid, a tax lien may be issued.
If a tax lien is issued, it will be recorded at the county recorder’s office. Tax lien information is a matter of public
record after it is recorded.

e Employers with 250 or more employees must file magnetically or electronically. For more information, please refer to
page 88.

e Only check Box B if you have been approved by EDD to report and pay Disability Insurance (DI) as a Voluntary Plan
employer (DI provided to employees through a private plan rather than the State’s plan).

e To prevent data capture errors, please use black ink when you type or print. If typing, use font size 12 in upper case
letters. If printing, stay within the boxes provided on the form. Include cents — do not round to the nearest dollar or
use dashes, commas, slashes, or dollar signs.

e Before submitting your DE 6, make sure the following are correct: the quarter you are reporting, your employer
account number, the names of your employees, and their social security numbers.

Correcting a Prior DE 6

If you have made an error on a DE 6, obtain the Instructions for Completing the Tax and Wage Adjustment Form

(DE 678-1) and Tax and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 678) to correct the error. To obtain these forms, access EDD’s
Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm, call our automated Fax on Demand
system at (877) 547-4503, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. If outside U.S. or Canada, call
(916) 464-3502.

NOTE: DE 6 information continues on page 81.
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

°
EDDHEES o QUARTERLYWAGE ARG ATREEY A 0
pagenumber_of K:umsm?:; fgr;; nt:—; report even if you had no payroll. If you had no payroll, complete 000601 98 . -
NOY POSTMARKED 10 2
vorn - 06/30/2010 oue 07/01/2010 On REGEIVED BY
00000000
EMPLOYER CITY STORE ‘DO NOT ALT
123 MAIN STREET e T s W

EFFECTIVE DATE
Mo. Day yr. wiC

ANYTOWN, CA 12345

A. EMPLOYEES full-time and part-time who worked during
or received pay subject to Ul for the payroll period which
includes the 12th of the month.

1st Mo, 2nd Mo. 3rd Mo.
2 2 2
a gg:g“n s W;Q'Qg?;;,g'gmgg’gg,ﬁgp‘gmg i‘ggﬁm@m e page C.. NOPAYROLL D.  OUT OF BUSINESS/FINAL REPORT
E. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER F. EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST NAME) (M.L) (LAST NAME) pate
000000000 MARY J PAYNE
G. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES H. PITWAGES o 1. PIT WITHHELD
25000.00 25000.00 345.10
E. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 5F.OEMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST NAME) (ML) (LASTSNAME) )
000000000 CINDY VvV SMITH
G. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES ‘  H. PITWAGES " ) 1._PIT WITHHELD
1000.00 - 1000.00 0.00
E. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER F. EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST NAME) (M) (LAST NAME)
G. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES H. PIT WAGES I PIT WITHHELD
E. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER £, EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST NAME) ‘ (M.L) (LAST NAME)
G. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES H. PIT WAGES . PIT WITHHELD
E. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER F. EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST NAME) {M.1) (LAST NAME)
G. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES H. PIT WAGES 1. PIT WITHHELD
E. SOCI;\L SECURITY NUMBER F. EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST NAME) (M.L) (LAST NAME)
G. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES H. PIT WAGES I PITWITHHELD
E. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER F. EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST NAME) (ML) (LAST NAME)
G. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES H. PIT WAGES . PIT WITHHELD
J. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES THIS PAGE K. TOTAL PIT WAGES THIS PAGE : L. TOTAL PIT WITHHELD THIS PAGE )
26000.00 ~26000.00 | 34510
M. GRAND TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES N. GRAND TOTAL PIT WAGES O. GRAND TOTAL PIT WITHHELD

P 1 declare that the information hetein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Preparer’
o WY >»~M Tite OWNER Phone (123) _555-7899 oate___ 07/1412010

p— (Owner, Accountant, Preparer, etc.)
DE 6 Rev. 5 (1-08) (INTERNET) MAIL TO: State of California / Employment Development Department / P.O. Box 826288 / Sacramento, CA 94230-6288
[ Page 1 of 2 . Ccu
Fast, Easy, and Convenient!
K Visit EDD's Web site at www.edd.ca.gov
www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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QUARTERLY WAGE AND WITHHOLDING REPORT (DE 6) (cont.)

Filing an Informal DE 6 Report
If you are not able to obtain a DE 6 or file at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov prior to the delinquency date, file an
informal report to avoid penalty and interest charges. Your informal DE 6 should include the following information:

e Owner name
e EDD employer account number
e Business name
e Business address
e Business phone number
e Payroll quarter
¢ Mid-month employment (the number of full-time and part-time employees who worked during, or received pay for the
payroll period which includes the 12" day of the month.)
¢ Individual employee’s:
- Social security number
- Full name (for example, Jane D. Jones)
- Total subject wages
- PIT wages
- PIT withheld
e Subtotals per page (should contain no more than 25 employees and use a font size 12 or larger). If the TOTAL report
exceeds 250 employees, you must file magnetically or electronically (refer to page 88)
e Grand total Subject Wages, Grand Total PIT Wages, and Grand Total PIT Withheld.

Sign and mail the informal report to:
Employment Development Department

P.O. Box 826288
Sacramento, CA 94230-6288

ANNUAL RECONCILIATION STATEMENT (DE 7)

Overview

Purpose: Each year, you are required to complete an Annual Reconciliation Statement (DE 7). It is used to reconcile your
payroll tax payments and the total subject wages you reported for the year.

How to Obtain: A DE 7 is mailed to you in December each year. To obtain a DE 7, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de7.pdf or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. If outside U.S. or
Canada, call (916) 464-3502.

When Due: Your 2010 DE 7 must be postmarked by January 31, 2011, to be timely.

For assistance completing your DE 7, please contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. If outside U.S. or
Canada, call (916) 464-3502.

Year-End Payment Due: If “Line J” on your DE 7 shows payroll taxes due, prepare a DE 88 and include the correct
payment quarter. Send the DE 88 with the amount due to EDD using the preprinted DE 88 envelope. Your DE 88 and
payment must be mailed in a separate envelope from your DE 7.

NOTE: Mandatory Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) filers must remit all SDI and PIT deposits by EFT.

Correcting a Prior DE 7

If you have made an error on a DE 7, obtain the Instructions for Completing the Tax and Wage Adjustment Form

(DE 678-l) and Tax and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 678) to correct the error. To obtain these forms, access EDD’s Web
site at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm, call our automated Fax on Demand system at
(877) 547-4503, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886, outside U.S. or Canada call

(916) 464-3502.

NOTE: Sample forms were completed using 2009 rates. Refer to inside cover for 2010 rates.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

. Empl t
ED Development ANNUAL
2P Department RECONCILIATION STATEMENT
State of California @
PLEASE TYPE THIS FORM - DO NOT ALTER PREPRINTED INFORMATION 00070104
YEAR
DELINQUENT IF
NOT POSTMARKED
YEARENDED __12/31/10 pue _ 01/01/11 OR RECEIVED BY 01/31/2011 2010
EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO.
000-0000-0

EMPLOYER CITY STORE
123 MAIN STREET
ANYTOWN, CA 12345

EFFECTIVE | l |
DATE
FEIN 1
A. NO WAGES PAID THIS YEAR ]
CHECK
ADDITIONAL 1 I 1 BOX IF: B. OUT OF BUSINESS I:I
FEINS Date
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PAID THIS CALENDAR YEAR > r 86,000.00 1
UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (Ul)  (Total Employee Wages up to per employee per calendar year)
D1) Ul % (D2) Ul TAXABLE WAGES (D3) Ul CONTRIBUTIONS
TIMES l 14,000;00 = 476:00 |
E EMPLOYMENT TRAINING TAX (ETT)
E1)ETT % (E2) ETT CONTRIBUTIONS
TIMES Ul Taxable Wages (D2) = 1 4;00 ]
F. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI)  (Total Employee Wages up to $ per employee per calendar year)

F1)SDI % F2) SDI TAXABLE WAGES F3) SDI EMPLOYEE CONTRIBUTIONS WITHHELD
v V
s coon - sasion

PIT WITHHELD PER FORMS W-2 AND/OR 1099R

G. CALIFORNIA PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) WITHHELD >» 1,263.24

H. SUBTOTAL (Add ltems D3, E2, F3, and G) > I 2,699,24

I.  LESS: CONTRIBUTIONS AND WITHHOLDINGS PAID FOR THE YEAR ‘ : 1
(DO NOT INCLUDE PENALTY AND INTEREST PAYMENTS) > 2,699.24

J. TOTAL TAXES DUE OR OVERPAID (ltem H minus ltem I) > ‘ 0:00 1

If amount due, prepare a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88), include the correct payment quarter, and mail to: Employment Development Department, P.O. Box 826276, Sacramento, CA 94230-6276.
Mailing payments with DE 7 delays payment processing and may result in erroneous penalty and interest charges. Mandatory EFT filers must remit all SOVPIT deposits by EFT to avoid a
noncompliance penalty.

K. Be sure to sign this declaration: I declare that the information herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Signature ;3 ' [P__..A_/_& Title OWNER Phone (123) 555-7899 Date  (01/30/11
(Owner, Accountant, Preparer, etc.)

SIGN AND MAIL TO: State of California / Employment Development Department / P.O. Box 826286 / Sacramento CA 94230-6286
DE 7 Rev. 5 (7-08) (INTERNET) Page 1 0of 2 cu

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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ANNUAL RECONCILIATION STATEMENT (DE 7) (cont.)

Filing an Informal DE 7 Statement

If you are not able to obtain a DE 7 prior to the delinquency date, file an informal report to avoid penalty and interest

charges. Your informal DE 7 should include the following:

¢ Owner name
e EDD employer account number
e Business name
o Business address
e Business phone number
e Payroll year
o The following “totals” for 2010:
- Subject wages
- UI/ETT taxable wages
- Ultax
- ETT
- SDlI taxable wages
- SDI withheld
- PIT withheld
- Tax liability
- Less amounts paid
- Balance due

Sign the informal report and mail to:

Employment Development Department
P.O. Box 826286
Sacramento, CA 94230-6286

When you file your tax reports and pay on time, you will:
¢ Avoid penalty charges

e Ensure the payment of Ul, SDI and PFL benefits

e Provide funds for employment training programs

NOTE: If an employer fails to send a completed DE 7 to EDD, a penalty of $1,000 or 5 percent of total annual taxes,

whichever is less, may be assessed.

Subscribe to EDD’s free e-mail subscription services
www.edd.ca.gov/about_EDD/Get_Email_Notices.htm

www.edd.ca.gov
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FEDERAL FORMS W-2 AND 1099

Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2)

As an employer, you are required to prepare a federal Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) for each of your employees.
For 2010, you must provide your employees with Form W-2 by January 31, 2011.* Prepare the Form W-2 on the
federal/state four-part paper form.

If you need information on Form W-2 reporting requirements, refer to the IRS Employer’s Tax Guide (Publication 15,
Circular E). For federal instructions on completing Form W-2, refer to the IRS publication 2010 Instructions for Forms W-2
and W-3. To obtain these publications, access IRS’ Web site at www.irs.gov or call IRS at (800) 829-3676.

In addition to the federal information required, you must include California Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages and PIT and
State Disability Insurance (SDI) withheld in the following Form W-2 boxes:

FORM W-2

Box Enter

Box 16 (State wages, tips, etc.) | California PIT wages

Box 17 (State income tax) California PIT withheld

Box 19 (Local income tax) The abbreviation “CASDI” and SDI withheld
(For additional information, refer to “NOTE”
below.)

NOTE:

e If Box 19 has local taxes, use “Box 14-Other.” If no boxes are available, you are required to provide your employees

with a separate written statement containing:

- Your business or entity name, address, and federal and EDD employer numbers.

- The employee’s name, address, and social security number.

- The amount of disability insurance actually withheld and/or paid directly by you under the State plan or the
amount actually withheld under a voluntary plan.

If the wages were not subject for SDI, show “CASDI 0” (zero).

e If you pay SDI taxes without withholding SDI from the employee’s wages, you should show the SDI taxes as if
withheld and increase the amount you report according to the formula as shown on the Information Sheet: Social
Security/Medicare/SDI Taxes Paid by an Employer (DE 231Q). To obtain a DE 231Q, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf, call our automated Fax on Demand system at (877) 547-4503, or
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

e If you are covered under an authorized Voluntary DI Plan for disability insurance, enter “VPDI” and the VPDI amount
actually withheld.

Generally, the amount reported as California PIT wages on Form W-2 (Box 16, State wages) is the same as the federal
wages (Box 1). However, the amounts may differ based on:

e Federal and California differences in definition of:
- Employee (refer to page 16).
- Taxable wages (refer to page 26).
e Residency of the employee (refer to page 15).
o If the employee performs services in more than one state.

For additional information on federal and California differences, please contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
(888) 745-3886. If the employee performs services in more than one state, contact the other state(s) for guidance on
how to complete the Form W-2 for that state.

If you discover an error on a previously issued Form W-2, refer to the IRS publication Instructions for
Forms W-2¢ and W-3c for instructions on completing an IRS Corrected Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2c).

*Employers failing to provide a Form W-2 to each employee, or who furnish a false or fraudulent statement, are subject to a penalty of
fifty dollars ($50) for each such failure as imposed under Section 13052 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC).
Employers may also be subject to an additional penalty for failure to file informational returns (Form W-2 or a Form 1099-MISC) to
misclassified employees as provided under Section 13052.5 of the CUIC. The amount of the penalty is determined based upon the
unreported remuneration for personal services multiplied by the maximum rate (9.55%) as provided under Section 17041 of the
Revenue and Taxation Code. Contact EDD’s Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886 for assistance.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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FEDERAL FORMS W-2 AND 1099 (cont.)

Do not send the “State” copy of Form W-2 and Form W-2c to the State of California (EDD or FTB). The W-2 forms are not
filed with the State because you should already be reporting wage and withholding information to EDD on the Quarterly
Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6). However, you must continue to send Forms W-2 and W-2c¢ to your employees and
the Social Security Administration.

Information Return (Form 1099)

Individuals, partnerships, corporations, or other organizations engaged in a trade or business in California may have a
requirement to report independent contractor payments made in the course of their business. For 2010, you must provide
a statement, containing the information furnished to IRS and FTB, to each independent contractor by January 31, 2011.*
If you do not use the official IRS Form 1099 to furnish the statement to recipients, refer to IRS Publication 1179 for
specific rules for substitute statements.

How To File

FTB recommends that you file under the IRS Combined Federal/State Filing Program. When you are approved and use
the IRS Combined Federal/State Filing Program, you only have to file once. The IRS will forward your California returns to
FTB. The following forms may be filed under this program: 1099-DIV, 1099-G, 1099-INT, 1099-MISC, 1099-0ID,
1099-PATR, 1099-R, and 5498. For information on the IRS Combined Federal/State Filing Program, call (866)455-7438.

If you are not participating in the Combined Filing Program and file 250 or more information returns of one type, you must
file directly with FTB electronically.

If you file paper information returns with the IRS, do not send a paper copy to FTB. The IRS will forward the information
to FTB. This works for paper filing only. If you file less than 250 returns electronically, on tape cartridge, diskette, or CD
with the IRS, you must use the same method to file with FTB.

Generally, FTB’s reporting requirements are the same as IRS reporting requirements. For specific differences, go to
www.ftb.ca.gov and search for “California Supplemental Fields.”

Publications and Contact Information

To obtain Form 1099 reporting requirements and instructions, refer to the IRS Publication 1220 and IRS General
Instructions for Forms 1099, 1098, 5498, and W-2G on the IRS Web site at www.irs.gov or call (800) 829-3676. For
information on completing each form, refer to the individual instructions available for each information return type.

NOTE: California PIT withheld from pension, annuity, and other deferred income, should be reported on IRS
Form 1099-R Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance
Contracts, etc. For instructions on completing Form 1099-R, refer to IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-R and
5498. To obtain instructions, access IRS’ Web site at www.irs.gov or call IRS (800) 829-3676.

For More Information, Contact:

IRS

(866) 455-7438
www.irs.gov
mccirp@irs.gov

FTB

(916) 845-6304
www.ftb.ca.gov
IRPhelp @ftb.ca.gov

*Failure to provide an Informational Return (Form 1099) to each independent contractor may be subject to a penalty as imposed under
Section 13052.5 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code or Section 19175 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. The amount of
the penalty is determined based upon the unreported remuneration for personal services multiplied by the maximum rate (9.55%) as
provided under Section 17041 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. Contact EDD’s Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886 for
assistance.

NOTE: As of January 1, 2008, all employers are required to notify all of their employees of the federal Earned

Income Tax Credit. (Please refer to page 92 for details.)

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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FILING OPTIONS

The EDD offers a range of e-Services to file payroll tax reports and pay tax deposits. This will eliminate the need for mailing
reports or sending a deposit coupon and paper check. In addition, EDD offers filing by magnetic media. The following
sections describe your filing options:

e-Services features:

= Fast, easy, and secure ways to handle your payroll taxes.

= Easy-to-use, step-by-step instructions.

= Simple one time online registration to use EDD’s e-Services programs.
=  Ability to view and edit your reports prior to submission.

= |mmediate confirmation of successful filing.

= Ability to view and print reports previously submitted online.

= Retains a filing history of reports filed online.

= Change address or inactivate account.

= Online capability to change security code and/or password.

@ — File

The e-File program allows you to key in and submit the following EDD tax and wage forms through EDD’s secure Web
site. The programs use a step-by-step approach, making reporting easier and faster than ever before. You can also get
online help and answers to questions for completing your reports and submitting them online.

Employment Development Départment

e Quarterly Wage and Withholding Reports (DE 6)*
e Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34)
e Report of Independent Contractor(s) (DE 542)
*This form is used for employers with less than 250 employees.

For more information regarding our e-File program, visit our Web site at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov, e-mail us at
ecom@edd.ca.gov, or call e-Services Customer Service at (800) 796-3524.

FEDERAL/STATE EMPLOYMENT TAXES (FSET)

Several states, the Internal Revenue Service, and some software vendors developed FSET to provide a standardized method
for reporting federal and state employment tax and wage reports in eXtensible Markup Language (XML). FSET allows you to
transmit your Quarterly Wage and Withholding Reports (DE 6) and Annual Reconciliation Statement (DE 7) as a file attachment
over the Internet using XML.

FSET is open to:

. Employers who want to either develop their own software, or use the services of a participating payroll service provider or
transmitter.

o Software developers, transmitters, and payroll service providers that act as reporting agents.

Employers who are required to file their federal wage reports magnetically or electronically (those with 250 or more employees)
must also file their California Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6) magnetically or electronically. Filing with FSET
fulfills this requirement. Even if you have less than 250 employees, filing electronically with FSET or via the Internet is quick,
easy, secure, and convenient.

For more information on the FSET program, visit our Web site at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov, e-mail us at
FSET@edd.ca.gov, or call the FSET Customer Service office at (866) 592-1651.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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V.
- Pay
ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFER

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) is an electronic method for remitting all of your Unemployment Insurance (Ul),
Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and Personal Income Tax (PIT) payments. Funds are
transferred from your bank account (with payment information) to the State’s account, eliminating the need to send a
Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon and paper check. The following is a brief overview of the EFT program:

o Mandatory EFT — Each year, your account is reviewed to determine if you meet the requirements for mandatory EFT
filing. If your average (per payment) deposit for SDI and PIT is $20,000 or more for the prior State Fiscal Year (July 1
to June 30), you are required to pay all SDI and PIT deposits by EFT during the next calendar year, regardless of the
dollar amount. First-time, mandatory EFT filers are notified of their status by October 31, prior to the year of
mandatory EFT participation. Employers who meet the requirement in the preceding year do not receive another
notice. Mandatory EFT participants are subject to a 10 percent noncompliance penalty if an SDI and PIT deposit is
paid by check with a DE 88 coupon or any method other than EFT. The Ul and ETT payments are not subject to the
noncompliance penalty.

e Voluntary EFT Filing — If you do not meet the mandatory EFT requirement, we still encourage you to file by EFT on a
voluntary basis.

e EFT Payment Methods — There are two Automated Clearing House (ACH) payment methods, ACH Debit and ACH
Credit.

ACH Debit Method - There are several ACH Debit reporting options available:
% Online

o Web Payer — Employers who are registered in EDD’s EFT program can report payments online at the
State data collector, Link2Gov - a Metavante Company at www.paycalifornia.com/edd.

o Just Pay It— A secure, easy, and convenient payment option that allows employers who are not
registered in EDD’s EFT program to make DE 88 payments online using their savings or checking bank
account. There are no processing fees for Just Pay It. To make a payment go to Link2Gov — Metavante
Company’s Just Pay It at www.paycalifornia.com/edd.

o Bulk Filer Solution — Payroll agents or payroll services who initiate EFT payments on behalf of multiple
taxpayers can go to Link2Gov — a Metavante Company’s Bulk Filer Solution at
www.paycalifornia.com/edd/bulkfiler. In order to use this Web interface agents must register with
Link2Gov — a Metavante Company and create their own unique Bulk Filer ID to be used when sending
their payment transactions. Each of their clients must be registered as an employer with EDD, be
assigned an employer account number, and be enrolled in the EFT ACH Debit Program before a
payment will be accepted. For more Bulk Filer information, refer to the Electronic Funds Transfer Bulk
Filer Setup Guide (EFT-2) or contact the EFT Helpline at (916) 654-9130.

« Telephone — Employers who are registered in EDD’s EFT program can report payments by telephone at
(800) 554-7500.

ACH Credit Method — Employers report their payments through their bank or a bank program that their bank offers,
usually by personal computer or telephone.

e« Timeliness — When your tax payment is remitted electronically, the settlement date is used to determine timeliness.
The settlement date is different than the due date for DE 88 coupons. For additional information on timely settlement
dates, Refer to pages 75-76.

For more information or to obtain a DE 27 or Electronic Funds Transfer Authorization Agreement (DE 26), access EDD’s
Web site at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov or contact the EFT Unit at (916) 654-9130.

EZPAY

The EZPAY program allows you to use a major credit card to pay your Payroll Tax Deposits (DE 88s), either on the
Internet or by touch-tone telephone, eliminating the need to send a DE 88 coupon and a check or money order. EZPAY
accepts American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa. There is a 2.5 percent (.025) convenience fee of the payment
amount to use this service. The EZPAY program is not considered an Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) method of
payment, so it does not satisfy the EFT mandatory requirement. For more information regarding the EZPAY program, visit
our Web site at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. If outside

U.S. or Canada, call (916) 464-3502.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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@ — Register

The EZREG program is a secure Web site that allows new employers to register online with EDD. The newly registered
employer will receive their EDD employer account number and tax rate information immediately upon successful
registration. Registered employers can also change their address or inactivate their account using EZREG. For more
information regarding the EZREG Internet application, go to EDD’s e-Services on our Web site at
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. If outside U.S. or Canada,
call (916) 464-3502.

EZREG

ADDITIONAL FILING OPTIONS

MAGNETIC MEDIA REPORTING

Employers who are required to file their federal wage reports using magnetic media or electronically (employers with
250 or more employees) must also file their California Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6) magnetically or
electronically. Employers who fail to file their report of wages on magnetic media or electronically after being notified by
EDD that they are required to use magnetic media or electronically will be assessed a penalty of $10 for each wage item
not reported on magnetic media or electronically.

Employers unable to comply with this requirement may request a waiver by submitting a Waiver Request From Filing
Quarterly Wage Report(s) on Magnetic Media (DE 3086M) available on EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3086m.pdf. The waiver request must be filed within 90 days of becoming subject to the
magnetic media or electronic filing requirement. Employers will be notified when the waiver has been approved or denied.
Approved waivers are valid for six months, or longer at EDD’s discretion. Employers who receive a waiver are required to
file paper DE 6 reports.

e The Magnetic Media Reporting Guide for Quarterly Wage and Withholding Reporting Program (DE 8300) is available
on EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de8300.pdf.

The EDD also allows tax preparers and payroll services to file their clients’ Payroll Tax Deposits (DE 88) and Annual
Reconciliation Statements (DE 7) on magnetic media. Magnetic media reporting is an alternative to filing on paper, but,
like paper forms, it must be filed timely. Before a service bureau can begin reporting its clients’ Payroll Tax Deposits (DE
88) or Annual Reconciliation Statements (DE 7) on magnetic media to EDD, a test file must be submitted and evaluated
prior to submitting live data.

For further information, or to sign up for magnetic media reporting, contact:

Employment Development Department
Magnetic Media Coordinator, MIC 15
P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

(916) 654-6845
Fax: (916) 654-0302

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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CHANGE OF STATUS

What does “change of status” mean?
A change of status occurs when you:

e Purchase or sell a business.

Change business ownership.

Change your business name.

Change your mailing address.

No longer have employees.

Close your business.

O

ACTION REQUIRED: Notify EDD of any change to your business status by completing a Change of Employer
Account Information (DE 24) available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de24.pdf. Registered employers may
change addresses and/or inactivate their account using EDD’s e-Services at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

PURCHASE, SELL, TRANSFER, OR CHANGE OWNERSHIP

Registered employers must report any change in business status (for example: any change in business name or legal
entity, such as a change from partnership or limited liability company to corporation). Report changes in writing by
completing a DE 24 and mailing it to:

Employment Development Department
Account Services Group, MIC 28

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Please be sure to include your EDD employer account number, your name, and your telephone number on all
correspondence you send to EDD.

Unlike IRS, EDD does not always issue a new employer account number when there is a change in business ownership.
When there is a change in the type of ownership but one or more owners of the business remain, the new entity normally
keeps the same EDD employer account number and continues to make payroll tax deposits and file reports as though it
was the same ownership for the entire year. For additional information, contact our Taxpayer Assistance Center at

(888) 745-3886. If outside U.S. or Canada, call (916) 464-3502.

Purchase a Business

If you purchase a business with employees (or a business that previously had employees), you may be held liable for the
previous owner’s EDD liability if a Certificate of Release of Buyer (DE 2220) is not obtained. To request a DE 2220,
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. If outside U.S. or Canada, call (916) 464-3502.

Until a DE 2220 is issued, you (the buyer) must hold in escrow an amount sufficient to cover all amounts the seller owes to
EDD, up to the purchase price of the business. The DE 2220 is issued after the seller pays all amounts owed to EDD.
Payment must be made by cash, cashier's check, certified check, escrow check, or money order payable to EDD.

For your protection, escrow funds should not be disbursed until the DE 2220 has been issued. For additional information,
obtain the Requirements for Obtaining Certificate of Release of Buyer When a Business Is Sold (DE 3409A) by accessing
EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3409a.pdf, calling our automated Fax on Demand system at

(877) 547-4503, or contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. If outside U.S. or Canada, call

(916) 464-3502.

NOTE: If immediately after the acquisition of the business you employ any of the former owner’s workers, the
wages paid to these employees during the same calendar year are considered as having been paid by you.
Therefore, wages paid by the former owner in the current calendar year are applied to the taxable wage
limits for Unemployment Insurance, Employment Training Tax, and State Disability Insurance.

REMEMBER: Notify EDD in writing of any change of status to your business.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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WHAT IS A SUCCESSOR EMPLOYER?

A successor employer is an employer who has acquired all or part of another employer’s (predecessor) business and
continues to operate the business without substantial reduction of personnel resulting from the acquisition. The successor
employer may receive all or part of the predecessor’s Ul reserve account balance by applying for a reserve account
transfer. The transfer may qualify the successor for a lower Ul tax rate. The successor employer must still register with
EDD if they do not already have an existing EDD employer account number.

For more information on reserve account transfers, refer to page 99 or contact our Rate Management Group at
(916) 653-7795.

NOTE: Acquiring all or part of the stock in a corporation does not constitute a new employing unit. The corporation
retains the same EDD employer account number.

BUSINESS NAME CHANGE

To report a change in business name, corporation name, personal name (i.e., marriage), or change in ownership of the
business, use a Change of Employer Account Information (DE 24). To obtain a DE 24, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de24.pdf, call our automated Fax on Demand system at (877) 547-4503, or contact the
Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

MAILING ADDRESS CHANGE

To change your mailing address, please complete the change of address form provided in the Payroll Tax Deposit

(DE 88) coupon booklet or the Instructions for Preparing the DE 88/DE 88ALL Payroll Tax Deposit Coupon (DE 88ALL-I).
You may also use a Change of Employer Account Information (DE 24). To obtain a DE 24, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de24.pdf, call our automated Fax on Demand system at (877) 547-4503, or contact the
Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. Registered employers may change addresses using EDD’s

e-Services at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

Do not make any changes to the preprinted data on the front of the DE 88, Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report
(DE 6), or Annual Reconciliation Statement (DE 7).

NO LONGER HAVE EMPLOYEES

If you no longer have employees and will not be reporting wages in any future quarter, you must send a final DE 88 with
payment, DE 6, and DE 7. For EDD to close your employer account, you must complete Box “D” on the DE 6 and Box “B”
on the DE 7. Employers may inactivate their account using EDD’s e-Services at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

If you currently do not have employees but may have employees in future quarters, you are still required to file your DE 6
showing “0” (zero) payroll or EDD may presume you have employees and assess your account.

CLOSE YOUR BUSINESS

If you close your business, you are required to file a DE 88 with payment, a DE 6, and DE 7 within 10 days of quitting
business, regardless of the normal due dates. For EDD to close your employer account, you must complete Box “D” on
the DE 6 and Box “B” on the DE 7. Employers may inactivate their account using EDD’s e-Services at
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

NOTE: Please mail each form (DE 88 with payment, DE 6, and DE 7) separately to the preprinted address shown on the
form.

IT IS AGAINST THE LAW

Changing your business ownership solely for the purpose of obtaining an employer account with a lower Ul
contribution rate is not allowed. California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) Section 1052 provides that a reserve
account transfer will not apply to any acquisition, which is determined to have been made for the purpose of obtaining a
more favorable Ul contribution rate. EDD is aggressively pursuing businesses practicing Ul rate manipulation. To read
more about Ul rate manipulation, please refer to page 101.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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REQUIRED NOTICES AND PAMPHLETS

Posting Requirements

Once you are registered with EDD, you will receive a notice to post, which informs your employees of their rights under
the Unemployment Insurance (Ul), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and Paid Family Leave (PFL) programs. This notice
must be posted in a prominent location that is easily seen by your employees. You will receive the following notice if you
are subject to:

e Ul SDI, and PFL - Notice to Employees (DE 1857A).
e Ul only - Notice to Employees - Unemployment Insurance Benefits (DE 1857D).
e SDI and PFL only - Notice to Employees (DE 1858).

Notices and Pamphlets
Provide a copy of the following notice and pamphlets to each of your employees when appropriate:

e Notice to Employees (DE 35) informs employees that their employer is required to send copies of Employee’s
Withholding Allowance Certificate (Form W-4 [federal] or DE 4 [state]) to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) if the
certificate meets certain conditions. Please refer to “Marital Status, Withholding Allowances, and Exemptions (Form
W-4 and DE 4)” on page 12 for further information.

e The following pamphlets explain your employees’ benefit rights:

- For Your Benefit - California’s Programs for the Unemployed (DE 2320) — Provides information on Ul, DI, PFL,
and Workforce Service benefits available to the employee.

- State Disability Insurance Provisions (DE 2515) — This brochure outlines the SDI program.

- Paid Family Leave (DE 2511) — This brochure outlines the Paid Family Leave insurance program.

NOTE: To obtain the DE 2511, access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2511.pdf. To obtain the
other publications listed above, access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Forms. For additional information on
your posting requirements, visit the California Tax Service Center Web site at www.taxes.ca.gov. Voluntary
Disability Insurance (DI) Plan insurers have similar literature. Voluntary DI Plan employers must also supply claim
forms to their employees. For further information on Voluntary DI Plans, refer to page 111.

¢ Notice required by the Earned Income Tax Credit Information Act (refer to page 92 for details).
¢ Notice to Employee as to Change in Relationship - Written notice must be given immediately to employees of their
discharge, layoff, leave of absence, or change in employment status.

The following sample meets the minimum requirements:

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE AS TO CHANGE IN RELATIONSHIP
(Issued pursuant to provisions of Section 1089
of the California Unemployment Insurance Code.)

Name SSN#
1. You were/will be laid off/discharged on 20
(date)
2. You were/will be on leave of absence starting 20
(date)
3. On your employment status changed/will change as follows:
(date)

(Name of Employer)

(By)

You may wish to prepare the employee notice in duplicate and keep a copy for your files. Notices prepared by the
employer must include the information shown on the Notice to Employee as to Change in Relationship (above).

¢ Notice of Plant Closure or Mass Layoff.

ACTION REQUIRED: Post the DE 1857A and provide a DE 35, DE 2320, DE 2511, and DE 2515 to each of your
employees. Provide the Notice to Employee as to Change in Relationship and/or Worker Adjustment and Retraining
Notification (WARN) notice, as applicable.

No written notice is required if it is a voluntary quit, promotion or demotion, change in work assignment or location
(some changes in location require a WARN notice), or if work stopped due to a trade dispute.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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REQUIRED NOTICES AND PAMPHLETS

Earned Income Tax Credit Information Act
Effective January 1, 2008, all employers are required to notify all of their employees of the federal Earned Income Tax
Credit (EITC).

You must provide notification to your employees by either handing it directly to your employee or mailing it to your
employee's last known address. Posting of this information on an employee bulletin board will not satisfy the notification
requirement.

The notification shall include instructions on how to obtain any notices available from the Internal Revenue Service for this
purpose, including, but not limited to, the IRS Notice 797 and Form W-5, or any successor notice or form, or any notice
created by you, as long as it contains substantially the same language as the notice below.

“Based on your annual earnings, you may be eligible to receive the earned income tax credit from the federal
government. The earned income tax credit is a refundable federal income tax credit for low-income working individuals
and families. The earned income tax credit has no effect on certain welfare benefits. In most cases, earned income tax
credit payments will not be used to determine eligibility for Medicaid, supplemental security income, food stamps, low-
income housing or most temporary assistance for needy families payments. Even if you do not owe federal taxes, you
must file a tax return to receive the earned income tax credit. Be sure to fill out the earned income tax credit form in the
federal income tax return booklet. For information regarding your eligibility to receive the earned income tax credit,
including information on how to obtain the IRS Notice 797 or Form W-5, or any other necessary forms and instructions,
contact the Internal Revenue Service at 1-800-829-3676 or through its Web site at www.irs.gov.”

Subscribe to EDD’s free e-mail subscription services
www.edd.ca.gov/about_EDD/Get_Email_Notices.htm
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PLANT CLOSURE OR MASS LAYOFF (WARN)

Federal and California Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification (WARN) legislation requires covered employers to
provide 60 days advance notice of plant closings and mass layoffs. Advance notice provides employees and their families
some transition time to adjust to the prospective loss of employment, to seek and obtain alternative jobs and, if
necessary, to enter skill training or retraining that will allow these employees to successfully compete in the job market.

For the complete notification requirements of the California WARN legislation, carefully review the Labor Code provisions
on the Department of Industrial Relations’ (DIR) Web site at www.dir.ca.gov (click on “California Labor Code,” Part 4,
Chapter 4, Sections 1400-1408).

The table below provides the general provisions of the federal and California WARN legislation.

. California
Subject Federal (Assembly Bill 2957, Koretz)
Covered Applicable only to employers with 100 or | Applicable to a “covered establishment” with 75 or more
Employers more full-time employees who must have | employees full- or part-time. As under the federal WARN
been employed for at least 6 months of Act, employees must have been employed for at least
the 12 months preceding the date of 6 months of the 12 months preceding the date of required
required notice in order to be counted. notice in order to be counted.
(29 USC 2101 and 20 CFR 639.3) (California Labor Code, Section 1400[a] and [h])
Plant Plant closings involving 50 or more Plant closings, layoffs, or relocations of 50 or more
Closings or employees during a 30-day period. employees within a 30-day period regardless of percentage
Layoffs Layoffs within a 30-day period involving of work force. Relocation is defined as a move to a different
Requiring 50 to 499 full-time employees location more than 100 miles away.
Notice constituting at least 33 percent of the (California Labor Code, Section 1400[c] and [d])
full-time workforce at a single site of
employment. Layoffs of 500 or more are
covered regardless of percentage of
workforce.
(29 USC, et seq., 2101 and
20 CFR 639.3)
Legal Enforcement of WARN requirements Suit may be brought in “any court of competent
Jurisdiction | through U.S. District Courts. The court, in | jurisdiction.” The court may award reasonable attorney’s
its discretion, may allow the prevailing fees as part of costs to any prevailing plaintiff. The
party a reasonable attorney’s fee as part | California WARN law is in the Labor Code, and the
of the costs. authority to investigate through the examination of books
(29 USC 2101, et seq.) and records is delegated to the Labor Commissioner.
(California Labor Code, Sections 1404 and 1406)
Employer An employer who violates the WARN A possible civil penalty of $500 a day for each day of
Liability provisions is liable to each employee for | violation. Employees may receive back pay to be paid at

an amount equal to back pay and
benefits for the period of the violation, up
to 60 days, but no more than one-half the
number of days the employee was
employed by the employer.

(29 USC; 2104]a])

employee’s final rate or three-year average rate of
compensation, whichever is higher. In addition, employer is
liable for cost of any medical expenses incurred by
employees that would have been covered under an
employee benefit plan. The employer is liable for period of
violation up to 60 days or one-half the number of days the
employee was employed whichever period is smaller.

(California Labor Code, Section 1403)

www.edd.ca.gov

DE 44 Rev. 36 (1-10) INTERNET)

Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886

Page 93 of 136




PLANT CLOSURE OR MASS LAYOFF (WARN) (cont.)

. California
Subject Federal (Assembly Bill 2957, Koretz)
Notice An employer must provide written notice An employer must give notice 60 days prior to a plant closing,
Requirements | 60 days prior to a plant closing or mass layoff, or relocation. In addition to_ the notifications rgquwed

layoff to all of the following: under the feg!eral WARN Act, notice must also be given to both

e  Employees or their representative. of the following:

o Employment Development e  The Local Workforce Investment Board.
Department o The chief elected official of each city and county
State Dislocated Worker Unit government within which the termination, relocation, or
WARN Act Coordinator, MIC 69 mass layoff occurs.
P.O. Box 826880 (California Labor Code, Section 1401)

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

e The chief elected official of local
government within which such closing
or layoff is to occur.

(29 USC, 2102; 20 CFR 639.6)

Exceptions Regular federal, State, local, and federally California WARN does not apply when the closing or layoff is

and recognized Indian tribal governments are the result of the completion of a particular project or
Exemptions not covered. (29 USC, 2102[a]; undertaking of an employer subject to Wage Orders 11, 12,
20 CFR 639.3) or 16, regulating the Motion Picture Industry, or Construction,
Drilling, Logging, and Mining Industries, and the employees
The following situations are exempt from were hired with the understanding that their employment was
notice: limited to the duration of that project or undertaking. (California

e There is an offer to transfer employee | Labor Code, Section 1400[g])
to a different site within a reasonable

commuting distance. (29 USC, The notice requirements do not apply to employees involved in
2101[b][2]; 20 CFR 639.5) seasonal employment where the employees were hired with

e The closure is due to unforeseeable the understanding that their employment was seasonal and
business circumstances or a natural temporary. (California Labor Code, Section 1400[g][2])
disaster. (29 USC, 2103;
20 CFR 639.9) Notice is not required if a mass layoff, relocation, or plant

e The closing or layoff constitutes a closure is necessitated by a physical calamity or act of war.
strike or constitutes a lockout not (California Labor Code, Section 1401[c])
intended to evade the requirement of
this chapter. (29 USC, 2103[2]) Notice of a relocation or termination is not required where,

under multiple and specific conditions, the employer submits
documents to DIR, and DIR determines that the employer was
actively seeking capital or business, and a WARN notice would
have precluded the employer from obtaining the capital or
business. (California Labor Code, Section 1402.5). This
exception does not apply to notice of a mass layoff as defined
in California Labor Code Section 1400(d). (California Labor
Code, Section 1402.5[d])

The EDD has established local Rapid Response Teams to assist employers and workers during a mass layoff or plant
closure. These teams, facilitated through the One-Stop Career Center System, are a cooperative effort between the Local
Workforce Investment Area (LWIA) and EDD. These teams disseminate information on the adult and dislocated worker
services available under Title | of the Workforce Investment Act and through EDD’s Workforce Service and Ul programs.
If the dislocation is the result of foreign competition or foreign relocation, the dislocated worker may be eligible for
assistance, income support, job search assistance/relocation, and/or training under the Trade Adjustment Assistance
(TAA) programs. For information on TAA, refer to page 113. To find out more about or request Rapid Response services,
contact the LWIA in your area. The LWIA contact information is available on EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Jobs_and_Training/LWIA_Listing.htm.

For more information about California’s WARN requirements or services, contact EDD’s WARN Act coordinator at
(916) 654-7799 Fax Number (916) 654-9586 or the LWIA in your area.

For additional information on the federal WARN Act access DOL’s Web site at
www.dol.gov/compliance/laws/comp-warn.htm.
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U.S. GOVERNMENT CONTRACTOR JOB LISTING REQUIREMENTS

Employers with U.S. Government contracts or subcontracts of $100,000 or more are required to list job openings with the
state employment service system or with America’s Job Central’s Web site at www.jobcentral.com. In California,
employers must list job openings with EDD’s CalJOBS® at www.caljobs.ca.gov. Furthermore, employers are required to
take affirmative action to employ, and advance in employment, qualified disabled veterans, other protected veterans,
Armed Forces service medal veterans, and recently separated veterans.

All federal contractors who hold a contract or subcontract for $50,000 or more and have at least 50 employees are further
required to prepare and maintain an affirmative action program at each establishment that sets forth the policies and
practices in hiring and promoting qualified disabled veterans, other protected veterans, Armed Forces service medal
veterans, and recently separated veterans. Additionally, all federal contractors and subcontractors must report the total
number of all current employees in each job category and at each hiring location in their annual VETS-100 report. The
plan (VETS-100 Format on the Internet at http://vets100.com) must be updated each year.

RECORDKEEPING

Employers are required to keep payroll records for at least four years. If you believe that you are not a subject employer
or that your employees are exempt, State law requires that you maintain records of payments made to people who provide
services to your business for at least eight years in case of an employment tax audit. Your records must provide a true and
accurate account of all workers (employed, no longer employed, on a leave of absence, and independent contractors) and
all payments made. Records must include the following information for each worker:

e Worker's:
- Full name (first name, middle initial, and last name).
- Social Security Number.
e Date hired, rehired, or returned to work after a temporary layoff.
e Last date services were performed.
e Place of work.
¢ Money paid:
- Dates and amounts of payment.
- Pay period covered.

e Cash or cash value of in-kind wages (such as meals, lodging, bonuses, gifts, and prizes) showing the nature of the
payment, the period that the services were performed, and the type of special payment made.

e The amounts withheld from employee wages. (NOTE: You may be required to make withholding deposits. Refer to
“Withholding Deposits” on page 74).

e Disbursement records showing payments to workers.

e Other information necessary to determine payments to workers.

If you have any questions on the records you must keep, please refer to Information Sheet: Employment Tax Audit
Process (DE 231TA). This form is available on EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ta.pdf, or request
from our automated Fax on Demand system at (877) 547-4503, Document No. 3410, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance
Center at (888) 745-3886.

Subscribe to EDD’s free e-mail subscription services
www.edd.ca.gov/about_EDD/Get_Email_Notices.htm
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COMMITMENT

The EDD is committed to applying the payroll tax laws of the State of California in an equitable and impartial manner.
Toward that goal, we have developed the following information to inform you of your rights during the employment
taxation process.

EMPLOYER RIGHTS

As an employer, you have the right to:
e Courteous and timely service from EDD employees.

e Expect that information maintained by EDD be kept confidential and not published or made available for public
inspection. However, in certain instances, the law requires that this information be shared with other governmental
agencies. When those instances occur, EDD closely follows the law to protect your rights to confidentiality.

e Call upon EDD for accurate information and assistance and to have all your questions answered.
¢ Receive a clear and accurate account statement if EDD believes you owe taxes.

¢ Request a filing extension for up to 60 days. The law provides that EDD may grant a filing extension where “good
cause” is shown for a delay. (Refer to the “Glossary” for the definition of “good cause.”)

o Request a waiver of penalty showing “good cause” for filing a report or making a payment late.
e Animpartial audit and a full explanation of our audit findings if your business is selected for an audit.

¢ Discuss the issue(s) with an EDD representative, supervisor, office manager, and the Taxpayer Advocate Office if
you disagree with an action taken by EDD.

e Appeal certain actions to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board.
The Employers’ Bill of Rights (DE 195) brochure has been developed to inform you of your rights during the employment

taxation process. To obtain a copy of the DE 195, access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de195.pdf
or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

OFFICE OF THE TAXPAYER RIGHTS ADVOCATE

The EDD has established the Office of the Taxpayer Rights Advocate (OTRA), which is responsible for providing a clear,
consistent focus on protecting the rights of the taxpayer. Incorporated within OTRA are the Taxpayer Advocate Office and
the Settlements Office.

Taxpayer Advocate Office

The Taxpayer Advocate Office is responsible for protecting the rights of taxpayers during all phases of the payroll tax
administration, assessment, and collection process, while also protecting the interests of the State.

If you are unable to resolve a payroll tax problem with an EDD representative, supervisor, and office manager, you may
contact the Taxpayer Advocate Office for assistance. This office will review the issues and facts of your case to ensure
that your rights have been protected and work to facilitate a resolution to your problem. Please contact the Taxpayer
Advocate Office for further assistance.

Employment Development Department
Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Toll-free Telephone: (866) 594-4177
Telephone: (916) 654-8957
Fax: (916) 654-6969

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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OFFICE OF THE TAXPAYER RIGHTS ADVOCATE (cont.)

Settlements Office

The Settlements Program provides employers and the State an opportunity to avoid the cost of prolonged litigation
associated with resolving disputed payroll tax issues (i.e., protests, appeals, or refund claims).

When reviewing a settlement offer, EDD considers the risks and costs for the State associated with litigating the issues,
balanced against the benefit of reaching a settlement agreement. Final tax liabilities, cases still in process, cases
involving fraud or criminal violations, and issues solely involving fairness or financial hardship are generally not eligible.
Depending on the reduction of tax and penalties and the petition status of the case, settlement agreements are subject to
approval by an Administrative Law Judge, the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board, and the Attorney
General before they can be finalized.

If you have questions, please contact the Settlements Office at (916) 653-9130. To obtain the Information Sheet:
Settlements Program (DE 231SP), please access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231sp.pdf, call
our automated Fax on Demand system at (877) 547-4503, request Document No. 3390, or contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

Settlement offers may be submitted to:

Employment Development Department
Settlements Office, MIC 93

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

(916) 653-9130
FAX: (916) 653-7986

PROTECTING YOUR PRIVACY

The Employment Development Department (EDD) recognizes that your privacy is a personal and fundamental right
without exception. The EDD values and protects your privacy and places strict controls on the gathering and use of
personally identifiable data. Your personal information is not disclosed, made available, or otherwise used for purposes
other than those specified at the time of collection, except with your consent or as authorized by law or regulation.

In addition, the payroll tax and benefit information collected by EDD is confidential. As an employer, you have the right to
obtain access to and inspect your records. You may also authorize your agent or representative to access your personal
information through a written authorization or Power of Attorney Declaration (DE 48). To obtain a copy of the DE 48,
access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de48.pdf, request Document No. 1140 from our Fax on
Demand System at (877) 547-4503, or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

If you have further questions regarding your privacy rights, please contact the Tax Information Security Office at
(916) 654-5981.

OFFERS IN COMPROMISE (OIC)

An Offers in Compromise (OIC) enables a qualified applicant to reduce an employment tax liability to less than full value.
To qualify for an OIC, all of the following are required:

e The liability must be final and undisputed.

e The employer’s account must be inactive and out-of-business or the applicant must no longer have a controlling
interest or any association with the business that incurred the liability.

o The applicant must meet all financial requirements.
e Full financial disclosure is required before an offer can be analyzed.
If you have questions or wish to request the Information Sheet: Offers In Compromise (DE 631C), please access EDD’s

Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm, call our automated Fax on Demand
system at (877) 547-4503, request Document No. 3510, or contact OIC at (916) 464-2739.
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE - TAXES

Purpose: The Unemployment Insurance (Ul) program provides financial assistance to individuals who are temporarily out
of work through no fault of their own. In California, this program is financed entirely by employers.

METHODS OF PAYING FOR Ul BENEFITS

Experience Rating Method

The experience rating method is used by the majority of employers. For a detailed explanation of the experience rating
method, refer to “How Your Ul Tax Rate Is Determined” below or obtain the Information Sheet: California System of
Experience Rating (DE 231Z) by accessing EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231z.pdf, calling our
automated Fax on Demand system at (877) 547-4503, or contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

Reimbursable Method

Public employers and nonprofit organizations described under Section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code have the
option of becoming “reimbursable” employers. Employers electing the reimbursable method (also known as the cost-of-
benefits method) are required to reimburse the Ul Fund on a dollar-for-dollar basis for all benefits paid to their former
employees and charged to their account. Reimbursable employers are billed quarterly, and payment is due within 30 days
of the statement date.

For public employers, financing under the reimbursable method must remain in effect for two complete calendar years.
For nonprofit employers, financing under the reimbursable method must remain in effect for five complete calendar years.
Employers who terminate their reimbursable coverage remain liable for Ul benefits paid to their former employees covered
under this program for a period of three calendar years.

For a detailed explanation of the reimbursable method, request Information Sheet: Nonprofit and/or Public Entities

(DE 231NP) and Potential Liability for Unemployment Insurance Benefits When Electing the Reimbursable Method of
Financing Under the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) (DE 1378F). To obtain these publications, access
EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance
Center at (888) 745-3886. For additional information, please contact:

Employment Development Department
Reimbursable Accounting Group, MIC 19
P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

(916) 653-5846

School Employees Fund (SEF)

Public school districts (kindergarten through 12th grade) and community colleges may elect to participate in the School
Employees Fund (SEF), which is a special Ul reimbursable financing method available for school districts. For further
information, access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/School_Employees_Fund.htm or contact the
SEF Unit at (916) 653-5380.

HOW YOUR Ul TAX RATE IS DETERMINED

Tax Rate Schedules

The Ul tax rates are based on one of seven tax rate schedules (AA through F) established by law. The first step in the
annual process of establishing the Ul tax rates for the calendar year is for EDD to determine which of the seven tax rate
schedules will be in effect. Employers are assigned their Ul tax rates from the same rate schedule.

New Employer - Ul Tax Rate and Reserve Account

A Ul reserve account is a nonmonetary account that is set up when an employer registers with EDD. The new employer
tax rate is 3.4 percent (.034) for up to three years. Following that time period, the Ul tax rate is calculated annually based
on each employer’s previous experience as reflected by Ul contributions, taxable wages, benefit charges, and prorated
charges and credits to their reserve account.

Subscribe to EDD’s free e-mail subscription services
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NOTICE OF TAX RATES

Each December, EDD will mail the Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of Ul Reserve Account (DE 2088) which
shows your Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax rates
and taxable wage limits for the upcoming year. If you have address changes and/or agent updates, please contact EDD
immediately in order to receive your notice timely.

Any item on the DE 2088 can be protested except the ETT and SDI tax rates, which are specifically set by law. Your
protest must be filed in writing within 60 days of the mail date shown on the notice. An extension of up to 60 days may be
granted for good cause if your request is submitted before the protest deadline.

For further information, please refer to the Explanation and Instruction Sheet (DE 2088C) included with the DE 2088 or
call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. The DE 2088C is also available on our Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2088c.pdf.

Data Exchange Alternative — Magnetic Media
Employer representatives may obtain their clients’ Ul tax rates on diskettes. In addition, employers and their
representatives may obtain benefit charges on magnetic media.

For information on receiving Ul tax rates or benefit charges via magnetic media, contact:
Employment Development Department
Rate Management Group, MIC 4
P.O. Box 826880
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

(916) 653-7795

FEDERAL UNEMPLOYMENT TAX ACT (FUTA) CERTIFICATION

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) uses the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) certification process to verify that
the total taxable wages claimed on the Employer’s Annual Federal Unemployment (FUTA) Tax Return (Form 940) or the
federal Household Employment Taxes (Form 1040, Schedule H) was actually paid to the State. Under this “dual” system,
you are subject to both the State and federal payroll tax requirements.

You are required to file reports and pay Unemployment Insurance (UI) taxes with EDD. You are also required to file a
Form 940 with IRS to report total taxable Ul wages and pay any Federal Unemployment Tax due. Generally, you can take
a federal credit against your FUTA tax for the Ul taxes you paid to California.

On an annual basis, IRS and EDD compare amounts reported on your IRS Form 940 to the Total Subject Wages (Line C)
and Ul Taxable Wages (Line D2) reported on your EDD Annual Reconciliation Statement (DE 7). When an
“out-of-balance” condition exists, a reconciliation must be made or an assessment may be issued by either IRS or EDD.

If you have questions regarding the FUTA certification process, please contact EDD’s FUTA Certification Unit at
(916) 654-8545.

RESERVE ACCOUNT TRANSFERS

When an employer acquires all or part of an ongoing business and continues to operate the business without substantial
reduction of personnel resulting from the acquisition, the employer may request the previous owner’s Ul reserve account
balance be transferred to the new ownership by completing an Application for Transfer of Reserve Account (DE 4453) form.
If EDD approves the transfer, the Ul tax rate will be redetermined and may result in an immediate rate reduction or rate
increase. For further information regarding reserve account transfers, please contact the Rate Management Group at

(916) 653-7795.

NOTE:

e When a Ul reserve account transfer has been approved, the employer requesting the transfer will receive a revised
DE 2088 stating the Ul tax rate.

e Employers who receive a reserve account transfer accept responsibility for the Ul benefit charges for the previous
owner’s former employees. This may increase your Ul tax rate in future years.

e Areserve account transfer cannot be reversed once it has been completed.

e There are time limits to qualify for a reserve account transfer. Apply for a reserve account transfer immediately after
purchasing an ongoing business.
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INTERSTATE RECIPROCAL COVERAGE ELECTIONS FOR MULTISTATE WORKERS

When an individual performs services in two or more states and the services are not localized in any one state, under the
provisions of California Unemployment Insurance Code (Sections 602 and 603), the employer may request to report the
individual’s services to one state.

Upon approval for unemployment and disability insurance purposes, the employer may report to any state in which (a)
services are performed, (b) the employee has residence, or (c) the employer maintains a place of business.
NOTE: Special reporting may be required for California Personal Income Tax withholding purposes.

For additional information, please obtain Information Sheet: Multistate Employment (DE 231D) by accessing EDD’s Web
site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231d.pdf, calling our automated Fax on Demand system at (877) 547-4503,
request Document No. 3060, or contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

TIPS FOR REDUCING YOUR Ul TAX RATE

The Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax works like any other insurance premium. An employer may pay a lower rate when
former employees make fewer claims on the employer’s account. The following steps may help reduce your Ul tax rate:

e Maintain a stable workforce. High employee turnover increases the potential for benefits to be charged to your reserve
account. This could also save Ul taxes.

e  Submit your Ul payments within the required time limits along with accurately completed Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)
coupons to ensure your payments are included in calculating your Ul tax rate for the following year.

¢ Respond timely to the Benefit Audit (DE 1296B and DE 1296 NER). It may lead to the reversal of related charges to
your reserve or reimbursable account. For additional information, refer to “Benefit Audits to Determine Fraud” on
page 106.

e Respond timely to the Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER) if you believe that
a former employee does not meet the Ul eligibility criteria. A timely response to a DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER may
reduce charges to your reserve account.

e Respond timely to the Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance (Ul) Claim (DE 1545) if you believe the
wages used to establish a claim are incorrect, the employee is still working, or if you believe a former employee does
not meet the Ul eligibility criteria. A timely response to a DE 1545 may reduce charges to your reserve account.

¢ Conduct and document an exit interview to help you to understand why the employee is leaving. This may result in
changes to your policies or procedures that will assist you in retaining your employees.

¢ Permit leaves of absence because they may help keep fully trained personnel.

o Keep good personnel records to justify any action(s) taken. Give written warnings prior to discharging an employee
and keep a copy of these warnings and other supporting information.

e Protest Ul benefit claims for former employees who you believe are not eligible for benefits (i.e., employee voluntarily
quit or was discharged for misconduct, etc.). Written documentation of the exit interview may be important in
establishing your protest.

o Answer Ul claim notices promptly, accurately, and in detail.

* Rehire former employees who are currently receiving Ul benefits that may be charged against your reserve account.

e Report refusals of work to EDD.

e Provide clear, specific answers to telephone interview questions from EDD personnel.

e Review your Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T) and report inaccuracies within the protest time
limits.

e Bring witnesses with firsthand knowledge of pertinent facts when attending a hearing.

For additional information on the Ul program or assistance in reducing Ul costs, download the Managing Unemployment
Insurance Costs (DE 4527) booklet by accessing EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de4527.pdf.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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FRAUD PREVENTION, DETECTION, REPORTING, AND Ul RATE MANIPULATION

We recognize your concerns about imposter fraud and the threat of identity theft. Imposter fraud and identity theft occurs
when someone steals your employees’ employment and/or personal information and uses that information for personal
gain. We actively investigate cases of imposter fraud and are committed to taking the steps necessary to protect the
integrity of the Ul Fund. To assist in these efforts, you may receive a Request for Additional Information (DE 1326ER)
asking you to validate information provided to us by an individual when we suspect a Ul claim may have identity or
imposter issues. Completing and returning the DE 1326ER with the requested information will assist us in resolving these
issues promptly. For more information on our fraud detection and prevention activities, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov. From the “Quick Links,” select “Report Fraud.” This link will take you to an online Fraud
Reporting Form to report possible unemployment insurance, disability insurance, or paid family leave fraud.

We also encourage you to take all necessary steps to protect your employees’ social security numbers (SSNs) and other
identifying information. A key way to protect yourself and your employees is by properly disposing of your old payroll
records. California law requires you to properly destroy (i.e., shred, erase, etc.) the personal information on all records
under your control. Your employees may sue for civil damages if you fail to protect their confidential information. For more
information on California privacy legislation and protecting yourself and your employees from identity theft, visit the Office
of Privacy Protections’ Web site at www.oispp.ca.gov/consumer_privacy/.

To minimize potential fraud and protect your Ul reserve account, we urge you to carefully review each statement and EDD
notice and respond as directed in a timely manner to any items for which you have questions. If you suspect your payroll
or personnel data has been compromised, please report the incident immediately to our toll-free Fraud Hotline at

(800) 229-6297 or submit the fraud reporting form online from the EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov. From the
“Unemployment” tab, go to the “For Employers” section to access the Fraud Prevention section.

Additionally, the Social Security Administration (SSA) offers employers and authorized agents service for verifying
employees’ SSNs. For information on how to access SSA’s SSN verification service, access SSA’s Web site at
www.ssa.gov/employer/ssnv.htm or contact your local SSA office.

To learn what steps you can take to fight imposter fraud, protect your employees, and control your Ul costs, download the
How You Can Prevent Unemployment Insurance Imposter Fraud (DE 2360ER) brochure from EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2360er.pdf.

There are several types of schemes businesses use to unlawfully lower their Ul contribution rates. These Ul rate
manipulation schemes typically involve a business with a high Ul tax rate obtaining a lower Ul rate through creation of a
new corporate entity or purchase of a shell business with a low Ul rate. The practice of Ul rate manipulation threatens the
stability of California’s Ul Fund and creates an unfair advantage for those businesses that use these schemes to lower
their rates.

In 2005, California implemented a new law to prevent Ul rate manipulation; it requires employers who are illegally
lowering their Ul rates to pay at the highest rate provided by law plus an additional 2 percent. The new law also provides
for the greater of a $5,000 penalty or 10 percent of underreported contributions, penalty, or interest for anyone knowingly
advising another person or business to violate California’s Ul rate and reporting laws.

It also makes changes in the law regarding the transfer of Ul reserve account balances. It specifies that whenever a
business transfers all or part of its business or payroll to another employer the reserve account attributable to the
transferred business will also be transferred if they are under common ownership, management, or control. It also
provides that the transfer will be denied if the acquisition was for the purpose of getting a lower Ul rate.

For more information about Ul rate manipulation, please access our Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/SUTA_Dumping.htm or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. If
outside U.S. or Canada, call (916) 464-3502.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (Ul) FUNDING

The California Ul program is funded through taxes paid by employers. These taxes are placed in the Ul Fund and benefits
are paid to qualified claimants from this fund. The individual reserve account established for each employer has no
monetary value. The reserve account is an accounting device used to keep track of payments and charges made against
the employer’s account to determine their annual Ul tax rate. For additional information, please refer to “Unemployment
Insurance - Taxes” on page 98.

BENEFIT AWARD

The maximum amount of Ul benefits payable to a claimant during a regular benefit year is 26 times the claimant’s weekly
benefit amount or one-half of the total base period earnings, whichever is less. The benefit year is a 52 week period
starting on the effective date of a new Ul claim. The base period on which the amount of benefits is determined is a
12-month period that is determined by the effective date of an Ul claim. The quarter in which the claimant earned the
highest wages determines the weekly benefit amount received. After establishing a benefit year, a claimant who interrupts
the claim (by returning to work and having excessive earnings, being disqualified for benefits, or by failing to certify for
benefits for an extended period of time) may request to claim benefits again by filing an additional or reopened claim
during the benefit year.

Maximum Charged to

Current Weekly Ul Benefit Award Reserve Account for Each
Year Minimum Maximum Employee for a Regular Claim
2009 $40 $450 $11,700

2010 $40 $450 $11,700

BENEFIT QUALIFICATIONS

To be eligible for Ul benefits, claimants must:

Be unemployed through no fault of their own.

Be totally or partially unemployed and registered for work with EDD, as required.

Be physically able to work in their usual occupation or in other work for which they are reasonably qualified.

Be available for work, which means ready and willing to immediately accept suitable work in their usual occupation,

or in an occupation for which they are reasonably qualified.

Be actively seeking work on their own behalf.

e Have received a minimum amount of wages during the base period. (For additional information, please refer to
“Qualifying Ul Wages” on page 103.)

e Comply with regulations in regard to filing claims.

Once a claim is filed, EDD staff will determine if there are eligibility issues. Staff may call employers as well as claimants to
resolve eligibility issues.

A claimant may be ineligible for Ul benefits if the claimant:

e Was discharged for misconduct connected to his/her work. (Proof of misconduct rests with the employer.)
e Voluntarily quit without “good cause” (includes quitting for personal reasons, to go to school, or to move).
e Files a Ul claim during a recess period, if he/she worked for a school employer and had reasonable assurance of
returning to work for a school employer.

Refused suitable work without “good cause.”

Failed to take part in reemployment services.

Failed to apply for a job when referred by a public employment office.

Failed to make reasonable efforts to look for work.

Failed to comply with regulations.

Made false statements or withheld information for the purpose of receiving Ul benefits.

Is not legally entitled to work in the U.S.

Is not able to work or is not available for work.

Is working full-time or earns wages totaling more than 25 percent of their weekly Ul benefit amount.

An individual is not eligible for Ul benefits if he/she voluntarily left work due to a trade dispute. Because EDD must decide
whether a claimant is disqualified from receiving benefits in a trade dispute situation, certain facts are needed. During a
trade dispute, regulations require employers to respond to notices from EDD.

Certain types of employees are not covered for Ul benefits. For additional information, please refer to the “Types of
Employment” table on page 16 and “Types of Payments” table on page 26.
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QUALIFYING Ul WAGES
To have a valid Ul claim, individuals must have earned:

e $1,300 or more in covered employment wages in one quarter of the base period, or
e $900 or more in covered employment wages in the base-period quarter with the highest earnings and earned at
least 1.25 times the high quarter earnings during the entire base period.

Certain types of payments made to employees are not considered covered employment (wages) for Ul purposes. For
additional information, refer to the “Types of Payment” table on page 26. The table shows if certain types of jobs and types
of income are taxable for UL. If the table shows that a job or type of income is “not subject” to Ul tax, then that income is
excluded from establishing a Ul claim.

Ul ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION

The EDD schedules fact-finding telephone interviews when there are eligibility questions regarding a claim. Our staff will
talk to the claimant, employer, and anyone else necessary to make a decision. Based on the decision, benefits will either
be paid or denied. If benefits are denied, a notice will be issued to the claimant. If the employer responds timely to the first
notice sent by the Department and addresses the issue being decided, a notice will also be sent to the employer.

NOTE: The maximum amount an employer can be charged on a regular claim is $11,700. (Refer to “Benefit Award” on
page 102.) In addition, an employer’s reserve account may be subject to charges for benefits paid on a Training
Extension (TE) claim. Claimants who have been approved for California Training Benefits may be eligible for a
TE claim. A claimant with a TE claim is eligible to receive a maximum of 52 times his/her weekly benefit amount
on the regular claim, which includes the maximum benefit award of the regular claim.

HOW TO DESIGNATE AN AGENT

Public entity and non-profit employers and their agents may elect to have the notice of new or additional claim filed sent to
a designated single address. Requests for designation of a single address should be sent to:

Employment Development Department
Unemployment Insurance Division, MIC 40
P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Fax: (916) 654-8117

HOW TO REQUEST AN ELECTRONIC DE 1545

Employers and their agents may obtain the Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance (Ul) Claim (DE 1545)
electronically. To obtain information about Electronic Data Interchange (EDI), contact:

Employment Development Department
Employer Assistance Unit, MIC 16

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

(916) 464-2325
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Responding to Notices

Employers need to respond in writing to the Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER),
Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance (Ul) Claim (DE 1545), or the Notice of Potential Increased Liability
For Training Extension Benefits (DE 1545TE) if:

e The claimant was terminated or voluntarily quit.

¢ You have knowledge of information that might affect the claimant’s eligibility for Ul benefits.

e The claimant’s name and social security number are not correct.

e You want a written decision of eligibility that provides you appeal rights to the Department’s decision.

If you believe the claimant is not entitled to benefits, it is important to protest in writing when you receive the first notice.

Your response must include any facts that may affect the claimant’s eligibility for Ul benefits or the potential liability of your
Ul reserve account for benefits paid to the claimant.

Protests may be written on the notice or included in a separate letter and should contain the following information:

e Employer's EDD account number, name, and address.

e Claimant’'s name and social security number.

e Beginning date of the claim.

e Date of separation from employment.

o Dates of separation(s) and rehire(s) during and following the quarters shown on the DE 1545.

¢ Information supporting your belief of the claimant’s ineligibility. (Refer to page 102 for a list of disqualifying events.)
Protests should include specific facts and circumstances. General statements (e.g., “employee was fired for
misconduct”) should be supported with specific events and documentation. This will result in better eligibility decisions
based on the facts.

e Protests to the DE 1101C/Z, DE 1101ER, DE 1545, or DE 1545TE should be in writing and mailed to the address
noted on the form.
e If the wage information listed on the DE 1545 or DE 1545TE is incorrect, please inform EDD in writing at:

Employment Development Department
Employers Assistance Unit, MIC 16
P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Include the following information with your correction of wage information:

- Employer’'s EDD account number, name, and address.
- Claimant’'s name and social security number.
- Beginning date of the claim.

- Correction to the wage information. Please provide supporting documentation to the correction, such as a copy of
the Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6) or Tax and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 678).

- Name, signature, and telephone number of the employer or employer representative preparing the wage
correction.

- Date of the wage correction.

o The protest should be signed by the person having personal knowledge of the facts or having access to records
containing the facts.

REMEMBER: If a written protest is not submitted for the DE 1101C/Z, DE 1101ER, or DE 1545, you waive your right
to protest your Ul reserve account’s potential liability for benefits paid to the claimant and your right
to appeal.
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Subsequent Benefit Year

If you receive a notice that a subsequent benefit year has been established, you must resubmit any facts you furnished on
the initial DE 1101C/Z to be entitled to a determination and/or ruling based on such facts for the later benefit year.

CLAIM NOTICES AND PROTEST TIME LIMITS

Notice

Postmarked within

DE 1101C/Z or DE 1101ER

Mailed to the last employer when a current or
former employee files a new Ul claim or an
existing claim is reopened.

10 calendar days of the date mailed to you (the date is printed on the
top-right side of the DE 1101C/Z and the DE 1101ER).

DE 1545

Issued to all base-period employers after a
claimant receives the first Ul payment. This
notice informs each employer of the wages used
to establish the claim and the amount of potential

charges to their Ul reserve account for that claim.

NOTE: Employers and their agents may obtain
the DE 1545 electronically. (Refer to “How to
Request an Electronic DE 1545” on page 103.)

The deadline to submit a ruling request is located on the top-right side
of the DE 1545.

To request a ruling, submit separation information within 15 calendar
days from the mail date. If wage information is incorrect, submit the
information within 20 calendar days.

DE 1545TE

Mailed to base-period employers only when a
former employee has been approved for the
California Training Benefits (CTB) program. This
form will inform you of the maximum amount of
potential benefits payable, including training
extension benefits, and the amount of potential
charges to your Ul reserve account. When
protesting a claimant’s eligibility for the CTB
program, employers should address the
particular criteria that individuals must meet
under Ul Code Section 1269.

15 calendar days from the mail date.

NOTE: If you respond late to an EDD notice, explain the reason for the delay because the above time limits may be
extended for “good cause.” If the reason is determined not to be for “good cause,” a Response to Employer
Communication (DE 4614) will be issued. This form can be appealed if you do not agree with the determination.

Subscribe to EDD’s free e-mail subscription services
www.edd.ca.gov/about_EDD/Get_Email_Notices.htm

www.edd.ca.gov
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NOTICES OF DETERMINATION, RULING, OR MODIFICATION

You will receive one of the following DE 1080 notices in response to eligibility issues you reported on the DE 1101C/Z,
DE 1101ER, or DE 1545:

Notice Purpose

DE 1080EZ:

o Notice of Determination Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101C/Z, DE 1101ER, DE 1545, or
who submits timely correspondence with eligibility information other than a separation
(voluntary quit or discharge). The notice informs the employer whether or not the
claimant is eligible to receive benefits. Refer to page 102 for a list of disqualifying
events.

e Notice of Determination/Ruling | Sent to a tax-rated employer who responds timely to a DE 1101C/Z or DE 1101ER
with eligibility information regarding a voluntary quit or discharge. The ruling portion of
this notice informs the employer whether or not the reserve account will be charged
for Ul benefits paid.

e Notice of Ruling Sent to a tax-rated employer who responds timely to a DE 1545 with separation
information. The separation must have occurred during or after the base period of the
claim. This notice informs the employer whether or not the reserve account will be
charged for Ul benefits paid.

Notice of Modification (DE 1080M) Sent to the employer who previously received a DE 1080EZ stating that the claimant
was disqualified. This form informs the employer that the claimant’s disqualification
period is over. This notice does not change the original ruling issued to the employer.

Notice of Potential Increased Liability For Training Extension Benefits (DE 1545TE). This form provides base period
employers with a timely notice of maximum amount of potential unemployment insurance (Ul) benefits, including training
extension benefits that may be charged to their accounts. This form is mailed to base-period employers only when a former
employee has been approved for the California Training Benefits (CTB) program. When protesting a claimant’s eligibility for
the CTB program, employers should address the particular criteria that individuals must meet under Ul Code Section 1269.

REMEMBER: Employers who finance Ul coverage under one of the reimbursable financing methods receive Notices of
Determination, but do not receive Notices of Ruling because they do not have a Ul reserve account.

Ul BENEFITS - APPEAL RIGHTS

You have the right to file an appeal if you do not agree with a decision made by EDD about your:
e Former employee's right to receive Ul benefits.
e Ul reserve account being charged for benefits paid to a former employee.

You must send your written appeal to EDD within 20 days of the date the decision was mailed to you. The EDD will send you an
acknowledgment of receipt and registration of your appeal with the telephone number for the Office of Appeal hearing the case.
The Office of Appeal will schedule a hearing with an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). Both you and your former employee will
be notified of the date, time, and place of the hearing at least 10 days before the hearing date. If you are filing an appeal to a
Notice of Ruling (DE 1080EZ), the employee is not considered a party to the proceeding and is not notified of the hearing. The
ALJ will conduct a hearing and give all interested parties the opportunity to present their evidence. The ALJ will consider the
facts presented at the hearing and issue a written decision that is mailed to all concerned parties.

If you do not agree with the ALJ's decision, you may appeal to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board (CUIAB). The
CUIAB reviews appeals to decisions rendered by ALJs. Both the CUIAB and the ALJs operate impartially and independently of EDD.

The CUIAB provides the following publications to assist in filing an appeal and preparing for an administrative hearing:

e Unemployment Appeals - A Guide for Claimants, Employers, and Their Representatives (DE 1434).
e Appeals Procedure (DE 1433).

For copies of these publications, write to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board at the address listed below.
If you have any questions about filing an appeal, please contact EDD at (800) 300-5616.

NOTE: An Employment Development Department Appeal Form (DE 1000M) is enclosed with all DE 1080s and is used to
appeal an EDD decision. To download a DE 1000M form, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_ctr_/de1000M.pdf.
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FALSE STATEMENT PENALTY

The California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) Section 1142(a) provides that an employer may be assessed a
cash penalty from 2 to 10 times the claimant’s weekly benefit amount if it is determined that the employer, employer
representative, employer officer, or employer agent willfully made a false statement or representation or failed to report a
material fact concerning the claimant’s termination of employment.

The CUIC Section 1142(b) provides that an employer may be assessed a cash penalty from 2 to 10 times the claimant’s
weekly benefit amount if it is determined that the employer, employer representative, employer officer, or employer agent
willfully made a false statement or representation or willfully fails to report a material fact concerning the claimant’s
reasonable assurance of reemployment as defined in CUIC Section 1253.3.

The CUIC Section 1142.1 provides that an employer may be assessed a cash penalty from 2 to 10 times the claimant’s
weekly benefit amount if it is determined that the employer, employer representative, employer officer, or employer agent,
where the claimant was performing services for an educational institution as defined in Section 1253.3, willfully makes a
false statement or representation or fails to report a material fact concerning the claimant’s termination of employment or
regarding any week during which services were performed (as provided in Section 1253.3) or any time granted to the
claimant for professional development while working for that employer.

If you are not in agreement with the Notice of Determination or Assessment Under Ul Code Section 1142 (A) (DE 3807
SEP) or Notice of Determination and/or Assessment of Employer Statement (DE 3807RA) you may file a Petition Rights
from Notice of Assessment (DE 2350) to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) of the California Unemployment Insurance
Appeals Board (CUIAB). The CUIAB, established separate and apart from EDD, reviews, hears, and renders impartial and
independent decisions in tax and benefit matters related to the CUIC.

Prepare an original and a copy of the petition. The petition may be informal but must be in writing and should:

e Show your EDD employer account number and the date of the assessment. (For faster processing, enclose a copy of
the DE 3807SEP or DE 3807RA with your petition.)

e Provide the claimant’s name and social security number.

e Clearly indicate that it is a “Petition for Reassessment.”

o Describe the reason for the petition and specify the facts or grounds for requesting a reassessment.
e Be signed by you or your authorized agent.

e State your address or that of your agent, if any.

To be timely, the petition must be mailed or delivered to the office shown below within 30 days from the date of
assessment. The time to protest can be extended by an ALJ for not more than 30 days but only if “good cause” for the
delay is shown. Mail or deliver the original and a copy of your petition for reassessment to:

California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board
Sacramento Office of Appeals

2400 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 100

Sacramento, CA 95833-4224

BENEFIT AUDITS TO DETERMINE FRAUD

Each quarter, as part of EDD’s fraud detection efforts, Benefit Audit (DE 1296B) forms are mailed to employers to request
wage information for specific weeks that their employees may have worked. In addition, once a year EDD identifies all
outstanding Benefit Audit forms for which a reply was not received. A replacement audit form is sent to those employers
for each outstanding quarter identified.

The benefit audit identifies individuals who may have improperly received Ul benefits for weeks in which they worked and
had earnings. The audit process leads to the recovery of benefit payments and the potential reversal of related charges to
the employer’s reserve or reimbursable account when the Department determines that the claimant was not entitled to Ul
benefits.

As part of our continuing efforts to detect and deter fraud, EDD cross matches the social security number and Start-of-
Work Date (SWD) from the New Employee Registry (NER) information reported by employers with Ul benefit payment
information. An accurate SWD (not the hire date) is particularly important for this cross match process. If a match is
identified, an audit form will be sent to the employer requesting earnings and eligibility information. The returned employer
information is used to identify benefit overpayments and to recover the unauthorized benefit payments. The NER audit
enables EDD to detect fraud up to six months sooner than the quarterly Benefit Audit Process and protects the Ul Fund by
reducing overpayments. Employers who have responded to the NER benefit audit form will not receive a Benefit Audit
(DE 1296B) form for the same employee for the same quarter.
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BENEFIT AUDITS TO DETERMINE FRAUD (cont.)

NOTE: Employers are required by law to respond to the Benefit Audit (DE 1296B and DE 1296NER) forms. Your
cooperation is essential to detect fraud and to protect the integrity of the Ul program.

Questions or comments about the benefit audit process should be sent to:

Employment Development Department
P.O. Box 3038, MIC 16A
Sacramento, CA 95812-3038

(916) 464-2350

BACK PAY AWARD

Employees who receive Ul benefits and later receive back pay awards or settlements for the same period must repay EDD
an amount equal to the Ul benefits received. Since back pay is considered wages and should be reported in the period the
employees were discharged, a determination must be made regarding who is responsible to repay EDD for the overpaid
benefit amounts. If the back pay award agreement states that the employer will withhold overpayment amounts from the
back pay award or settlement, the employer is responsible for submitting the amounts withheld to EDD to clear the
overpayment.

At the employer’s request, EDD will determine the amount of Ul benefits to be repaid, establish an overpayment, and
notify the claimant and employer. (“Employer” refers to both tax-rated and reimbursable employers.) Reimbursable
employers will receive credits against their future charges only after the liability has been paid. For further information,
contact:

Employment Development Department
Backpay Awards Coordinator, MIC 8, OARG
P.O. Box 826806

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

(916) 464-2333

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BENEFITS

Employees who received Ul benefits and later receive Workers’ Compensation benefits in the form of Temporary Total
Disability (TTD) benefits, Vocational Rehabilitation Maintenance Allowance (VRMA), or settlements for the same period
must repay EDD an amount equal to the Ul benefits received. For further information, contact:

Employment Development Department
Workers’ Compensation Specialist
P.O. Box 2588

Rancho Cordova, CA 95670

(916) 464-0713

STATEMENT OF CHARGES

Each October, the annual Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T) is mailed to you. This statement notifies
you of the Unemployment Insurance (Ul) benefit charges and credits to your reserve account for the prior one-year period
from July 1 through June 30. Charges are itemized and based on the Ul benefits paid to your former employees. Charges
to your reserve account may increase your Ul contribution rate for the next tax year. It is important to review your
statement carefully and respond timely if you do not agree with the charges. You have 60 days from the mail date on your
statement to protest any charges you believe are incorrect. An extension of up to 60 days may be granted for good cause
if your request is submitted before the protest deadline.

If you have address changes and/or agent updates, inform EDD immediately in order to receive your DE 428T timely.

For further information, please refer to the Explanation and Instruction Sheet (DE 428C) included with the DE 428T or call
our Taxpayers Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886. The DE 428C is also available on our Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de428c.pdf, or request Document No. 2110 from our automated Fax on Demand system
at (877) 547-4503.
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LAYOFF ALTERNATIVES
Partial Ul Claims

The Partial Ul Claim program enables employers to keep trained employees who are partially employed during slow
business periods. Employers may use the Partial Ul Claim program if employees are temporarily working reduced hours or
have been placed on layoff status for no more than two consecutive weeks. If the employee has no wages (does not work)
for two consecutive weeks, the claim changes to a regular Ul claim. Participation in this program may increase the
employer’s Ul tax rate.

For more information about partial Ul claims, please call one of the toll-free Ul telephone numbers on page 121 or access
EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov. From the “Unemployment” tab, go to the “FAQ’s” section, and then go to the
“For Employers” section, then go to the Partial Claim topic.

Work Sharing Program

The Work Sharing program is available to employers who reduce employee wages and hours as an alternative to a
temporary layoff. The affected work force or work unit(s) must consist of two or more employees. At least 10 percent of the
total work force or 10 percent of the specified work unit(s) must participate in the program. The employer must sign a six-
month Work Sharing plan with EDD. If, during the period of the plan, the employer does not meet the Work Sharing
requirements, the business will be taken off the program. Participation in this program may increase the employer’s Ul tax
rate. If you are interested in participating in the program or would like additional information, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Unemployment/Work_Sharing_Claims.htm or contact:

Employment Development Department
Special Claims Office

P.O. Box 419076

Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9076

(916) 464-3300
Fax: (916) 464-3333

NOTICE OF LAYOFF

Employers with at least 100 employees who plan plant closures or mass layoffs of 50 or more full-time employees during
any 30-day period at a single site of employment must give affected employees at least 60 days written notice. Please
refer to “Plant Closure or Mass Layoff (WARN)” on page 93 for additional information.

WAGES NOTICES

In the event of a layoff or business closure involving 10 or more employees, EDD’s Wages Notice Group will investigate
and post Electronic Wages Notices (EWNSs) for staff in EDD offices to use. The EWNs contain wage findings (e.g., findings
on in lieu of notice pay and bonuses) to ensure consistent determinations when several employees may be affected by the
same set of facts. For additional information, access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov. From the “Unemployment”
tab, go to the “For Employers” section, then go to the “Mass Layoffs and Wages Notices.”

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) PROGRAM

The State Disability Insurance (SDI) Program provides Disability Insurance (Dl) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits to
eligible workers experiencing a loss of wages. The SDI Program is funded by taxes withheld from employee wages.

Disability Insurance (DI) is a component of the State Disability Insurance (SDI) Program. The DI benefits are paid to
eligible California workers experiencing a loss of wages when they are unable to perform their regular or customary work
due to a non-work-related illness or injury, pregnancy, and childbirth.

Paid Family Leave (PFL) is also a component of the SDI Program. The PFL provides benefits to individuals who take time
off from work to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, parent, or registered domestic partner or to bond with a new child.

TAXES - WHO PAYS FOR SDI?

The SDI (DI and PFL) is funded entirely through employee payroll withholdings. Except for public agency employers
disability coverage is mandatory. Employers may choose either the State plan or a Voluntary Plan to cover their
employees (refer to “Employer Sponsored Voluntary Disability Insurance Plan” on page 111 for more information). Those
employees not choosing a Voluntary Plan are covered under the State plan. For more information, please access EDD’s
Web site at www.edd.ca.gov or call EDD’s 24-hour Automated Call System at (916) 653-7795.

NOTE: When a worker has more than one employer during a calendar year, it is possible that excess SDI taxes may be
withheld from the worker’s wages. Workers should request a refund of excess SDI withholdings on their California
income tax return.

The SDI tax rate may be adjusted annually to not more than 1.5 percent (.015) nor less than 0.1 percent (.001) depending
on the balance in the SDI Fund. Employee contributions withheld are paid by the employer to either the SDI Fund or a
Disability Insurance Voluntary Plan (refer to page 111).

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS
Eligible claimants may file for DI or PFL benefits for each occurrence of disability or period of family care leave.

The Disability Insurance Provisions (DE 2515) pamphlet contains general information on DI eligibility. The Paid Family
Leave Insurance Program pamphlet (DE 2511) contains general information on PFL eligibility. The Claim for State
Disability Insurance (SDI) Benefits (DE 2501) and Claim for Paid Family Leave Benefits (DE 2501F) are application forms
that contain additional information.

All California employers who have employees subject to DI taxes are required to provide the DE 2515 and the

DE 2511 to each new employee. The California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) requires employers to provide
general DI information to each employee leaving work due to nonoccupational illness or injury, pregnancy, and childbirth.
Employers are also required to provide PFL information to each employee leaving work to care for a seriously ill family
member or to bond with a new child. The pamphlets and applications are provided to employers at no cost. Additional
copies may be ordered by accessing EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Forms/default.asp, or contacting the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

CLAIM NOTICES

When an SDI claim is filed, the employer(s) shown on the SDI claim form will receive a Notice to Employer of State
Disability Claim Filed (DE 2503). For PFL claims, employers receive a Notice to Employer of Paid Family Leave Claim
Filed (DE 2503F). Complete and return the DE 2503 or DE 2503F within two working days when you have information
affecting the claimant's eligibility.

To deter disability fraud, please respond immediately if you are not the employer shown on the DE 2503 or DE 2503F, or if
the claimant:

Is not your employee.

Has quit his/her job.

Is receiving wages.

Has not stopped working.

Is known to be working for another employer.

NOTE: Because DI and PFL are paid for by employees, the filing of a DI or PFL claim will not affect the employer's
Unemployment Insurance reserve account. Therefore, the DE 2503 and DE 2503F are not the basis for a ruling,
and the employer will not be notified of any determination as a result of the response on the DE 2503 or
DE 2503F.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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EMPLOYER SPONSORED VOLUNTARY PLAN

California law allows employers to apply to EDD for approval to establish a Voluntary Plan (VP) (which must include Paid
Family Leave benefits) for their employees in lieu of the State coverage. To be approved for a VP, the employer must post
a security deposit with the State Treasurer in an amount determined by EDD. The benefit rights under a VP must be as
great as the State plan in all respects and better in at least one provision.

Once a VP is approved, the employer is no longer required to send SDI withholdings to EDD for those employees covered
by VP. Instead, the employer holds the VP contributions in trust to pay disability or PFL VP benefit claims and approved
expenses. The VP employer pays a quarterly assessment to EDD based on the taxable wages of employees participating
in the plan and other factors.

A VP must provide better coverage without additional cost to the employees. Based on claims experience, excess funds
may be used to increase benefit levels or lower contributions. Please note that any money collected for VP purposes must
be used only for the benefit of employees who contribute to the plan.

An employer considering a VP commitment should be aware that the employer takes ultimate responsibility for the plan
benefits and expenses. If the accumulated VP trust fund is inadequate to cover benefits or expenses, the employer is
responsible to cover the deficit; employer loans made to the VP may be recovered from future excess VP trust funds. If a
plan terminates and there are insufficient trust funds, the employer must assume the financial obligation until all plan
liabilities have been met.

For additional information on the DI/PFL Voluntary Plan option, please access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/Employer_Voluntary_Plans.htm, call (800) 480-3287 (TTY access is available at
800-563-2441), or write to:

Employment Development Department
Disability Insurance Branch, MIC 29 VP
P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

SELF-EMPLOYED BENEFITS
Self-employed individuals may elect to cover themselves for DI and PFL benefits under provisions of the CUIC.

Self-employed individuals who elect coverage pay at a rate determined by the prior annual combined usage of all
participants. For further information on elective coverage, download the Information Sheet: Elective Coverage (DE 231EC)
at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ec.pdf. The Disability Insurance Elective Coverage Program Fact Sheet

(DE 8714CC) can be obtained from EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de8714cc.pdf. All forms can also
be obtained by contacting the Disability Insurance Elective Coverage Unit at (916) 654-6288 or our Taxpayer Assistance
Center at (888)745-3886.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE

Workers’ compensation insurance is an employer paid indemnity that provides benefits to eligible workers experiencing a
loss of wages when they are unable to perform their regular or customary work due to an occupational illness or injury.
Generally, employees are not eligible for DI or PFL when receiving workers’ compensation benefits unless the DI or PFL
rate is greater than the workers’ compensation rate. For additional information, contact the Department of Industrial
Relations by phone (refer to the government listings in your local telephone book) or access their Web site at
www.dir.ca.gov.

If you have any employees, you are required by law to have workers’ compensation insurance. Failure to do so is a crime
and may result in penalties and closure of your business.

If you have questions about workers’ compensation insurance or how to obtain coverage, contact your insurance agent or
the Division of Workers’ Compensation at (800) 736-7401.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

For information regarding the SDI Program, access EDD’s Web site at www.edd.ca.gov or contact our Disability
Insurance benefits operations at (800) 480-3287 or Paid Family Leave Insurance benefits operations at (877) 238-4373.

NOTE: To provide affordable benefits to eligible workers, the SDI program has systems in place to detect and deter
fraud. Please report suspected fraudulent activity to EDD's Fraud Hotline at (800) 229-6297.
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EDD WORKFORCE SERVICE

The EDD’s Workforce Services Branch provides services to bring California employers tohgether with qualified job seekers.
The EDD’s Workforce Services Branch offers an Internet-based system called CalJOBS®™, a self-service labor exchange,
which provides quick access to a large pool of job-ready applicants. Employers with Internet access can enter their own
job listings and update or close orders.

Employers without Internet access or who have special requirements can be served by Customer Service representatives
who take job-opening information by telephone or fax and assist employers in finding qualified applicants. There are no
fees to use CalJOBS™.

To register with CalJOBS®™, you will need your EDD employer account number. To access CalJOBS®™, visit our Web site
at www.caljobs.ca.gov or call the Customer Support Desk at (800) 758-0398 for assistance. If you do not have an EDD
employer account number, please refer to page 6 for information on obtaining one.

For more information on these and other services, visit EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Jobs_and_Training/Our_Partners.htm or contact your nearest Workforce Service Office or One-Stop
Career Center.

EMPLOYMENT TRAINING PANEL

The Employment Training Panel (ETP) provides funding to employers to assist in upgrading the skills of their workers
through training that leads to good paying, long-term jobs. The ETP was created in 1982 by the California State
Legislature and has invested over $1 billion to train more than 800,000 California workers since inception. The ETP is a
funding agency, not a training agency. Businesses determine their own training needs and how best to provide training.

Purpose: The ETP funds training that results in high-wage, secure, long-term, full-time employment in targeted industries
to improve California's competitiveness in a global economy and the skills of the State’s workforce. Approximately $70 to
$100 million in job training funds are provided annually to California employers. The ETP primarily funds retraining of
currently employed workers in companies threatened by out-of-state competition and has placed special emphasis on
training for small businesses with fewer than 100 employees.

Funding

In 1982, the Legislature established the Employment Training Tax (ETT). All tax-rated employers, including new
employers, are subject to the ETT. Employers with positive reserve accounts are assessed 0.1 percent (.001) on the first
$7,000 of each employee’s wages. Employers do not pay the ETT while their accounts have a negative reserve balance,
but they must pay a higher rate of Unemployment Insurance (Ul) tax. The maximum ETT collected is $7 per employee,
per year.

How Is ETP Different?

The ETP’s performance-based standards ensure that training results in high-wage, secure jobs. For a contractor to earn
reimbursement, trainees must receive at least eight hours of training, complete a minimum of 90 days full-time
employment following the completion of training, receive at least the required ETP minimum wage, and use the skills
learned during the training on the job. The employer selects the courses, trainers, and types of training that best meet
their business needs.

For additional information, access ETP’s Web site at www.etp.ca.gov or contact one of the following ETP offices:

North Hollywood (818) 755-1313 San Diego (619) 686-1920
Sacramento San Francisco Bay Area
Central Office (916) 327-5640 Regional Office (650) 655-6930
Sacramento
Regional Office (916) 327-5239
www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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EMPLOYMENT TRAINING PANEL (cont.)

General Information

The ETP contracts directly with tax-rated employers, groups of employers (including associations and chambers of
commerce), training agencies, vocational schools, Workforce Investment Boards (WIB), and grant recipients under the
Workforce Investment Act (WIA).

The ETP funds the following types of training programs to promote a healthy labor market in a growing, competitive
economy:

¢ Retraining - Helps companies facing out-of-state competition by upgrading the job skills of current employees.

¢ New-Hire - Funds training of unemployed workers eligible to receive California Ul benefits or who have exhausted Ul
benefits within 24 months of the training.

e Special Employment Training (SET) - Provides limited funding for the following additional categories:

- Frontline Workers - Supports the retraining of frontline workers in occupations that pay the State average hourly
wage in businesses that do not meet the ETP’s standard project criteria.

- Workers in High Unemployment Areas - Provides training funds for workers in areas with unemployment rates
at least 25 percent higher than the average rate for California.

- Small Business Skills - Funds training for small business owners to enhance the competitive position of their
business. Owners must have at least one but no more than nine full-time employees.

- Workers With Multiple Barriers to Employment - Funds are provided to train individuals with barriers to full-
time employment such as, but not limited to physical disabilities, lack of work history, limited communication, and
literacy skills.

- Seasonal Industries — Provides training funds for workers employed by companies in seasonal industries.

TRADE ADJUSTMENT ASSISTANCE

The Trade and Globalization Adjustment Assistance Act of 2009 program was established to help American workers who
lost their jobs or had their hours and wages reduced as a result of increased imports from other countries or as a result of
a shift in production to a country that has entered into a free trade agreement with the U.S.

This program provides training, job search assistance, relocation assistance, and weekly income support to trade
impacted workers. To obtain a Petition for Trade Adjustment Assistance (ETA 9042A) workers may access the

U.S. Department of Labor’s (DOL) Web site at www.doleta.gov/tradeact, contact any local EDD Workforce Service
office, or call the Ul toll-free telephone number listed on page 121. Workers should file an application simultaneously with
both the Office of Trade Adjustment Assistance and the State Trade Act coordinator.

For additional information on the Trade Act program call the DOL at (202) 693-3560.

Subscribe to EDD’s free e-mail subscription services
www.edd.ca.gov/about_EDD/Get_Email_Notices.htm
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WORK OPPORTUNITY TAX CREDIT

The Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC) Program promotes the hiring of individuals who qualify as a member of a target
group and provides federal income tax credits to employers who hire these individuals.

Employers must apply for and receive certification from EDD that their new hire meets the eligibility criteria for one of the
nine target groups before they can claim a WOTC on their federal tax return.

For identification of the target groups and additional information, please visit our Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Jobs_and_Training/Work_Opportunity_Tax_Credit.htm or call (866) 593-0173.

WORKFORCE INVESTMENT ACT

The federal Workforce Investment Act (WIA) of 1998 provides the framework for a national workforce preparation and
employment system. Title | of WIA authorizes and funds a number of employment and training programs in California.
Workforce investment activities authorized by WIA are provided at the local level to individuals in need of those services,
including job seekers, dislocated workers, youth, incumbent workers, new entrants to the workforce, veterans, persons
with disabilities, and employers. The WIA’s primary purpose is to provide workforce investment activities that increase the
employment, job retention, earnings, and occupational skill attainment of participants.

These programs help prepare Californians to participate in the State’s workforce, increase their employment and earnings
potential, improve their educational and occupational skills, and reduce their dependency on welfare. In turn, this
improves the quality of the workforce and enhances the productivity and competitiveness of California’s economy.

The WIA authorizes a variety of services to employers. Services are designed and administered by Local Workforce
Investment Boards (LWIB). Local services are provided by One-Stop Centers and may include:

e Applicant screening/referral e Job placement assistance
e Business closure assistance e Labor market information
e Customized training e On-the-job training

e Enterprise zone tax credits e Training subsidies

e Entrepreneurial training

The WIA is administered by LWIBs in partnership with local elected officials. The LWIBs are comprised of representatives
from private sector business, organized labor, community-based organizations, local government agencies, and local
education agencies. The LWIBs designate One-Stop Career Center operators, provide policy guidance, and oversee the
job training activities within local areas.

For more information, access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Jobs_and_Training/Workforce_Investment_Act.htm or contact the Workforce Services Branch at
(916) 654-7799.
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LABOR MARKET INFORMATION

Purpose: The EDD’s Labor Market Information Division (LMID) collects, analyzes, and publishes information about
California’s labor market that helps employers, policy makers, and researchers with important business decisions.

What Labor Market Information Is Available on the Web?

On our Web site at www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov we have information that will assist you in making important
business decisions. There is a special page with information just for employers — From the “Labor Market Info” tab, go to
the “Customer Center’ section then to “Business/Employers.” From this page, you have links to:

e Affirmative Action and Equal Employment Opportunity programs

e Local Area Profile - Get an overview of labor market information in the state or a county, including employment and
unemployment, industry data, wages, consumer price index, and more.

e Occupational Profile - Get a description, wages, employment outlook, training providers, and skills of a specific
occupation. Use this information to create job descriptions for your vacancy announcements or compare wages you
pay to average local wages.

e CalJOBS®™ - California’s Job Opening system where you can post your job vacancy and review résumés of
prospective employees.

e Information about resolving workplace issues, such as benefits, meal breaks, and pay from the Department of
Industrial Relations at www.dir.ca.gov.

e Training and Apprenticeships - Find out what training is available to develop the skills of your employees.

¢ Prevailing Wage Request form for Temporary H-1B Visas.
e Links — Find other EDD resources, labor market publications and data library

For assistance, contact your local Labor Market Consultant at www.calmis.ca.gov/file/resource/LMIConsultants.pdf
or contact LMID at (916) 262-2162.

Multiple Location and/or Function Employers

When an employer maintains a business with more than one physical location or conducts more than one business
activity/function at the same location, and the secondary locations have a total of 10 or more employees, the employer is
considered to be a multiple establishment employer. A primary location is defined as the one with the highest number of
employees. If your firm fits the multiple location criteria and you are not currently completing a Multiple Worksite Report
(BLS 3020), please contact LMID’s Employment and Payroll Group at (916) 262-1856.

Q REMEMBER: Filing the Multiple Worksite Report is mandatory and must be done on a quarterly basis.
The LMID mails the federal form, Multiple Worksite Report (BLS 3020), to multiple worksite business owners at the close

of each quarter (e.g. December 31, 2009). Employers have until the end of the following month (e.g. February 1, 2010) to
return the BLS 3020 form to EDD.

How Your Industry Code Is Determined

All businesses and government organizations are assigned an industry classification code from the North American
Industry Classification System (NAICS), which allows the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics to tabulate national and state
economic data by industry. Most new employers are assigned an industry code based on their response on Section P
(industry activity) of the Registration Form for Commercial Employers (DE 1). Each year, selected employers are sent an
Industry Verification Form (BLS 3023 VS) to verify the accuracy of their industry code. Other employers, who have not yet
been assigned an industry code, will receive an Industry Classification Form (BLS 3023 CA). For additional information,
call (800) 562-3366.

NOTE: Please answer ALL questions about your business and industry thoroughly when completing the registration form
(DE 1, Section P), the BLS 3023 VS, and/or the BLS 3023 CA. This will help us accurately determine your firm’s
industry code.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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INFORMATION AND ASSISTANCE BY TOPIC

If you have any questions regarding the following topics, please contact the designated agency or office:

TOPIC

DESCRIPTION

CONTACT

California Personal Income
Tax (PIT) Withholding

To request the California PIT withholding
tables or for information on whether
payments are subject to California PIT
withholding.

EDD
Taxpayer Assistance Center

Telephone: (888) 745-3886
Outside U.S. or Canada call (916) 464-3502
www.edd.ca.gov

Information on programming your computer
or acceptable computer software programs
to calculate California PIT withholding.

NOTE: When you call Franchise Tax
Board’s (FTB) assistance number,
please request to speak to their
Statistical Research Section so they
can provide the appropriate
assistance.

Statistical Research Section
Franchise Tax Board MS 351
P.O. Box 1468

Sacramento, CA 95812-1468

Automated phone service:
(800) 338-0505 (recordings)

Assistance:
(800) 852-5711 (operator)

Hearing-impaired:
(800) 822-6268 (TTY)
www.ftb.ca.gov

calyoBs™ An Internet-based job and résumé listing EDD
system that increases public access to Workforce Services Division, MIC 50
employment services. P.O. Box 826880
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
Employers may call their local Workforce .
Service Office or One-Stop Career Center CalJOBS™ assistance:
site for assistance in entering job openings  [(800) 758-0398
or selecting job seekers. 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time (PT)
Monday through Friday
www.caljobs.ca.gov
e-Services A convenient method for filing your Quarterly |EDD
Wage and Withholding Reports (DE 6), Internet Filing Unit
Annual Reconciliation Statement (DE 7), e-Services Customer Service:
Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34), and (800) 796-3524
Report of Independent Contractor(s) E-mail: ecom@edd.ca.gov
(DE 542) over the Internet. Refer to page 86 |https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov
for additional information.
e-File A convenient method for transmitting your EDD
- Federal/State Quarterly Wage and Withholding Reports Internet Filing Unit
Employment Taxes (DE 6), and Annual Reconciliation Statement
(FSET) (DE 7) as a file attachment over the Internet. |FSET Customer Service:
(866) 592-1651
Email: FSET @edd.ca.gov
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov
e-Pay A convenient method to electronically transfer(EDD
- Electronic Funds Transfer|tax deposits to EDD. Refer to page 87 for EFT Unit
(EFT) additional information. Telephone: (916) 654-9130
Fax: (916) 654-7441

https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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TOPIC DESCRIPTION CONTACT

- EZPAY A convenient method using a telephone or EDD .
the Internet to pay tax deposits using a credit | 1axpayer Assistance Center
card. Refer to page 87 for additional Telephone: (888) 745-3886
information. https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov
e-Register Allows new employers to register online and |EDD
- EZREG existing employers to change address and/or |Taxpayer Assistance Center
inactivate account. Refer to page 88 for Telephone: (888) 745-3886
additional information. https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov
Magnetic Media A convenient method for employers to report |EDD
quarterly wage withholding, independent Magnetic Media Coordinator

contractor (IC), and/or New Employee
Registry (NER) information. Refer to page 88 |Telephone

for additional information. Quarterly wage report:  (916) 654-6845
IC/NER: (916) 651-6945
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov

Economic Development The EDD’s Labor Market Information Division [EDD

offers data on occupational wages and Labor Market Information Division

outlook, employment by industry, and State

and local labor market. Telephone: (916) 262-2162

www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov

Employee Eligibility to Under federal law, employers are required to |U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
Work verify that every individual (citizen, national,

or alien) whom they hire has the right to work |Business Liaison

in the United States (U.S.). Automated phone service:

(800) 357-2099

Request a copy of the Handbook for
Employers: Instructions for Completing
Form [-9 (M-274).
www.uscis.gov/portal/site/uscis

The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration
Services (USCIS) require you to complete an
Employment Eligibility Verification (Form 1-9)
for each person hired to verify employment
eligibility.

Employer Requirements The Taxpayer Assistance Center can answer |EDD

your payroll tax questions (e.g., employee Taxpayer Assistance Center
and independent contractor status, employer
registration, independent contractor reporting,| Telephone: (888) 745-3886

and new employee reporting). www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Contact_U
s_About_Payroll_Taxes.htm

Employer Rights During the [Employer rights are protected by the EDD
Employment Tax Audit and |Taxpayer Advocate Office during the Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93
Collection Process employment tax audit and collection process. |P.O. Box 826880

You may request assistance from this office |Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
after first attempting to resolve an issue with

an EDD representative, supervisor, and Toll-Free: (866) 594-4177
office manager. Telephone: (916) 654-8957
Fax: (916) 654-6969

www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Taxpayer_
Advocate.htm

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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TOPIC

DESCRIPTION

CONTACT

Employment Development
Department (EDD) Web Site

Provides a variety of information on EDD’s
programs and services, forms and
publications, and links to other government
sites.

EDD
www.edd.ca.gov

Employment Tax Rates and
Unemployment Insurance
Benefit Charges

A Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement
of Ul Reserve Account (DE 2088) is mailed
annually by December 31 to notify employers
of their Ul, ETT, and SDI tax rates. For
additional information, refer to page 99.

A Statement of Charges to Reserve Account
(DE 428T) is mailed annually in October. This
statement is an itemized list of Ul charges to
your reserve account. For additional
information, refer to page 108.

Protests to the DE 2088 and DE 428T must
be submitted within 60 days of the “mail date”
on the notice.

EDD

Contribution Rate Group, MIC 4
P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Telephone: (916) 653-7795
(24-hour automated telephone system)

Employment Training Panel

Provides funds to train and retain workers in
targeted industries. Includes retraining
current employees, training new hires, and
five Special Employment Training programs.
For additional information, refer to pages 112
and 113.

Employment Training Panel

North Hollywood (818) 755-1313

Sacramento (916) 327-5640
Central Office
Sacramento
RegionalOffice (916)327-5239
San Diego (619) 686-1920

San Francisco Bay Area

Regional Office (650) 655-6930

www.etp.ca.gov

Federal Tax Requirements

For federal employment tax and personal
income tax requirements, contact the Internal
Revenue Service (IRS). The federal
Employer’s Tax Guide (Publication 15,
Circular E) and Employer’s Supplemental Tax
Guide (Publication 15-A) are available from
IRS.

Internal Revenue Service

Telephone: (800) 829-4933
www.irs.gov

Federal Unemployment Tax

The method IRS uses to verify with the states

EDD

Act (FUTA) Certification that the credit claimed on the Form 940 or FUTA Certification Unit
Form 1040, Schedule H, was actually paid to
the state. Refer to page 99 for additional Telephone: (916) 654-8545
information.

Forms

- Alternate Tax Forms

- Tax Forms and
Publications

The requirements and approval for using
alternate forms to file your payroll tax reports
can be obtained by contacting the Alternate
Forms Coordinator.

EDD
Alternate Forms Coordinator

Telephone: (916) 255-0649

Tax forms and publications are available
through the Internet, our automated Fax on
Demand system, and Employment Tax
Offices.

EDD
Less than 25 copies: (888) 745-3886
25 copies or more:  (916) 322-2835

Fax on Demand: (877) 547-4503
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and
_Publications.htm

www.edd.ca.gov
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TOPIC DESCRIPTION CONTACT

Job Referral and All questions regarding EDD Workforce EDD or local One-Stop Career Center
Recruitment Services Services or Workforce Investment Act (WIA) (www.servicelocator.org
services.
Employers:

www.edd.ca.gov/Jobs_and_Training/Hire_
workers.htm

WIA:
www.edd.ca.gov/Jobs_and_Training/Work
force_Investment_Act.htm

www.edd.ca.gov/Jobs_and_Training/Find_

a_dJob.htm
Labor Law Requirements All questions regarding labor law Department of Industrial Relations
requirements, such as minimum wage, hours, |(refer to the government listing in your local
overtime, and workers’ compensation telephone book).
requirements. www.dir.ca.gov/

Labor Market Information  |California’s labor market information can help |EDD

you with your important business decisions. |Labor Market Information Division
Data available includes occupational
employment and wage data, industry Telephone: (916) 262-2162
employment, labor force, and selected www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov
population characteristics.

Paid Family Leave (PFL) PFL is a component of the State Disability EDD

Insurance (SDI) program and provides Paid Family Leave

benefits to individuals unable to work due to

the need to care for a seriously ill family Telephone

member or to bond with a new child. English: (877) 238-4373
Spanish: (877) 379-3819
Cantonese: (866) 692-5595
Vietnamese: (866) 692-5596
Armenian: (866) 627-1567
Tagalog: (866) 627-1569
Punjabi: (866) 627-1568
TTY (nonverbal): (800) 445-1312
Employers may press “0” at the menu to
speak with a representative.
www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/Paid_Family_
Leave.htm

Payroll Tax Seminars Seminar topics include reporting EDD

requirements, how to complete payroll tax Taxpayer Assistance Center
forms, and independent contractor and
employee issues. Telephone: (888) 745-3886

Register online at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars

Reimbursable Method of Public employers and certain nonprofit EDD
Paying Unemployment organizations have the option of becoming Reimbursable Accounting Group, MIC 19
Insurance (Ul) Benefits “reimbursable” employers. Employers using |P.O. Box 826880

this method to pay Ul benefits are required to [Sacramento, CA 94280
reimburse the Ul Fund on a
dollar-for-dollar basis for all Ul benefits paid |Telephone: (916) 653-5846
to their former employees.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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TOPIC DESCRIPTION CONTACT
School Employees School employers may elect to participate in |EDD
Fund (SEF) the SEF (Ul program) to finance Ul benefits. |School Employees Fund, MIC 13

P.O. Box 826880
Sacramento, CA 94280

Telephone: (916) 653-5380
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/School_Em
ployees_Fund.htm

State Disability Insurance
(SDI) Program

Disability Insurance (D) benefits are a
component of SDI and are paid to eligible
California workers experiencing a loss of
wages when they are unable to perform their
regular or customary work due to a non-
work-related illness, or injury, pregnancy,
and childbirth. Paid Family Leave (PFL)
benefits are a component of SDI and are paid
to California workers unable to work because
they need to care for a seriously ill family
member or bond with a new child. SDI is
funded by taxes withheld from the
employee’s wages.

EDD
State Disability Insurance Office

Telephone

English: (800) 480-3287
Spanish: (866) 658-8846
TTY: (800) 563-2441

Employers may press “0” at the menu to
speak with a representative.
www.edd.ca.gov/Disability

Tax Debt — California
Payroll Taxes

- Offers in Compromise

- Settlements Program

Enables a qualified tax debtor to eliminate an
employment tax liability at less than full value.

EDD
Offers in Compromise

Telephone: (916) 464-2739

Provides employers and the State an
opportunity to avoid the cost of prolonged
litigation associated with resolving disputed
employment tax issues.

EDD

Settlements Office, MIC 93
P.O. Box 826880
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Telephone: (916) 653-9130
Fax: (916) 653-7986
Tax Information For general tax information, call our toll-free |EDD

- Call Center

- EZ Access Information
Topics and Fax on
Demand

number. Call center staff are available 8 a.m.
to 5 p.m., PT, Monday through Friday. The
call center is closed on State holidays.

Taxpayer Assistance Center

Telephone: (888) 745-3886
Outside U.S. or Canada call
(916) 464-3502.

Prerecorded messages covering more than
50 topics and tax forms and publications by
fax are available 24 hours a day by calling
our toll-free telephone number.

EDD
Telephone: (877) 547-4503

Taxpayer Advocate Office

If you are unable to resolve an employment
tax problem with an EDD representative,
supervisor, and office manager, you can
contact the Taxpayer Advocate Office for
assistance.

EDD

Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93
P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Toll-Free: (866) 594-4177
Telephone: (916) 654-8957
Fax: (916) 654-6969

www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Taxpayer_
Advocate.htm

www.edd.ca.gov
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TOPIC DESCRIPTION CONTACT

Tele-Reg Register by telephone and receive your EDD |EDD
employer account number over the phone. Account Services Group
Telephone: (916) 654-8706
Underground Economy Investigates businesses that are paying EDD
workers undocumented cash payments or not|Underground Economy Operations
complying with labor and licensing laws. Hotline: (800) 528-1783

Email: ueo@edd.ca.gov

Unemployment Insurance |Provides temporary income to unemployed |EDD
(Ul) Benefits workers who meet the Ul eligibility Unemployment Insurance Office
requirements.

To file by Telephone:

English (800) 300-5616
Spanish (800) 326-8937
Cantonese (800) 547-3506
Vietnamese (800) 547-2058
Mandarin (866) 303-0706
TTY (nonvoice) (800) 815-9387

Ul program self service (866) 333-4606

Employers should press “3” for the employer
menu (available in English and Spanish) that
provides Ul and Workforce Service information
or access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/default.htm.
Go to the “Contact Ul” section.

To file by mail:

Print out the Ul Application (DE 1101) from
EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Unemployment/Filing_a_
Claim.htm Go to “Filing a Claim” section.

To file online via the Internet:

Complete the eApply4Ul application from the
EDD’s Web site at
https://eapply4ui.edd.ca.gov/ Go to the
“File Now” link in the left column.

Workers’ Compensation If you have employees, you are required by |Your insurance agent or

Insurance law to have workers’ compensation insurance |Division of Workers’ Compensation
coverage. Failure to do so is a crime and may
result in penalties and closure of your Telephone: (800) 736-7401
business. www.dir.ca.gov

Workforce Service The EDD’s Workforce Services Branch offers |EDD
a variety of services that bring employers with|Workforce Services site nearest you (refer to
job openings together with qualified job the government listing in your local telephone
seekers. book).

www.edd.ca.gov/Jobs_and_Training/Work
force_Services_Offices.htm

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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Account Number

Automated Clearing
House (ACH)

Base Period

CCR

CUIAB

California Unemployment

Insurance Code (CUIC)

Cash Wages
Charges

Claim

Claimant

Contributions

Deposit

Determination

Disability Insurance (DI)

e-Services

Electronic Funds Transfer
(EFT)

Employee

Employment Taxes

www.edd.ca.gov
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The eight-digit EDD employer account number assigned to each registered employer
(e.g., 000-0000-0). Always refer to your EDD employer account number when
communicating with EDD. Omission of your employer account number may result in
delays in processing payments, reporting documents, and correspondence.

Any entity that operates as a clearing house for electronic debit or credit transactions
pursuant to an Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) agreement with an association that is a
member of the National ACH Association.

The first four of the last five quarters preceding the effective date of the claim.
California Code of Regulations, which is available on the Internet at www.calregs.com.
California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board

The laws administering California’s Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training
Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and Personal Income Tax (PIT) programs.
The CUIC is available on the Internet at www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html.

Checks and currency paid to employees.

Amounts deducted from an employer’s reserve account or amounts reimbursable for State
Ul benefits paid to former employees.

An application for Ul, DI, or PFL benefits.

e Unemployment Insurance (Ul) - The process that establishes a Ul benefit year is
called a new claim. Weekly continued claim forms are used by claimants to certify for
Ul benefits during the benefit year. After establishing a benefit year, claimants who
interrupt their claims (by returning to work and having excessive earnings, being
disqualified for benefits, or by failing to certify for benefits for an extended period of
time) may request to claim benefits again by filing an additional or reopened claim
during the benefit year.

o Disability Insurance (DI) - The application that establishes a DI benefit period is called
a first claim. Subsequent certifications on that claim are called continued claims. For
each separate period of disability, a new (first) claim must be filed.

e Paid Family Leave (PFL) - The application that establishes a PFL benefit period is
called a first claim. Subsequent certifications on that claim are called continued
claims. For each separate period of family care leave , a new first claim must be filed.

A wage-earner who files a claim for Ul, DI, or PFL benefits.

Payroll tax payments for Ul and ETT. The CUIC refers to taxes under its provision as
“contributions.” In this guide, “contributions” are generally referred to as “taxes.”

An amount of money sent to EDD with a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon or through
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) or EZPAY. For more information, please refer to page 73.

A decision regarding a claimant’s eligibility to receive Ul, DI, or PFL benefits.

Benefits paid to eligible California workers experiencing a loss of wages when they are
unable to perform their regular or customary work due to a non-work-related iliness or
injury, pregnancy or childbirth. DI is a component of the State Disability Insurance (SDI)
Program and funded through SDI employee payroll withholdings.

Internet services which allow employers to file the most common EDD tax and wage
forms, and allow payment of deposits online. For additional information about EDD’s e-
Services, refer to page 86.

An electronic method of remitting State payroll tax payments. Funds are transferred from
your bank account (with payment information) to the State's account, eliminating the need
to send a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon and paper check.

A wage-earner in employment covered by the CUIC.

Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability
Insurance (SDI), and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding.

Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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Employment Training
Fund

Employment Training
Panel (ETP)

Employment Training Tax
(ETT)

Exempt Employment

Experience Rating

EZPAY

EZREG

FSET

Good Cause

Household Employment
iFILE

ilCR

iNER

Independent Contractor

Labor Market Information

Magnetic Media

Mid-month Employment

Multiple Establishment
Employer

New Employee Registry
(NER)

www.edd.ca.gov
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A special fund in the State Treasury for depositing into or transferring all ETT contributions
collected from employers.

Administers the employment training funds that are provided by ETT to train, and retain
workers with job skills needed by employers. Funds may be used to train unemployed
individuals or to train and retain current workers of businesses facing out-of-state
competition.

An employer-paid tax that provides funds to train employees in targeted industries to
improve the competitiveness of California businesses. Employers subject to ETT pay
one-tenth of one percent (.001) on wages paid to each employee in a calendar year, up to
the Ul taxable wage limit, refer to inside cover of this publication.

Employment specifically excluded from coverage under the CUIC.

The system by which an employer’s Ul contribution rate is determined each calendar year
based on previous employment experience.

A convenient method to pay your tax deposits by major credit card using either the Internet
or a touch-tone telephone.

Allows new employers to register and existing employers to change address and/or
inactivate account using the Internet.

Employers, payroll agents, multi-state employers, and payroll software vendors can file the
Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6) and Annual Reconciliation Statement
(DE 7) as an attachment over the Internet.

A substantial reason that provides a legal basis for an employer filing a tax report or
payment late. “Good cause” cannot exist unless there are unusual circumstances or
circumstances that could not be reasonably foreseen (for example, earthquakes or floods).
For more information, please call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

Describes employment of a household nature.

Internet filing of Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6).
Internet filing of the Report of Independent Contractor(s) (DE 542).
Internet filing of the Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34).

An independent contractor (service-provider) is any individual who is not an employee of
the service-recipient for California purposes and who receives compensation or executes
a contract for services performed for that business or government entity in or outside of
California. For independent contractor reporting requirements, refer to page 71.

California’s labor market information can help you with your important business decisions.
Data available includes occupational employment and wage data, industry employment,
labor force, and selected population characteristics.

A 3 12" diskette, CD-R, or IBM compatible 3480/3490 cartridge used to report wages,
withholdings, payroll tax deposits, annual reconciliation statements, independent
contractors, and/or new employees.

The number of full-time and part-time employees who worked during or received pay for
the payroll period that includes the 12" day of the month.

An employer that maintains a business at more than one physical location and/or conducts
more than one business activity/function at the same location and the secondary locations
have a total of 10 or more employees.

California’s new hire reporting program. Employers are required to report their new or
rehired employees within 20 days of their start-of-work date (refer to “Report of New
Employees’ [DE 34] on page 69).

Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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North American Industry
Classification System
(NAICS)

Paid Family Leave (PFL)

Payroll Period

Payroll Records

Payroll Taxes (State)

Personal Income Tax (PIT)
Wages

Personal Income Tax (PIT)
Withholding

Predecessor

Prepayments
(Ul and ETT)

Registered Domestic
Partner

Reimbursable Employer

Reserve Account

Ruling on
Benefit Claim

Ruling on
Tax Question

School Employees Fund
(SEF)

SDI

Service-Provider

Service-Recipient

Settlement Date

www.edd.ca.gov

The six-digit industry classification code that identifies the primary business functions of an
employer’s business.

Benefits paid to eligible California workers unable to work due to the need to care for a
seriously ill family member or to bond with a new child. PFL is a component of the State
Disability Insurance (SDI) Program and funded through SDI employee payroll
withholdings.

The frequency you pay wages: daily, weekly, bi-weekly (every two weeks), or
semi-monthly (twice a month), etc.

Records providing an accurate account of all workers (employed, laid off, on a leave of
absence, or an independent contractor) and all payments made.

Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability
Insurance (SDI), and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding.

All wages paid during the periods that are subject to PIT, even if they are not subject to
PIT withholding. PIT wages consist of all compensation for services by employees for their
employer and include, but are not limited to, salaries, fees, bonuses, commissions, and
payments in forms other than cash or checks. Wages in any form other than cash or
checks are measured by the fair market value of the goods, lodging, meals, or other
compensation given in payment for the employee’s services. The calendar year total for
PIT wages should agree with the amount reported on the individual’'s Wage and Tax
Statement (Form W-2), in Box 16 (State Wages, Tips, etc.).

California PIT is withheld from employees’ pay based on the Employee’s Withholding
Allowance Certificate (Form W-4 or DE 4) on file with the employer.

A previous owner registered with EDD as an employer.

The Ul and ETT taxes that an employer voluntarily sends to EDD during a quarter even
though they are not due until the end of the quarter.

A domestic partnership registered with the Secretary of State in California pursuant to
Section 297 of the Family Code.

A public entity employer or certain types of nonprofit employers who are permitted by law
to be billed for Ul benefits after they are paid to former employees.

A book account kept for each tax-rated employer to measure employment experience and
set the employer’s Ul tax rate.

For tax-rated employers, a ruling is the Department’s decision as to whether an employer’s
reserve account will be charged for Ul benefits. The ruling is based on the reason for
separation.

A decision, in writing, as to an employer’s subject status or tax liability in the stated
circumstances.

A Ul financing method available only to public schools (kindergarten through 12"
community colleges, and charter schools.

State Disability Insurance.

A service-provider (independent contractor) is any individual who is not an employee of
the service-recipient for California purposes and who receives compensation or executes
a contract for services performed for that business or government entity in or outside of
California.

Any business or government entity that, for California purposes, pays compensation to an
independent contractor (service-provider) or executes a contract for services to be
performed by an independent contractor in or outside of California.

The date an EFT transaction is completed and posted on the books of the Federal Reserve
Bank and the State’s bank account.

Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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SSN

State Disability Insurance
(SDI)

Subject Employer

Subject Quarter

Subject Wages

Successor

Tax-Rated Employer

Taxable Wage Limits

Taxable Wages

Unemployment Insurance
(un

Ul and ETT Prepayment

Voluntary DI Plan

Wage Detail
Wages

Work Opportunity Tax
Credit (WOTC)

Worker Adjustment and
Retraining Notification
(WARN) Act

www.edd.ca.gov
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Also known as social security number. All employee wage records and claim actions are
filed under this number, rather than by name.

The SDI Program provides DI and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits to eligible workers
experiencing a loss of wages. The SDI Program is funded by taxes withheld from employee
wages.

An employer who is liable under the rules and regulations of the CUIC.

Calendar quarter when an employer first meets the requirements for reporting their payroll
taxes.

Subject wages are used to determine Ul, DI, and PFL benefits. Generally, all wages are
considered subject wages regardless of the Ul and SDI taxable wage limits. Refer to the
inside front cover of this guide for current rates and taxable wage limits. For special classes
of employment and payments that may not be considered subject wages, refer to the
“Types of Employment” table which begins on page 16 and “Types of Payments” table
which begins on page 26.

A change in ownership or a new ownership of a business already registered with EDD as
an employer.

An employer who is required to register with EDD and pay Ul taxes each year on wages
paid to each of their employees, up to the Ul taxable wage limit.

The maximum amount of an employee’s wages that certain taxes apply to in a calendar
year. Refer to inside cover of this publication for taxable wage limits.

Compensation paid for “covered employment” up to the taxable wage limits for the year.
Compensation includes wages and allowances such as meals, lodging, and other
payments in lieu of money for services rendered in employment.

Benefits paid to eligible California workers who are unemployed. Recipients must meet
specific qualifications to receive benefits. Ul is funded by employer payroll taxes.

Any Ul and ETT taxes that an employer voluntarily sends to EDD during a quarter even
though they are not due until the end of the quarter.

California law allows employers to apply to EDD for approval to establish a Voluntary
Disability Insurance Plan (VP) (which must include Paid Family Leave benefits) for their
employees in lieu of the State Plan coverage. Once a VP is approved, the employer is no
longer required to send SDI withholdings to EDD for those employees covered by VP.
Instead, the employer holds the VP contributions in trust to pay disability and PFL VP
benefit claims and approved expenses.

Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6) filed each quarter listing employee(s) full
name, SSN, total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withholding.

All payments made to employees, whether paid by check, cash, or the reasonable cash
value of noncash payments, such as meals and lodging.

Federal tax credits for employers who hire and retain job seekers from target groups.

Requires certain employers to give advance notice in the event of a plant closure or mass
layoff.

Taxpayer Assistance Center (888) 745-3886
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Instructions for Ordering Forms and Publications
The Employment Development Department (EDD) provides easy access to its forms, publications, and information sheets

by telephone, fax on demand or through our Web site at www.edd.ca.gov. If you require additional assistance contact the
Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.

By Telephone: You can order forms 24 hours a day, 7 days a week on our automated system:
- For quantities of 25 or more, call (916) 322-2835
- For quantities of less than 25, call (888) 745-3886 (toll-free).

Fax on Demand: Call (877) 547-4503 to get most tax forms, publications, and information sheets faxed to you.

On the Internet: www.edd.ca.gov/Forms
Most frequently used forms are available on the EDD Web site.

The Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) booklets must be reordered using the form enclosed in your DE 88 booklet. If you have not
received a DE 88 booklet, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at (888) 745-3886.
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA

LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT AGENCY

EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT

EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon
request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats
need to be made by calling (888) 745-3886 (voice). TTY users, please call (800) 547-9565.
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