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®»  GENERAL INFORMATION
About the Ul Program

The Unemployment Insurance (Ul) program has operated for more than 75 years and was
established as a short-term wage replacement program. In California, the Employment
Development Department (EDD) administers the Ul program according to guidelines
established under federal law, the California Ul Code, and the California Code of Regulations,
Title 22. The Ul program benefits unemployed workers and the local community. Payments
made directly to the individual ensure that at least some of life’s necessities such as food,
shelter, and clothing can be met while looking for work. For the most part, Ul benefits are
spent in the local community, which helps sustain the economic well-being of local
businesses.

How Administration of the Ul Program is Funded

The administration of the program is funded by private sector employers who pay a federal tax
to the Internal Revenue Service, known as the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA)
contribution. It is a payroll tax paid to the federal government based on a percentage of the
first $7,000 in wages paid to each worker on an annual basis. The federal government sets the
FUTA tax rate. The FUTA contributions are used for:

e The Ul program administration and employment services.
o The federally-funded extensions.

e Ul loans to states whose trust funds become insolvent.

Additional information about the FUTA contribution is available at:
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i940.pdf.

How Ul Benefits are Funded

The Ul benefits are also funded entirely by employers. In California, there are three methods of
paying for Ul: the tax-rated method, the reimbursable method, and the School Employees Fund
method.

Tax-Rated Method

Private sector employers are required to use this method and, therefore, it is used by most
employers. Tax-rated employers pay federal FUTA tax contribution and state Ul taxes.

The state Ul tax is paid based on California’s system of experience rating. Tax-rated employers
are sometimes referred to as experience-rated employers because employers’ state Ul
contribution rates are determined by their experience rating and the condition of the California
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Ul Fund. Tax-rated employers pay a percentage on the first $7,000 in wages paid to each
employee in a calendar year. The state Ul taxes are used to finance regular Ul benefits to
unemployed workers.

Each employer’s contribution tax rate varies, depending in part on the amount of Ul benefits
paid to former employees. Each tax-rated employer has a reserve account which is a
cumulative record of credits and charges and is the basis for the experience rating method. The
employer’s state tax contribution rate works much like any other insurance premium. An
employer may earn a lower tax contribution rate when fewer claims are made on the
employer’s account by former employees.

The Ul contribution rate for new employers is a 3.4 percent rate for up to three years. The
contribution rate for all other tax-rated employers is based on one of seven contribution rate
schedules established by the California Ul Code, including a surtax of 15 percent when the Ul
Trust Fund is insolvent or near insolvency. Information about California’s system of experience
rating and the seven contribution rate schedules are available on the EDD website at
http:/www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de231z.pdf.

Reimbursable Method

The reimbursable method is available to public entities, nonprofit employers as defined under
Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, or Indian Tribes as defined in Section 801 or
802 of the California Ul Code. Employers electing the reimbursable method repay the Ul Fund
on a dollar-for-dollar basis for all benefits paid to their former employees including state
extended benefits and federal-state extended duration benefits (FED-ED) in lieu of federal and
state tax contributions normally required of tax-rated employers. Reimbursable employers do
not have reserve accounts. You may contact the EDD’s Reimbursable Accounting Group at
916-653-5846 for additional information.

School Employees Fund Method

Public school districts (kindergarten through 12" grade) and community colleges may elect to
participate in the School Employees Fund (SEF), which is a special reimbursable financing
method available only to public school districts and community colleges in California. The SEF
is a joint, pooled-risk fund administered by the EDD. All employers in the SEF pay quarterly
contributions to the EDD based upon a percentage of total wages paid to school employees by
each school employer multiplied by the statutorily set Ul contribution rate. The school
employer may also have to pay a quarterly Local Experience Charge on the Ul benefits paid to
former school employees. SEF employers, like reimbursable employers, must pay for state
extended benefits and Federal-State Extended Duration (FED-ED) benefits since they do not
pay federal or state Ul contributions.

On a quarterly basis, the money deposited in the SEF is used to reimburse the Ul Fund dollar-
for-dollar for the cost of Ul benefits paid to former employees of those school employers who
have elected this option in lieu of paying the tax-rated method, required of private sector
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employers, or the reimbursable method. Traditionally, this method is less costly than the tax-
rated or reimbursable method.

Information about benefits under the SEF is available on the EDD website at
http://www.edd.ca.gov/payroll taxes/School Employees Fund.htm or contact the SEF Unit at
916-653-5380.

Contacting the EDD

Use the telephone numbers listed here to call about Ul services. The EDD has separate
telephone numbers for English, Spanish, Cantonese, Mandarin, and Vietnamese speaking
callers.

The Ul Automated Self-Service telephone number, 1-866-333-4606, provides employers with
enhanced information such as:

e Ul claim processing information.

e Hiring assistance or placing a job order through CalJOBS™.
e Unemployment fraud.

e California payroll tax information.

e Employer forms.

e Response to Employer Communication, DE 4614
e Notice of Wages Used For Unemployment Insurance (Ul) Claim, DE 1545

e Notice of Potentially Increased Liability for Training Extension Benefits (CTB),
DE 1545TE

e Benefit Audit, DE 1296B
e New Employee Registry (NER) Benefit Audit, DE 1296NER
e Request for Additional Information, DE 1326ER
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Telephone Numbers for Ul Services

English 1-800-300-5616
Spanish 1-800-326-8937
Cantonese 1-800-547-3506
Mandarin 1-866-303-0706
Vietnamese 1-800-547-2058
Automated Self-Service 1-866-333-4606
(English and Spanish Only)

TTY (Non-voice) 1-800-815-9387

Ul Services and Business Hours

Service Business Hours
Ul claim filing or to speak with a Monday through Friday
customer service representative. 8a.m.to5 p.m.

Note: Ul claim filing services are not
available on California state holidays.

Automated Self-Service Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week,
including holidays:

e Check on payment information, One-
Stop Career Centers locations, and listen
to general Ul information:

Note: Callers must create a Personal
Identification Number (PIN) prior to
accessing payment information.

e Employers can access information
about Ul claim processing, hiring
assistance, Ul fraud, California Payroll
Tax information, and an explanation of
various employer forms.

Ul Claim filing using the on-line Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a
application, eApply4 Ul week, including holidays.

Telephone Services for the Deaf, Hard of Hearing, and Speech Disabled

Callers can contact the EDD directly by teletypewriter (TTY) without using the California Relay
Service. The TTY is a telecommunications device for the deaf, hard of hearing, and speech-
disabled. This telephone number does not accept voice calls.
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Callers can also contact the EDD through the California Relay Service. If calling via the
California Relay Service, you must provide the toll-free EDD telephone number,
1-800-300-5616, to the California Relay Service operator. (Callers outside California should
use their state’s relay service).

We encourage deaf, hard of hearing, and speech-disabled callers to contact us directly by
using the TTY toll-free number, 1-800-815-9387. This will put you in direct contact with an
EDD customer service representative who can provide you with Ul services.

Claim Filing Methods

Claimants can file a new claim or reopen an existing claim by using one of the following
options:

1. File online using the eApply4Ul application located on the EDD website
www.edd.ca.gov/eapply4Ul in English or Spanish. It is secure, reliable, and the fastest
way to file.

2. Call the EDD using one of our toll-free telephone numbers and speak to a customer
service representative to file your claim.

3. Use the paper application, Unemployment Insurance Application, DE 11011 on the
EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/eapply4Ul, The application can be filled out online
and printed, or printed and completed by hand. Mail or fax the application using the
address listed.

The Partnership

Both federal and state governments are jointly responsible for administering the Ul program.
The U.S. Department of Labor administers the federal program, provides oversight and
guidance to states, and oversees the federal Ul fund accounts. The Ul Federal Unemployment
Tax Act (FUTA) taxes collected directly by the federal government are placed into three federal
Ul fund accounts. The accounts are used to redirect employers’ collected federal Ul taxes back
to the states.

The three federal Ul fund accounts are:

1. Employment Security Administration Account — provides funds for Ul operations,
employment services, and veterans’ employment programs.

2. Extended Unemployment Compensation Account — provides funds for the federally
funded extensions, including the federal share of the Federal-State Extended Duration
Benefits (FED-ED), when applicable, and paid to unemployed workers.

3. Federal Unemployment Account — provides loans to states whose Ul Benefit trust
funds become insolvent.
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The EDD applies federal law and regulations and administers California’s Ul program in
accordance with conforming state laws and regulations. This federal-state partnership forms
the first branch of the partnership.

The employer community and the EDD form a second and equally important branch of the
partnership. Employers fund the Ul program through tax contributions and the EDD must apply
laws and regulations to promptly pay or deny benefits to unemployed workers. The EDD
accomplishes this through interaction with the employer community and individuals filing Ul
claims.

Unemployed workers who file Ul claims must also assume responsibility for their role in the
Ul program by meeting all Ul requirements: following instructions given by EDD
representatives, and by being able and available for work, looking for work, and accepting
suitable work. Each individual who files a Ul claim is mailed a handbook called A Cuide to
Unemployment Insurance Benefits and Employment Services, DE 1275A. The guide provides
general information about an individual’s rights, responsibilities and benefits under California
Ul laws.

Managing Ul Costs, DE 4527 is the employer’s guide to controlling Ul costs. This guide
provides information to employers about their role in the management of California’s Ul
program and can be useful in their efforts to reduce Ul costs.

®»  SPECIAL PROGRAMS

The EDD has a number of special programs available to employers and claimants. This section
gives a brief overview of the programs.

Work Sharing

Established by the State Legislature in 1978, California’s Work Sharing program was the first of
its kind in the nation. This program allows for the payment of Ul benefits to employees whose
wages and hours have been reduced. This program is considered a temporary and practical
alternative to layoffs.

This program was established by the California legislature to help employers and employees
avoid some of the burdens that accompany a layoff situation. If employees are retained during
a temporary slowdown, employers can quickly gear up when business conditions improve.
Employers are spared the expense of recruiting, hiring, and training new employees.
Employees are spared the hardship of total unemployment.

Any employer who has a reduction in production, services, or other condition that cause the
employer to seek an alternative to layoffs may participate in the Work Sharing program.
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The employer must submit a Work Sharing plan to the EDD for approval, using the Work
Sharing Plan Application, DE 8686. To participate in the Work Sharing plan, the employer’s
plan must involve the participation of at least two employees and at least 10 percent of the
workforce.

As an example, an employer with 100 employees finds it necessary to layoff 20
employees (20 percent of the employees). Instead of laying off these employees,
the employer participates in the Work Sharing program. The employer keeps all
100 employees on the payroll but reduces their workweek from five days to four
days, thereby achieving the same desired 20 percent reduction in payroll. All 100
employees continue to earn wages for four days and are also eligible for Work
Sharing benefits for the fifth (non-working) day.

The employer keeps trained staff and when business improves, the employees
resume their five-day work schedule.

For employees to be eligible for Work Sharing benefits, employers must complete a Work
Sharing Certification, DE 4581WS, for each Work Sharing week for each employee. After
completing the DE 4581WS, the employer issues the forms to participating employees within
14 calendar days from the week ending date on the forms.

Employees are then required to complete and submit the DE 4581WS forms to the EDD within
14 calendar days from the date the forms were issued by the employer.

For more information about the Work Sharing program, contact the EDD’s Special Claims
Office at 916-464-3343. Additional information about the Work Sharing program is also
available on the EDD website at

http:/www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/Layoff Alternatives.htm.

Also available online are the:

e Work Sharing Plan Application, DE 8686:
http:/www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de8686.pdf

e Cuide for Work Sharing Employers, DE 8684:
http:/www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de8684.pdf

e Work Sharing Program Fact Sheet, DE 8714:
http:/www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de8714BB.pdf
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Partial Claims

The Partial program enables employers to keep trained staff partially employed during slow
business periods. Employees are then available for full-time employment as business improves.
Employers may use the Partial program if employees are temporarily working reduced hours or
have been placed on layoff status for no more than two consecutive weeks. Employees who
are laid off due to lack of work for more than two consecutive weeks must claim benefits in
the usual manner and meet regular Ul requirements (see the Eligibility section of this guide).

Employers and employees use the EDD form, Notice of Reduced Earnings, DE 2063, to
participate in the Partial program and to claim Ul benefits.
Employers must complete the first portion of the DE 2063 and affirm that:

e Full-time employees have become partially unemployed.

e Employees worked less than full-time because of a lack of work.

e Employees had their normal weekly earnings reduced by a lack of work.

e Employees gross earnings after deducting the first $25 or 25 percent of total earnings,
(whichever is greater) are less than their weekly Ul benefit amount.

Partial Program for Fisherpersons

The Partial program is also available when employees of a fishing vessel are partially or totally
unemployed during the entire week and the employees were engaged in the act of catching or
attempting to catch fish on at least one day but less than seven, or had no earnings and
performed no services during a week because the vessel was tied up for certain reasons.

The Notice of Reduced Earnings (Fisherperson), DE 2063F, is issued when an employee of a
fishing vessel is partially or totally unemployed.

Employers must complete the first portion of the DE 2063F and affirm that:

e An employee of a fishing vessel was partially or totally unemployed through no fault of
his or her own, and

e The employee was employed during the entire week and was in the act of catching or
attempting to catch fish on at least one day but less than seven workdays, or

e Had no earnings and performed no services due to the absence of fish in fishable waters,
inclement weather, lack of orders from buyers, or the vessel is laid up for repairs.

Employers are to provide the completed DE 2063 or the DE 2063F to employees by the fifth
day after the end of the payroll week when the employer reduced the hours. Employers should
also advise their employees to call the EDD and file a Ul claim immediately. The DE 2063
cannot be processed by the EDD until a Ul claim is filed.
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Once employees file their Ul claim, they complete the “claimant” sections of the DE 2063 or
the DE 2063F, and send the completed DE 2063 or DE 2063F to the EDD within 28 days from
the date the form was issued to them by the employer. If the DE 2063 or DE 2063F is
submitted after 28 days, benefits may be denied. Employees receiving Partial benefits do not
have to look for other work, but must be available for work and accept all work offered by the
Partial program employer.

The Partial program enables employers to keep trained staff and when business picks up,
resume usual business routines.

Sl
Reminder: ((;D((GET!

= The DE 2063 or DE 2063F cannot be used if the employees are laid off due
to a lack of work for more than two consecutive weeks.

= The employer and the employee must complete the DE 2063 or DE 2063F
before the form is sent to the EDD following the required time lines.

= The DE 2063 and the DE 2063F are available as fill-in forms on the EDD
website.

= The following instructions are available online to assist in completing the
DE 2063 forms:

e Completion Instructions for Notice of Reduced Earnings, DE 4209.

e Completion Instructions for Notice of Reduced Earnings (Fisherperson),
DE 4210F.

e To access, visit the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/forms. Select the
“Unemployment Insurance - Forms and Publications” link and scroll to
find the online forms and/or instructions.

Trade Act

The Trade Act of 1974 is federal legislation that provides Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) to
American workers who lost their jobs due to increased imports. The U.S. Department of Labor
and cooperating state agencies administer the TAA program. The Department of Labor decides
if workers are eligible for assistance under the Trade Act. This program offers a full range of
employment services including training, job search assistance and relocation allowances to
help individuals return to work.

In California, the TAA program is administered by the Workforce Services Branch of the EDD.

The Ul Branch determines eligibility for trade affected workers to receive weekly Trade
Readjustment Allowances (TRA), subsequently files TRA claims, and authorizes TRA payments.
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California workers or their representatives who believe that import competition contributed to
their unemployment may file an online petition with the Department of Labor at
http:/www.doleta.gov/tradeact/ or by contacting their nearest One-Stop Career Center or EDD
Workforce Services office.

For a listing of offices, visit the EDD website at
http:/www.edd.ca.gov/lobs and Training/pubs/osfile.pdf.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is a federal program that provides financial
assistance to individuals whose employment or self-employment has been lost or interrupted
as a direct result of a major disaster and who are not eligible for a regular Ul claim. In
California, the EDD administers the DUA program for the U.S. Department of Labor,
Employment and Training Administration, on behalf of FEMA.

The DUA benefits are 100 percent funded by the federal government.

Benefits are payable only for weeks that fall within the Disaster Assistance Period. The Disaster
Assistance Period begins the first day of the week following the date of the disaster and ends
26 weeks after the date the disaster was declared by the President of the United States.

Claimants file a claim with the EDD and submit claim forms to the EDD for payment of the
DUA benefits.

Apprenticeship Training

Apprentice programs require employers or apprentices to do a combination of classroom
training, and on-the-job training. The training can vary from 1 to 10 weeks, depending on the
apprentice’s occupation, and may be required more than once in each year of apprenticeship.

Claimants who participate in state apprenticeship training programs, approved by the
California Division of Apprenticeship Standards, are considered to be in approved
apprenticeship training programs. These claimants may receive Ul benefits for any week they
are unemployed, and attend and complete the apprenticeship training.

While in training, the apprentice is not required to search for work. If the apprentice must quit
work to attend required classroom training, the apprentice is not denied Ul benefits for
quitting. However, the apprentice must be physically able to work and must attend the
required apprenticeship training in order to be paid Ul benefits.

Apprentices file a Ul claim and submit a Continued Claim Form, DE 4581, to the EDD for

payment. The EDD will verify that the apprentice was in approved training before paying Ul
benefits.
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The Apprenticeship Training program is another way for California employers to maintain a
trained workforce.

California Training Benefits

The California Training Benefits (CTB) program allows eligible claimants to receive Ul benefits
while attending an approved training/retraining program. To participate in the CTB program,
claimants must be eligible for Ul benefits and be enrolled in, and attending training approved
by the EDD under specific criteria provided by law. The following state or federal program
sponsors meet the CTB eligibility criteria:

e Workforce Investment Act (WIA)
e Employment Training Panel (ETP)
e Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA)

e California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs)

Effective, July 1, 2011, eligibility was expanded to include claimants who are verified as
attending training with a certified training provider on the state Eligible Training Provider List
(ETPL), or who are journey-level union members attending industry related training to upgrade
their skills to become more competitive in their trade. Additional information is available on
the EDD website at http:/etpl.edd.ca.gov/wiaetplind.htm.

Claimants who attend training not included in one of the programs listed above may be
eligible to receive Ul benefits under the CTB program if they meet specific criteria. The EDD
will make a determination of eligibility to determine if the claimant meets the specific criteria.

Claimants who apply for CTB or inquire about training before their 16" week of Ul benefits (or
before their benefits exhaust, if they have less than 16 weeks of benefits), may be eligible for a
training extension (TE) claim, when their regular Ul benefits are exhausted. A TE claim
provides additional weeks of benefits if needed to complete training. The extension can be up
to a maximum of 52 weeks reduced by the claim award on the regular Ul claim and any
federal extension benefits. Because TE claims are funded by the claimants’ base period
employers, a Notice of Potential Increased Liability for Training Extension Benefits,

DE 1545TE, is issued to all base period employers when claimants are first approved for CTB
participation in the CTB program.

Base period employers who dispute the claimant’s eligibility for training, must respond to the
notice as instructed with information about why the claimant should not be approved for CTB
training.

Employers who respond timely to the DE 1545TE with the reasons for disputing the approval of
training will be issued a Notice of Redetermination, DE 1080EZ, either affirming the claimant’s
eligibility for CTB or reversing the EDD’s initial decision and disqualifying the claimant. The
DE 1080EZ is an appealable document if employers disagree with the decision.
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CTB participants are not required to look for work, be available for work, or accept suitable
work while in training. Participants submit a bi-weekly Continued Claim Form, DE 4581 to the
EDD for payment. CTB participants are not reimbursed for tuition, book, or other training
related expenses.

The CTB program has long-term benefits for employers — a ready, trained workforce.

For a listing of offices, visit the EDD website at
http:/www.edd.ca.gov/lobs and Training/pubs/osfile.pdf.

For additional information on other EDD programs and services, visit the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov.

Cost Controls

To help control Ul costs, it is suggested that employers follow these business practices:
1. Keep good employment records.
. Provide employees with copies of company policies.
. Give written warnings when necessary and document dates and reasons for warnings.
. Permit employees to take leaves of absence when possible.

. Document when a leave is granted, the time period of the leave, and any leave extensions.

2
3
4
5
6. Document when a leave of absence is denied.
7. Keep turnover to a minimum.

8. Conduct and document exit interviews.

9. Promptly respond to EDD claim notices accurately and in detail.
10. Provide copies of the appropriate employment records to the EDD.

11. Answer the EDD interviewer’s questions with detailed responses.

12. Promptly send additional eligibility information you acquired at a later date, to the
EDD address located on the EDD’s correspondence.

13. Appeal the EDD’s decision if you believe it is contrary to fact or law.

14. Bring witnesses with first-hand knowledge to the appeal hearing.

Note: The last employer is also required to provide the individual with an EDD publication
entitled For Your Benefit — California’s Programs for the Unemployed, DE 2320. This
publication informs employees about programs offered by the EDD for the benefit of
unemployed Californians.
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The DE 2320 is available on the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/Forms in the “Forms and
Publications” section.

Last Employer and the EDD Notice

A claimant’s initial eligibility for benefits is based on the reason his or her employment ended
with the very last employer for whom he or she worked. The last employer will be mailed a
Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed, DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER when a new U
claim is filed. If the claimant had intervening work, became unemployed again, and reopened
an existing Ul claim; a Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed, DE 1101CZ or

DE 1101ER, is also mailed to the most recent employer the claimant worked for.

It is not necessary to respond to the DE1101CZ if the former employee has been laid off due to
a lack of work and you know of no other issue that may affect that person’s eligibility for
benefits. However, if it is your position that the claimant is not entitled to Ul benefits and your
reserve account should not be charged for those benefits, then you should:

® Respond in writing to the DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER within ten calendar days from the
date the notice was mailed.

e Provide specific facts that you believe affect the former employee’s to Ul benefits.

e Be available and prepared to discuss the information with a EDD representative during
a telephone eligibility interview

If you are unavailable when the EDD representative calls and a message is left for you to call
the EDD, return the call promptly.

If you respond timely to the DE1101CZ or DE 1101ER with written eligibility information, you
will be entitled to a written decision of eligibility made by the EDD. You have the right to
appeal if you disagree with the EDD’s written decision. Responding timely to the DE 1101CZ
(or DE T101ER) is important because it ensures you will receive a written Notice of
Determination/Ruling or a Notice of Determination, DE 1080EZ, informing you of the decision
of eligibility made by the EDD. The Notice of Determination gives you the right to appeal the
decision if you disagree with the EDD’s decision. An explanation about a Notice of
Determination/Ruling or a Notice of Determination, DE 1080EZ, is on page 14.

Note: /t is still important for you to respond to the DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER even if your
response will be untimely. The EDD will still consider the information provided by you in
determining eligibility for Ul benefits. Your information is also necessary because it protects
the integrity of the Ul Program by ensuring that only individuals who meet Ul eligibility
requirements are paid Ul benefits. You should explain the reason you are responding untimely
as the EDD may find that you had good cause for responding untimely and issue you a written
Notice of Determination/Ruling, DE 1080EZ, or a Notice of Determination, DE T080EZ. If the
EDD finds that you do not have good cause for being untimely, you will be issued a Response
to Employer Communication, DE 4614, informing you that you are not entitled to a Notice of
Determination/Ruling or a Notice of Determination because you responded untimely.
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You may appeal the DE 4614 and an administrative law judge will rule whether or not you
had good cause for being untimely.

If the judge rules you had good cause for being untimely, the EDD must then issue you a
Notice of Determination/Ruling or a Notice of Determination informing you of the EDD’s
decision regarding the claimant’s eligibility. If you receive a Notice of Determination/Ruling or
a Notice of Determination and you disagree with the decision of eligibility, you have the right
to appeal.

Explanation of Determination Notices, DE 1080EZ

A Notice of Determination/Ruling, DE T080EZ, is issued to a tax-rated employer who submits
timely information when the claimant voluntary quits work or when the claimant is discharged
from employment. If the EDD disqualifies the claimant for leaving work without good cause or
disqualifies the claimant for being discharged because of willful misconduct and you are
issued a Notice of Determination/Ruling, your reserve account will not be charged even if the
claimant later purges the disqualification and becomes eligible for Ul benefits. If the EDD finds
the claimant eligible, you will be sent a Notice of Determination/Ruling informing you why the
claimant is eligible. If you disagree, you may appeal. A Notice of Determination/Ruling is only
issued if you are the last employer, a tax-rated employer, and you respond timely.

A Notice of Determination, DE 1080EZ, is issued to a reimbursable employer or an employer
participating in the School Employees Fund who provides timely separation information to the
EDD when a claimant quits or is discharged from his or her last employment. Reimbursable
employers and employers in the School Employees Fund do not have reserve accounts and are
not issued rulings about whether or not their employer accounts will be relieved of charges. If
the claimant is denied Ul benefits, you will receive a Notice of Determination and you will not
be charged for Ul benefit costs since the claimant is not receiving Ul benefits. Should the
claimant later purge the disqualification and become eligible for Ul benefits, the reimbursable
employer or employer participating in the School Employees Fund may be charged for benefits
paid from that point forward. If the EDD finds the claimant eligible, you will be sent a Notice
of Determination informing you why the claimant is eligible. If you disagree with the EDD’s
decision, you may appeal.

A Notice of Determination, DE 1080EZ, is issued to tax-rated employers, reimbursable
employers, and employers participating in the School Employees Fund who provide timely Ul
eligibility information to the EDD for issues other than separations from employment. For
example, you may report that a claimant is not available for work because he or she is
attending school. The EDD will conduct an investigation and will issue a Notice of
Determination notifying you of the EDD’s decision of eligibility regarding the claimant’s
availability for work while attending school. You have the right to appeal if you disagree with
the decision.

Eligibility issues are discussed in detail in the Eligibility section of this booklet.

DE 4527 Rev. 6 (2-12) (INTERNET) Page 14 of 88



<SPl [ —
Reminder: (GKGF'T!

To protest a claimant’s eligibility for benefits and ensure you will receive a
Notice of Determination and/or ruling.

=  Respond in writing to the first notice mailed by the EDD.

=  Respond promptly.

=  Submit documented facts.

= Respond even if untimely and explain why you are untimely.

If you receive a Notice of Determination/Ruling or a Notice of Determination,
and you disagree with the EDD’s decision, you have the right to appeal.

Last Employer Information Handout

The EDD is required to notify the last employer when a Ul claim is filed or an existing claim is
reopened and the claimant had intervening work. We must rely on the claimant to provide the
correct name and telephone number of his or her last employer. In most cases, the address you
have on record with the EDD is used when the DE 1101C/Z or DE 1101ER is mailed. This is
why it is important that you keep your address and/or any other employer information current
with the EDD. However, in some situations the EDD must mail the DE 1101CZ or DE T101ER
to you at the address provided by the claimant.

We developed a simple form for you to give to an employee who is leaving work regardless of
the reason. This form helps ensure that the employee provides the EDD the correct employer
mailing address and telephone number (or employer agent information) that you want to use
for Ul purposes. Its use is voluntary. The form may be helpful if you are a temporary employer
and employees work for employers who contract through you. Individuals may incorrectly list
the name of the employer where they performed services instead of listing the temporary
agency as the employer. The handout can be duplicated, completed and handed to an
employee who is leaving work. Advise the employee to refer to the form when filing a Ul
claim.
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1. Employer or Agent Name

2. Employer Mailing Address (Street or P. O. Box)

3. City 4. State 5. ZIP Code

6. Telephone Number 7. Employer/Agent Contact

Note to Claimant: Please provide the employer information on this handout to the
Employment Development Department (EDD), as requested, when filing for unemployment
insurance benefits either by telephone or through the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/eApply4ui.

Base Period Employers and the EDD Notice

An individual’s Ul claim may be based on earnings from one employer, or several employers
depending on the time period used to establish the claim. These employers are referred to as
“base period employers.” A base period employer may also be the last employer. The last
employer is mailed a Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed, DE 1101CZ when a
new claim is filed or reopened. Base period only employers are mailed a Notice of Wages
Used for Unemployment Insurance Claim, DE 1545 after the first payment is mailed to the
claimant. The DE 1545 contains the wages on which the claim is based and the Ul liability. If
there is more than one base period employer, the liability for benefits paid is based
proportionately on the amount of wages earned from each base period employer on which the
claim is based. If you are a last employer and a base period employer, you will receive a DE
1101CZ and a DE 1545.

Although a claimant’s eligibility for Ul benefits is based upon the reason he or she separated
from his or her last employer, an individual’s Ul claim is established based on the employee’s
earnings in the base period of his or her claim. The individual’s weekly Ul amount is based
upon the quarter in the base period with the highest amount of wages reported. More
information about how the base period is determined is discussed in detail in the Benefits
section of this booklet.

There may be one employer or several employers in the base period and a base period
employer may also be the claimant’s last employer. Base period employers are mailed a
Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance Claim, DE 1545, after the first Ul payment
is issued to the claimant. The DE 1545 contains the total wages on which the claim is based
and your Ul liability. If there is more than one employer in the base period, the liability for
benefits paid is based proportionately on the amount of wages earned from each employer. If
you are a last employer and a base period employer, you will receive both a DE 1101CZ (or
DE 1101ER) and a DE 1545.
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It is important to respond to the first notice received from the EDD if it is your position that you
should not be charged for Ul benefits paid, or that the claimant is not eligible for benefits. An
employer must respond within 10 calendar days from the mail date of the DE 1101CZ or

DE 1101ER and within 15 calendar days from the mailed date of the DE 1545 when disputing
the claimant’s Ul eligibility. An employer must respond within 20 calendar days of the mail
date of the DE 1545 when disputing the wages used to establish the claim and requesting a
wage correction.

The Ul program is an employer-paid tax. Tax-rated employers pay a percentage on the

first $7,000 in wages paid to each employee in a calendar year. The Ul rate schedule and
amount of taxable wages are determined annually. New employers pay 3.4 percent (.034) for
up to three years. The EDD notifies employers of their new rate each December. The
maximum tax is $434 per employee per year. (Calculated at the highest Ul tax rate of 6.2
percent x $7,000.)

Notice of Ruling, DE 1080R

A Notice of Ruling, DE 1080R, is issued only to a tax-rated base period employer who
responds timely to the DE 1545 notice and provides written information concerning the
claimant’s separation from work. The employer should provide the specific facts and events
that led to why the claimant quit work or why the claimant was discharged. The EDD will
consider the information and issue you a Notice of Ruling about whether or not you will be
charged for your portion of any Ul benefits paid.

If the EDD determines the claimant left work without good cause or was discharged for willful
misconduct, a favorable Notice of Ruling will be issued and you will not be charged for Ul
benefits paid. If the EDD finds the claimant left work for compelling reasons or was discharged
for reasons other than willful misconduct, an unfavorable Notice of Ruling will be issued and
your reserve account will be charged proportionally for any Ul benefits paid. Base period
employers have the right to appeal an unfavorable Notice of Ruling. A ruling only does not
affect the claimant’s current eligibility. It only informs a tax-rated employer about charges to
his or her reserve account.

Base Period Reimbursable Employers or Employers in the School Employees Fund

Reimbursable base period employers or base period employers participating in the School
Employees Fund are not issued a Notice of Ruling on a separation that occurred during the
base period since they do not have reserve accounts. These employers will only be issued a
Notice of Determination regarding a separation issue when they are the last employer.
However, if you receive a DE 1545 and you believe you are the last employer, it is important
to respond timely and state you believe you are the last employer and provide separation
information. The EDD will review your information and determine whether or not you are the
last employer. If you are a reimbursable employer or an employer in the School Employees
Fund and you are not a last employer, the EDD will issue a Response to Employer
Communication, DE 4614, informing you that a ruling will not be issued regarding the

claimant’s separation from employment because you have selected reimbursable financing
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and you do not have a reserve account. If the claimant is eligible for Ul benefits based on why
he or she is no longer working for his or her last employer and meets all other eligibility
criteria, you will charged for benefits paid.

All employers, whether tax-rated, reimbursable, or employers participating in the School
Employees Fund may respond to the DE 1545 with any other non-separation eligibility
information. For example, an employer may respond with information that the claimant was
offered a job but refused without good cause. The EDD will investigate using the information
provided. If the information was provided timely, the EDD will issue the employer a Notice of
Determination informing them of the outcome of the decision.

Report New Facts Acquired Within 10 Days

Additionally, Sections 1327 and 1328 of the Ul Code state that employers are to report
eligibility information to the EDD within 10 days of acquiring knowledge of facts which could
not reasonably have been within the 10-day period provided. The 10-day period may be
extended for good cause. Therefore, employers who acquire new knowledge should notify the
EDD in writing and the EDD will investigate and make a decision of eligibility. If you respond
timely, the EDD will issue you a Notice of Determination/Ruling or Notice of Determination
informing you of the outcome of the decision.

Eligibility issues are discussed in more detail in the Eligibility section of this booklet.

»  ELIGIBILITY

e Telephone Eligibility Interview

When an eligibility issue is identified, the majority of claimants are scheduled for a telephone
interview with an EDD interviewer who will make the decision of eligibility. For some
eligibility issues, claimants may be mailed a request for additional information instead of being
scheduled for a telephone interview. Usually, EDD interviewers contact both an employer and
the former employee to obtain information regarding the reason why the employee quit or was
fired from work. Adjudication interviewers conduct telephone interviews with employers and
claimants to resolve other Ul eligibility issues as well.

Employer Information

An EDD interviewer will call you at the designated-employer telephone number provided on
the response to the Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed, DE 1101CZ, the

DE 1101ER, or other correspondence returned to us containing eligibility information.
Employers and/or agents should be sure that the person shown as a contact is familiar with the
details concerning the former employee's separation from work or other eligibility issues.
Employers should also ensure that the contact has authority to release the information.
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Depending on the kind of information needed, the telephone call should be brief. However,
follow-up calls may be necessary to resolve conflicting information.

The EDD may call an employer and/or agent to gather additional facts even if the employer
and/or agent has not responded to the Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed,
DE 1101CZ or DE TT0TER.

To help reduce Ul costs it is important that employers:
e Keep good employment records.
e Give written warnings when necessary.
e Conduct and document exit interviews.

e Answer the EDD interviewer’s questions with detailed responses.

To resolve eligibility issues, it is the EDD’s responsibility to gather the necessary information
from the claimant and employer, and make a decision of eligibility based on Ul laws and
regulations.

One of the tools used by the EDD to resolve eligibility issues is the Benefit Determination
Guide (BDG). The guide has eight volumes and contains the law and policy on which the EDD
makes its decisions of eligibility. It is located on the EDD website at
http:/www.edd.ca.gov/UIBDG/.

For more information about the questions we may ask during the telephone
Interview, you may access and review the following sections on the EDD website
at www.edd.ca.gov.

e Meeting Eligibility Requirements.
e Eligibility and Payments sections of Frequently Asked Questions.

e Benefit Determination Guide (BDG). The sections entitled “Fact Finding
Guide” lists questions that we often ask to resolve eligibility issues.
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e Separations
Reasons for Separation from Work

Generally, an individual’s work ends due to a layoff, discharge, voluntary quit or trade dispute.
An individual who is no longer working, or is working part-time, may contact the EDD online
or by phone, to file a claim for Ul benefits.

Laid Off Lack of Work

An individual who is laid off is out of work through no fault of his or her own, is eligible for
benefits providing he or she meets all other eligibility requirements. It is not necessary for the
employer to respond to the Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed, DE 1101CZ or a
DE 1101ER when an employee is laid off due to lack of work, unless there is other eligibility
information to report (job refusal, separation payments, etc.).

Voluntary Quit

When an individual voluntarily leaves his or her last employment and files for Ul benefits, the
claimant will be scheduled for an eligibility interview with an EDD interviewer. The
interviewer will gather facts from the claimant to determine why the claimant left work and
review any written information provided by the employer. The EDD interviewer will review
the employer’s written statement as well and ask the claimant about the information provided
by you.

The EDD interviewer may also call you for additional information whether or not you already
responded with written information. The EDD has an obligation to gather the facts and a make
a decision of eligibility based on Ul law and policy.

Once all the facts are gathered, the interviewer will make a decision of eligibility. Voluntarily
quitting a job does not disqualify the claimant from receiving benefits if the quit was for “good
cause.” The California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Section 1256-3(b) defines good cause as:

“Good cause” exists for leaving work, when a substantial motivating factor
in causing the claimant to leave work, is real, substantial, and compelling
and would cause a reasonable person genuinely desirous of retaining
employment to leave work under the same circumstances.”

The reason for quitting does not have to be work-related, or involve the employer. Quitting for
personal reasons may be with good cause if they are of a compelling nature.

It is the claimant’s responsibility under the law, to prove “good cause” for quitting his or her

job. However, prior to quitting work, the claimant has a duty to try to preserve his or her job.
Failure to do so may negate what would otherwise be good cause.
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As an example, an employer decides to close a facility where the claimant has
been employed. The employer offers continuing work to the claimant in another
facility. The claimant decides to quit rather than relocate or commute.

The EDD must consider such details as:

e Normal commute for the occupation and area.
e Working conditions such as wages, and hours. Did they remain the same?
e Financial consequences of moving or commuting.

The EDD will decide if the claimant’s decision to quit was the only reasonable
solution under the circumstances.

Quitting work without good cause will result in a denial of benefits.
If denied, the claimant must return to work, earn five times his/her weekly benefit

amount in bona fide employment, and again become unemployed through no
fault of his or her own, to end the disqualification.

For tax-rated base period employers, it is equally important to submit a written statement
providing specific facts about events that led to an individual’s separation from work. The EDD
will consider the information and determine if the claimant left work for compelling reasons or
if the claimant was discharged for reasons other than willful misconduct and issue the
employer a favorable or an unfavorable ruling. The employer will be issued a written decision
whether the reserve account will be charged or relieved of charges known as a ruling. If the
EDD determines the claimant left work without good cause or was discharged for willful
misconduct, the EDD will issue a favorable ruling and the employer will not be charged for
benefits paid. If the EDD finds the claimant left work for compelling reasons or was discharged
for reasons other than willful misconduct, the employer will be issued an unfavorable ruling
and the employer’s reserve account will be charged proportionally for any benefits paid.
Rulings are only issued to tax-rated employers and only apply to employer charges for
separation issues (i.e., when a claimant quits or is discharged from employment).

Reimbursable employers, whether they are the last employer or a base period employer, they
are not issued rulings on separations since they do not have reserve accounts. However, it is
important to respond timely and provide eligibility issue information because the EDD will
consider it in determining eligibility for Ul benefits.

Eligibility issues are discussed in more detail in the Eligibility section of this booklet.
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The following reasons are generally considered to be good cause for quitting:

e To accept permanent employment (which did not occur as expected) at a
substantially higher wage (more than 10 percent is considered “substantially higher”).

e Leaving temporary or part-time work for full-time employment (which did not occur as
expected).

e The work constitutes a risk to health or safety.
e Sexual harassment at the workplace.
e To escape domestic violence.

e To accompany or join a spouse or registered domestic partner to a new location where it
is impracticable to commute and a job transfer is not available.

The following reasons are generally considered not to be good cause for quitting if the
employee leaves to:

e Look for another job.
e Attend school.

e Start their own business.
Listed below are examples of some of the questions that may be asked of employers and
claimants during the telephone eligibility interview. This is not a complete list, just a sample of

the information we may need to obtain for voluntary quit separations:

e Attendance at School or Training

— Was the claimant required by law to attend school?
— Did the claimant have any alternative to quitting?

— Was the claimant attending school under a formal apprenticeship program
administered by the Division of Apprenticeship Standards, or another approved
training program?

e Travel: Time, Distance, and Cost Factors

— Did the claimant leave the job because of reasons related to transportation? If yes,
what were the reasons?

— What did the claimant do to solve the transportation problem prior to quitting?

— Were there other reasons for leaving the job besides transportation problems?

DE 4527 Rev. 6 (2-12) (INTERNET) Page 22 of 88



e Domestic Circumstances

— Was a leave of absence available? Was a leave requested? If not, why not?

— If the claimant moved to care for someone else, was the claimant’s presence required,
or necessary?

— If the claimant quit work because of domestic circumstances, was there a necessity for
leaving work?

e Health and Safety

— If the quit was because of the claimant’s health, did the claimant quit on the advice of
a physician?

— Was the claimant physically unable to work at the time of leaving?

— If the claimant left work due to a belief of imminent illness or injury: What was the
basis for the belief? Was the belief reasonable? Were the risks inherent to the
occupation?

e Personal Affairs

— Retirement: Why did the claimant elect to retire at the time he/she chose to retire?
— Self-employment: Was the employment the claimant quit permanent or temporary?

— Financial difficulties: What was the nature of the claimant’s financial difficulty?

e |eaving for Other Work

— Was the claimant’s primary reason for leaving to look for other employment, or did
the claimant have a definite offer of new work?

— If the new job was not initially better, would the job have been better over the long
run?

e Working Conditions

— Did the claimant have an expressed or implied contract of hire, such as a union
Collective bargaining agreement?

— How were the claimant’s conditions more difficult than those of other employees?

— Was the claimant’s situation addressed in written company policy or personnel
practice?
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— Discharge

When an individual is discharged from his or her last employment and files for Ul benefits, the
claimant will be scheduled for an eligibility interview. An EDD interviewer will gather facts
from the claimant and employer to determine why the claimant was let go from work.

When an individual is discharged from employment, an EDD interviewer is required to call
you whether or not you already responded with written information. The EDD has an
obligation to gather the facts and a make a decision of eligibility based on Ul law and policy.

Discharging an employee does not disqualify the claimant from receiving benefits unless the
discharge was for “misconduct.” The California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Section 1256-30
states:

“Misconduct connected with his or her most recent work exists for an
individual’s discharge if all of the following elements are present:

1. The claimant owes a material duty to the employer under the contract
of employment.

2. There is a substantial breach of that duty.
3. The breach is a willful or wanton disregard of that duty.

4. The breach disregards the employer’s interests and injures or tends to
injure the employer’s interests.”

It is the employer’s responsibility under the law to prove the claimant was discharged for
“misconduct.” The misconduct must be connected with work such as:

e Violation of a lawful and reasonable company rule: The claimant must have had
knowledge of the rule.

e Poor attendance, unsatisfactory job performance may amount to misconduct if it
was within the employee’s power to meet the requirements of the employer, but the
employee willfully or negligently failed to do so.

Warnings are also important. If the violation is minor, the claimant will not be disqualified
unless the claimant commits the act after prior warnings or reprimands for similar acts. For
example, if an employee was let go for too many absences and the employee was not warned,
there is usually not willful misconduct.

If the violation is substantial, the discharge would be misconduct even in the absence of prior
warnings or reprimands. For example, if the employee is let go for stealing, there does not

have to be a prior warning to prove there was willful misconduct.

Clearly, it is to the employer’s advantage to keep good employment records
especially when an individual has been discharged for misconduct.
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As an example, an employee is discharged for absenteeism. The individual received
three written warnings (as required by company policy). The final event that caused the
discharge occurred when the claimant did not report for work and did not call in for
several hours. Questions will be asked of the employer and the claimant such as:

e What happened on the last day?

e When was the final act that led to the discharge?

e What did the written warnings state and what were the dates of the warnings?
e What were the dates of the absences?

e When did the former employee call in or report for work?

e What reason did the employee give for the absence?

The Department interviewer will decide eligibility based on the reason the individual
did not report to work on the date of the discharge. If the employer does not establish
that the discharge was for misconduct, the claimant will be eligible for benefits.

A discharge for misconduct will result in a denial of benefits. The claimant must return
to work, earn five times his/her weekly benefit amount in bona fide employment and
again become unemployed to end the disqualification.

The following reasons are generally considered to be misconduct:

e Theft of company property or property of other employees.
e Willfully or negligently damaging company equipment.

e Falsifying expense vouchers.

e Drinking alcohol on the job.

e Engaging in altercations with supervisors or other employees.

The following reasons are not generally considered to be misconduct:

e Inefficiency.
e Failure to meet performance standards as the result of inability or incapacity.
e Inadvertence or ordinary negligence in isolated instances.

e Good faith errors in judgment or discretion.

Listed below are examples of some of the questions that may be asked of employers and
claimants during the telephone eligibility interview when the former employee was discharged
from his or her last employment. This is not a complete list, just a sample of the information
we may need to obtain for a discharge separation:
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e Attendance
— On what dates was the claimant absent?
— Did the claimant ask for permission to be absent? If not, why not?

— What was the date of the tardiness that caused the claimant's discharge?

e Dishonesty

— What was the dishonest act?
— How did the employer learn of the commission of the act?

— s there proof the claimant committed the dishonest act?

e Health or Physical Condition

— What was the claimant’s health or physical condition that resulted in a discharge from
the job?

— Did the employer have any other kind of work the claimant could have performed in
lieu of being discharged?

e Insubordination

— What is the alleged act(s) of insubordination?
— Disputing authority: When and where did the dispute take place?

— Disobeying an order: What was the employer’s order, instruction, or requirement that
was disobeyed?

— Were there prior instances of insubordination?

e Neglect of Duty

— When and what did the claimant neglect to do that resulted in the claimant’s discharge?
— Did the claimant attempt to conceal his or her neglect of duty?

— Had the claimant been warned or reprimanded before for similar neglect of duty?

e Violation of Employer Rule

— What was the rule allegedly violated by the claimant?
— What was the purpose of the rule?

— When did the rule violation occur?
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— Alcohol and Drug Addiction

Ul Code Section 1256.4 (a) (1) and (2), provide that a claimant is disqualified from receiving
Ul benefits if:

“He or she was discharged from his or her most recent work for chronic absenteeism
due to intoxication or reporting to work while intoxicated, or using intoxicants on the
job, or gross neglect of duty while intoxicated, when any of these incidents is caused by
an irresistible compulsion to use or consume intoxicants,” including alcoholic
beverages.

“He or she otherwise left his or her most recent employment for reasons caused by an
irresistible compulsion to use or consume intoxicants, including alcoholic beverages.”

The EDD must rely on the judgement of a competent professional to determine whether the
claimant was able to abstain from using intoxicants. Competent professionals include
physicians or authorized treatment program administrators. Only a competent professional is
authorized to diagnose an “irresistible compulsion” to use intoxicants, (i.e., an addiction to
alcohol or drugs).

The Drug Abuse Office and Treatment Act provides that records of the identity, diagnosis,
prognosis, or treatment of any patient which are maintained in connection with any alcohol or
drug abuse prevention function are to be kept confidential. Identical confidentiality provisions
are contained in the Comprehensive Alcohol Abuse and Alcohol Prevention, Treatment and
Rehabilitation Act.

Eligibility determinations related to alcohol or drug addiction that involve information about
the claimant’s participation in a drug or alcohol treatment program is considered to be of
confidential nature. Such information may not be disclosed to any unauthorized person.

EDD staff is required to advise the availability of State Disability Compensation to each
claimant who is disqualified due to leaving his or her last employment for reasons related to
drug or alcohol addiction. Assisting the claimant in locating a treatment program is required
upon request.

If the claimant is denied benefits, subsequent work and earnings can purge the
disqualification. The disqualification can also be lifted by verification that the claimant has
entered into a treatment program, subsequent to the week in which the separation occurred.
The claimant must be continuing, or have completed the program and must be able to work.

Listed below are examples of some of the questions that may be asked of employers and
claimants during the telephone eligibility interview when the former employee left his/her last
employment due tor reasons related to drug or alcohol addiction. This is not a complete list,
just a sample of the information we may need to obtain for a separation due to alcohol or drug
addiction:

e What is the employer’s policy or rule regarding the use of intoxicants?

* Does the claimant admit being intoxicated or using intoxicants?
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e Has the claimant provided verification from a competent professional that he or she
suffers from an irresistible compulsion to use or consume intoxicants?

Reminder: ‘)T_)Orl
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= Keep good employment records.
= Respond promptly to the DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER, if appropriate.
= Answer the EDD interviewer’s questions with detailed responses.

= Appeal the EDD’s decision if you believe it is contrary to fact or law.

= If the claimant was laid off due to a lack of work and there is no eligibility
information to report, it is not necessary to respond to the DE 1101CZ or
DE T101ER.

— Trade Dispute

A trade dispute consists of:
1. A controversy concerning terms and conditions of employment.

2. A union or group of workers involved in a concerted action against an employer due to
the controversy.

Section 1262 of the Ul Code generally provides that an individual who leaves work voluntarily
because of a trade dispute is not eligible for Ul benefits. The individual remains ineligible for
the period that the trade dispute continues in active progress at the establishment in which the
individual was employed.

However, circumstances change during the course of a trade dispute. Consequently, an
individual who has been denied benefits may later be found eligible if the reason for the
individual’s unemployment changes. For example, an unconditional offer to return to work
which has been rejected by the employer or permanent replacement of the striking employee
are two events that may become the new cause of the individual’s unemployment and change
the individual’s eligibility for benefits.

Employers involved in a trade dispute should contact the EDD at 916-654-7401 and ask to
speak to a representative in the Trade Dispute Unit. This should be done within 10 days of the
date the individuals left work.

A Trade Dispute Specialist with the EDD Unemployment Insurance Policy and Coordination
Division will gather information from the employer(s) and union(s) involved in the dispute to
determine the facts, including the date the dispute began, the nature of actions taken, the type
and number of workers involved, and other facts as necessary. The Trade Dispute Specialist
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will issue a Trade Dispute Notice to EDD offices throughout the state. The Trade Dispute
Notice provides the results of the investigation and guidelines for determining eligibility for Ul
benefits for various categories of workers involved. This process is ongoing during the course
of the trade dispute and can result in the issuance of several Trade Dispute Notices as events
occur.

Employers involved in a trade dispute may find it useful to access the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/forms and review the Trade Dispute volume of the Benefit Determination
Guide. The Benefit Determination Guide is located in the “Forms and Publications” section. In
addition, employers may also access the Employment Development Department Procedures
for Investigating Trade Disputes, DE 4654, through the same site. This form describes the
general procedures used by the EDD to investigate trade disputes.

’\'Di.l"f —
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=> Contact the EDD at 916-654-7401 to report a trade dispute.

=> Report the trade dispute to EDD within 10 days from the date employees left
work or did not report to work.

e Other Eligibility Issues

This section will cover the most common issues that may affect an individual’s eligibility for
benefits other than his or her separation from his or her most recent work. These issues can
occur at any time during the period Ul benefits are claimed. The EDD relies on information
from employers and claimants to identify and resolve these eligibility issues. These issues can
include whether or not the claimant is:

= Able to work, available for work, and looking for work.
= Refused an offer of suitable work.

= Receiving wages and other income.

An employer who acquires information that may affect a former employee’s eligibility should
submit the information to the EDD for investigation. The information must be facts that were
not known at the time the claim was filed. To receive a copy of our decision, a Notice of
Determination, DE 1080, the facts must be submitted in writing within 10 days of acquiring the
knowledge. Send the information to the address shown on the notice you received concerning
the claimant’s Ul claim. Based on the information received, the EDD may reduce or deny
benefits.
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— Able to Work, Available to Work, and Looking for Work

Individuals who claim weekly Ul benefits must meet continuing eligibility requirements by
being able and available for full-time or part-time work for each week Ul benefits are claimed
and by actively seeking work each week.

Able to Work

Claimants must be physically able to work in their usual occupation, or in an occupation for
which they are reasonably qualified. Sickness, injuries (whether work-related or not), filing
State Disability Insurance (SDI) or Workers” Compensation claims can raise doubts about a
claimant’s physical or mental ability to work. Claimants who are unable to accept immediate
work during an entire week due to illness or injury are unable to collect Ul benefits. If a
claimant is sick or injured for 6 days or less during a week, the claimant may be eligible for
reduced benefits for that week.

Available for Work

Claimants must also be willing and available to immediately accept full-time or part-time
suitable work in their usual occupation, or in an occupation for which they are reasonably
qualified. Availability is not the same as being able to work. Claimants can be physically able
to work but for whatever reason are unavailable to accept work. Common examples would be
lack of transportation, inadequate childcare, domestic responsibilities, self-employment and
school attendance. If a claimant is completely unavailable for work, he or she will not be
entitled to Ul benefits. If the claimant places restrictions on his or her availability or is only
available for part-time work, he or she may be still be eligible for Ul benefits. The following
are some reasons why a claimant may be eligible for Ul benefits if he or she is not available for
full-time work.

— Part-Time Criteria

Some claimants are allowed to be available for only part-time work if they meet certain
conditions known as the Part-time Criteria which is:

e The claim is based on the part-time work.

e The claimant does not have any other restrictions which would prevent him or her from
accepting a part-time job that was the same or similar as when the claimant earned the
part-time wages on which the claim is based.

e There is a reasonable labor market demand for employment of part-time services he or
she offers.

e The claimant is looking for part-time work.
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Does Not Meet the Part-Time Criteria

Claimants who do not meet the Part-time Criteria must be available for suitable full-time work
or part-time work, if offered. However, there are claimants who do not meet the Part-time
Criteria but have compelling reasons for restricting to less than full-time work. These
individuals may be eligible for Ul benefits providing there is a labor market for the restricted
services he or she offers. For example, a doctor may say a claimant is released to return to
work in his or her usual occupation with the medical restriction that he or she can only work a
maximum of six hours a day. If the EDD determines there is still a labor market for the type of
work the claimant is seeking, the claimant may be eligible for Ul benefits since he or she has a
compelling reason for restricting his or her availability.

— Work Search Requirements

In addition to being able and available for work, claimants must actively look for work each
week, even if working part-time. Work search requirements can be met by applying online,
attending job fairs, submitting job applications, etc.

Note: There are some conditions where claimants are not required to seek work each week
such as attending an approved training under the CTB program. However, the majority of
claimants must be able and available for work and actively seek work each week.

Claimants certify for Ul benefits every two weeks, to the EDD for payment. If the claimant
certifies that he or she did not meet the above requirements by being able and available for all
or part of a week and/or did not look for work, the EDD will schedule a telephone interview
with the claimant to determine his or her eligibility for benefits.

s])i,l"f —
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=> Claimants must be able to work, available for work, and actively looking for
work

=> Claimants must meet continuing eligibility requirements each week benefits
are claimed.

=> Employers have 10 days from the date of acquiring eligibility information to
submit the information to the EDD.

=> Employers will receive a copy of the EDD’s decision if timely, written
information is received.
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— Refusing Suitable Work

As stated in our discussion about availability for work, a person must be willing to immediately
accept suitable work in their usual occupation, or in an occupation for which they are
reasonably qualified. Claimants, who are receiving Ul benefits, must notify the EDD if they
refuse an offer of work. When claimants file a claim or when they certify for weekly benefits,
they are asked if they refused work offered and will be scheduled for a determination interview
if they report they did refuse work. An EDD representative may contact you about the job
refusal.

The EDD will first need to determine if the work the claimant refused was suitable. If the job

offer was not suitable, the claimant is eligible for Ul benefits. If the work offered was suitable,
the EDD will determine if the individual had good cause to refuse suitable work. Refusing an
offer of suitable work without good cause can result in loss of Ul benefits from 2 to 10 weeks.

Keeping good employment records and responding to EDD notices will help employers track
who was found eligible for benefits and who may be available for work if openings occur.

It is important for employers to submit information about job refusals in writing. Identify the
claimant by name and social security account number. Include the specific details about the
job offer, such as whether there was a definite job opening, salary, hours, working conditions,
date the offer was made and the date refused.

To receive a copy of the eligibility decision (i.e., a Notice of Determination), employers have
10 days from the date the eligibility information is acquired about a job refusal to submit
written information to the EDD.

g‘ﬁ,,{"f —
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= A claimant must notify the EDD if he or she refused work.

=> The EDD will decide if the work was suitable and if the claimant had good
cause to refuse the work.

=> To receive a copy of the EDD’s decision, employers can submit written
information to the EDD within 10 days from the date new work was refused.

=> Employers must identify the claimant and provide details of the job offer
such as:
— The date the job was offered.
— How the offer was communicated to the claimant.
— The rate of pay and the hours of the job offered.
— The claimant’s reasons for refusing the job offer.
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— School Employees

Individuals who work for educational institutions, may be disqualified if they are claiming for
Ul benefits during a recess period and have reasonable assurance of returning to the same or a
similar job after the recess period. Examples of educational institutions are public schools,
school districts, colleges and universities, non-profit schools, and charter schools.

The same disqualification applies to individuals who work for public entity employers or
nonprofit employers if the individuals provide services to or on behalf of an educational
institution, are filing during a school recess, and have reasonable assurance of returning to the
same or similar job after the recess. An example of an employer whose employees may be
subject to a disqualification would be a city (a public entity) that has employees who work as
crossing guards at the local public schools. Another example would be a nonprofit
organization that has employees who work in the after-school programs on behalf of the local
public school.

The individuals listed above may also be disqualified during holiday recess periods, such as
winter break and spring break, provided they have reasonable assurance of returning to work
following the breaks.

Employers may be asked whether or not the claimant is filing during a school recess period,
what kind of work the employee performs, and whether or not the individual has reasonable
assurance to return to work in a similar capacity in the next year or term.

School employers may refer to the EDD Claims Management Handbook for School Employers,
DE 3450SEF, for additional assistance. You can access the handbook at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de3450sef.pdf

— Wages and Other Income

Individuals who claim Ul benefits, must report wages and other income they receive to the
EDD. The EDD will decide if the income will be deducted from the weekly Ul benefit amount.
A claimant must report wages when earned, not when paid by the employer.

If a claimant works part-time and earns more than $25, but less than $100 in a week, the
weekly benefit amount will be reduced by his or her earnings that are more than $25. In that
case, the portion of the weekly benefit amount that the claimant does not receive remains in
his or her claim for future use or until the benefit year ends. If the weekly earnings are $101 or
more, the first 25 percent does not count. The amount of earnings remaining is subtracted from
the weekly benefit amount and the claimant is paid the difference, if any.

Other Income
Employers and employees may be asked about other income such as holiday pay, vacation
pay, separation pay, in-lieu of notice pay, wage continuation, pensions, bonuses and other

types of payments because the payments are often deductible from the weekly Ul benefit
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amount. The EDD makes the determination as to whether or not these other types of income
will be deducted from the claimant’s weekly benefit amount.

— The Wages Notice

The EDD will issue a Wages Notice for EDD staff when an employer has a layoff involving 10
or more employees and the employees are receiving payments other than severance pay. The
Wages Notices provide information regarding separations or payments and advises EDD staff
whether the payments will affect Ul benefits. The purpose of issuing a Wages Notice is to
reduce the number of calls by EDD staff to the employer and to promote consistent decisions
from EDD staff concerning the payments.

If EDD staff discover that a claimant is in receipt of income such a holiday pay and 10 or more
employees have been laid off, EDD staff will send a request to the EDD wages specialist to
conduct an investigation and to determine whether or not a Wages Notice may be issued.

Employers may also request to have the EDD issue a Wages Notice when they know they are
going to lay off employees either on a temporary or permanent basis and they are going to pay
one or more of the above types of payments. Permanent separations from employment include
a reduction in workforce or a plant closure. Temporary separations are when an employer has
a holiday/vacation/maintenance shutdown and employees expect to return to work in the near
future.

To assist in the process of reporting layoff payment information, the EDD has developed four
Wages Notice Request forms that cover the most common types of separation payments and
situations. The forms are used by employers to provide the EDD with payment information and
to request a Wages Notice.

The four Wages Notice Request forms are:

e Wages Notice Request, Holiday/Vacation Pay — Work Sharing and Non-Work Definite
Layoff/Shutdown, DE 4806

e Wages Notice Request, Bonus Pay, DE 4807
e Wages Notice Request, Separation Pay/or In-Lieu-Of-Notice Pay Information, DE 4808
e Prior Wages Notice Correction/Update Request, DE 4809

Employers may access the Wages Notice Request forms on the EDD website at
http://www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/Mass _Layoffs and Wage Notices.htm. The forms may
be completed online, printed, and mailed or faxed to the EDD as indicated in the instructions.

Employers who do not have access to Internet or choose not to utilize the online forms may
call to speak to EDD staff. If you would like to request a Wages Notice Request form, or speak
to a wages specialist, call EDD’s Ul Integrity and Accounting Division at 916-464-2405. Ask to
speak to a representative about a Wages Notice.
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Call the EDD Ul Integrity and Accounting Division at 916-464-2405 and ask to
speak to a representative about a Wages Notice if you:

= Must reduce your workforce.
=> Have a temporary holiday, vacation or maintenance shutdown.

=> Have 10 or more employees that will receive a payment, such as those listed
above.

Use the Wages Notice Request forms in the “Forms and Publications” section on
the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/forms.

e When a Disqualification Ends

Generally claimants who have been disqualified from receiving benefits will reapply for Ul
benefits when:

e The condition that was disqualifying ends,
e The disqualifying time period ends, or

e They have again become unemployed and have earned the dollar amount necessary to
end or purge the prior disqualification.

If the employer provided the EDD with written information regarding the claimant’s eligibility
and received a Notice of Determination/Ruling or a Notice of Determination, the EDD will
mail the employer a Notice of Modlification, DE 1080M. This form notifies the employer that
the claimant has purged or lifted the original disqualification. The claimant may now receive
benefits if all eligibility requirements are met.

e Fraud Prevention and Detection

The EDD shares responsibility with employers and claimants for the protection and integrity of
the Ul fund. Claimants are expected to respond truthfully to questions asked when filing a
claim as well as correctly and truthfully, answer each question during the weekly certification
process. Claimants must also report any income received during the week claimed.

Employers or their agents are expected to respond truthfully to questions about former
employees who have filed Ul claims. Employers may want to review Sections 1142 and 1144
of the Ul Code for specific sections about employer responsibilities and penalties for making a
false statement.
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The EDD must decide whether a person, alone or with others, has willfully made a false
statement or withheld information to collect benefits or to prevent payments when due.

Claimants who give false information or withhold information to receive Ul benefits may be
assessed a false statement disqualification that denies benefits from 2 to 23 weeks. If benefits
were paid as a result of the false information, the EDD will assess a penalty of 30 percent of
the amount overpaid. Overpayments and penalties must be repaid. To collect the overpayment
and penalties, the EDD may withhold state income tax refunds, lottery winnings or any other
money owed to the individual by the State of California.

Employers or their agents who willfully make a false statement to prevent payment, or fail to
report a material fact about a former employee’s separation from work may be assessed a cash
penalty of 2 to 10 times a claimant’s weekly benefit amount.

Educational employers or their agents who respond in writing and make a willful false
statement or willfully withhold a material fact concerning the reasonable assurance of
employment offered to an employee, as defined the Section 1253.3(g) in the California

Ul Code, may also be assessed a cash penalty of 2 to 10 times a claimant’s weekly benefit
amount.

Employers may be assessed a penalty equal to 100 percent of the overpayments and penalties
charged to the former employees. This will occur if an employer or its agent persuaded or
coerced the employees to make a false statement in order to collect those benefits.

The EDD will mail a Notice of Determination or Assessment, DE 3807 to an employer who has
been assessed a penalty for a willful false statement, withholding of material facts, or coercion

to file a fraudulent claim.

Benefit Audit, DE 1296B

As part of the EDD’s efforts to detect fraud, each quarter the EDD conducts a crossmatch of
weekly Ul benefits paid with a report of earnings provided by the employer. The EDD mails a
Benefit Audit, DE 1296B to employers if records reflect that an individual may have worked
and had earnings during the same period that he or she collected Ul benefits. Employers have
10 days from the date mailed in which to respond to these audit requests.

New Employee Registry Benefit Audit

The New Employee Registry Benefit Audit (NER) process is a joint effort by employers and the
EDD to protect the integrity of the Ul Fund and to detect potential fraud. Employers provide
the EDD with data regarding the employee on the Report of New Employee(s), DE 34,
including the employee’s start-of-work-date (SWD).

The EDD does a benefit cross match against the SWD reported by employers. When there is a
match that identifies claimants who are collecting benefits and potentially not reporting work
and wages, the EDD conducts a wage investigation. The individual’s SWD is very important
for the NER audit process.
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The EDD’s investigation consists of sending the employer an audit form requesting earnings
and eligibility information. The form is the New Employee Registry Benefit Audit,

DE 1296NER. The returned employer information is used to identify Ul benefit overpayments
and to recover the unauthorized benefit payments. The NER audit enables the EDD to detect
fraud up to six months sooner than the quarterly Benefit Audit, DE 1296B, process and protects
the Ul fund by reducing overpayments. With the cooperation of the employer community, the
NER Benefit Audit program leads to the successful detection of benefit overpayments and may
lead to the reversal of charges to the employer’s reserve or reimbursable account. If you have
questions or need assistance completing the NER Benefit Audit, call the Centralized
Overpayments Establishment Group at 916-464-2350, or visit the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov.

Identity Theft

Identity theft occurs when someone uses another person’s information to take on his or her
identity. Identity theft can include wage and employment information as well as credit card
and mail fraud.

In the case of an imposter Ul claim, someone has intentionally filed a Ul claim using another
person’s information such as name, Social Security number (SSN), and employment
information. If the EDD receives information that an identity theft has occurred, the EDD will
place an indicator on those identities. When someone uses one of those identities to file for Ul
benefits, the EDD will contact the individual who filed the claim and former employers for
additional identifying information. The EDD will mail employers a Request for Additional
Information, DE 1326ER, to ensure that all charges made against their account is correct and to
verify the validity of information provided by an individual when a claim for Ul benefits were
filed. Please assist us and provide the requested information in response to any inquiries from
the EDD.

If you suspect a potential imposter claim, immediately report it online on the EDD website or
call the EDD toll-free Fraud Hotline at 1-800-229-6297. For additional information on identity
theft and Ul imposter fraud, the EDD has a number of brochures available on the website at
www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/fraud prevention.htm

Fraud Hotline

Finally, employers or individuals who know or suspect that one or more persons is involved in
defrauding the Ul, Disability, or Tax programs should call the EDD Fraud Hotline at
1-800-229-6297. The EDD considers the information confidential and will protect the identity
of the person reporting fraud.
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=> Fraud detection and prevention is the responsibility of the EDD, employers,

and claimants.

Sections 1142 and 1144 of the Ul Code discuss employer fraud and penalty
assessment criteria.

Claimants or employers who make false statements or withhold material facts
may be penalized.

The false statement, misrepresentation, or withholding of facts must have
been willful and material to the issue under investigation.

For employers or their agents, the false statement must have been made in
relation to a claimant separation from work, or when a school employer or
agent submits in writing false information, or withholds material facts,
regarding a claimant’s reasonable assurance of employment with a school
employer.

Call the EDD Fraud Hotline at 1-800-229-6297 to report fraud or visit the
EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov and select “Contact EDD,” then “Ask
EDD,” and select the category, “Reporting Fraud.”

»

BENEFITS

How Calculated

The amount of benefits a claimant receives weekly (weekly benefit amount), and the total
amount available in the claim (maximum benefit amount) are based on the earnings during the

base period of the claim.

The base period of a claim is a 12-month period. Each base period has four quarters (each

quarter is three months). The base period is established when the claim is filed.

There are two types of base periods: the Standard Base Period and, beginning in April 2012, an
Alternate Base Period. When wages are not sufficient in the Standard Base Period to establish a

valid claim, wages in the Alternate Base Period may be used to establish a claim.
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Standard Base Period

The Standard Base Period is the FIRST FOUR of the last five completed calendar quarters prior to

the beginning date of the claim.

If the claim begins in:

The base period is:

January, February, March

October through September

April, May, June

January through December

July, August, September

April through March

October, November, December

July through June

Alternate Base Period (Effective Beginning April 2012)

The Alternate Base Period is the LAST FOUR completed calendar quarters prior to the

beginning date of the claim.

If the claim begins in:

The base period is:

January, February, March

January through December

April, May, June

April through March

July, August, September

July through June

October, November, December

October through September

Benefit Amounts

The quarter with the highest earnings in the base period determines how much the claimant
will receive each week (weekly benefit amount). The total amount available in the claim
(maximum benefit amount) is either 26 times the weekly benefit amount, or one half of the
total base period wages, whichever is less.

The minimum weekly benefit amount is $40 and the maximum weekly benefit amount is $450.

As an example, the claimant earned a total of $50,675 during the base period
with high quarter earnings of $19,728.

If all eligibility requirements are met, the claimant is eligible for a weekly benefit
amount of $450, and a maximum benefit amount of $11,700.

When Paid

After the initial claim is filed, or an existing claim is reopened, claimants certify every two
weeks to the EDD for payment using one of the following methods: online using the EDD
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Web-Cert™, by telephone using the EDD Tele-Cert™, or through submission of a paper
Continued Claim Form, DE 4581.

For each week a claimant certifies for benefits, he or she is asked if he or she was able to work,
available for work, did he or she refuse any work, and did he or she have work and earnings.

Certify Using EDD Web-Cert™

Web-certification is a new online method which allows claimants to certify for Ul benefits on
a bi-weekly basis through the EDD website: www.edd.ca.gov. For more information on EDD
Web-Cert™, visit http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub_ctr/de2334.pdf.

Certify Using EDD Tele-Cert™

Telephone certification allows claimants to certify for Ul benefits on a bi-weekly basis over the
phone by calling the EDD Automated Self-Service number, 1-866-333-4606 and using the
automated Interactive Voice Response (IVR) system. For more information on EDD Tele-Cert™,
visit http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de2335.pdf.

The benefit payment is issued to the claimant within 10 days from the date the claimant
certified for benefits. The paper Continued Claim Form, DE 4581 will continue to be mailed
for the next two-week period to the claimant for certification. The claimant will hold the
DE 4581 until both weeks have passed, then certify for benefits using one of the three
methods: EDD Web-Cert™, EDD Tele-Cert™, or submit a paper Continued Claim Form,

DE 4581.

This process will continue until the claimant returns to work and stops claiming benefits, or is
no longer eligible for benefits, or all benefits available in the claim have been paid.

How Paid

EDD Debit Card™

In summer 2011, the Ul Branch began issuing the Visa® branded EDD Debit Card™ from Bank
of America for electronic benefit payments instead of mailing benefit checks. The transition
from being paid by check to being paid electronically is determined by computer
programming as benefit payments are processed each day. Claimants will have immediate
access to their benefit payments, no check cashing fees to pay without a personal bank
account, no fees with careful use of the card, and avoid mail disruptions that can occur with
checks. This transition was completed in the fall of 2011. Eligibility requirements for Ul
benefits have not changed and claimants must continue to meet all eligibility requirements in
order to receive payment.

For more information on the EDD Debit Card™, visit the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/Unemployment
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»  APPEALS
Filing an Appeal

An employer has the right to appeal the EDD’s decision to pay a claimant. A claimant has the
right to appeal the EDD’s decision to reduce or deny benefits.

Employers who disagree with the EDD’s decision must either submit a completed Employment
Development Department Appeal Form, DE T000M, or a letter of appeal within 20 calendar
days of the date the Notice of Determination and/or Ruling, DE 1080EZ was mailed. Appeals
must be made in writing. Mail the appeal to the return address shown on the written decision
you wish to appeal. Include the following information in your letter of appeal:

e Your name and the name of your business.
e A business address and telephone number.

e Your employer account number and the former employee’s social security account
number.

e The name and mailing address of a representative, if you have one.
e The reason for your appeal.
e A copy of the decision you wish to appeal, or the date of the decision.

e Any request for language assistance or special accommodation.

Note:

=>  An appeal may be filed after the 20-day deadline. However, if the deadline is
missed, include the reason the appeal is late. Reasons for filing an appeal
after 20 days must be explained. An Administrative Law Judge (AL)) will
decide if you had a good reason to file a late appeal. An ALJ can dismiss an
appeal for failing to show good cause for filing after the deadline.

=> The EDD Appeal Form, DE 1000M, is available in the “Forms and
Publications” section of the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/forms.

The EDD will review your appeal and other claim records. The reviewer will make the
necessary clarifications regarding the decision to pay or deny benefits (this may include
modifying the decision). If the documentation, presentation of facts and conclusion(s) are
accurate, the appeal is forwarded to the Office of Appeals.

The Office of Appeals notifies individuals of the time and place of the hearing at least 10 days
in advance. Individuals have the right to review all records affecting the appeal before the
hearing begins. An ALJ conducts the hearing, giving employers and claimants a chance to
present their evidence.
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The ALJ will issue a written decision to all interested individuals. The decision will include
information about filing an appeal to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board
(Appeals Board). Individuals who disagree with the AL)’s decision must submit a letter of
appeal to the Appeals Board within 20 calendar days from the date of the AL)’s decision.
Include the appeal case number assigned to the ALJ’s decision as well as the identifying
information stated above. Mail the appeal to the return address shown on the AL)’s decision
notice.

The Appeals Board will confirm receipt of the appeal and advise interested individuals of the
procedural options available to them. Generally, the Appeals Board does not consider new or
additional evidence. However, individuals have 10 days from the date of the confirmation
letter to ask to present oral or written arguments or new evidence. The acceptance of any
additional evidence is at the Board’s discretion.

The Appeals Board will issue a written decision. A decision by the Appeals Board completes

all administrative remedies. Individuals who disagree with the Appeals Board’s decision have
six months from the date the decision was mailed to file a Writ of Mandate with the Superior

Court.

T
Reminder: foﬂ(;&'f .

=> Your letter of appeal must be in writing.

= You have 20 days from the date a decision is mailed to file an appeal.

The Appeals Board provides the following publications to help prepare for the hearing:
V' Appeals Procedure, DE 1433

V' Unemployment Appeals — A Guide for Claimants, Employers, and Their Representatives,
DE 1434.

Mail your request for copies of the DE 1433 and DE 1434 to:

Office of the Chief Administrative Law Judge
P. O. Box 944275
Sacramento, CA 94244-2750
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®» THE WAITER’S STORY

(The Employer Notification Process for Tax-Rated Employers)

The following story illustrates the steps the EDD takes to notify tax-rated employers when a

former employee files a Ul claim.

Please refer to the General Information and Last Employer sections within this booklet for

additional information about tax-rated employers.

The story begins when the employee (a waiter for our story) becomes unemployed. The story
continues through the time when the waiter’s base period employers are notified and whether

their reserve accounts will be charged for the waiter’s benefits.

Step 1: Claim Filing

= The Midtown Restaurant fires the waiter for spilling a tray of food on a
customer.

= The unemployed waiter files a Ul claim.

Step 2: Notification

=> The EDD mails a Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed,

DE 1101CZ, to the Midtown Restaurant. . Employment
EDD Development

. . Department

= The EDD also mails documents to the waiter. StaTe of California

Step 3: Notification Received

=> The Midtown Restaurant receives the Notice of Unemployment Insurance
Claim Filed, DE 1101CZ, regarding the recently fired waiter, is in their mail
delivery.
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V' Remember: (()%ET!

= Employers have 10 days from the date mailed to respond to the DE 1101CZ
and provide the EDD with information on eligibility issues (e.g., quits,
discharges, availability, etc.).

Note: It is not necessary to respond to the DE 1101CZ if the claimant was laid off
due to lack of work and there are no other eligibility issues.

= It is important to respond timely. When an employer responds timely, the
EDD must notify the employer of the outcome of the decision of eligibility.
If the employer disagrees with the EDD’s decision, the employer can appeal.

Step 4: Telephone Eligibility Interview @

= Since the Midtown Restaurant fired the waiter, the EDD schedules a
telephone eligibility interview. The EDD will contact the waiter and the
Midtown Restaurant to obtain all the information about the discharge.

= The information obtained during the telephone interview will be used to
determine if the waiter is eligible for Ul benefits.

Step 5: The Decision

The decision is either favorable or unfavorable to the Midtown Restaurant (the
last employer):

=> Favorable - The waiter is DENIED Ul benefits because he deliberately spilled
a tray of food on a customer. The Midtown Restaurant gets a favorable ruling
because they responded timely to the DE 101CZ. The employer’s reserve
account will not be charged.

=> Unfavorable — The waiter is ELIGIBLE for Ul benefits because spilling the
tray of food on a customer was accidental. The Midtown Restaurant
responded timely but they receive an unfavorable ruling, since the claimant
is eligible for Ul benefits. The employer’s reserve account will be charged for
the waiter’s benefits.

=> The EDD makes a decision in accordance with Ul laws and regulations and
based on the available facts, regarding the waiter’s eligibility for Ul benefits.
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Step 6: Written Notification :‘@‘

= If the waiter is disqualified, a Notice of Determination/Ruling, DE 1080CZ,
will be issued to the waiter. If the waiter disagrees with the decision, he has
the right to appeal.

If the Midtown Restaurant responded timely to the DE 1101CZ, they would be
sent a Notice of Determination/Ruling, DE TO80ER, informing them of the
disqualification and notifying them that their reserve account will not be
charged. If the waiter decides to appeal the disqualification, the Midtown
Restaurant has a right to be present at the appeal hearing since they received a
Notice of Determination/Ruling.

= If the waiter is eligible, and the employer responded timely to the
DE 1101CZ, a Notice of Determination/Ruling, DE 1080EZ, is mailed to the
Midtown Restaurant informing them of the reason the EDD found the
claimant eligible and that their reserve account will be charged. The waiter
is issued a Ul benefit payment, providing he is otherwise eligible. The
Midtown Restaurant has the right to appeal the disqualification, since they
received a Notice of Determination/Ruling.

= If the Midtown Restaurant did not respond to the DE 1101CZ, the EDD
would still conduct the determination and make a decision of eligibility.

The Midtown Restaurant would not be sent a Notice of Determination/Ruling
whether or not the claimant is eligible or denied because the employer did not
respond to the DE 101CZ.

o
v Remember: (QQGET.

The waiter and the Midtown Restaurant have the right to file an appeal to the
California Office of Appeals if they receive a Notice of Determination/Ruling
and disagree with the decision.
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o~ . Employment
EDD Development
Department
e

Stafe of California

Step 7: Base Period Employers — Claimant is Paid
= After a payment is made on a claim, a Notice of Wages Used for

Unemployment Insurance Claim, DE 1545 is mailed to all of the waiter’s
base period employers.

= - -

> A base period employer is an employer who paid the waiter wages during
the 12-month period upon which his claim is based.

If the last employer is also a base period employer, a Notice of Wages Used for
Unemployment Insurance Claim, DE 1545 is mailed to the employer too.

ﬁ“Di,(“f
v Remember: (O%ET!

The Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance Claim, DE 1545, is
only mailed if the claimant is issued a first Ul payment.
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Step 8: The Waiter’s Base Period Employers

=> The waiter worked for Fantasy Cruise Lines and was laid off. The EDD
received no response from the employer (none was required).

= The waiter quit his job at the Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn to go on
vacation. The employer responded timely to the Notice of Wages Used of
Unemployment Insurance Claim, DE 1545, with this information.

= The Castle Restaurant laid off the waiter and now has work for him and
provided the information to the EDD in writing.

=> The U.S. Bank Cafeteria discharged the waiter for absenteeism. The
Employer responded timely to the Notice of Wages Used of Unemployment
Insurance Claim, DE 1545, with information about the discharge.

U.S. Bank
Cafeteria

e

)-r_v_L

I=

9

S

{

ﬁﬁﬁﬁﬁ

Step 9: The Waiter’s Base Period Employers Charges

=> The Fantasy Cruise Lines will be charged for their portion of Ul benefits paid.
The waiter was laid off due to a lack of work.

= The EDD notified the Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn, through a Notice of
Ruling that their reserve account would not be charged. The waiter quit
without good cause.

= The Castle Restaurant will be charges for their portion of Ul benefits paid.
The waiter was laid off due to a lack of work. The EDD advised the waiter
about the offer of work from the Castle Restaurant. The waiter accepted the
offer and has returned to work.

= The EDD notified the U.S. Bank Cafeteria, through a Notice of Ruling that
their reserve account would be charged for their portion of Ul benefits paid.
The waiter was discharged for reasons other than misconduct, he was
hospitalized or three months.
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A tax-rated employer will not be charged if they receive a favorable ruling even if
the claimant is later able to remove the disqualification.

Responding timely to the DE 1101CZ, DE 110ER, DE 1545, or providing the EDD
with other eligibility information within 10 days of acquiring the knowledge,
allows employers to receive a Notice of Determination/Ruling or a Notice of
Determination.

If the claimant is denied Ul benefits and appeals the decision, you also have a
right to be present at the appeal and present evidence since you responded
timely. It is still important to respond timely even though the claimant may later
be able to remove the disqualification.
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®» THE OFFICE ASSISTANT’S STORY

(The Employer Notification Process for Reimbursable Employers and employer in the
School Employees Fund)

The following story illustrates the steps the EDD takes to notify reimbursable employers
or employers in the School Employees Fund when a former employee files a Ul claim.

Please refer to the General Information and Last Employer sections within this booklet for
additional information about reimbursable employers and employers participating in the
School Employees Fund.

Step 1: Claim Filing

> A state agency fires an office assistant because of attendance
issues.

>  The unemployed office assistant files a Ul claim.

o, Employment
EDD Development
Department -

Stafe of California

Step 2: Notification

»  The EDD mails a Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed,
DE 1101CZ to the state agency.

>  The EDD also mails documents to the office assistant.

Step 3: Notification Received —::‘@

>  The state agency receives its daily mail delivery.

»  The Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed, DE 1101CZ
regarding the recently fired office assistant is included in the mail
delivery.
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= Employers have 10 days from the mail date listed on the DE 1101CZ to
respond to the EDD with information about eligibility issues: e.g., quits,
discharges, availability, etc.

Note: It is not necessary to respond to the DE 1101CZ if the claimant was
laid off due to lack of work and there are no other eligibility issues.

= Itis important to respond timely. When an employer responds timely, the
EDD must notify the employer of the outcome of the decision of eligibility.

If the employer disagrees with the EDD’s decision, the employer can
appeal.

Step 4: Telephone Eligibility Interview @

Since the office assistant was fired from the state agency, the EDD
schedules a telephone eligibility interview. The EDD will contact the office

assistant and the state agency to obtain all of the information about the
discharge.

» The information obtained during the telephone interview will be used to
determine whether the office assistant is eligible for Ul benefits.
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Step 5: The Decision g

The claimant’s eligibility for Ul benefits is based upon why he or she is no longer
working for the state agency (the last employer):

> Ineligible — The office assistant is NOT ELIGIBLE for Ul benefits because

of his excessive absenteeism for personal and non-compelling reasons.

He had been given numerous warnings and write-ups about his

@ attendance issues. The final incident occurred when he did not show up
) for work for three days and did not call the employer. When he showed
up for work on the fourth day, he told his supervisor he did not report to
work because he went out-of-town for a rock concert. He did not think
the employer would give him the time off so he decided to take the time
off anyway. The state agency will not be charged because Ul benefits
were denied.

>  Eligible — The office assistant is ELIGIBLE for Ul benefits because his poor
attendance was not considered a willful act. The office assistant had been
>N sick and unable to report for work for a period of time. He properly
~ notified the employer when absent, but he was still let go because of his
W coxcessive absenteeism. The office assistant is now recovered and is able
and available for work and has filed for Ul benefits. The employer will be
charged for the office assistant’s benefits.

o~ Employment
EDD Development
Department
e

Stafe of California

» The EDD makes a decision in accordance with Ul laws and regulations and
based on the available facts, regarding the office assistant’s eligibility for
benefits.
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Step 6: Written Notification :%

= If the office assistant is disqualified a Notice of Determination, DE 1080CZ,
will be issued to the office assistant. If the claimant disagrees with the
decision, the claimant has a right to appeal. If the state agency responded
timely to the DE 1101CZ, they would be sent a Notice of Determination, DE
1080ER, informing them of the disqualification. If the office assistant decides
to appeal the disqualification, the state agency has a right to be present at the
appeal hearing since they received a Notice of Determination.

= If the office assistant is eligible, and the state agency responded timely to the
DE 1101C, a Notice of Determination, DE T080EZ, is mailed to the state
agency informing them of the reason the EDD found the claimant eligible. The
office assistant is issued a Ul Benefit payment, providing he is otherwise
eligible. The state agency has the right to appeal the disqualification, since
they received a Notice of Determination.

If the state agency did not respond to the DE 1101CZ, the EDD would still
conduct the determination and make a decision of eligibility. The state agency
would not be sent a Notice of Determination whether or not the claimant is
eligible or denied because the employer did not respond to the DE 1101CZ.

»I'T
\' Remember: ( (;\E'f

The office assistant and the state agency have the right to file an appeal to the
California Office of Appeals if they receive a Notice of Determination and
disagree with the decision.
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Step 7: Base Period Employers <=
> After a first payment is made on a claim, a Notice of Wages Used for

Unemployment Insurance Claim, DE 1545 is mailed to all of the office
assistant’s base period employers.

> A base period employer is an employer who paid the office assistant’s wages
during the 12-month period upon which his claim is based.

> If the last employer is also a base period employer, a Notice of Wages Used
for Unemployment Insurance Claim, DE 1545 is mailed to the employer.

V' Remember: - T),(‘f
et

The Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance Claim, DE 1545, is only
mailed if the claimant is issued a first Ul payment.
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Step 8: The Office Assistant’s Base Period Employer Charges '

Example 1:

The state agency is the only employer in the base period and the last employer.
The state agency will pay 100 percent of the office assistant’s Ul benefits. The
state agency will receive a bill from the EDD for every dollar of Ul benefits the
claimant is paid and will be billed quarterly.

Example 2:

The state agency and another reimbursable employer are in the base period.
Before working for the state agency, the claimant worked for the county but was
laid off. The only two employers in the base period are the county employer
and the state agency. The state agency and the county employer would receive
a bill from the EDD each quarter to pay dollar-for-dollar their portion of the Ul
benefits the claimant is paid in proportion to the percentage of the employee’s
total wages with each employer during the base period.

Example 3:

The state agency and tax-rated employer are in the base period. Before working
for the state agency, the claimant worked at a grocery store but was laid off. The
only two employers in the base period are the grocery store and the state
agency. The state agency would receive a bill from the EDD each quarter to pay
dollar-for-dollar for their portion of the Ul benefits the claimant is paid in
proportion to the percentage of the employee’s total wages with each employer
during the base period. The grocery store would be charged a percentage of the
Ul benefits since the claimant stopped working for this employer through no
fault of his own.
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Reminder: f()ﬂm

Reimbursable Employers or Employers Participating in the School
Employees Fund May be Charged if the Disqualification is Removed

If a claimant is disqualified from receiving Ul benefits but is later eligible to
receive Ul benefits because the disqualifying conditions no longer exist, the
reimbursable employer will be billed each quarter, dollar-for-dollar, for Ul
benefits paid to the claimant if the reimbursable employer is a base period
employer, even if they previously received a Notice of Determination notifying
them that the claimant was disqualified.

7%
Example: vy

The office assistant is disqualified because of his excessive absenteeism with a
state agency. His weekly Ul benefit amount is $450 a week. In order to remove
the disqualification, he must return to work and earn five times the weekly benefit
amount. ($450 x 5 =$2,250)

Immediately after being disqualified, the claimant returned to work for an
insurance company and earned $3,000 and then was laid off. The claimant
reopened his Ul claim and submitted proof to the EDD that he earned more than
$2,250 and the disqualification was removed. The claimant becomes eligible to
receive Ul benefits the Sunday date of the week in which he reopened the claim.
If the state agency is a base period employer, it will be billed each quarter, dollar-
for-dollar, for the portion of the Ul benefits paid to the claimant.

In the example above, if the employer is participating in the School Employees
Fund, the same principle would apply except that the employer is charged
through their quarterly statement of charges.

Important: Responding timely to the DE1101CZ, DE 1101ER, DE 1545, or
sending new information to the EDD with eligibility information allows
employers to receive the Notice of Determination, thereby giving you appeal
rights. If the claimant is denied Ul benefits and appeals the decision, you also
have a right to be present at the appeal and present evidence since you
responded timely. It is still important to respond timely even though the claimant
may later be able to remove the disqualification.
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Overpayments for Reimbursable Employers

Reimbursable employers are billed for Ul benefits paid even if the claimant was
overpaid. If the claimant repays the overpayment, the reimbursable employer is
credited for the money that is recovered.

o
Example: -

The claimant files a claim and states he was laid off from his last employment with a
state agency. He receives two weeks of Ul benefits because he had incorrectly
informed the EDD that he was out of work through no fault of his own. The state
agency, who is the last employer and the only employer in the base period, sends a
response to the EDD on the DE 1101CZ saying the claimant was fired from his job
because of attendance issues; he was not laid off. Upon receipt of the response from
the employer, the EDD stops the payment of Ul benefits and schedules the claimant
to an eligibility interview. At the interview, the EDD interviewer determines the
claimant was fired for willful misconduct. The claimant is disqualified and an
overpayment is established for the two weeks of Ul benefits that he collected.

. Employment -

EDD Development -
Department

State of California

The EDD sends the claimant a Notice of Potential Overpayment, DE 1447, and the
claimant does not respond. The state agency is still required to reimburse the EDD
dollar-for-dollar for the two weeks of Ul benefits paid to the claimant.

S
TJ}
-

The next year, the claimant is entitled to a tax refund from the state of California.
Since he has an outstanding Ul overpayment, the California Franchise Tax Board will
deduct the Ul overpayment from his state refund and reimburse the EDD for the
overpayment. The EDD will credit the state agency for the overpayment.
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®» FORMS AND PUBLICATIONS
Forms Listing, Descriptions and Facsimiles

The EDD is required by law to mail specific documents to employers and claimants when
former employees file Ul claims.

This section contains a listing of important Ul program forms mailed to employers, a brief
description of each form, and a facsimile. The facsimiles are provided as samples only, do not
complete the forms and submit to the EDD.

This is not a complete listing of all documents mailed by the EDD. It is a listing of the forms
about which employers frequently inquire. These forms are located on the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/forms.
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Employment Development Department Appeal Form, DE 1000M

The DE 1000M is used to file an appeal. It is included with all eligibility notices issued by the
EDD to employers and claimants.

A sample of the form is available online at
http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de1000m.pdf.

o~ Employment EDD Telephone Numbers
ED Development English 1-800-300-5616
Department Spanish 1-800-326-8937
State of California Cantonese 1-800-547-3506
Mandarin 1-866-303-0706
Vietnamese 1-800-547-2058
Self-Service 1-866-333-4606

TTY (non voice)} 1-800 815-9387
EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT APPEAL FORM

If you want to appeal a Department determination, please explain why you disagree and return this form to the Department using the
office address listed on the enclosed notice. You have 20 days from the date of the notice to file an appeal. The 20-day period may be
extended for good cause. Reasons for filing an appeal after 20 days must be explained and failure to do so may resutt in closure of your case,

Please note that claimants for Disaster Unemployment Assistance have 60 days to file an appeal. Employers who are appealing the
Department's DE 3807 Notice of Determination or Assessment have 30 days to file an appeal

| disagree with the Department’s decision dated because:

(Attach an additional sheet if more space is required)

CLAIMANTS: While your appeal is pending, you must i to filea inued claim form for the period that you want to claim
benefits. If you are found eligible, you can be paid only for periods for which you have filed continued claim forms and have met
all other eligibility requirements. For more information on appeal hearings, visit www.cuiab.ca.gov/documents/hip_english.pdf.

The following information must be provided by the party filing the appeal (Appellant) or an authorized
agent of the party filing the appeal. Sig| of the llant or agent is required.

Do you need a translator? [J Yes [ No If yes, please give language and dialect:

Appellant Name: Appellant Telephone No.: ()

Appellant Fax No ellant Cel one No.:
ppellant Fax N pellant Cell Ph N I

Appellant E-mail Address:

Do you give permission for the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board to send confidential infarmation regarding your
appeal to this e-mail address? [] Yes [J No

Do yeu give permission for the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board to send confidential information regarding your appeal to
your cell phone number listed above by text message or voice mail so that information may be received sooner? [J Yes [] No

Appellant Mailing Address:

Street No., Apt. No., or P.O. Box City State ZIP Code

Claimant Name: Employer Account Number: -
(For employer appeal only)

Claimant Social Security Number: -

Agent Name (If
Mailing Address:
Street No., Apt. No., or P.O. Box City State ZIP Code
Signature
Appellant or Agent: Date:
DE 1000M Rev. 5 (11-10) - Versién en espafiol en el dorso - cu
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Notice of Determination/Ruling, DE 1080CZ (Claimants), DE 1080EZ (Employers)

The DE 1080 is mailed to employers and/or claimants. It provides information on a claimant’s
eligibility for benefits and may advise whether an employer’s reserve account will be charged
for the claimant’s benefits. An appeal of this notice must be submitted within 20 days of the
mailing date.

A sample of the form is available online at
http:/www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de1080cz.pdf.

o~ . Employment

EDD OFFICE NAME Development
P.O. BOX ED Department

cac e L SPSURE
CITY CA ZIP CODE State of California

NOTICE OF DETERMINATION/RULING

DATE MAILED 00/00/00
BENEFIT YEAR BEGAN 00/00/00

EDD TELEPHONE NUMBERS:

ENGLISH 1-800-300-5616
CLAIMANT'S NAME SPANISH 1-800-326-8937
CLAIMANT'S ADDRESS CANTONESE  1-800-547-3506
CITY CA ZIP CODE MANDARIN 1-866-303-0706
VIETNAMESE 1-800-547-2058
TTY 1-800-815-9387

SSA NUMBER 000-00-0000

YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE TO RECEIVE BENEFITS UNDER CALIFORNIA UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE CODE
SECTION 1256 BEGINNING 00 / 00/ 00 AND CONTINUING UNTIL YOU RETURN TO WORK AFTER THE
DISQUALIFYING ACT AND EARN $0.00 OR MORE IN BONA FIDE EMPLOYMENT, AND YOU CONTACT THE
ABOVE OFFICE TO REOPEN YOUR CLAIM.

YOU QUIT YOUR LAST JOB WITH (EMPLOYER NAME). YOU HAVE NOT SHOWN THAT THE QUIT WAS
NECESSARY OR THAT YOU HAD EXPLORED ALL REASONABLE OPTIONS BEFORE QUITTING. AFTER
CONSIDERING AVAILABLE INFORMATION, THE DEPARTMENT FINDS THAT YOU DO NOT MEET THE
LEGAL REQUIREMENTS FOR PAYMENT OF BENEFITS. SECTION 1256 PROVIDES — AN INDIVIDUAL IS
DISQUALIFIED IF THE DEPARTMENT FINDS HE VOLUNTARILY QUIT HIS MOST RECENT WORK
WITHOUT GOOD CAUSE OR WAS DISCHARGED FOR MISCONDUCT FROM HIS MOST RECENT WORK.
SECTION 1260A PROVIDES — AN INDIVIDUAL DISQUALIFIED UNDER SECTION 1256 IS DISQUALIFIED
UNTIL HE/SHE, SUBSEQUENT TO THE DISQUALIFYING ACT, PERFORMS SERVICES IN BONA FIDE
EMPLOYMENT FOR WHICH HE/SHE RECEIVES REMUNERATION EQUAL TO OR IN EXCESS OF FIVE
TIMES HIS OR HER WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNT.

APPEAL:

YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO FILE AN APPEAL IF YOU DO NOT AGREE WITH ALL OR PART OF THIS
DECISION.

TO APPEAL, YOU MUST DO ALL OF THE FOLLOWING:

A COMPLETE THE ENCLOSED APPEAL FORM (DE 1000M) OR WRITE A LETTER STATING THAT
YOU WANT TO APPEAL THIS DECISION. IF YOU WRITE A LETTER TO APPEAL, EXPLAIN THE
REASON WHY YOU DO NOT AGREE WITH THE DEPARTMENT'S DECISION. WRITE YOUR
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER ON EACH DOCUMENT YOU SUBMIT TO THE DEPARTMENT.
(TITLE 22, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS (CCR), SECTION 5008).

B. MAIL THE DE 1000M OR YOUR LETTER TO THE ADDRESS OF THE OFFICE LISTED ON THE
FIRST PAGE OF THIS DECISION.

C FILE YOUR APPEAL WITHIN TWENTY (20) DAYS OF THE MAIL DATE OF THIS NOTICE OR NO
LATER THAN 00/ 00/ 00

YOUR HANDBOOK, “A GUIDE TO BENEFITS AND EMPLOYMENT SERVICES,” GIVES MORE

INFORMATION ABOUT APPEALS. IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A HANDBOOK, CONTACT THE OFFICE
LISTED ON THE FIRST PAGE OF THIS NOTICE.

DE1080CZ Rev. 1 (6-05) cu
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Notice of Modification, DE1080M

This notice is sent to employers or employer agents who had previously been sent a decision
that a claimant has been disqualified. The DE 1080M notifies the employer or agent that the
disqualifying conditions no longer exist and the claimant may begin receiving Ul benefits.
Employers or their agents may appeal this notification.

A sample of the form is available online at
http:/www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de1080m.pdf.

— . Employment
EDD Development
Department

State of California Date Mailed / /

Benefit Year Began / /

Employment Development Department

EDD Telephone Numbers:

English 1-800-300-5616
Spanish 1-800-326-8937
Cantonese 1-800-547-3506
Mandarin 1-866-303-0706
Vietnamese 1-800-547-2058
TTY 1-800-815-9387

http://www.edd.ca.gov

This refers to the claim for unemployment insurance filed by:

SSA No.

NOTICE OF MODIFICATION
You were previously notified that the person named above was ineligible for benefits
under the provisions of Section(s) of the California Unemployment
Insurance Code. Effective__// , the disqualifying conditions no longer exist because:

[ Claimant has earned sufficient wages in subsequent bona fide employment with

[ Claimant is now able to work and available for work.
[] This modification does not change the ruling you previously received.
[] Claimant has been permanently replaced.

[ Claimant was not returned to work after an unconditional offer to return to work had
been made.

[ Other:

ANY APPEAL FROM THIS NOTICE MUST BE FILED ON OR
BEFORE / [/ TO BE TIMELY.

Department Representative

DE 1080M Rev. 9 (8-07) cu
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Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed, DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER

The DE 1101CZ is mailed to the last employer when a new Ul claim is filed, or when the
claimant reopens an existing claim and there has been intervening or new employment. It
contains the specific information provided by the claimant when he or she filed a new claim
or reopened an existing claim. It includes the claimant’s statement about the reason for
separation and his or her last day of work. Employers should respond to the EDD with written
information about the former employee’s separation from work or with other facts that may
affect an individual’s eligibility for benefits. The last employer completes portions of the form
and returns it to the EDD within10 days of the mailing date for processing.

A sample of the form is available online at
http:/www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de1101cz.pdf.

Office Address: Employment

L
ED Development
Department

State of Califormnia

THIS NOTICE WAS MAILED TO THE EMPLOYER/ADDRESS LISTED BELOW ON:

(MAIL DATE)

. . New Claim:
Additional Claim: O

Corrected Notice Mail Date:
1-800-300-5616
. L TTY (Non-voice) 1-800-815-9387
IMPORTANT: NOTICE OF UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE CLAIM FILED

This is a notice that a claim for unemployment insurance benefits has been filed. Forward it immediately to persons within your
organization who are responsible for handling claim. The time limit for replying is 10 rom the mail shown above.

The claimant provided us with the following information and listed you as his/her last employer:
Claimant’s Full Name: Social Security Number:

Effective Date of Claim: Last Date Worked:

Reason for Separation:

1. EXPLANATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR EMPLOYERS

You have received this form because the individual shown above has filed a claim for unemployment insurance benefits and has
listed you as his/her most recent employer prior to filing this claim. No reply is required if the claimant was laid off due to lack
of work and no other eligibility issue has been identified. For detailed in@rmatim] on employer responsibilities in the
unemployment insurance program, our DE 44, California Employer's Guide is available upon request.

1. REPORTING FACTS - Respond in writing by completing Sections A, B, C on the reverse of this form.

The law requires an employer to submit any facts in his/her possession which may affect a claimant’s eligibility for benefits.
Furnish information if this claimant:

+  Voluntarily quit. e Isnot legally entitled to work in the U.S.

*  Was discharged or fired for reasons other than lack of e Performed services as a sports or athletic participant
work. and has reasonable assurance of performing such

e Left work because of a trade dispute. services in the next season. )

* Isreceiving a pension based on his/her prior work. *  Made false statements or withheld material information

e Is working on a full-time basis, or has earnings in filing for benefits, )
payable over $25.99, covering any time on or after ¢ If you are a school employer, also furnish information if
the effective date of this claim as shown on the the claimant has a contract for or reasonable assurance
reverse side of this form, of returning to work.

+ Isnot able to work, available for, or seeking work. Important: Make your response as complete as possible; these

*  Has refused employment. facts will be used in determining the claimant’s eligibility.

A Department representative may contact you for further eligibility information. If a representative is unable to reach you, hefshe
may [eave a message for you to return the telephone call. If after 48 hours no response has been received, the Department is
required to make an eligibility decision based on available information

[111._TIME LIMITS FOR REPLYING ]

Submit facts in writing to the field office shown at the top of this form within 10 days of the mail date shown above. If your
mailing is late, explain your reasons for delay as the time limit may be extended only for good cause. You may reply on this form
in the space provided in Section IV, on additional sheets as needed, or by separate letter. Always include your State Employers
Account number and include the claimant’s Social Security Number as it appears on the claim and in your payroll records.

If you submit facts in a timely manner, a determination will be issued concerning the claimant’s eligibility. In addition, if facts
are submitted regarding a quit or discharge, a ruling will be issued advising an nmplﬁvr with a reserve account as to whether
histher account will be subject to charges resu\liniﬁum benefits paid. To obtain a ruling on any prior quit or discharge

involving this claimant, you must furnish facts within 10 days of the mail date shown above.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ON EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES IS SHOWN ON THE REVERSE
MAIL YOUR RESPONSE TO THE EDD OFFICE SHOWN IN THE ABOVE UPPER LEFT-HAND CORNER

(OVER)
DE1101C/Z/ Rev. 5 (9-07) EMPLOYER NOTICE cu
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Request for Wages, DE 1919

The DE 1919 is mailed to employers to request wage information that is not showing in the
EDD’s database. The employer should provide wage information related to the specific
quarters listed on the form and when the wages were paid, not earned. The DE 1919 is not an
appealable document; the only purpose is to obtain additional information from the employer.
To be timely, a DE 1919 must be submitted within 10 calendar days from the mail date on the
form.

There are cases where the DE 1919 requests wages for an Alternate Base Period claim. If the
employer does not respond timely, and the Alternate Base Period wages are later adjusted, an
overpayment may only be established if the claim was based on fraudulent information
provided by the claimant. This means that if employers do not respond timely to the original
DE 1919, they may incur reserve account charges they might not have otherwise incurred had
they responded timely.

~—— Employment
EDD Development
Department

StaTe of California REQUEST FOR WAGES

Mailing Date: Case Number:

EDD Integrity and Accounting Division
PO BOX 989153

West Sacramento, CA 95798-9153
Phone: (916) 403-6484

Fax: (916) 449-1630

Employee Name: S8N:

The employee named above has filed a claim for Unemployment Insurance (UI) or Disability Insurance (DI)
benefits and has listed your company as an employer. Please mail your response to the Employment
Development Department (EDD) address, or fax to the number shown above by MM/DD/YYYY.

If this form is not returned and/or no wage information is received, the Department may use the Affidavit
of Wages, DE 23A, from the employee and add wages as appropriate. For Ul claims, it could result in
charges to your account.

Please complete sections A through G below. For additional information, review the information on the back of
this form or contact us at the number listed above.

A. EDD Employer Account/State ID Number:

B. Employee's first date worked C. Last day worked:

D. Termination date:

E. Are employee’s wages subject to Ul or Dl in California? If NO, explain and skip sections F and G.

F. California taxable gross wages paid in the following quarters:

Quarter ending: Quarter ending: Quarter ending: Quarter ending: Quarter ending:

$ $ $ $ $

G. List any of the following types of monies paid on/after last day worked if it was paid during the above
referenced timeframe:

Severance amount paid: $ Date Paid:

Accrued vacation/sick leave paid: $ Date Paid:
In-Lieu-of-Notice amount paid: § Date Paid:

WARN Act amount paid: $ Date Paid:

Other amount paid: § Specify type of pay: Date Paid
Comments:

Preparer's Name:

Telephone Number: ( ) Fax Number: ( )

@ DE 1919 Rev. 6 (4-12) cu
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Benefit Audit, DE 1296B

The EDD uses this form to request wage information from employers for specific weeks that
claimants may have worked. The DE 1296B is mailed to employers who reported wages in a
week for which the claimant received Ul benefits. Specific information regarding the claimant
will be entered on the form. The information is used to identify claimants who may have
improperly received benefits for weeks in which they actually worked and had earnings. The
employer completes the form and returns it to EDD within 10 days of the mailing date.

A sample of the form is available online at
http:/www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de1296b.pdf.

= Employment
EDD Development
= Department

TTE ia

State of Califo

BENEFIT AUDIT

Social Security No. (SSN):

Employee Name:

Por favor [lamar al 1-866-401-2849
si necesita instrucciones en Espanol

REPLY IS REQUIRED BY LAW
Please return ALL Benefit Audit forms

See enclosed instructions for step-by-step assistance.
For additional clarification, call 1-866-401-2848

1. If this INDIVIDUAL WORKED or had earnings,
complete Items 2 through 8. For regular earnings,
report when actually worked

If EARNINGS ARE ZERO for all of the weeks
listed, CHECK HERE [] and complete Item 6
No other entries are necessary.

Week Week 2. Gross
Begins Ends Earnings

3. Circle Earnings
Type Below

mm/dd/yy | mm/dd/yy

REVHS RCPO

RE=Regular Earnings (includes overtime)

V=Vacation Pay R =Residuals
H=Holiday Pay C=Commissions
S=Severance Pay P =Piece Work

O=0ther (indicate type)

. Provide the following information:

Actual First Day Worked:

Still Employed [ or Actual Last Day Worked:

Additional dates (i.e., laid off, returned to work) and/or

reason for separation:

. Compare the name and SSN shown above with your

records. Enter any differences below:

SSN:

Name:
Please complete the audit even if name or SSN is
different.

. | hereby certify that the information provided is true
and correct to the best of my knowledge.

SIGNED:

Title:

Date:

Telephone No.:

Person (if other than above) to he contacted for
additional information:

Name:

Telephone No.: ().

Please return ALL Benefit Audits within 10 days of
receipt to:

EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT (EDD)
P.O. BOX 3038

SACRAMENTO, CA 95812-3038

DE 12968 Rev. 23 (8-10) (INTERNET)
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New Employee Registry Benefit Audit, DE1296 NER

This form is mailed to employers to gather information about new employees who may also be
collecting Ul benefits. The EDD needs to verify the date the employee actually starting
working (not the date the employee was hired). The New Employee Registry (NER) Benefit
Audit process is a joint effort by employers and the EDD to protect the integrity of the Ul Fund
and to detect potential fraud. With the cooperation of the employer community, the NER
Benefit Audit program leads to the successful detection of benefit overpayments and may lead
to the reversal of charges to the employer’s reserve account or a credit to a reimbursable
employer account. The employer completes the form and returns it to the EDD within 10 days
of the mailing date.

A sample of the form is available online at
http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de1296nere.pdf.

EDD 5 NEW EMPLOYEE REGISTRY BENEFIT AUDIT

Department
State of California
REPLY IS REQUIRED BY LAW See enclosed instructions for step-by-step
Please return all Benefit Audit forms. This information assistance. For addlhona\_c_\anﬁcatmn.
could be the basis for administrative penalties against call 1-866-401-2849, or visit the EDD
a claimant and accuracy is extremely important. Web site at www.edd.ca.gov.

Social Security No. (SSN):
Employee Name:

=

If the INDIVIDUAL WORKED or had earnings, complete items 2 through 6. Report regular earnings when worked, not
paid. If eamnings are zero for all of the weeks listed, complete only items 2 and 6

2. Start-of-Work Date (SWD) provided: If not correct, enter ACTUAL SWD/Not Hire Date:
[ still employed Last day worked: Return-to-work Date: ion reason:
3. Compare the SSN and name shown above with your records. If different, provide the information below:
SSN: - - H Employee date of birth:
Please complete the audit even if the SSN or name is different.
4. Howearned: [ Weekly [ Bi-weekly [ Semi-monthly [ Monthly
Rate Earned: Hourly at $, perhour  Salary of §, per Other
5. Type of eamings: RE=Regular (including overtime) ~ V=Vacation H=Holiday Pay R=Residuals
S=Severance Pay C=Commissions P=Piece Work O=0THER
WEEK BEGINS CIRCLE DAYS WEEK ENDS TOTAL GROSS EARNINGS CIRCLE TYPE OF
WORKED HOURS EARNINGS BELOW

REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO
REVHRSCPO

6. IHEREBY CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT THE INFORMATION PROVIDED IS TRUE AND CORRECT
TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE.

SIGNED: TITLE: DATE:
TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO.:

gl

Person (if other than above) to be contacted for additional information:
NAME: TITLE: TELEPHONE NO.: <

Please return ALL New Employee Registry Benefit Audits within 10 days of receipt to:
EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT, P.O. BOX 2410, RANCHO CORDOVA, CA 95741-2410

DE 1296NER Rev. 1 (8-10) cu
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Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance Claim, DE 1545

The DE 1545 is mailed to base period employers after the first Ul payment has been issued to
the claimant. Specific information about the claimant is provided on the form. Employers may
respond to the EDD with written information about the former employee’s separation from
work or with other facts that may affect an individual’s eligibility for benefits. Base period
employers complete portions of the form and return it to the EDD within 15 days of the
mailing date.

A sample of the form is available online at
http:/eddi.edd.ca.gov/sites/Forms/DE/1000-1999/DE 1545 Series/DE 1545.pdf.

»— . Employment
EDD Development
Department

S e T
State of California

NOTICE OF WAGES USED FOR UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (Ul) CLAIM
*TO PROTECT YOUR RESERVE ACCOUNT, A REQUEST
FOR RULING MUST BE POSTMARKED BY

YOUR ACCOUNT NO. BR. NO.
PREDECESSOR ACCOUNT NO.

CLAIM DATE

“IF INFORMATION ABOUT WAGES IS CORRECT AND YOU DO NOT WISH TO REQUEST A RULING,
NO FURTHER ACTION IS NECESSARY. THIS FORM IS FOR YOUR RECORDS.
THE PERSON NAMED BELOW HAS RECEIVED Ul BENEFITS BASED IN TOTAL OR IN PART ON WAGES YOU REPORTED.
CLAIMANT'S NAME NAME WAGES REPORTED UNDER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OTHER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

WAGES YOU REPORTED BY QUARTER USED TO ESTABLISH THIS CLAIM

TOTAL WAGES
REPORTED BY YOU

TOTAL WAGES REPORTED BY YOU AND ALL OTHER EMPLOYERS TO ESTABLISH THIS CLAIM ..

THE PERCENTAGE OF BENEFITS CHARGEABLE TO YOUR RESERVE ACCOUNT IS oorveeevienianissamssssissmnsassassssnsnsanss

THE CLAIMANT'S WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNT IS TO A MAXIMUM BENEFIT AMOUNT OF ...

RULINGS: To request a ruling, supply the information below and mail to the address in the upper left corner.

1. Give date(s) of separation(s) and rehire(s] (if any) during quarters used to establish this claim.

Separation(s) Date(s) Rehire(s) Date(s)

2. Did the claimant notify you that he/she quit? ~ Yes [J No O

Give complete details about separation

The above statements were taken from business records or are based on knowledge of the undersigned.

PRINT NAME DATE
SIGNATURE PHONE NUMBER ( )
DE 1545 Rev. 54 (1-03) PA849
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Notice of Potential Employer False Statement Liability — Separation, DE 3802 SEP

The DE 3802 SEP informs an employer that they may have provided false or misleading
information to the EDD concerning a claimant’s separation from work. The form contains
information about the claimant as well as statements made by the employer and the claimant.
The purpose of the form is to provide employers with the opportunity to submit a written
explanation about why a penalty should not be assessed against them. The employer must
complete portions of the form and return it to the EDD within 10 days of the mailing date. This
is not an appealable document. Its only purpose is to obtain additional information from the
employer.

Mail response to:

— . Employment
ED Development
Department

State of California

Employer Name and Address
Date Notice Mailed:

SSA Number:
Claimant’s Name:

Date Benefit Year Began:

NOTICE OF POTENTIAL EMPLOYER FALSE STATEMENT LIABILITY - SEPARATION

1. In your request for a determination or determination/ruling regarding the termination of the above-named claimant
from your employment on , you indicated:

2. Information from the claimant indicates:

3. Our investigation of this conflict of statements shows the facts of the termination to be:

The Department must make a determination of the application of California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC)
Section 1142(a) (see page 2) as it appears the information you gave us in your original request for (ruling and/or
determination) was erroneous or incomplete.

To avoid assessment of a penalty you must: 1) submit a written response that is postmarked within 10 days of this
letter, and 2) explain in the letter why a penalty should not be assessed. The information the Department currently
possesses could be considered a willful false statement or willful failure to report a material fact. You may use page 2
of this form to provide the additional information.

If you do not respond or the information indicates a willful false statement, a decision based on the facts will resultin a
cash penalty being assessed as provided in Section 1142(a) of the CUIC.

YOU MAY NOT APPEAL THIS DOCUMENT. If a penalty is assessed, a NOTICE OF DETERMINATION AND/OR
ASSESSMENT OF EMPLOYER FALSE STATEMENT, DE 3807 SEP, will be issued, which you may appeal.

DE 3802 SEP Rev. 1 (6-05) cu
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Notice of Potential Employer False Statement Liability — Reasonable Assurance, DE 3802 RA

The DE 3802 RA informs an educational employer that they may have provided false or
misleading information to the EDD concerning the reasonable assurance of employment
offered to a claimant. The form contains information about the claimant as well as statements
made by the employer and the claimant. The purpose of the form is to provide employers with
the opportunity to submit a written explanation about why a penalty should not be assessed
against them. The employer must complete portions of the form and return it to the EDD
within 10 days of the mailing date. This is not an appealable document. Its only purpose is to
obtain additional information from the employer.

Mail response to:

. Employment
ED Development
Department

State of California

Employer Name and Address
Date Notice Mailed:

SSA Number:

Claimant's Name:
Date Benefit Year Began:

NOTICE OF POTENTIAL EMPLOYER FALSE STATEMENT LIABILITY - REASONABLE ASSURANCE

1. In your request for a determination regarding the reasonable assurance of reemployment with your establishment
given on to the above-named claimant, you indicated:

2. Information from the claimant indicates:

3. Our investigation of this conflict of statements shows the facts of reasonable assurance to be:

The Department must make a determination of the application of California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC)
Section 1142(b) (see page 2) as it appears the information you gave us concerning the reasonable assurance of
employment offered to the claimant was erroneous or incomplete.

To avoid assessment of a penalty you must: 1) submit a written response that is postmarked within 10 days of this
letter, and 2) explain in the letter why a penalty should not be assessed. The information the Department currently
possesses could be considered a willful false statement or willful failure to report a material fact. You may use page 2
of this form to provide the additional information.

If you do not respond or the information indicates a willful false statement, a decision based on the facts will result in a
cash penalty being assessed as provided in Section 1142(b) of the CUIC.

YOU MAY NOT APPEAL THIS DOCUMENT. If a penalty is assessed, a NOTICE OF DETERMINATION AND/OR
ASSESSMENT OF EMPLOYER FALSE STATEMENT, DE 3807 RA, will be issued, which you may appeal.

DE 3802 RA Rev. 1 (6-05) cu
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Notice of Determination or Assessment Under Ul Code Section 1142(A), DE 3807 SEP

The DE 3807 SEP notifies the employer whether or not a willful false statement was assessed
for making a willful false statement or withholding a material fact concerning a former
employee’s separation from work in connection with an Ul claim filed by the employee under
Ul Code 1142(a) Section. If a penalty has been assessed, the DE 3807 SEP provides the
employer with the penalty amount and the opportunity to pay the assessment or file an appeal.
An employer false statement penalty can be as high as 10 times the claimant’s weekly benefit
amount. This form contains a payment stub, specific claimant information, and outlines an
employer’s petition (appeal) rights. An appeal must be submitted within 30 days of the mailing
date.

o Employment
EDD 2o
Department
State of California
NOTICE OF DETERMINATION OR ASSESSMENT UNDER Ul CODE SECTION 1142(A)
DETACH AND RETURN THIS STUB WITH YOUR PAYMENT TO:

Employment Development Department Section 1142(a) Amount: $
Cashiering Group, MIC 25 Separation

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Employer Name:

Employer Account Number:
Claimant's Name:
Claimant's SSA Number:
Benefit Year Began:
Termination Date:

EDD Office Number:

FOR EDD CO/CAS USE ONLY
Date Mailed to Employer:
(Issue date of assessment)

DE 3807 SEP Rev. 1 (6-05)

Ed

NOTICE OF DETERMINATION OR ASSESSMENT UNDER Ul CODE SECTION 1142(A)

Employer Account Number

A. [] The Department has considered all available information. No penalty is assessed under Section
1142(a) of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC).

B. [ The Department has considered all available information and found you or your employee, officer,
or agent provided incorrect information or withheld material facts regardmg the termination of
employment of
The Department has determined this was a willful act.

As required by Section 1142(a) of the CUIC, you are assessed a penalty of __ times the
claimant’s weekly benefit amount of $

Total amount of the ment is $

For text of law and petition rights, see page 2 of this notice.

FOR DETAILS ABOUT THIS ASSESSMENT, PLEASE CONTACT THE EDD FIELD OFFICE LISTED
ON PAGE 2 OF THIS NOTICE.

DE 3807 SEP Rev. 1 (6-05) cu
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Notice of Determination or Assessment under Ul Code Section 1142(B), DE 3807 RA

The DE 3807 RA notifies an educational employer of the EDD’s decision whether or not a false
statement penalty has been assessed against an employer for making a willful false statement
or withholding a material fact regarding the reasonable assurance of employment offered to
the claimant. If a penalty has been assessed, the DE 3807 RA provides the employer with the
penalty amount and the opportunity to pay the assessment or file an appeal. An employer false
statement penalty can be as high as 10 times the claimant’s weekly benefit amount. This form
contains a payment stub, specific claimant information, and outlines an employer’s petition
(appeal) rights. An appeal must be submitted within 30 days of the mailing date.

—~—— Employment
ED Development
Department
State of California
NOTICE OF DETERMINATION OR ASSESSMENT UNDER Ul CODE SECTION 1142(B)
DETACH AND RETURN THIS STUB WITH YOUR PAYMENT TO:

Employment Development Department Section 1142(b) Amount: $
Cashiering Group, MIC 25 Reasonable Assurance

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Employer Name:

Employer Account Number:
Claimant's Name:
Claimant's SSA Number:
Benefit Year Began:
Termination Date:

EDD Office Number:

FOR EDD CO/CAS USE ONLY
Date Mailed to Employer:

(Issue date of assessment)

DE 3807 RA Rev. 1 (8-05)
<

NOTICE OF DETERMINATION OR ASSESSMENT UNDER Ul CODE SECTION 1142(B)
Employer Account Number

A. [] The Department has considered all available information. No penalty is assessed under
Section 1142(b) of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC).

B. [] The Department has considered all available information and found you or your employee,
officer, or agent provided incorrect information or withheld material facts regarding the
reasonable assurance of reemployment for
The Department has determined this was a willful act.

As required by Section 1142(b) of the CUIC, you are assessed a penalty of times the
claimant’s weekly benefit amount of $ s

Total amount of the assessment is $.

For text of law and petition rights, see page 2 of this notice.

FOR DETAILS ABOUT THIS ASSESSMENT, PLEASE CONTACT THE EDD FIELD OFFICE LISTED
ON PAGE 2 OF THIS NOTICE.

DE 3807 RA Rev. 1 (8-05) cu
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Response to Employer Communication, DE 4614

The DE 4614 is an acknowledgement sent to employers informing them that the EDD has
received their written information about a claimant’s eligibility. The DE 4614 also provides the
employer the reason why the EDD has not or will not issue a Notice of Determination/Ruling,
a Notice of Determination, or a Notice of Ruling, informing them of the EDD’s decision
regarding the issue the employer raised and/or whether or not they will be charged for Ul
benefits paid. (If £5 is checked on the DE 4614, a timely response must be made within 15

days of the mailing

date.)

EDD¥

StTeer ©

Employment
o

RESPONSE TO EMPLOYER COMMUNICATION

Claimant’s Name Social Security Number

Date Mailed Date Benefit Year Began Separation Date Postmark Date of Your Communication
See: reverse side for timeliness of information, appeal rights and other information Field Office Address and Telephone Number FO No.
.

.

Employer Name if Agent is Addressee Department Representative

r

w

-

1.

>

w

L

=3

©

Thank you for your communication regarding the unemployment insurance claim of the above-named individual. Your information has been consi-
dered in deciding whether the claimant is ar is not eligible for benefits. However, a Notice of Determination and/or Ruling will not be issued for the
reasonis) checked below.

O A Notice of Determination andor Ruling is issued to an employer only when the employer submits timely information which shows that
(1) the claimant quit his/her job; (2) the claimant was discharged for reasans other than lack of work; or (3) another eligibility issue is
involved. Your information did not relate to these circumstances.

- O The claimant was terminated due to inability, inexperience and/or unsatisfactory work performance. Termination for these reasons will not

affect the claimant’s eligibility.

. O You previously received a ruling and/or determination on the i of mailed to you
(Date of separation)
on
O You are not entitled to a ruling and/or determination because you did not respond within the statutory time limits after the first notice,

DE , was mailed to you on

[ This decision can be reconsidered and the time limit may be extended if an explanation of good cause for delay is submitted to the field
office within 15 days of the mailing date of this notice.

[ The reasons you submitted are not considered good cause for delay because:

. O No determination of eligibility is necessary because the claimant did not claim waiting period credit or benefits for any period during the

course of the trade dispute.

[0 The claimant designated you as the last employer in error. You are also not a base period employer. A Notice of Determination and/or Ruling
is issued only to a last or base period employer

[ The wages you reported have been allocated to week(s) before the claim was filed; therefore, the wages do not affect the claimant’s
eligibility.

10. [ The wages you reported have been allocated to weekis) following the filing of the claim. The claimant is not eligible for waiting period credit
or benefits for any week in which the amount of deductible wages equals or exceeds the claimant’s weekly benefit amount. See
DEDUCTION OF WAGES INFORMATION on reverse side for further clarification.

11. [ The pay you reported is not considered wages for unemployment insurance purposes and is not disqualifying.

12. [ Other

DE 4614 Rev. 24 (12-91) cu
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Timely Response Chart

The chart below provides the timeliness requirements for responding to many of the EDD’s
employer forms. The timeliness requirements for general eligibility information, appealing a
Notice of Determination/Ruling, and appealing a decision by an Administrative Law Judge
have also been added.

Timeliness Calculator

http://www.edd.ca.gov/Unemployment/Calculator/

EDD FORMS/CORRESPONDENCE
TIMELY RESPONSE CHART

FORM/CORRESPONDENCE 10 15 20 30
DAYS | DAYS | DAYS | DAYS

Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim X
Filed, DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER

Benefit Audit, DE 1296B

Benefit Audit, DE 1296NER

Notice of Potential Employer False
Statement, DE 3802

Discovery of information that may affect a X
claimant’s eligibility for benefits

Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment X
Insurance Claim, DE 1545

Appeal of Notice of Determination and/or X
Ruling, DE 1080EZ

Appeal of written decision by an X
Administrative Law Judge

Response to Employer Communication, X
DE 4614 (If #5 is checked on the DE 4614,
a timely response must be made within 15
days of the mailing date.)

Notice of Determination or Assessment X
Under Ul Code Section 1142(A), DE 3807

SEP

Notice of Determination or Assessment X
Under Ul Code Section 1142(B), DE 3807

RA

Request for Wages, DE 1919 X
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Note: All response times are counted from the mailing date of the document, the
date information is discovered, or the date of the written decision by an
Administrative Law Judge.

EDD Publications

The Ul Code, Section 1089 states:

“Each employer shall post and maintain in places readily accessible to
individuals in his service such printed statements concerning benefit rights
and other matters as may be prescribed by authorizing regulations. Each
employer shall, pursuant to authorized regulations, supply each individual
at the time he becomes unemployed with copies of printed statements or
materials relating to claims for benefits. Each employer shall immediately
notify each employee of any change in his relationship with said employer.
Failure to comply with this section by an employer shall constitute a
misdemeanor. Such printed statements shall be supplied by the director

to each employer without cost to him.”

As an employer who is registered with the EDD, you are required to post a notice which
informs your employees of their rights under the Ul program. At the time you registered, you
received a copy of the Notice to Employees, DE 1857D.

An employer must also provide information about “claims for benefits” to individuals who
become unemployed. The booklet, For Your Benefits — California’s Programs for the
Unemployed, DE 2320 meets that obligation. According to Section 1089, of the California
Code of Regulations, Title 22, when an employer discharges, lays off, or places an employee
on a leave of absence, the employer shall give the DE 2320 to the employee.
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The table below provides a listing of EDD publications (including the DE 1857D and DE 2320

discussed above), a brief description of the publication, followed by ordering instructions.

Publication

Description

California Employer’s Guide, DE 44

Provides general employer tax, Ul, State
Disability Insurance (SDI), and labor market
information. Includes addresses and
telephone numbers for one-stop tax services
at Taxpayer Service Centers. Requisition
forms for ordering documents and
publications is also provided.

(English only)

Claims Management Handbook
for School Employers, DE 3450SEF

Provides information to assist School
Employees Fund (SEF) employers in
managing their Ul costs.

(English only)

Notice to Employees, DE 1857D

Notice that advises employees of their
rights under the Ul program.

(Available in English, Spanish, Cantonese
and Vietnamese).

For Your Benefits — California’s
Programs for the Unemployed,
DE 2320

Booklet for individuals who become
unemployed and discusses EDD services.
(Available in English, Spanish, Cantonese,
and Vietnamese).

Completion Instructions for Notice of
Reduced Earnings - DE 2063,
DE 4209

Employer instructions for completing

the Notice of Reduced Earnings, DE 2063
for the Partial Program. The DE 2063 is the
certification form that is completed by
employers and employees while
participating in the Partial Program.

(English only)
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Publication

Description

Managing Unemployment Insurance Costs,
DE 4527

An employer’s guide about the Ul program
and controlling Ul costs. Provides
information to employers about their role in
the management of California’s Ul program.

(English only)

Guide for Work Sharing Employers,
DE 8684

Booklet that outlines the employer and
employee requirements for participating in
the program. It also contains instructions to
complete the form.

This booklet can also be ordered by calling
the EDD Special Claims Office at
916-464-3300.

(English only)

Work Sharing Plan Application,
DE 8686

Application is completed by an employer to
participate in the Work Sharing Program.

This application can also be ordered by
calling the EDD's Special Claims Office at
916-464-3300.

(English only)

Unemployment Insurance Program,
DE 8714B

Informational fact sheet on California’s
Ul program.

(Available in English and Spanish)

Work Sharing Program, DE 8714BB

Informational fact sheet on the Work Sharing
program.

(English only)

California Training Benefits,
DE 8714U

Informational fact sheet on the California
Training Benefits program.

(Available in English and Spanish)
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Publication Description

Trade Adjustment Assistance, Informational fact sheet on Trade

DE 8714X Adjustment Assistance benefits in California.
(English only)

Disaster Unemployment Assistance, Informational fact sheet on Disaster

DE 8714Y Unemployment Assistance benefits.

(Available in English and Spanish)

Any of the EDD publications listed in the table above can be ordered (free of charge) by mail,
fax, or automated telephone system. These publications are also available in the “Forms and
Publications” section of the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/forms.

To order by mail:

1. State your preference by publication number, title and language version(s).
2. State the number of copies you are requesting.
3. Send your request to:

Employment Development Department
1733 Sports Drive, Suite B
Sacramento, CA 95834

To order by fax:

1. State your preference by publication number, title and language version(s).
2. State the number of copies you are requesting.
3. Fax your request to: 916-928-5910.

To order using the automated telephone system:

1. Call 916-322-2835
2. Follow the menu instructions.

To print publications from the EDD website:

1. Go to www.edd.ca.gov/forms.
2. Select “Unemployment Insurance Publications — Forms and Publications.”
3. Select the desired publication.

Note: The California Employer’s Guide, DE 44 can be accessed on the EDD website at
http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf pub ctr/de44.pdf/.
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Other Publications

The Benefit Determination Guide is an EDD publication that is comprised of eight volumes.
Each volume provides discussion on one broad issue of Ul law. EDD personnel use the guide
to make proper decisions about eligibility for Ul benefits.

The Benefit Determination Guide can be accessed online at www.edd.ca.gov/uibdg. The guide
can also be purchased by sending a written request to:

Employment Development Department
Publications Unit, MIC 62-1

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

The California Unemployment Insurance Code can be accessed online at
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov.

Select “California Law,” and then select “Unemployment Insurance Code.”

The Ul Code can also be purchased by sending a written request to:

Employment Development Department

Business Operations Planning and Support Division, MIC 62-1
P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Or by calling: 916-654-7638
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The California Code of Regulations, Title 22 can be accessed online at:
www.oal.ca.gov/ccr.htm (unofficial version).

The regulations can also be purchased by sending a written request to:

Thomas Reuters/Barclays
P.O. Box 95767
Chicago, IL 60694-5767

Or by calling: 1-800-888-3600
Or by faxing your request to: 650-244-0408

The State of California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board (CUIAB) provides the
following information about the appeals process and to help prepare for the appeal hearing:

1. Appeals Procedure, DE 1433

2. Unemployment Appeals - A Guide for Claimants, Employers, and Their
Representatives, DE 1434

These publications can be accessed online on the CUIAB website at
http://www.cuiab.ca.gov/forms.shtm/ or they can be ordered by mail.

Mail your request for copies of the DE 1433 and DE 1434 to:

Office of the Chief Administrative Law Judge
P.O. Box 944275
Sacramento, CA 94244-2750
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»  WEBSITES

Website Information

This section provides a sampling of information available to employers on the Internet. This is
not a complete listing, just some of the information provided to California employers.

EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov

e Disability Insurance

e Employer Tax

e Forms and Publications

e Governor's Committee for the Employment of Disabled Persons
e Job Recruitment and Referral Services

e Job Training Partnership

e Labor Market Information

e Mass Layoffs and Wages Notices

e New Employee Registry

e Unemployment Insurance

e Work Opportunity and Welfare-to-Work Tax Credit

Board of Equalization at www.boe.ca.gov

Property Taxes
Sales and Use Taxes

[ ]
[ ]
e Special Taxes
[ ]

Tax Appellate Program

Franchise Tax Board at www.ftb.ca.gov

e Electronic Services

e Frequently Asked Tax Questions
e Small Business Tax Days

e Tax Forms

Department of Industrial Relations at www.dir.ca.gov

e Division of Labor Standards Enforcement
e Division of Occupational Safety and Health
e Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
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®»  DEFINITIONS

Glossary of Ul Terms and Definitions
Listed below are definitions of some of the terms used in the Ul program.

A

Able and Available

Additional Claim

Administrative Law Judge (AL))

Alternate Base Period

Appeal

Appeals Board

B

An individual wishing to claim Ul benefits must be able to
work and immediately available to accept work for each
week benefits are claimed.

An existing claim that is reopened after a claimant returned
to work and is again unemployed.

An individual employed by the Office of Appeals who
conducts a hearing and issues a decision. A hearing before
an ALJ is considered the first level of review.

See “Base Period.”

A claimant or employer request for first-level hearing with
an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) when there is
disagreement with the EDD’s decision about a claimant’s
eligibility for benefits. The ALJ will issue a written decision
to all interested individuals. A claimant or employer may
also appeal the AL decision which is a second-level
appeal.

The second-level appeal is a request for a review of the
ALJ’s decision by the California Ul Appeals Board.

The Governor and Legislature appoint Appeals Board
members. They review decisions issued by ALJs from the
Office of Appeals. (Second level of review)

Base Period

DE 4527 Rev. 6 (2-12) (INTERNET)

A one-year period of earnings, divided into quarters, used
to establish a Ul claim and calculate an award. There are
two types of base periods. The Standard Base Period is the
first four of the last five completed calendar quarters prior
to the beginning date of the claim. The Alternate Base
Period is available beginning in April 2012 and is the last
four completed calendar quarters prior to the beginning
date of the claim. The Alternate Base Period may only be
used to establish a claim when wages in the Standard Base
Period are not sufficient to establish a claim.
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Base Period Employer

Benefit Year
Benefit Year Beginning (BYB)
Date

Benefit Year Ending (BYE) Date

Benefits

Board Appeal

Bona Fide Employment

C

Employer(s) who paid the earnings used to establish a Ul
claim and calculate an award.

The one-year period of a Ul claim. The benefit year is the
one year period beginning with the Sunday of the week
the individual files the Ul claim.

The date a Ul claim begins. All claims begin on the
Sunday of the week an individual contacts the EDD to file
a claim.

The date the Ul claim ends and the individual can no
longer collect on that claim. All Ul claims end on a
Saturday date. BYE Date is one year after the BYB date.

The money paid to an individual who meets Ul eligibility
requirements.

An appeal to the Appeals Board is to request a review of
an Administrative Law Judge decision. A board appeal is a
second-level of review.

Employment in which an individual was in good faith
attached to the labor market.

California Training Benefits
(CTB)

Claimant

Claimant Handbook

Continuing Eligibility
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A program established to retrain displaced workers who
need new skills to return to work.

An individual who files a claim for Ul benefits.

A booklet that describes the claimant’s rights and
responsibilities under California’s Ul law. (The booklet is
titted A Guide to Unemployment Insurance Benefits and
Employment Services, DE 1275A).

A term used to describe the eligibility conditions that a
claimant must meet each week to continue to receive Ul
benefits.
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D

Department

Determination

Determination/Ruling

Disaster Unemployment
Assistance (DUA)

Discharge

Disqualification

E

The Employment Development Department (EDD).

An eligibility decision made by the EDD issued to an
employer and/or claimant.

A decision made by the EDD concerning an individual’s
eligibility for benefits when an individual voluntarily quit or
is discharged from his or her most recent employment, or
other eligibility issue, and whether a tax-rated employer’s
account will be charged for those benefits.

A federal program that pays benefits to workers who are
unemployed due to a disaster and who are not eligible for a
regular Ul claim. The President of the United States must
declare the disaster.

A reason for an individual’s unemployment that result in a
denial of benefits. An employer takes this action to
terminate an individual from work.

When a claimant is denied Ul benefits.

EDD Debit Card™

EDD Tele-Cert™

EDD Web-Cert™

EDD Website
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Beginning in Summer, 2011, Ul began issuing Visa-branded
Debit Cards from Bank of America for electronic benefit
payments instead of mailing benefit checks. Payments will
be authorized by Ul for payment via the EDD Debit Card™.
This new benefit method will result in a more efficient, cost
effective, and secure way for all claimants to receive their
benefits. This will be the only way to receive Ul benefits
once a claimant has been issued the EDD Debit Card™.

A certification method that allows claimants to certify

for Ul benefits on a biweekly basis over the phone by
calling the EDD Automated Self-Service number,
1-866-333-4606 and using the automated Interactive Voice
Response (IVR) system.

A method which allows claimants to certify for Ul benefits on
a bi-weekly basis online instead of using the paper
Continued Claim Form. Claimants certify by accessing the
EDD website: www.edd.ca.gov.

The EDD website is www.edd.ca.gov.
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Efforts to Seek Work

Eligibility

Employer

Employment

F

An eligibility requirement that claimants must make an
effort to look for work each week.

Status of a claimant with regard to receipt of benefits.

An entity or person that pays individuals for work
performed, is subject to Ul law and finances the Ul program
by paying appropriate taxes.

Work performed for an employer.

False Statement

Fired

Fraud

Full -Time Employment

G

A statement made by claimants or employers to willfully
provide false information to the EDD or to willfully
withhold information from the EDD that affects the payment
of Ul benefits.

See “Discharge.”

Willfully withholding or providing false information that
results in the payment or denial of Ul benefits.

Generally, work of 40 hours per week or more.

Good Cause

H

Circumstances that cause a reasonable person who wishes
to remain employed to leave work or refuse a job offer.

Hearing

Holiday Pay
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A formal meeting (appeal hearing) held to consider an
appeal to the EDD’s decision. An Administrative Law Judge
conducts the hearing, giving employers and claimants a
chance to present the evidence.

Payments to an individual for holiday pay for any holiday
occurring in a week during which the individual was
unemployed. The payment may be deducted from Ul
benefits if the employee has not separated from employment
with the employer.
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In Lieu of Notice Pay

L

Payment made by an employer which replaces an advance
notice of termination. This payment is deductible from Ul
benefits.

Last Employer

Layoff

Lock Out

M

The very last employer an individual worked for before
filing a new Ul claim or when reopening an existing claim
and there has been intervening employment.

A permanent or temporary separation from employment due
to a lack of work.

A term used during a trade dispute when the employer does
not permit employees to report to work.

Maximum Benefit Amount
(MBA)

Misconduct

N

The maximum amount of money payable on a Ul claim to a
claimant during one benefit year.

The California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Section
1256-30 states:

Misconduct connected with his or her most recent work
exists for an individual’s discharge if all the following
elements are present:

e The claimant owes a material duty to the employer under
the contract of hire.

e There is a substantial breach of that duty.
e The breach is willful or wanton disregard of that duty.

e The breach disregards the employer’s interests and
injures or tends to injure the employer’s interests.

New Claim
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A Ul claim with a new Benefit Year Beginning date and
base period.
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O

Overpayment

P

Ul benefits received for which the claimant was not entitled
because of a disqualification, earnings, or other reasons.

Part-Time Employment
Partial Claim

Partially Unemployed
Penalty

Pension Payments

Permanent Replacements

Q

Employment that is less than full-time for what is customary
in an occupation.

A claim filed by a claimant who is participating in the
Partial Program.

A claimant who is receiving benefits while participating in
the Partial Program.

A fine levied against employers and/or claimants. The fine
can be monetary or weeks without Ul benefit payments.

An income paid to workers when they retire. A pension
may be deductible from Ul benefits.

A term used during a trade dispute when an employer hires
workers to permanently replace striking employees.

Quit

R

See “Voluntary Quit.”

Reasonable Assurance

Refusal of Job Offer

Reopened Claim

Ruling
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When a claimant has reasonable assurance of work in the
next school year or term.

Claimant’s refusal of employment.

An existing claim that is reopened without the claimant
returning to work after the claim was initially filed.

A decision made by the EDD concerning whether or not a
tax-rated base period employer’s reserve account will be
charged for their portion of the claimant’s Ul benefits.
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S

Severance Pay

Sick Leave Pay

Standard Base Period

Strike

Suitable Work

T

A payment made by an employer to an employee when his
or her employment has ended. The payment is not deducted
from Ul benefits.

A payment made by an employer to an employee when the
employee is ill and unable to work. The payment may be
deducted from Ul benefits if the employee has not separated
from employment with the employer.

See “ Base Period.”

Work stoppage by employees concerning wages or working
conditions.

Work offered to a claimant that the EDD determines is the
type of work the claimant can reasonably be expected to
perform.

Tax Branch

Telephone Interview

Trade Act

Trade Dispute
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The EDD Tax Branch administers the collections,
accounting, and auditing functions of California’s payroll
tax program. The program consists of Unemployment
Insurance and employment training tax, which are
employer contributions, Disability Insurance and personal
income tax, which are withheld from employees” wages.

A scheduled telephone call from the EDD to an employer
and/or claimant to obtain information regarding a claimant’s
eligibility for benefits.

Federal law which provides federally funded assistance for
workers who lose their jobs or whose hours of work and
wages are reduced as the result of trade with other
countries.

Any controversy related to the terms and conditions of
employment or collective bargaining agreement, between
an employer and a group of employees.
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U

Underemployed

Unemployed

Unemployment Insurance

Unemployment Insurance
Branch

\%

An individual who has full-time, part-time, or intermittent
employment. The earnings are not sufficient to avoid
economic hardship.

Any week:

1. In which the claimant performs no services and no
wages were paid.

2. Of less than full-time work when wages reduced by $25
or 25 percent do not equal or exceed the claimant’s
weekly Ul benefit amount.

3. That the claimant performs full-time work for five days
as a juror, or as a witness under subpoena.

The California program for unemployed individuals as
outlined in the Ul Code and the California Code of
Regulations, Title 22.

The EDD’s Unemployment Insurance Branch administers
the Ul program in California. The basic Ul program
components include payment of benefits, funding of
benefits, and determining claimant eligibility in accordance
with Ul law. These components are carried out in a unique
federal-state partnership. The Ul program is jointly
administered by the federal government as a part of a
national Ul program, and by the state government, which
establishes California's administrative and eligibility
requirements.

Vacation Pay

Voluntary Quit
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The payment may be deducted from Ul benefits if the
Employee has not separated from employment with the
employer.

The California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Section 1256
states: “An individual is disqualified for unemployment
compensation benefits if the director finds that he or she left
his or her most recent work voluntarily without good
cause.”

Thus, the elements of a voluntary quit are: (1) leaving, (2)
most recent work, (3) voluntarily, and (4) without good
cause.
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Wages

Waiting Period

Weekly Benefit Amount

Weekly Claim Form

Workforce Services

Work Sharing

Worker Adjustment and
Retraining Notification (WARN)
Pay
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Includes any and all compensation for personal services
whether performed as an employee, an independent
contractor, juror, or witness. Wages are deductible from the
weekly Ul benefit amount if services were performed
during a week in which Ul benefits are claimed.

An unpaid week that must be served before any Ul benefits
can be paid on a new claim. Generally, it's the first week of
a new claim and the claimant must be otherwise eligible
for Ul benefits to serve the waiting period week. The
waiting period week cannot be served until the claimant
contacts the EDD to file a claim. If the claimant worked
during the entire first week of the claim, or was disqualified
for the week, this unpaid time extends into the next
week(s).

The amount of benefits payable each week to the claimant
if all eligibility requirements are met. The weekly Ul benefit
amount is based on the claimant’s highest quarter earnings
in the base period of his or her claim.

The bi-weekly paper certification form called the
Continued Claim Form, DE 4581 CTO. This form is
submitted by the EDD to claimants who claim weekly Ul
benefits. Claimants use this form to certify whether or not
they have met all weekly Ul eligibility requirements.

A branch within the EDD that partners with the California
Workforce Investment Board, Local Workforce Investment
Areas, employers, community based organizations,
educators, state and local government agencies, and
training providers. Workforce Services and its partners
bring employers with job openings together with qualified
job seekers.

A program designed to help employers retain their
workforce. This program is an alternative to layoffs.

Payment made by an employer that replaces an advance
notice of termination, in compliance with the WARN Act.
The WARN payments are not deductible from Ul benefits.
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA

LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT AGENCY

EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon
request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats
need to be made by calling the information numbers listed in this booklet.
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