Fact Sheet: Disability Insurance Elective Coverage Program



California's Disability Insurance Elective Coverage (DIEC) program provides Disability Insurance (DI) benefits to eligible self-employed business owners who have a loss of income as a result of illness, injury, or pregnancy. Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits are available to eligible self-employed business owners who take time off work to care for a seriously ill family member, to bond with a new child, or to assist a family member during a qualifying military event. Both seek to ensure you can be there for the moments that matter

Who Is Covered?

Anyone who receives a major part of their income from their self-employment or business may elect to be covered by DIEC.

Limited partners and corporate officers are not eligible since they are considered to be employees subject to the mandatory provisions of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC).

What Are the Requirements to Participate?

- Own a business or be self-employed, or working as an independent contractor.
- Have a minimum net profit of \$4,600 annually.
- Have a valid license, if required by the occupation.
- Be able to perform all normal duties on a full-time basis at the time you submit your application.
- Receive the major portion of your income from your trade, business, or job as an independent contractor.
- Your business is not seasonal.
- You must stay in the program for two complete calendar years unless you discontinue your business or move out of California.

What are my Disability and Paid Family Leave Benefits under the DIEC Program?

You can receive disability benefits for up to 39 weeks when you have a loss of income as a result of illness, injury, or pregnancy.

PFL provides up to eight weeks of benefit payments when you need to take time off work to:

- Bond with a new child entering the family through birth, adoption, or foster care placement.
- Care for a seriously ill family member.
- Take part in a qualifying event resulting from a spouse, registered domestic partner, parent, or child's military deployment to a foreign country.

To receive benefit payments, you must:

 Be approved for the Elective Coverage program before becoming disabled.

- File a claim by mail. For instructions, visit <u>Apply for Disability Insurance Elective Coverage</u> (edd.ca.gov/Disability/Self-Employed_How_to_Apply_for_DI_Elective_Coverage.htm).
- Complete a seven-day, unpaid waiting period for disability benefits claims.
- Have paid contributions for at least 4 months during the 12 months leading up to your application.
- Submit a certificate of disability that is signed by a licensed health professional for your own disability for DI.
 For PFL submit a certificate of disability for the person you will be taking care of.

What Is the Cost to Participate?

The amount per-paycheck you have put towards coverage is based on your answers on the Internal Revenue Service's Form 1040 (Schedule SE or Schedule C).

What Makes Me Ineligible for the DIEC Program?

Benefit payments cannot be paid out to anyone who chooses to make false statements or withholds information to gain benefits. You are also ineligible for benefits if:

- Your coverage ended before you became disabled.
- You are in legal custody as the result of a conviction or when confined by a court order.
- You are no longer in business.
- Your quarterly contributions towards coverage are unpaid.

Where do I Apply and find more Information?

For additional information and to apply to the DIEC program:

- Visit <u>Self Employed Eligibility</u> (edd.ca.gov/Disability/Self-Employed_Eligibility.htm).
- Your nearest <u>Employment Tax Office</u> (edd.ca.gov/office_locator).
- Contact a DIEC Customer Service Representative at 1-916-654-6288.
- Contact a Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 1-866-490-8879. TTY users, please call the California Relay Service at 711.

Hoja de información: Programa de Cobertura Electiva del Seguro de Incapacidad



El programa de Cobertura Electiva del Seguro de Incapacidad de California (DIEC, por sus siglas en inglés) proporciona beneficios del Seguro de Incapacidad (DI, por sus siglas en inglés) a dueños de negocios o que trabajan por cuenta propia que son elegibles y que han sufrido una pérdida de ingresos a causa de una enfermedad, lesión o embarazo. Los beneficios del Permiso Familiar Pagado (PFL, por sus siglas en inglés) están disponibles para dueños de negocios o que trabajan por cuenta propia que son elegibles y que deben ausentarse del trabajo para cuidar de un familiar que se encuentra gravemente enfermo, para establecer un vínculo paternal con un nuevo hijo o para asistir a un miembro de la familia durante un evento militar aprobado. Ambos buscan asegurarse de que pueda estar presente en los momentos importantes.

¿Quién está cubierto?

Cualquier individuo que gane la mayoría de sus ingresos de su trabajo por cuenta propia o negocio puede elegir la cobertura del DIEC.

Los socios limitados y los funcionarios de una empresa no son elegibles para esta cobertura, puesto que se les considera como empleados que son sujetos a las provisiones obligatorias del Código del Seguro de Desempleo de California (CUIC, por sus siglas en inglés).

¿Cuáles son los requisitos para participar?

- Ser dueño de un negocio, trabajar por cuenta propia, o trabajar como contratista independiente.
- Tener una ganancia neta mínima de \$4,600 al año.
- Poseer una licencia válida, si así lo requiere su ocupación.
- Poder desempeñar todas sus tareas habituales de tiempo completo en el momento en que presente su solicitud.
- Recibir la mayor parte de sus ingresos de su oficio, negocio o trabajo como contratista independiente.
- Tener un negocio que no sea de temporada.
- Permanecer en el programa durante dos años calendario completos, a menos que suspenda su negocio o se mude fuera de California.

¿Qué beneficios recibo del Seguro de Incapacidad y el Permiso Familiar Pagado bajo el programa del DIEC?

Puede recibir beneficios por incapacidad por hasta 39 semanas cuando tiene una pérdida de ingresos como resultado de una enfermedad, lesión o embarazo.

El PFL proporciona hasta ocho semanas de pagos de beneficios cuando necesita ausentarse del trabaio para:

- Establecer vínculos paternales con un nuevo niño que se une a la familia por nacimiento, adopción o bajo el cuidado de crianza temporal (foster care).
- Cuidar de un familiar que se encuentra gravemente enfermo.
- Participar en un evento militar aprobado como resultado del despliegue militar de un cónyuge, pareja doméstica registrada, padre o hijo en el extranjero.

Para recibir pagos de beneficios, debe:

- Ser aprobado para el programa DIEC antes de quedar discapacitado.
- Presentar una solicitud por correo postal. Para obtener instrucciones, visite <u>Solicite la Cobertura Electiva del Seguro de Incapacidad</u> (https://edd.ca.gov/es/disability/Self-Employed_How_to_Apply_for_DI_Elective_Coverage-espanol/).
- Cumplir un periodo de espera no pagadero de 7 días para las solicitudes de beneficios por discapacidad.
- Haber contribuido durante al menos 4 meses durante los 12 meses previos a su solicitud.
- Presentar un certificado que compruebe su incapacidad firmado por un profesional de la salud con licencia para el DI. Para el PFL, presente un certificado de incapacidad para la persona que cuidará.

¿Cuál es el costo para participar?

La cantidad por cheque que ha destinado a la cobertura se basa en sus respuestas en el Formulario 1040 del Servicio de Impuestos Internos (Anexo SE o Anexo C).

¿Qué me hace no ser elegible para el programa del DIEC?

No se pueden pagar beneficios a ninguna persona que intencionalmente hace declaraciones falsas o retiene información importante para recibir beneficios. Usted tampoco es elegible para recibir beneficios si:

- Su cobertura terminó antes de haber quedado incapacitado.
- Se encuentra en custodia legal (encarcelado) como resultado de una condena judicial o internado por medio de una orden judicial.
- Ya no tiene el negocio.
- No pagó las contribuciones trimestrales para la cobertura.

¿Dónde presento una solicitud y encuentro información adicional?

Para obtener información adicional y presentar una solicitud para el programa del DIEC:

- Visite Requisitos de elegibilidad para la Cobertura Electiva del Seguro de Incapacidad (https://edd.ca.gov/es/disability/Self-Employed-Eligibility-espanol/).
- Una oficina del impuesto al empleo (https://edd.ca.gov/es/Office_Locator/).
- Comuníquese con un representante del servicio al cliente del DIEC llamando al 1-916-654-6288.
- Comuníquese al Centro de Asistencia al Contribuyente del EDD llamando al 1-888-745-3886.

El EDD es un empleador/programa que ofrece igualdad de oportunidades. Los recursos auxiliares y servicios de asistencia para las personas con discapacidad están disponibles cuando se soliciten. Para solicitar los servicios, asistencia y/o formatos alternos, necesita hacerlo llamando al 1 866 490 8879. Los usuarios de TTY (teletipo), por favor, llamen al Servicio de Relevo de California al 711.