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Relief and Extensions for Filing Returns
Effective December 15, 2020, Governor Newsom issued an executive order providing a three-month 
extension on California Department of Tax and Fee Administration’s (CDTFA) tax returns and tax 
payments for most taxpayers. For taxpayers reporting less than $1 million in tax, the deadlines for returns 
and payments due from December 15, 2020, through April 30, 2021, are extended by three months. Relief 
will be provided automatically. Interest and penalties will not accrue on return amounts due, provided 
payments are made and returns are filed within three months of the original due date.

Relief Requests for Larger Taxpayers
Taxpayers with a liability of $1 million or greater must request an extension and relief from interest if 
they are unable to file and pay by the due date. These requests are evaluated on a case-by-case basis and 
taxpayers will be notified if their requests have been approved or denied.

Small Business Relief Payment Plans for Sales and Use Tax
The CDTFA is offering a 12-month, interest-free, payment plan for small businesses with less than $5 
million in annual taxable sales. This payment plan is limited to sales and use tax accounts and is available 
for up to $50,000 in tax liability for returns with original due dates between December 15, 2020, and April 
30, 2021. All payment plans must be paid in full by April 30, 2022, to qualify for zero interest.

For more information on tax relief for taxpayers and small businesses impacted by COVID-19, visit the 
CDTFA’s COVID-19 State of Emergency webpage.

(continued on page 2)

An Easy Way to Learn About State Disability Insurance
The Employment Development Department (EDD) administers California’s State Disability Insurance 
(SDI) program. The EDD offers no-cost interactive webinars to help you and your employees learn   
more about the program. 

About SDI
SDI is comprised of two types of short-term, partial wage-replacement benefits: Disability Insurance (DI) 
and Paid Family Leave (PFL). DI provides benefits to workers who are unable to work due to their own 
illness, injury, disability, or pregnancy. PFL offers up to eight weeks of benefits to workers who need 
time off work to bond with a new child, to care for a seriously ill or injured family member, or to assist a 
family member in the US Armed Forces during a qualifying event.

Interactive Webinars
SDI webinars cover both DI and PFL and will share how these two work together, eligibility information, 
and how to file a claim using paper or SDI Online.

http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/services/covid19.htm
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To ensure that the DE 428T is sent to the correct address, please notify us if there are any changes to your 
address and/or agent information. It is important to review your DE 428T for accuracy. You may update 
your address, submit a protest, or view your DE 428T online using e-Services for Business.

For further information, please refer to the Information Sheet: Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 
428T) (DE 428I) (PDF) or the DE 428T Protest Sample Form (DE 428C) (PDF). For assistance with e-Services 
for Business or with your DE 428T, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

• A claimant filed for benefits in November of 2019.
• An eligibility issue prevented the claimant from 

receiving benefit payments.
• Claimant files an appeal regarding the eligibility 

issue and the case is resolved in July of 2020.

• Benefits are paid in quarter 20-3 for 
benefit weeks in quarter 19-4.

• The employer’s DE 428T will reflect 
the benefit charges paid (non-COVID 
related) in quarter 20-3.

STATEMENT OF CHARGES TO RESERVE ACCOUNT (DE 428T)
In an effort to provide much needed relief to the employer community, California passed Assembly 
Bill (AB) 103 that provided for the non-charging of Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits to tax-rated 
employers. This effort was extended by the American Rescue Plan Act signed by the President on March 
11, 2021.

California will not charge employers’ reserve accounts for UI claims related to COVID-19, unless the 
employer or an agent of the employer was at fault per section 1026.1 of the California Unemployment 
Insurance Code. The non-charging provisions applies to UI benefits for weeks ending February 1, 2020 
through the week ending September 4, 2021.

Your Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T) notifies you of the UI benefit charges and 
credits to your reserve account during the fiscal year from July 1, 2020, through June 30, 2021. You 
may still see benefit charges due to the following examples:

the wage-replacement rate, which is currently 60 to 
70 percent of an employee’s past salary.

SDI webinars are available every second 
Wednesday of every month (excluding State 
holidays) from 10 a.m. to 11 a.m. PT. If you or 
your organization is looking for something more 
specific, ad hoc webinars are also available. For a 
list of upcoming presentations or to request one, 
visit SDI’s Outreach Events Calendar or email 
DIBOutreach@edd.ca.gov.

The employer webinar discusses how to integrate 
SDI benefits with an employee’s leave credits, and 
how to assist with addressing your employee’s 
needs during times of disability, pregnancy, or 
family leave situations. The employee webinar 
describes what an employee must do to file for SDI, 
how to extend the duration of their DI claim, re-
establish or continue a PFL claim.

We may be able to accommodate requests for 
specific program concepts such as reporting 
intermittent leave, integrating wages with SDI 
benefits, or explaining how the EDD determines  

https://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de428i.pdf
https://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de428i.pdf
https://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de428c.pdf
https://edd.ca.gov/Disability/Events_Calendar.htm
mailto:DIBOutreach@edd.ca.gov
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Update To Assembly Bill 5
On September 4, 2020, AB 2257 revised and recast the 
provisions of AB 5 within the Labor Code (LC) in sections 
2775 through 2784.

AB 2257 is retroactive and applies to work performed 
on or after January 1, 2020. AB 2257 added additional 
exceptions to the ABC test for the following occupations 
and contracting relationships:

If an exception under the ABC test is met, the worker is 
not automatically an independent contractor. Instead, the 
working relationship is subject to other tests. For some 
occupations, industries, and contracting relationships, 
the Borello multifactor test (S. G. Borello & Sons, Inc. 
v. Department of Industrial Relations, 48 Cal. 3d 341) 
applies instead of the ABC test. For certain real estate 
licensees and repossession agencies, standards under the 
California Business and Professions Code will apply.

To learn more about employment, the ABC test, 
exceptions to the ABC test, and Borello multifactor test, 
refer to the Information Sheet: Employment (DE231)
(PDF), also available in Spanish (PDF).

For additional information, visit the Employment Status 
Portal, our AB 5 - Employment Status webpage, or sign 
up for an Employment Status Tax Webinar.

• Single-engagement events pursuant to section 2779 
of the LC.

• Music and entertainment industry pursuant to section 
2780 of the LC.

• Data aggregators pursuant to section 2782 of the LC.

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. 
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to 
individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/
or alternate formats need to be made by calling
1-916-651-7572. TTY users, please call the California Relay 
Service at 711.
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Virtual Hold
We are excited to announce that we 
have implemented a “virtual hold” 
feature at our Taxpayer Assistance 
Center, Tax Collection Section, and 
Benefit Overpayment Collection  
Contact Centers.  
 
What is a virtual hold?
Virtual hold is a technology that 
allows you to virtually reserve your 
“place in line” instead of waiting 
on hold. When it is your turn in the 
queue, you will automatically receive 
a call back and be connected to a 
representative. This feature works 
even if you are calling from a phone 
number that has an extension. 

How it Works?
When you call into our Tax Contact 
Centers and your anticipated wait 
time is greater than four minutes, you 
are given the option to remain on the 
phone or go on a “virtual hold.” If 
you choose the virtual hold option, 
we will ask to confirm your call 
back number and we’ll give you an 
estimated time for a call back from 
our system. Once the virtual call is 
connected, you will hear the greeting, 
“Hello, this is the Employment 
Development Department.” You will 
then be connected to a representative.

https://eddnet/Services/admin/Forms/DE_231.pdf
https://eddnet/Services/admin/Forms/DE_231.pdf
https://edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231s.pdf
https://www.labor.ca.gov/employmentstatus/
https://www.labor.ca.gov/employmentstatus/
https://edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/ab-5.htm
https://seminars.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars

