~ ~ Employment
ED Development
Department

u p

State of California

Paid Family Leave Licensed Health Professional
Overview

State Disability Insurance Program

Employment Development Department



Five Things To Know About
Paid Family Leave

Provides up to 8 Three Claim Types: Can be used There is no State Disability
weeks of partially Care intermittently over a waiting period. Insurance (SDI) is
paid leave in a Bonding 12-month period. Payment begins employee funded.
12-month period. Military Assist the first day of It is not government
leave. assistance.
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Paid Family Leave
and Caregivers

California’s Paid Family Leave (PFL) pays eligible individuals
up to eight weeks of benefits to be there for the moments that
matter most.

PFL Care provides partially paid leave if you are:

» Caring for a seriously ill or injured child, parent, parent-in-
law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered
domestic partner.

» Caring for an out-of-state or out-of-country family member.

» Requires medical certification completed by you, the care
recipient’s licensed health professional.

Individuals receive approximately 60 to 70 percent of your
salary while using PFL.
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Paid Family Leave
and Bonding

PFL Bonding provides up to eight weeks of partially
paid leave for parents to bond with a new child within
the child's first year.

» Use to bond with a biological, foster, or adopted
child.

» Requires documentation showing proof of
relationship such as the child’s birth certificate, birth
record, or foster/adoptive placement agreement.

Individuals receive approximately 60 to 70 percent of
their salary while using PFL.

*PFL bonding claims do not require a medical certificate.



Disability Insurance, Paid Family
Leave, and New/Expecting Mothers

New mothers file for Disability Insurance (DI) followed by PFL, for example:

Pregnancy Recovery Bonding

(4 weeks before (6 - 8 weeks after (8 weeks after
birth) birth) recovery)*

*Individuals can break up their eight weeks of PFL. They do not have to use it all at once.



Paid Family Leave
and Military Assist

PFL Military Assist pays eligible workers up to eight
weeks of benefits to assist a spouse, registered
domestic partner, parent, or child in the US Military

during a qualifying event.

» A qualifying event is defined as a military event or
essential need resulting from the family member’s
order, call, or notification of deployment to a foreign
country.

» Requires supporting military documentation and
supporting documentation for the qualifying event.

You receive approximately 60 to 70 percent of your
salary while using PFL.

*PFL military assist claims do not require a medical certificate.
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Filing a Paid Family
Leave Claim

Individuals must complete and submit their PFL claim
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*A PFL claim form will be mailed to new moms at the end of their pregnancy-related DI claim.



Paid Family Leave
and SDI Online

Personal Information

Individuals can file a PFL claim electronically
using SDI Online.
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Licensed health professionals or their

Current Disabilily Insurance Chiirn(s)

authorized representatives can submit their
Pending Disability Insurance Claim Applicalion(s)

medical certifications electronically through .
SDI On“ne Submitted Paid ramily Leave Claim Forms

Create or access your account by visiting : . . /
SDI Online -
(edd.ca.gov/en/disability/SDI_Online/).
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https://edd.ca.gov/en/disability/SDI_Online/
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lwees Claim for Paid Family Leave

(PFL) Benefits
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Filing a Paid Family Leave
Care, Bonding, or Military
Assist Claim

@ By mail

Individuals filing a claim for PFL must properly complete and
submit the Claim for Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits (DE
2501F).

You must complete and sign Part D — Physician/Practitioner’s
Certification of the DE 2501F for your patient’s care provider.

You may order the DE 2501F application by visiting
Online Forms and Publications (forms.edd.ca.gov/forms),
calling or by 1-877-238-4373.

*Spanish applications are available for download only
through Online Forms and Publications.
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https://forms.edd.ca.gov/forms
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Calculating the Benefit Amount

An individual’s weekly benefit amount is determined by the highest quarter of earnings
ot e in their “base period” (wages subject to SDI tax earned 5-18 months prior to their
claim start date).

Step20f3

The “base period” covers a 12-month period and is broken into four consecutive

- Ot hare I your 3alary was the same for sach manth,

quarters. For example, if the PFL claim begins in April, May, or June, the weekly

* Mugust 2917

benefit amount is calculated from the highest quarter of earnings between January 1
and December 31 of the prior year.

* Septamber 2017

* Octobar 2007

Individuals can simplify this process by using the Paid Family Leave Calculator
(edd.ca.gov/en/disability/PFL_Calculator/) to estimate their weekly benefit amount.
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https://edd.ca.gov/en/disability/PFL_Calculator/

Paid Family Leave Care Claims
and Licensed Health
Professional Responsibilities

As your patient’s heath care provider, you determine whether your patient’s
physical or mental health condition requires care from a family member.

Your medical certification must include:

» Patient’s diagnosis and corresponding ICD code.
» Your medical license number.
» Estimated date your patient’s care is no longer required.

» Estimated duration your patient will need care provided by a family member.

» Your signature.
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Serious Health Condition

To qualify for a PFL care claim, the individual must care for a seriously ill family member. For PFL purposes,
a serious health condition is an illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition that requires:

» At-home care or in-patient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical care facility.

« Continuing treatment by a physician or health care practitioner.




Who Can Certify to the Care
Recipient’s Serious lliness?

The following licensed health professionals are authorized to
either certify online through SDI Online or sign Part D —
Physician/Practitioner’s Certificate of the Claim for Paid Family
Leave (PFL) Benefits (DE 2501F):

>

>

Licensed medical or osteopathic physician/surgeon

Medical Officer of a US government facility or registrar of a
county hospital in California

Chiropractor

Podiatrist

Optometrist

Dentist

Psychologist

Accredited religious practitioner

Nurse practitioner or physician assistant after examination and
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Determining Paid Family Leave
Eligibility

Has the individual paid into California’s SDI program (usually noted as CASDI on a
paystub) in the past 5-18 months prior to taking leave?

> “YES” — They are most likely eligible for benefits.

» “NO” — Not all individuals pay into SDI, so they may not eligible for benefits.

Individuals should review their paystubs before assuming eligibility.

Eligibility is not based on length of service or the number of employees the company
has on staff.

Citizenship and immigration status do not affect eligibility.
Payment is not guaranteed until the claim has been approved by the EDD.

Only eight weeks of benefits can be claimed per 12-month period.



Employment Status and Paid Family Leave

Eligibility is determined by : Unemployed Californians
whether the individual has : = must have collected

contributed to : r Unemployment Insurance or
California’s SDI in the past 5-18 b YA be actively looking

months. " for work to qualify for PFL.

Self-employed individuals
may be eligible if
they are contributing to the
Disability Insurance Elective
Coverage program.

Seasonal and part-time
employees may still qualify for
PFL.
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Job Protections

However, other state
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Does the SDI program No, the program does
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Job Protections (Cont.)

Laws that may apply while receiving DI or PFL benefit
payments:

» Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

» California Family Rights Act (CFRA)

» Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA)
» Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL)

Individuals considering DI or PFL must speak to their
employer to obtain unpaid job-protected leave. Visit
the California Civil Rights Department
(calcivilrights.ca.gov) and the

US Department of Labor (dol.gov) to learn more.



https://calcivilrights.ca.gov/
https://www.dol.gov/whd/fmla/
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For more information, visit:

» Paid Family Leave
(edd.ca.gov/PaidFamilyLeave)

Contact EDD

» English: 1-877-238-4373
» Spanish: 1-877-379-3819



https://edd.ca.gov/PaidFamilyLeave

Paid Family Leave Stories

PFL allows Californians to be there for the
moments that matter.

Share PFL stories by tagging @CA _EDD
on Instagram.

#MomentsMatter
#PFL

#PaidLeave

#CAPFL
#CAPaidFamilyLeave




The EDD is an equal opportunity
employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services
are available upon request to individuals with
disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or
alternate formats need to be made by calling
1-866-490-8879 (voice). TTY users, please call
the California Relay Service at 711.
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