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The EDD Offers Payroll Tax Law 
Guidance to Cannabis Businesses 
The Medical Marijuana Regulation and 
Safety Act became law January 1, 2016, 
and the Adult Use of Marijuana Act, 
Proposition 64, was approved by voters 
November 8, 2016. 

Due to the passage of these two acts, it is 
now legal for individuals to grow and use 
marijuana for medicinal and recreational 
use. 

Regulations governing the sale of 
cannabis for recreational use may take 
effect as early as January 1, 2018. 

In light of the legalization and anticipated 
sale of cannabis for recreational use, 
California may see a substantial increase 
in cannabis businesses. 

For those considering entering this new 
emerging market and hiring employees, 
now is the time to become familiar with 
California’s employer tax responsibilities. 

The Employment Development 
Department (EDD) is here to help 
business owners comply with California’s 
payroll tax laws and help owners avoid 
unforeseen tax liabilities. 

California businesses that hire employees 
to perform services are required by law to 
withhold, report, and pay payroll taxes to 
the EDD. 

When am I required to register as an 
employer? 

You are an employer once you employ 
one or more employees and pay wages 
in excess of $100 in a calendar quarter. 
Within 15 days of becoming an employer, 
you must register with the EDD to receive 
an employer payroll tax account 
number. 

Employers of 10 or more employees 
must electronically submit employment 
tax returns, wage reports, and payroll 
tax deposits to the EDD. For additional 
information about electronic filing 
requirements, visit the EDD E-file and 
E-pay Mandate web page. 

Who are my employees? 

Employees include, but are not limited to: 

• Corporate officers 
• Managers 
• Plant caretakers 
• Budtenders 
• Security guards 
• Delivery persons 
• Any worker who is an employee under 

the usual common law rules 
• Any worker whose services are 

specifically covered by law 

What are wages? 

Wages are compensation for an 
employee’s personal services, whether 
paid by check or cash, or the reasonable 
cash value of noncash payments, such 
as meals and lodging. Wages include 
payments by payroll check, personal 
check, cash, non-cash (e.g., payment in 
kind by cannabis, meals, and lodging), 
and tips. 

For additional information on wages, 
refer to page 11 of the California 
Employer’s Guide, DE 44. 

What resources are available to help 
me succeed? 
• The Cannabis Industry Tip Card, 

DE 643, provides a summary of 
California payroll tax laws. 

• Tax Seminars and Online Tutorials 
The EDD offers no-fee state payroll tax 
training, both classroom-based 
seminars and online tutorials, 
to help employers understand and 
comply with the state payroll tax laws. 

• Email Notices - Subscribe to the 
EDD’s email services to be informed of 
the latest news about EDD programs 
and services, including news and 
announcements, recently added forms 
and publications, and events. 

• e-Services for Business - You can 
register, view, and manage your 
employer payroll tax account, file 
reports, make deposits, and pay 
liabilities online. 

If you have questions, call the Taxpayer 
Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886, 
from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, 
Monday through Friday or visit an 
Employment Tax Office near you. 
Note: If you own a cannabis business 
and are unable to obtain a checking 
account, you are still required to submit 
payroll taxes, and you should contact 
your local Employment Tax Office to 
make appropriate arrangements with an 
EDD representative. 

E-file and E-pay Are in Effect for Some Employers 

Remember, as of January 1, 2017, the 
e-file and e-pay mandate is in effect. 
If you are an employer with 10 or 
more employees, you must now elec-
tronically submit your employment 
tax returns, wage reports, and payroll 
tax deposits to the EDD. This mandate 

will apply to all remaining employers, 
effective January 1, 2018. 
Enroll in e-Services for Business 
today to meet the mandate. It’s fast, 
easy, and secure. 
For additional information, visit: E-file 
and E-pay Mandate for Employers. 

Online. Anytime. e-Services for Business. 

www.edd.ca.gov/eFileMandate
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/am_i_required_to_register_as_an_employer.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Enroll_Employer_e-Services_Business.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/E-file_and_E-pay_Mandate_for_Employers.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/
www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231.pdf
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231.pdf
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Web_Based_Seminars.htm
http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de643.pdf
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm


Tax Credits: More Affordable Way to 
Provide Health Insurance for Employees 
Did you know that the Affordable Care Act includes a small business health 
care tax credit to help make employee health insurance more affordable? 
As a small business employer, you may qualify for this tax credit, available 
only through Covered California for Small Business, to help offset your health 
insurance costs.  
The tax credit amount you receive depends on the number of full-time 
equivalent employees* you have and the amount of your insurance premium 
contribution you pay. If you are an eligible employer, you can claim the tax 
credit for two consecutive years. 
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Employer Type Maximum Tax Credit Available 

Small Business 50 percent 
of premium expenses 

Non-Profit/Tax-Exempt 
Employer 

35 percent 
of premium expenses 

Eligibility Requirements
You are eligible to receive a health care tax credit if you:
• Have fewer than 25 full-time-equivalent employees for the tax year.
• You pay your employees an average of less than $50,000 per year.
• You contribute at least 50 percent toward your employees’ premium cost.

(This contribution requirement also applies to add-on coverage, such as
vision, dental, and other employer-sponsored coverage.)

Exception
If you are a 
small business 
employer with 
10 or fewer full-
time-equivalent 
employees, with 
wages averaging 
$25,000 or less, 
then you are 
eligible for the 
maximum amount 
of tax credits. If your business is a nonprofit or tax-exempt, you must meet the 
same criteria but your tax credits will be somewhat lower.
Through Covered California, your small business has an opportunity to 
take advantage of affordable, brand-name health insurance plans for your 
employees, something that few small employers have been able to do until now.  
For more information on how you can take advantage of this unique 
opportunity, visit Covered California for Small Business today.
*A full-time equivalent employee isn’t a person but a calculation used to
determine if an employer is a small or a large employer. This calculation is used 
to determine eligibility to participate in Covered California for Small Business.

CALIFORNI 

FOR SMALL 
BUSINESS 

-

Remember to File 
Report of New and 
Rehired Employees 
Employers must file a Report of 
New Employee(s), DE 34, to 
report all newly hired or rehired 
employees within 20 days of their 
start-of-work date. 
Newly hired employees are those 
individuals who have not previously 
been included on your payroll. 
Rehired employees are those 
individuals who were previously 
included on your payroll, left your 
employment, and were rehired 
after a separation of at least 60 
consecutive days. 
Your filing options are: 
• File online through e-Services 

for Business. It’s fast, easy, and 
secure. 

• Download the DE 34 and submit 
by mail or fax. 

• Order DE 34 forms through 
the EDD’s Online Forms and 
Publications page. 

If you have questions, call the 
Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
1-888-745-3886 Monday through 
Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., 
Pacific Time. 

CALIFORNIA 
_EMPLOYER 
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www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de34.pdf
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de34.pdf
https://www.coveredca.com/forsmallbusiness/eligible/#full-time
https://www.coveredca.com/forsmallbusiness/eligible/#full-time
https://www.coveredca.com/forsmallbusiness/
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Reminder: Submit Your Quarterly Forms to the EDD 
The EDD wants to help you meet your 
compliance obligations and avoid 
unnecessary penalties and fees. For this 
reason, the EDD uses periodic reminders 
to help keep you on track. 
Here are the quarterly forms you must 
submit to the EDD: 
• Quarterly Contribution Return and 

Report of Wages, DE 9. This form is 
used to reconcile payroll tax payments 
and total subject wages reported for 
the quarter. Even if you paid no 
wages during the quarter, you are 
still required to file your DE 9. 
Select Box A, No Wages Paid This 
Quarter. 

• Quarterly Contribution Return and 
Report of Wages (Continuation), 
DE 9C. This form is used to 
report employee wages subject 
to Unemployment Insurance (UI), 
Employment Training Tax (ETT), 
and State Disability Insurance 
(SDI) withholding, and to report 
Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages 
and PIT withheld. If you do not have 
employees, select Box C, No Payroll, 
showing 0 (zero) payroll, otherwise 
the EDD may presume you have 
employees and assess your account. 

• Payroll Tax Deposit, DE 88. This 
form is used to report and pay UI, ETT, 

SDI, and PIT withholding to the EDD. 
The easiest way to submit your 
quarterly forms is through e-Services 
for Business, a fast, easy, and secure 
way for employers, employer 
representatives, and payroll agents 
to manage an employer payroll tax 
account online. e-Services for Business 
is available 24 hours a day, seven days 
a week, at no cost. 
Note: You may be required to submit 
your employment tax returns, wage 
reports, and payroll tax deposits 
electronically to the EDD. Refer to the 
E-file and E-pay Mandate website to 
see if the new mandate applies to you. 

Online. Anytime. e-Services for Business. 

https://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/eFileMandate
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm
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