o~ ~ Employment _ _ . .
ED Development NOTE: The following penalties have changed effective with
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e Late Filing - A penalty of 15% (10% for periods prior to
the 3 quarter 2014) plus interest will be charged.

e Late Deposit - A penalty of 15% (10% for periods prior
to the 3 quarter 2014) plus interest will be charged.

e \Wage Item Penalty - A wage item penalty of $20 ($10
for periods prior to the 3 quarter 2014) per employee
will be charged for late reporting or unreported
employee wages.
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2014 Payroll Tax Rates, Taxable Wage Limits, and Maximum Benefit Awards

Unemployment Insurance (Ul)
e The 2014 taxable wage limit is $7,000 per employee.
e The Ul maximum weekly benefit award is $450.
e The Ul tax rate for new employers is 3.4 percent (.034) for a period of two to three years.
e The employer rates are available online at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

Employment Training Tax (ETT)
e The 2014 ETT rate is 0.1 percent (.001) on the first $7,000 of each employee’s wages.

State Disability Insurance (SDI)
e The 2014 SDI withholding rate is 1.0 percent (.01). The rate includes Disability Insurance (DI) and
Paid Family Leave (PFL).
* The SDI taxable wage limit is $101,636 per employee, per year.
e The 2014 DI/PFL maximum weekly benefit award is $1,075.

California Personal Income Tax (PIT) Withholding

You are not required to withhold PIT from household employees’ wages. However, if you agree to withhold
PIT for any of your household employees, PIT withholding is based on the amount of wages paid, the
number of withholding allowances claimed by the employee, and the payroll period. Please refer to pages 9
and 10 for additional information.

For additional rate information, refer to pages 9 and 10, visit
http://www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm.

What's New in 2014?

The quarterly California Employer Newsletter is now exclusively online at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm.

Visit the New Household Employer page for information on registering, filing reports, and making deposits at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/household_employer.htm.

Covered California Small Business Health Options Program (SHOP): Learn about small business tax
credits and other advantages the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act offers small employers. Ask your
insurance agent, call 877-453-9198 and ask for a SHOP representative, or visit
www.coveredca.com/small_businesses.html.

Important Information

e-Services for Business: Employers can register, view, and manage their payroll tax account, file reports,
make deposits, and pay liabilities online. For more information, please refer to page 13 or go to the
Employment Development Department (EDD) website at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

New Employee Reigistry (NER): All employers are required by law to report all newly hired or rehired
employees to the New Employee Registry (NER) within 20 days of their start-of-work date. For more
information refer to page 51.

Tax Seminars: The EDD continues to partner with other agencies to provide you with the information you
need to comply with California payroll tax laws. If you would like to attend a seminar, go to
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/.

Quick and Easy Access to Tax Help, Forms, and Publications: Please refer to page 1 for instructions on
how to obtain payroll tax forms and assistance from the Internet, phone, or Employment Tax Offices.

Fraud Prevention, Detection, and Reporting: For information on how to prevent and detect Ul fraud,

see page 54. Improper payment of Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits is a serious problem that has a
financial impact on employers and can result in higher Ul taxes to all employers. You can help by responding
timely to requests for wage information. To learn more, go to
www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/responding_to_ui_claim_notices.htm.

SDI Online: Is available to employers, claimants, physician/practitioners, and voluntary plan third-party
administrators to securely submit Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) claim information. Refer
to the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/disability or page 52 for additional information about SDI Online.

Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) Tax Credit Reduction: For the latest information about the FUTA
tax credit reduction, contact the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) at www.irs.gov or refer to the EDD website
at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/payroll_taxes_news.htm.
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California Labor and Workforce Development Agency
o~ Employment
EDD Development
B Department

State of California

Edmund G. Brown Jr.
Governor

Dear Household Employer:

The Employment Development Department (EDD) recognizes the valuable contribution you
make to the economic well-being of this great state, and as you set out to meet your payroll tax
obligations, the EDD is here to support you. The ways the EDD achieves this is by offering you
tools that are as versatile as your needs require, by advising you of upcoming changes, and
also by providing educational opportunities.

Take advantage of the EDD’s e-Services for Business, it's available 24 hours a day, 7 days a
week. With around-the-clock accessibility, there’s never a bad time for you or your authorized
agent to handle your payroll tax needs. All you need to stay connected is a personal computer,
laptop, or a smart phone. It is also available on most tablets. Some of the benefits are: the
ability to submit your returns online, update account information, and make payroll tax deposits,
just to name a few. Unlike paper, there are no additional steps or costs involved and enroliment
is quick and easy. You can get connected today at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

The EDD’s no-fee e-mail subscription service can help keep you informed about the latest news
regarding programs and services that are available to you. You can sign up today at
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm.

The EDD offers no-fee seminars. To find a seminar that’s just right for you go to
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/ and make your selection.

All of these great services are provided for you with your continued success in mind. For
additional information about any of these services, seminars, or the EDD forms and
publications, visit our website at www.edd.ca.gov or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
888-745-3886.

Sincerely,

%m@

SHARON HILLIARD
Chief Deputy Director

P.O. Box 826880 ¢ Sacramento CA 94280-0001  www.edd.ca.gov

DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET) Director’s Letter + 60 pages



MANAGE YOUR PAYROLL TAX ACCOUNT ONLINE!
e-Services for Business
File reports, make deposits, update addresses, and much more.
Enroll NOW for e-Services for Business at

https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

JUST STARTING A NEW BUSINESS?
WISH THERE WAS A SEMINAR TO HELP?

The EDD offers both classroom-style seminars and online courses.
We are here to help your business succeed.
For more information about our seminars, go online to

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/.
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QUICK AND EASY ACCESS TO TAX HELP, FORMS, AND PUBLICATIONS

e-Services for Business

¢ Manage your employer payroll
tax account

¢ Register as an employer

File reports
e Pay deposits and liabilities

Make address changes

To use e-Services for Business, go to the EDD
website at https://feddservices.edd.ca.gov

Personal Computer

Access the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov

¢ Manage your employer payroll tax account at
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

¢ Download and order forms, instructions, and
publications at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
forms_and_publications.htm.

¢ Obtain answers to Frequently Asked Questions at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/fags.htm.

¢ Obtain information on payroll tax seminars at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/.

¢ Obtain information for tax professionals at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/tax_practitioners.htm.

¢ Send comments and questions to the EDD online at
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/contact_edd.htm.
Select “Ask EDD.”

Access the California Tax Service Center website at
www.taxes.ca.gov for federal and California tax
information for businesses and individuals.

Phone

Toll-free from the U.S. or Canada:
888-745-3886

Hearing impaired: 800-547-9565
Outside the U.S. or Canada:
916-464-3502

Staff is available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to
5 p.m. Pacific Time (PT), to answer your questions.

www.edd.ca.gov
DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET)

Walk-In Offices

For information and advice on your payroll tax
responsibilities, visit your local Employment Tax Office
from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., PT, Monday through Friday:

Anaheim ............... 2099 S. State College Blvd., #401, 92806
Fresno ..o 1050 O Street, 93721

Oakland................ 7677 Oakport, Suite 400, 94621

Redding ................ 1325 Pine Street, 96001

Sacramento.......... 3321 Power Inn Road, Suite 220, 95826
San Bernardino.....658 East Brier Drive, Suite 300, 92408

San Diego............. 10636 Scripps Summit Ct., Suite 202, 92131
San Jose............... 906 Ruff Drive, 95110

Santa Fe Springs.. 10330 Pioneer Blvd., Suite 150, 90670

Van Nuys .............. 6150 Van Nuys Blvd., Room 210, 91401

To find an office near you, go to
www.edd.ca.gov/office_locator/.

Self-Service Offices

Tax forms and a free direct-line phone are available from
8 a.m. to 5 p.m., PT, at our self-service offices.

Bakersfield............ 2000 K Street, Suite 420, 93301

Chico ....covvvereene. 240 West 7th Street, 95928
Eureka.................. 409 K Street, Suite 202, 95501

Los Angeles......... 5401 S. Crenshaw Blvd., Suite A, 90043
Modesto................ 3340 Tully Road, Suite E-10, 95350
San Francisco....... 745 Franklin Street, Suite 400, 94102
Santa Rosa........... 50 D Street, Room 415, 95404

Vallejo ..o, 1440 Marin Street, Suite 114, 94590
Ventura................. 4820 McGrath Street, Suite 200, 93003

Forms and Publications
For a listing of forms and publications, access the EDD
website at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/.

We Want to Hear From You.

Please let us know how we can improve this guide to
better meet your needs. Please send your comments
and suggestions to:

Employment Development Department

Publications and Marketing Services Group, MIC 93
P. O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Fax: 916-654-6969

Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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2014 CALENDAR OF FILING DATES

Delinquent if Not
Postmarked or
Received by Annual Household Employers

Quarterly Household Employers

January 31, 2014 e File Employer of Household
Worker(s) Quarterly Report

of Wages and Withholdings
(DE 3BHW) for quarter ending
December 31, 2013.

¢ File Employer of Household
Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax
Return (DE 3HW) with payment
for 2013.

e Furnish Wage and Tax Statement
(Form W-2) and Earned Income
Tax Credit (EITC) notification
to employees for 2013. (Refer
to page 44 for additional
information.)

File Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)
with payment for quarter ending
December 31, 2013.

File a Quarterly Contribution
Return and Report of Wages
(DE 9) and a Quarterly
Contribution Return and Report
of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)
for quarter ending

December 31, 2013.

Furnish Form W-2 and EITC
notification to employees for
2013. (Refer to page 44 for
additional information.)

April 30, 2014 e File DE 3BHW for quarter ending
March 31, 2014.

File DE 88 with payment for
quarter ending March 31, 2014.

File a DE 9 and DE 9C for quarter
ending March 31, 2014.

July 31, 2014 e File DE 3BHW for quarter ending
June 30, 2014.

File DE 88 with payment for
quarter ending June 30, 2014.

File DE 9 and DE 9C for quarter
ending June 30, 2014.

October 31, 2014 e File DE 3BHW for quarter ending
September 30, 2014.

File DE 88 with payment for
quarter ending
September 30, 2014.

File DE 9 and DE 9C for quarter
ending September 30, 2014.

February 2, 2015 e Furnish Form W-2 to employees
for 2014. (Refer to page 44 for
additional information.)

Furnish Form W-2 to employees
for 2014. (Refer to page 44 for
additional information.)

February 2, 2015 e File DE 3BHW for quarter ending
December 31, 2014.

e File DE 3HW with payment for
2014.

File DE 88 with payment
for quarter ending
December 31, 2014.

File DE 9 and DE 9C for quarter
ending December 31, 2014.

www.edd.ca.gov
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WHO IS A HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYER?

JUST STARTING A NEW BUSINESS? WISH THERE WAS A SEMINAR TO HELP?

The Employment Development Department (EDD) offers seminars on:

e State payroll reporting requirements and recordkeeping.

e Determining if workers are employees or independent contractors.
e Managing Unemployment Insurance costs.

e Calculating and completing payroll tax forms.

The EDD and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) The EDD and the Division of Labor Standards

jointly offer seminars on: Enforcement jointly present classes on:
* Federal/state payroll reporting and e Wage and hour rules and regulations.
withholding requirements. e Common law and statutory employment
e Electronic filing and payment options. definitions.

* Properly classifying workers.

The EDD online seminars include:

e How to complete and when to submit the Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon.
e Determining if workers are employees or independent contractors.

WHO IS A HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYER?

If you pay wages to people who work in or around your home, you may be considered a household
employer. Your household employment may occur in a variety of settings, such as a:

e House e Summer or winter home e |ocal chapter of a college fraternity
e Apartment e Condominium or sorority
e Boat or mobile home e Local college club e Hotel room (when the worker is

employed by you, not the hotel)

Private homes include fixed places of residence, apartments, and hotel rooms in which an individual or
family reside. Private homes do not include premises used primarily as a business enterprise, such as a
residential care home, boarding house, or hospital.

Examples of workers who should be considered household employees are listed on page 8.

When you have paid $750 in cash wages in a calendar quarter to people who work in or around your home
as your employees, you have 15 days to register with the EDD. (Refer to the examples on page 4 to help
you determine when to register.)

Register online using the EDD’s e-Services for Business at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

You can also register with the EDD by completing a Registration Form for Employers of Household Workers
(DE 1HW) at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf _pub_ctr/delhw.pdf.

There are two types of household employers: Annual and Quarterly. Refer to page 14 to help you
determine if you should register as an annual or a quarterly household employer.

Once registered, the EDD will send you wage reporting forms each quarter. The four quarters in a year are:

1st Quarter: January, February, March 34 Quarter: July, August, September
2" Quarter: April, May, June 4™ Quarter: October, November, December
www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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WHEN SHOULD YOU REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER?

You must register with the EDD as a household employer for California payroll tax purposes when you
have paid cash wages totaling $750 or more in one calendar quarter to one or more people who work as
employees in or around your home.

The amount of wages you pay in a calendar quarter will determine the payroll taxes you are required to
withhold and pay.

If You Pay (in a Quarter)

Then

$750 to $999.99*

Withhold State Disability Insurance (SDI) and remit to
the EDD.

$1,000 or more**

Withhold SDI. In addition, pay Unemployment Insurance
(Ul) and Employment Training Tax (ETT).

*If wages fall below $750 in a following quarter, you must continue to withhold SDI from your employees’
wages through the remainder of the current year and through the following calendar year.

**|f wages fall below $1,000 in a following quarter, you must continue to withhold SDI from your employees’
wages and pay Ul and ETT through the remainder of the current year and through the following calendar year.

Cash wages include payment for services by check and cash. Do not include noncash wages, such as
meals and lodging, when calculating whether you have reached $750 in cash wages. For a complete
definition of cash and noncash wages, refer to “What Are Wages?” on page 11.

The following examples will help you decide when you must register with the EDD, begin reporting
employee wages and withholdings, and pay payroll taxes:

Cash
Wages

Meals &
Lodging

Am | Required to Register?

$700

$149

You are not required to register, report employee wages, or withhold/pay any
California payroll taxes because the cash wage limit of $750 in a quarter has
not been met (the value of meals and lodging is not included in reaching the
$750 cash wage limit).

$750

$75

You must register, report employee wages, and withhold SDI on the entire
$825. You are not required to pay Ul and ETT because the cash wage limit of
$1,000 in a quarter has not been met.

$900

$150

You must register, report employee wages, and withhold SDI on the entire
$1,050. You are not required to pay Ul and ETT because the cash wage limit
of $1,000 in a quarter has not been met (the value of meals and lodging is not
included in reaching the $1,000 cash wage limit).

$1,000

$100

You must register, report employee wages, pay Ul and ETT, and withhold
SDI on the entire $1,100 because you have met the $1,000 cash wage limit
in a quarter.

You are required to report employee wages that are subject to California Personal Income Tax (PIT), but
you are not required to withhold PIT unless you and your employee(s) agree that you will do so. Refer to
page 11 for information regarding PIT wages and page 10 for information on PIT withholding.

www.edd.ca.gov
DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET)

Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
Page 4 of 60




HOW TO REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER

HOW TO REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER

You must register with the EDD as a household employer for California payroll tax purposes when you
have paid cash wages totaling $750 or more in one calendar quarter to one or more people who work as
employees in or around your home.

Register online using the EDD’s e-Services for Business
at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

Additional options for registering for an employer account number:

1. Contact the EDD Tele-Reg at 916-654-8706 to register by phone. When registering via Tele-Reg,
you will receive your EDD employer account number over the phone. Do not send a paper form to
the EDD.

or

2. Complete and mail a paper registration form. Registration forms are available online at the EDD
website at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm.

Mail or fax the completed registration form to:

Employment Development Department
Account Services Group, MIC 28

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Fax: 916-654-9211

If you have questions about registering as a household employer, please call the Taxpayer Assistance
Center at 888-745-3886.

Posting Requirements

Once you are registered with the EDD, you will receive a notice to post in your workplace that informs your
employees of their rights under the Unemployment Insurance (Ul), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and
Paid Family Leave (PFL) programs. This notice must be posted in a prominent location that is easily seen
by your employees. You will receive one of the following notices, if you are subject to:

e Ul, SDI, and PFL — Notice to Employees (DE 1857A).

e Ul only — Notice to Employees Unemployment Insurance Benefits (DE 1857D).

e SDI and PFL only — Notice to Employees (DE 1858).

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET) Page 5 of 60



HOW TO REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER

Notices and Pamphlets

Provide a copy of the following pamphlets to each of your employees when appropriate to explain
employees’ benefit rights:

The following pamphlets explain your employees’ benefit rights:

e For Your Benefit: California’s Programs for the Unemployed (DE 2320) — Provides information on
Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Disability Insurance (DI), Paid Family Leave (PFL), and Workforce
Service benefits available to the employee.

e State Disability Insurance Provisions (DE 2515) — This brochure outlines the State Disability
Insurance (SDI) program.

e Paid Family Leave (DE 2511) — This brochure outlines the Paid Family Leave insurance program.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET) Page 6 of 60



HOW TO REGISTER AS AN EMPLOYER

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

File this form

online through
e-Services for Business

https:/leddservices.edd.ca.gov

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET) Page 7 of 60



WHO ARE HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYEES?

Household employees are workers that you hire to work in and around your home. Refer to the table
below for a list of workers and whether they are or are not considered household employees. A household
employee may perform services on a temporary or less than full-time basis.

These Are These Are Not
Household Employees? Household Employees
e Baby-Sitters e (Carpenters
e Butlers e Electricians
e (Caretakers e Librarians
e Chauffeurs e Musicians
e Cooks? e Nurses Leased From a Nursing Registry
e Crews of Private Yachts e Painters
e Gardeners?® e Plumbers
e Governesses/Governors e Private Secretaries
e Home Health Care Workers e Tutors
e Housekeepers e Workers Leased From an Employee Leasing
e Janitors Service®
e Laundry Workers ¢ Workers Provided by Independent Businesses
e Maids (For example: a janitorial service, catering
) ) ) ] service, gardening service, or pool
e Pilots of Private Airplanes for Family Use maintenance service)
e Pool Maintenance Persons?*
e Valets
e \Waiters/Waitresses?

Family Employment — Spouses, parents, minor children (under 18 years old), and registered domestic partners are not
considered employees for payroll tax reporting purposes. However, if both the employer and exempt family member agree, they
can voluntarily elect to withhold, report and pay State Disability Insurance and/or Personal Income Tax. For further information,
please refer to Information Sheets: Family Employment (DE 231FAM) and Specialized Coverage (Elective Coverage for Exempt
Workers) (DE 231SC).

1 This list is not intended to be a complete list of household employees.

2 Unless employed by a catering service.

3 Unless employed by a gardening service.

4 Unless employed by a pool maintenance service.

5 As long as the requirements of Section 606.5 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC)
are met.

To obtain the Information Sheet: Household Employment (DE 231L), access the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231l.pdf. You may also contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
888-745-3886 to obtain a DE 231L or for assistance in determining whether the people who work for you
are independent contractors or household employees.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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WHAT ARE PAYROLL TAXES?

2014 Payroll Tax Table

Disability
Insurance (DI)
and Paid Family
Leave (PFL) are
components of the
SDI Program and
are included in

SDI contributions
from employee
wages; employers
are responsible for
SDI not withheld
from employee
wages. If the

calendar year.

Set by law, the
SDI rate may
change each year.
The EDD notifies
employers of the
new rate each

Payroll Tax Who Pays Taxable Wages Tax Rate Maximum Tax
Unemployment Employer First $7,000 New employer tax | $434 per employee,
Insurance (Ul) of wages per rate is 3.4 percent | per year [calculated

employee, in a (.034) for a period | at the highest Ul tax
calendar year. of two to three rate of 6.2 percent
years. Following (.062)].
this period, the tax
rate is calculated Your maximum Ul
annually based on | tax amount will be
each employer’s less if your rate
previous Ul is less than 6.2
experience. percent.
Employment Employer First $7,000 Set by law at 0.1 $7 per employee,
Training Tax (ETT) of wages per percent (.001) of per year.
employee, in a Ul taxable wages
calendar year. for employers with
positive Ul reserve
account balances.
State Disability Employee First $101,636 The 2014 $1,016.36 per
Insurance (SDI) of wages per withholding rate is | employee, in a
Employer withholds | employee, in a 1.0 percent (.01). calendar year.

PIT from employee
wages unless

both the employer
and employee
agree to withhold
the tax. Refer to
page 10. However,
the employee is
still responsible for
reporting wages
and paying any PIT
due to the California
Franchise Tax
Board (FTB).

information on
when to exclude
meals and lodging
from PIT wages.

Certificate (Form
W-4 or DE 4) and
the withholding
schedules provided
in the California
Employer’s Guide
(DE 44). The
schedules are also
available on the
EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/
payroll_taxes/
rates_and__
withholding.htm.

the SDI employee | employer pays SDI December.
contributions. for employee(s),
refer to page 11.
California Employee Normally, all PIT PIT is withheld No maximum
Personal Income wages (cash and based on each
Tax (PIT) Household noncash). Employee’s
employers are not Withholding
required to withhold | See page 10 for Allowance

www.edd.ca.gov

DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET)
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WHAT ARE PAYROLL TAXES?

Withholding California Personal Income Tax

If a household employee wishes to have California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withheld from his or her
wages and you agree to withhold it, you need to report and send the PIT withheld to the EDD.

To have California PIT withheld, your employee(s) must complete a federal Employee’s Withholding
Allowance Certificate (Form W-4) or state Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate (DE 4). You can
refer your employee(s) to the online calculator at www.taxes.ca.gov/de4.pdf, which prints the DE 4 after
calculating the withholding allowances.

The PIT withholding schedules are located on the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm and are available in the California
Employer’s Guide (DE 44) at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf.

To order a paper DE 4 or DE 44, access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/or call the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 888-745-3886. Meals and lodging are excluded from PIT wages and withholding if you
provide meals and lodging to your employee(s) because it is convenient for you and:

e Meals are furnished on your premises;

and/or
e Lodging is furnished on your premises and is required as a condition of employment.

Example: A governess lives and eats meals in your home so she can take care of your children. The value
of the meals and lodging would not be considered PIT wages, and PIT would not be withheld
because the meals and lodging are furnished on your premises for your convenience. However,
it would be included in total subject wages reported on the Employer of Household Worker(s)
Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW) for Annual Household Employers and
on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) for Quarterly
Household Employers. For additional information, download the Information Sheet: Personal
Income Tax Wages Reported on the Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings for Employers
of Household Workers (DE 3BHW) (DE 231PH) at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ph.pdf.

If the meals and lodging do not meet the exclusion listed above, these amounts must be added to the cash
wages paid to your workers before computing the amount of PIT to withhold. Refer to the “Values of Meals
and Lodging” tables on page 12 to determine the cash value to report, or go online at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm.

An employee’s calendar year total for PIT wages should agree with the amount reported in Box 16 on the
employee’s Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2). For additional information on Form W-2, refer to page 44.
The PIT wages are reported separately from subject wages on the quarterly wage reports (DE 3BHW or

DE 9C) that you file with the EDD. While household employers are not required to withhold PIT, they are
required to report PIT wages.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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WHAT ARE WAGES?

Wages are all payments made to employees for personal services, whether paid by check, cash, or the
reasonable cash value of noncash payments, such as meals and lodging. The method of payment and the
frequency of the work do not change the taxability of wages paid to employees. Whether the employment is
full-time, part-time, casual, or temporary, the wages paid to employees are still subject for payroll tax purposes.
In addition, how employees are paid does not change the employer’s responsibility for payroll taxes.

If you pay your employees’ share of Social Security, Medicare, and/or State Disability Insurance (SDI)
without deducting the amounts from their wages, these payments may also be wages. For more information,
refer to the Information Sheet: Social Security/Medicare/SDI Taxes Paid by an Employer (DE 231Q). The
DE 231Q is available by accessing the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf, or the
Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 for assistance.

What Does “Subject Wages” Mean?

Generally, all wages are considered subject wages and are used to determine the amount of Unemployment
Insurance (Ul), SDI, and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits a claimant should receive. Subject wages are
the full amount of wages paid to an employee, regardless of the Ul and SDI taxable wage limits. Refer to
the inside cover for the 2014 taxable wage limits.

What Are Personal Income Tax (PIT) Wages?

Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages are cash and noncash payments subject to state income tax. (Wages
that must be reported on an individual’s California income tax return are PIT wages.) Most payments for
household employees’ services should be reported as PIT wages (for more information regarding PIT
wages, refer to page 10). An employee’s calendar year total for PIT wages should agree with the amount
reported on the employee’s federal Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) in Box 16 (state wages, tips, etc.).
Household employers are not required to withhold PIT; however, they are required to report PIT wages for
each household employee.

Are Subject Wages and PIT Wages the Same?

In most situations, subject wages and PIT wages are the same. However, subject wages and PIT wages are
reported separately on your EDD quarterly wage report.

For additional information, refer to the following information sheets:

e [nformation Sheet: Personal Income Tax Wages Reported on the Quarterly Report of Wages and
Withholdings for Employers of Household Workers (DE 3BHW) (DE 231PH).

e Information Sheet: Personal Income Tax Wages Reported on the Quarterly Contribution Return and
Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) (DE 231PIT).

These forms are available on the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm, or you may also call the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 for assistance.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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WHAT ARE WAGES?

Values of Meals and Lodging

Meals and lodging provided to employees are wages. If your employees are covered under a contract

of employment or union agreement, the taxable value of meals and lodging should not be less than the
estimated value stated in that document. If the cash value is not stated in an employment contract or union
agreement, please use the tables and information below to determine the value of the meals and/or lodging
you provide to your employees. If you withhold Personal Income Tax (PIT) from your employees’ wages,
please refer to page 10.

Value of Meals
3 Meals Meal Not
Year per Day Breakfast Lunch Dinner Identified
2014 $10.90 $2.25 $3.35 $5.30 $3.90
2013 $10.85 $2.35 $3.30 $5.20 $ 3.80
2012 $ 10.55 $2.30 $3.20 $5.05 $ 3.65

To calculate the value of lodging, multiply the amount you could rent the property for (ordinary rental value)
by 66 2/3 percent (0.6667). Ordinary rental value may be calculated on a monthly or weekly basis. The table
below shows the minimum and maximum amounts to report for lodging.

Value of Lodging
Year Minimum per Week Maximum per Month
2014 $40.70 $ 1,255
2013 $39.90 $1,224
2012 $39.10 $ 1,206

For additional information, refer to Information Sheet: Household Employment (DE 231L), access the EDD
website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231l.pdf, or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
888-745-3886 for assistance. Meals and lodging information is also available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm.

Learn more about payroll taxes through our seminars and online courses at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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ONLINE SERVICES

e-Services for Business

e-Services for Business offers both a paperless and mobile way to manage your payroll tax account making
it both convenient and time-saving for either you or your authorized agent. With access possible 24 hours

a day, 7 days a week, there’s never a bad time for filing reports, making tax payments, or attending to your
other payroll tax account needs.

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

Features:
e Register for an employer tax account number.
e Request your current and past three years payroll tax rates.
e Submit most of your returns/reports online.
e Make updates to your account, including changing your address.
¢ File your Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34).

e Make payroll tax deposits, pay past liabilities, or make payment
arrangements, by electronic funds transfer or credit card.

e Close or inactivate your account.

Advantages:
e [Fast, easy, and secure way to manage your payroll taxes online.
e One-time online enrollment.
e Ability to view and edit your returns/reports prior to submission.
e Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

The EDD has created tutorials so employers, agents, and representatives can become familiar with
e-Services for Business. These tutorials are available online at
http://www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/e-services_for_business_tutorials.htm.

Visit frequently asked questions at
http://edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/faq_-_e-services_for_business.htm for information about the EDD’s
electronic services such as: bulk transfer options, both voluntary and mandatory electronic funds transfer
information, and more.

For more information regarding the e-Services for Business programs, visit the e-Services for Business
website at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov, e-mail us at ecom@edd.ca.gov, or contact the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 855-866-2657.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET) Page 13 of 60



ARE YOU AN ANNUAL OR QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYER?

How to Report and Pay Your Taxes

There are two types of household employers: Annual household employers and Quarterly household
employers. The following table explains the requirements for filing payroll tax reports and making tax

payments for each type:

Annual
Household Employer

Quarterly
Household Employer

Requirements

Reports wages quarterly and
pays taxes annually.

Reports wages quarterly and
pays taxes quarterly.

Refer to page 25.

Annual Wage Threshold

Pays household wages of
$20,000 or less annually

and

elects to be an annual
Household Employer.

Pays household wages that
exceed $20,000 annually

or

pays household wages of
$20,000 or less annually

and

does not elect to be an annual
Household Employer.

Forms Required:
File forms online using

e-Services for Business at
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov

e Registration

e Each Quarter

e Each Year

e Registration Form for
Employers of Household
Workers (DE 1HW).

e Employer of Household
Worker Election Notice
(DE 89) if election is made
after filing DE 1HW.

Registration Form for
Employers of Household Workers
(DE 1HW).

Employer of Household
Worker(s) Quarterly Report
of Wages and Withholdings
(DE 3BHW).

e Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)
with payment.

e Quarterly Contribution Return
and Report of Wages (DE 9).

e Quarterly Contribution
Return and Report of Wages
(Continuation) (DE 9C).

Employer of Household
Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax
Return (DE 3HW) with payment.

www.edd.ca.gov
DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET)

Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS
Overview

Household employers who pay $20,000 or less in cash and noncash wages in one calendar year may elect

to make one yearly payment for all California payroll taxes. You will not automatically be considered an
annual household employer. If you do not elect to become an annual household employer, you are a quarterly
household employer even if you pay $20,000 or less in wages. If you elect to pay taxes annually, you must still
report employee subject wages, Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages, and PIT withholdings quarterly.

Household employers may elect to become annual household employers using one of the following forms:

e Registration Form for Employers of Household Workers (DE 1HW)
You may elect to become an annual household employer when you register with the EDD by
checking the “Yes” box in Item L on the DE 1HW or register online with e-Services for Business at
https://feddservices.edd.ca.gov.

e Employer of Household Worker Election Notice (DE 89)
If you previously registered with the EDD, you may complete the DE 89 and return it to the EDD to
become an annual household employer.
As an annual household employer, you must file the following forms:
e Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW).

e Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW)
You must pay your payroll taxes with the DE 3HW.

File online with e-Services for Business at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.
Samples of these completed paper forms are provided on the following pages: 7, 16, 18, and 20, respectively.

NOTE: If your total accumulated wages exceed $20,000 during the year, you must notify the EDD
immediately to change your filing status to quarterly household employer. Refer to page 24 for
additional information.

Employer of Household Worker Election Notice (DE 89)
Overview

Purpose: To elect the option to pay California payroll taxes annually instead of quarterly. If approved, the
election is effective the first day of the calendar year in which the election is filed. If you pay more than
$20,000 in accumulated wages in a year, the election will be terminated, and you will be required to file and
pay all payroll taxes owed for the year at the end of that calendar quarter.

How to Obtain: The DE 89 is available on the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de89.pdf,
or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Employer of Household Worker(s)
Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW)

Overview

Purpose: Household employers who elect to pay taxes annually use the DE 3BHW to report employee
guarterly wages subject to Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability
Insurance (SDI) taxes, and Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages. If PIT is withheld, that amount is also
reported on this form. Even though taxes are paid just once a year, wages must be reported each
guarter by state law. For any quarter that you do not have wages, you must still file the report.

2014 Due Dates
Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings (DE 3BHW)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By
January, February, March April 1, 2014 April 30, 2014
April, May, June July 1, 2014 July 31, 2014
July, August, September October 1, 2014 October 31, 2014
October, November, December January 1, 2015 February 2, 2015

You must file a DE 3BHW each quarter even if you paid no wages during the quarter. Penalty and
interest will be charged on late filing of reports. Not having a form to complete is not considered “good
cause” (refer to page 58) for filing your DE 3BHW late.

Electronic filing: e-Services for Business at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.
e View and print reports previously submitted online.
e Saves previously submitted names and Social Security numbers to use in new report.
e Ability to correct previously submitted reports.

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.
For additional e-Services features refer to page 13.

Paper filing: If you do not file online, then:
e The DE 3BHW will be mailed to you in March, June, September, and December of each year.
or
e Obtain DE 3BHW forms from the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf _pub_ctr/de3bhw.pdf.
e Order DE 3BHW forms from the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/.

A completed sample DE 3BHW begins on page 18. For instructions on how to complete the form refer to
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3bhw.pdf.

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee e-mail subscription services at
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW)
Overview

Purpose: Household employers who elect to pay taxes annually use the DE 3HW to send Unemployment
Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI) withheld to the EDD. If
Personal Income Tax (PIT) is withheld, that amount is also sent to the EDD with this form.

2014 Due Dates
Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed by

2014 January 1, 2015 February 2, 2015

If you are unable to pay all or part of your taxes on time, you must still file your DE 3HW. Penalty and
interest will be charged on late payroll tax payments and reports.

NOTE: If your total accumulated wages exceed $20,000 during the year, you must notify the EDD
immediately that you need to change to a quarterly household employer. Refer to page 24 for information on
changing from an annual household employer to a quarterly household employer.
Electronic filing: e-Services for Business at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

e Fast, easy, and secure way to manage your payroll taxes online.

e View and edit reports prior to submission.

e Ability to correct previously submitted reports.

e-Services For Business. Online. Anytime.
For additional e-Services features refer to page 13.
Paper filing: If you do not file online, then:
e The DE 3HW will be mailed to you in December of each year.
OR

e Obtain DE 3HW forms from the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3hw.pdf.
e Order DE 3HW forms from the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/.

Not having a form to complete is not considered “good cause” (refer to page 58) for filing your DE 3HW late.

For assistance completing your DE 3HW, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886. If
outside the U.S. or Canada, call 916-464-3502.

Your Ul, ETT, and SDI rates will be entered on the preprinted DE 3HW mailed to you. If you paid $1,000 or
more in cash wages in a quarter during the current year and/or in the previous year and your DE 3HW does
not show Ul and ETT rates, please call 888-745-3886.

A completed sample DE 3HW is on page 18. For instructions on how to complete the form refer to
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3hw.pdf.

Learn more about payroll taxes through our seminars and online courses at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS
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Examples were created using 2013 rates.
Refer to inside cover for 2014 rates.
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Employer Paid Taxes for Employees

If you pay the State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax without deducting it from your employees’ wages, the
amount of the SDI you paid is considered an increase in the employees’ wages and should be included in
subject wages for Ul, ETT, and SDI purposes.

If you pay Social Security and/or Medicare without deducting them from your employees’ wages, the
amount you paid is not considered an increase in the employees’ wages and should not be included in
subject wages for Ul, ETT, or SDI purposes.

If you and your employee have agreed to withhold PIT, the amount of Social Security, Medicare, or SDI
that you paid without deducting from the employee’s wages should be included in PIT wages and used to
calculate the PIT withholding amount.

For assistance in calculating subject wages and PIT wages under these circumstances, refer to Information
Sheet: Social Security/Medicare/SDI Taxes Paid by an Employer (DE 231Q). To obtain the DE 231Q,
access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf, or call the Taxpayer Assistance
Center at 888-745-3886.

Refer to page 32 on “How to Calculate Taxable Wages.”

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET) Page 21 of 60



ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

2014 Due Dates and Delinquency Dates

NOTE: When the last timely date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the “delinquent if not

postmarked or received by” date falls on the next business day.

Delinquent if Not Postmarked

Form Filing Due Dates or Received by
Employer of Household April 1, 2014
Worker(s) Quarterly Report for filing period of January, April 30, 2014
of Wages and Withholdings February, and March
(DE 3BHW)
July 1, 2014
for filing period of April, May, July 31, 2014
and June

October 1, 2014
for filing period of July, August,
and September

October 31, 2014

January 1, 2015
for filing period of October,
November, and December

February 2, 2015

Employer of Household
Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax
Return (DE 3HW) (with payment)

January 1, 2015

for year of 2014 February 2, 2015

If you cannot pay all or part of your taxes on time, you must still file the DE 3HW. Penalty and interest will
be charged on late payroll tax payments and reports.

NOTE:
Electronic Filers:

e Follow the simple instructions online to submit timely reports at e-Services for Business at
https://leddservices.edd.ca.gov.

Paper Filers:

e When your DE 3BHW or DE 3HW is mailed to the EDD, the postmark date is used to determine if
your form is timely.

e For any quarter that you do not have wages to report, you must check the “No Payroll This Quarter”
box (Item B) on the front of the DE 3BHW and send the form to the EDD. If you have any questions,
please call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

www.edd.ca.gov
DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET)
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Correcting Prior Reports

Electronic Filers: Go to e-Services for Business at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov and follow the simple
online instructions to make corrections to previously filed reports.

Paper Filers: Use the table below to correct your EDD reports with the Tax and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 678).

Reason for
Form Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment
Correcting Incorrect Complete the DE 678, Section |, and make two entries in Section V
prior Employer employee for each quarter that was reported incorrectly. For the first entry,
of Household Social Security | enter the quarter, incorrect SSN, employee name, and enter zeros
Worker(s) number (SSN) | in total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld fields. For the
Quarterly Report | reported. second entry, enter the quarter, correct SSN, employee name, total
of Wages and subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld.
Withholdings
(DE 3BHW) Incorrect Complete the DE 678, Section |, and make two entries in Section V
employee for each quarter that was reported incorrectly. For the first entry,
name enter the quarter, SSN, incorrect employee name, and enter zeros
reported. in total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld fields. For the
second entry, enter the quarter, SSN, correct employee name, total
subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld.
Incorrect Complete the DE 678, Sections | and V. Enter correct wages and/or
wages and/ PIT information for each employee by quarter. Information provided
or PIT in annual amounts will be returned unprocessed.
information NOTE: If the DE 3HW has been filed with incorrect information, also
for employees | .ompjete Section Iil.
previously
reported.
No SSN Complete the DE 678, Section |, and make two entries in Section V
reported for for each quarter that was reported incorrectly. For the first entry,
employee. enter the quarter, all zeros (000-00-0000) for the SSN, enter
employee name, and enter zeros for total subject wages, PIT wages,
and PIT withheld. For the second entry, enter the quarter, SSN,
employee name, total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld.
Employee(s) Complete the DE 678, Sections | and V. Report the employees, their
not previously | SSNs, total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld by quarter.
reported. NOTE: If the DE 3HW has been filed with incorrect information, also
complete Section lll.
Correcting Provided Complete the DE 678, Sections I, lll, and IV, with the correct
prior Employer incorrect Ul, information. If DE 3BHWSs were filed incorrectly, also complete
of Household ETT, SDI, Section V of the DE 678 as instructed above.
\Iév:;rli)e"r(Ts;):Annual %?gig;g} NOTE: If taxes are due, send a payment for the tax amount due
. lus penalty and interest, if any, with the DE 678
Return (DE 3HW) plus penatty y

Detailed DE 678 instructions are provided on the Instructions for Completing the Tax and Wage Adjustment
Form (DE 678-I). To obtain the DE 678 and DE 678-1, access the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm. For questions about when or how to use
the form, adjusting previously reported payroll taxes or wages, or to order forms, please call the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

www.edd.ca.gov
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ANNUAL HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

No Longer Paying Wages

If you stop employing people to work in your home and do not intend to hire anyone in the future, you must
notify the EDD by submitting a final DE 3BHW and DE 3HW with payment of any taxes due within ten days.

If you plan to employ people to work in your home in the future but do not have payroll this quarter, mark
“No Payroll This Quarter” (Item B) on the DE 3BHW and submit it to the EDD. This report must be filed even
if no wages were paid in the quarter.

Electronic filers: Go to e-Services for Business at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov and follow the simple
online instructions to submit these reports.

Paper filers: Obtain these forms by accessing the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm, or use the internet order form at
www.edd.ca.gov/forms/default.asp.

When to Change From an Annual Household Employer
to a Quarterly Household Employer

If your total accumulated wages exceed $20,000 during the year, you must notify the EDD
immediately. Please call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886, and an EDD representative will
assist you in changing to a quarterly taxpayer.

As a quarterly household employer, you will no longer prepare a DE 3BHW and DE 3HW. Each quarter,
you will complete a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) and a Quarterly Contribution
Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C). You will begin sending a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)
coupon along with your tax payment to the EDD at least quarterly. If you are required to change to a
guarterly household employer mid-year, you must file a DE 3HW to cover the quarters you were an annual
household employer and a DE 9 and DE 9C for the quarters you were a quarterly household employer. In
the following years, you will no longer file a DE 3HW.

For an explanation of the responsibilities of a quarterly household employer, please refer to the “Quarterly
Household Employers” section of this guide, beginning on page 25. This section includes examples of
completed forms and instructions for completing the forms.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS
Overview

If your total annual accumulated wages (both cash and noncash) are more than $20,000 or if you do not
elect to become an annual household employer, you must file wage reports quarterly and pay taxes at
least quarterly.

Note: For information on how to elect to become an annual household employer, refer to page 15.
As a quarterly household employer, you must submit the following forms:

e Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9).
e Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C).
e Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88).

The EDD offers a full range of online services for filing and paying state payroll taxes. Refer to the
e-Services for Business section on page 13.

Samples of completed forms are provided on the following pages: 27, 29, and 31, respectively.

Need assistance in completing the paper Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon? The EDD offers a new
online course, “How to Complete a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88/DE 88ALL),” to assist you. For additional
information about this course and other online courses, go to
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/web_based_seminars.htm.

NOTE: For years 2010 and prior, the Quarterly Wage and Withholding Report (DE 6) and the Annual
Reconciliation Statement (DE 7) must be filed.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9)

Overview

Purpose: Quarterly household employers use the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9)
to reconcile payroll tax payments and total subject wages reported for the quarter. You must submit a DE 9
AND a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) each quarter. If
your DE 9 shows payroll taxes due, prepare a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) and include the correct payment
quarter. Send the DE 88 with the amount due to the EDD using the preprinted DE 88 envelope.

2014 Due Dates for the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By
January, February, March April 1, 2014 April 30, 2014
April, May, June July 1, 2014 July 31, 2014
July, August, September October 1, 2014 October 31, 2014
October, November, December January 1, 2015 February 2, 2015

You must file a DE 9 each quarter even if you paid no wages during the quarter. Penalty and interest
will be charged on late filing of reports.

Electronic filing: e-Services for Business at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.
e Fast, easy, and secure way to manage your payroll taxes online.
e View and edit reports prior to submission.
e Ability to correct previously submitted reports.

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.
For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 13.

Paper filing: If you do not file online, then:
e The DE 9 will be mailed to you in March, June, September, and December of each year.
or
e Obtain DE 9 forms from the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9.pdf.
e Order DE 9 forms from the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/.

IMPORTANT: Your Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) and Quarterly Contribution
Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) must be mailed together in an envelope that is
separate from your Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88/DE 88ALL) coupon and payment.

Your Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI)
rates will be entered on the preprinted DE 9 mailed to you. If you paid $1,000 or more in cash wages in a
quarter during the current year and/or in the previous year and your DE 9 does not show Ul and ETT rates,
please call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

Not having a form is not considered “good cause” (refer to page 58) for filing your DE 9 late.

A completed sample DE 9 begins on page 27. For instructions on how to complete the form refer to
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9.pdf.

For assistance completing your DE 9, please contact our Taxpayer Assistance Center at
888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or Canada, call 916-464-3502.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

Examples were created using 2013 rates.
Refer to inside cover for 2014 rates.

File this form
' online through
' e-Services for Business

I https:/leddservices.edd.ca.gov

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)

Overview

Purpose: Quarterly household employers must use the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
(Continuation) (DE 9C) to report employee wages subject to Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment
Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and to report Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages. If PIT
is withheld, that amount is also reported on this form. You must submit a DE 9 and DE 9C each quarter.

2014 Due Dates for the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By
January, February, March April 1, 2014 April 30, 2014
April, May, June July 1, 2014 July 31, 2014
July, August, September October 1, 2014 October 31, 2014
October, November, December January 1, 2015 February 2, 2015

You must file a DE 9C each quarter even if you paid no wages during the quarter. Penalty and
interest will be charged on late filing of reports.
Electronic filing: e-Services for Business at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

e Fast, easy, and secure way to manage your payroll taxes online.

e View and edit reports prior to submission.

e Ability to correct previously submitted reports.

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.
For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 13.

Paper filing: If you do not file online, then:
e The DE 9C will be mailed to you in March, June, September, and December of each year.
or
e Obtain DE 9C forms from the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9C.pdf.
¢ Order DE 9C forms from the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/.

IMPORTANT: Your Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) and
Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) must be mailed together in an envelope that
is separate from your Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88/DE 88ALL) coupon and payment.

For assistance completing your DE 9C, please contact our Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.
If outside the U.S. or Canada, call 916-464-3502.

Not having a form is not considered “good cause” (refer to page 58) for filing your DE 9C late. Refer to
sample DE 9C on page 29. For instructions on how to complete the form refer to
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9c.pdf.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

File this form
| online through
) e-Services for Business

I https:/leddservices.edd.ca.gov

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET) Page 29 of 60



QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)

Overview

Purpose: Quarterly household employers use the Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon to pay Unemployment
Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI) withheld to the EDD. If
Personal Income Tax (PIT) is withheld, that amount is also sent to the EDD with this coupon. Newly registered
employers are sent a DE 88 booklet containing preprinted coupons about six weeks after registering with the
EDD. Newly registered employers can enroll and use e-Services for Business immediately to make deposits.

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.

Electronic filing:
e Fast, easy, and secure way to manage your payroll taxes online.
e Ability to view and edit your returns/reports prior to submission.
e Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

e Payroll agents can manage their clients’ payroll tax accounts by enrolling in e-Services for Business
through a third-party access.

e Access now available using tablets and smart phones.

Join e-Services for Business today at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

When Due:

e |f you do not withhold Personal Income Tax (PIT) or if accumulated PIT withholdings are less than
$350, taxes (Ul, ETT, SDI, and PIT) are due each quarter on January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1.

e If PIT withholdings are $350 or more, State Disability Insurance (SDI) and PIT may need to be
deposited more frequently. Refer to page 35 for the Withholding Deposits table.

e Refer to page 35 for additional deposit information and due dates.
NOTE: A penalty of ten percent (10%) plus interest will be charged on late payroll tax deposits.

Paper filing:
If you do not file online, you will receive a DE 88 coupon booklet with preprinted payroll tax rates by March
of each year. Preprinted envelopes are also sent with each DE 88 booklet.

The following are options available for obtaining DE 88 coupons:

e Download from the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de88all.pdf.
e Order DE 88 forms using the EDD online order form at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/.

e Complete and mail the tear-out reorder postcard at the back of your DE 88 booklet. Allow six to eight
weeks for delivery. If you do not have a reorder postcard, contact:

Employment Development Department
Document Management Group, MIC 96
Attention: Forms Request Desk

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Phone: 916-654-7041 or 888-745-3886
Outside U.S. or Canada call 916-464-3502

Detailed instructions on completing a DE 88 coupon can be found in the DE 88 coupon booklet or refer to
the DE 88ALL-I (instructions) at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de88alli.pdf. You may also view the
Web-based tutorial titled, “How to Complete a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88 or DE 88ALL)” at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/web_based_seminars.htm.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)

Overview (Continued)

For additional assistance completing your DE 88, contact our Taxpayer Assistance Center at
888-745-3886. If outside of the U.S. or Canada, call 916-464-3502.

PLEASE DO NOT USE ANOTHER EMPLOYER’S DE 88 COUPON. The coupons that we provide you are
encoded with your EDD eight-digit employer account number. If you use another employer’s coupon, our
computers will read the EDD employer account number coded on the coupon and apply the payment
accordingly.

The DE 88 booklet has your Ul, ETT, and SDI tax rates preprinted on the coupons. If you paid $1,000 or
more in cash wages in a quarter during 2013 and your DE 88 coupon does not show Ul and ETT rates,
please call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

Examples were created using 2013 rates.
Refer to inside cover for 2014 rates.

File this form

File online at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov. online through
e-Services for Business

https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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How to Calculate Taxable Wages

Unemployment Insurance (Ul) tax and Employment Training Tax (ETT) are calculated up to the Ul taxable
wage limit of each employee’s wages per year and are paid by the employer. The State Disability Insurance
(SDI) tax is calculated up to the SDI taxable wage limit of each employee’s wages in 2014 and is withheld

from the employee’s wages.

NOTE: Examples were created using 2013 Ul and SDI taxable wage limits.

Example: An employer has two employees, Jane and John (for illustrative purposes only).

www.edd.ca.gov

In the first quarter, Jane is paid $10,000 and John is paid $6,000. The employer pays
Unemployment Insurance (Ul) tax and Employment Training Tax (ETT) taxes on $7,000 of
Jane’s wages and all of John’s wages. The employer will not pay Ul and ETT taxes for Jane
for the remainder of the year since she has reached the Ul taxable wage limit. State Disability
Insurance (SDI) is withheld from both employees’ total wages.

First Quarter Taxable Wages

Taxable Wages

UI/ETT SDI
Jane $ 7,000.00 $ 10,000.00
John 6.000.00 6.000.00
Total Taxable Wages $ 13,000.00 $ 16,000.00

In the second quarter, Jane is paid $35,000 and John is paid $500. The employer pays Ul and
ETT on John’s total wages since the Ul taxable wage limit has not been met. The employer
withholds SDI from both employees’ total wages since neither has reached the SDI taxable
wage limit.

Second Quarter

Taxable Wages Taxable Wages

UI/ETT SDI
Jane $ 00.00 $ 35,000.00
John 500.00 500.00
Total Taxable Wages $ 500.00 $ 35,500.00

In the third quarter, Jane is paid $35,000 and John is paid $8,000. The employer pays Ul and
ETT on $500 of John’s wages; he has now reached the Ul taxable wage limit. The employer
withholds SDI from both employees’ total wages since neither has reached the SDI taxable
wage limit.

Third Quarter Taxable Wages Taxable Wages

UIETT SDI
Jane $ 00.00 $ 35,000.00
John 500.00 8.000.00
Total Taxable Wages $ 500.00 $ 43,000.00

In the fourth quarter, Jane is paid $37,000 and John is paid $15,000. The employer only
withholds SDI taxes on $20,880 of Jane’s wages since she reached the SDI limit. The employer
withholds SDI from John's total wages since he was not paid more than the SDI taxable wage
limit in the calendar year.

Fourth Quarter Taxable Wages Taxable Wages

UIETT SDI
Jane $ 00.00 $ 20,880.00
John 00.00 15,000.00
Total Taxable Wages $ 00.00 $ 35,880.00

Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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How to Compute

State Disability Insurance (SDI) Withholding

The SDI tax rate (which includes Paid Family Leave) for calendar year 2014 is available on the inside
cover. The SDI tax is withheld from all cash and noncash wages paid to each employee in 2014 up to the
SDI taxable wage limit. Noncash wages include meals and lodging (refer to “Values of Meals and Lodging”
tables on page 12). If you do not withhold SDI from your employees’ wages, refer to NOTE 2 below.

If the SDI tax is withheld from your employees’ wages, a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon must be
sent to the EDD at least once each quarter, and be postmarked or received by the dates listed in the table
on page 35. If you withhold more than $500 in Personal Income Tax (PIT) from your employees during a
guarter, please call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 to determine when to send your SDI
and PIT payment to the EDD.

Example: Total SDI taxable wages for the quarter are $13,000 (for illustrative purposes only). Examples
were created using the 2013 rates. Refer to the inside cover for the 2014 rates.

SDI Taxable Wages $13,000
X SDI Tax Rate x _0.010
SDI Taxes Due $130.00 (Enter this amount in Box C)

NOTE:

1. If, after paying $750 in cash wages in one or more quarters in a calendar year, you begin paying your
employees less than $750 in the following quarters, you must continue withholding SDI taxes from your
employees’ wages through December of the following year. Once you exceed the threshold on wages,
you continue to be subject through the following year.

2. If you pay the SDI tax without deducting it from your employees’ wages, the amount of SDI you paid
is considered an increase in the employees’ wages and must be used to calculate Unemployment
Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and SDI withholding. The additional amount must also
be included as PIT wages and used to calculate the PIT withholding amount if you and any of your
employees have agreed to withhold PIT.

If you pay Social Security and/or Medicare taxes without deducting them from your employees’ wages,
these payments are not considered an increase in the employees’ wages for Ul, ETT, and SDI but are an
increase in PIT wages that must be used to calculate the PIT withholding amount.

For assistance in calculating subject wages and PIT wages under these circumstances, refer to Information
Sheet: Social Security/Medicare/SDI Taxes Paid by an Employer (DE 231Q). To obtain the DE 2310Q,
please access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf. Please call the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 to order the DE 231Q, or if you have any questions.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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How to Compute

Unemployment Insurance (Ul) Tax and Employment Training Tax (ETT)

If you pay cash wages of $1,000 or more in one quarter to household workers, in addition to withholding
State Disability Insurance (SDI), you must pay Ul tax and ETT at the following rates:

e The Ul tax rate for new employers or those newly subject to Ul is 3.4 percent (.034). Your tax rate
will be given to you when you register with the EDD or become subject to Ul. Your tax rates (U,
ETT, and SDI) are updated once each year with a Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of Ul
Reserve Account (DE 2088) and mailed to you in December, showing the rates for the upcoming
year. The Ul tax is paid on cash and noncash wages paid to each employee in 2014 up to the Ul
taxable wage limit. Refer to the inside cover for the 2014 Ul taxable wage limit. Noncash wages
include meals and lodging (refer to “Values of Meals and Lodging” on page 12).

e The ETT rate is set by law at 0.1 percent (.001) on your Ul taxable wages. However, if you have a
negative Ul reserve account balance on June 30, you will not be required to pay ETT the following
calendar year. The annual DE 2088 will show whether your rate is zero (0) or 0.1 percent (.001).

The Ul tax and ETT amounts are paid by the employer, and are not withheld from employees’ wages.

Your payroll taxes and a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon must be submitted to the EDD each quarter. File
online at e-Services for Business at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov. If you do not file online you may file by
paper method. All payments must be received or postmarked by the dates listed on the table on page 35.

Example: Total Ul taxable wages for the quarter are $12,000 (for illustrative purposes only). The Ul tax rate
is 3.4 percent (.034). The ETT rate is 0.1 percent (.001). Examples were created using standard
starting rates, your Ul rate may differ.

Ul Taxable Wages $12,000

X Ul Tax Rate x 0.034
Ul Taxes Due $408.00 (Enter this amount in Box A)

Ul Taxable Wages $12,000

X ETT Rate x 0.001
ETT Due $ 12.00 (Enter this amount in Box B)

Learn more about payroll taxes through our seminars and online courses at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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2014 Due Dates and Delinquency Dates
For online filing options, refer to page 13.

Withholding Deposits

If You Have
Accumulated PIT PIT and SDI Deposit
Form Calendar Quarter Withholding Of Due By?
Payroll Tax Deposit Less than $350 April 30, 20143
(DE 88) January, February, and
st
March (1% Quarter) 5350 - $500° 15% of the
following month
Less than $350 July 31, 20143
April, May, and June
nd
@ Quanen $350 - $500" 15% of the
following month
3
July, August, Less than $350 October 31, 2014
and September
(3 Quarter) i N 15" of the
$350 - $500 following month
3
October. November. Less than $350 February 2, 2015
and December
(4™ Quarter) i N 15" of the
$350 - $500 following month

L If you withhold more than $500 in PIT, please call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 to
determine the correct due date of your tax payment.

2 If the deposit due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next
business day.

3 For household employers who have paid $1,000 or more in wages in a calendar quarter, a deposit of
Unemployment Insurance and Employment Training Tax not previously paid is also due each quarter by
these due dates.

NOTE: When your DE 88 is mailed to the EDD, the postmark date is used to determine if your payment is
timely. Penalty and interest will be charged on each late payroll tax payment.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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2014 Due Dates and Delinquency Dates (Continued)

Withholding Deposits

To ensure timely settlement of your electronic payments, please note:

e An Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Automated Clearing House (ACH) debit transaction must be
completed before 3 p.m., Pacific Time, on or before the last timely date to ensure a timely

settlement date.

e EFT ACH credit transactions are processed based on individual bank requirements. Ask your bank
what day you should report your payment to ensure a timely settlement date.

Quarterly Reports

Form

Filing Due Dates

Delinquent if Not Postmarked
or Received by

Quarterly Contribution Return
and Report of Wages (DE 9)

and

Quarterly Contribution Return and
Report of Wages (Continuation)
(DE 9C)

April 1, 2014
for filing period of January, April 30, 2014
February, and March
July 1, 2014
for filing period of April, May, and July 31, 2014
June

October 1, 2014
for filing period of July, August,
and September

October 31, 2014

January 1, 2015
for filing period of October,
November, and December

February 2, 2015

If you cannot pay all or part of your taxes on time, you must still file the DE 9 and DE 9C. Penalty and

interest will be charged on each late payroll tax payment and report/return.

NOTE:

e When your DE 9 and DE 9C are mailed to the EDD, the postmark date is used to determine if your

returns are timely.

e For any quarter that you do not have wages to report, you must check the “No Wages Paid this
Quarter” (Item A) on the DE 9 and the “No Payroll” box (Item C) on the DE 9C and send the forms
to the EDD. If you have any questions, please call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at

888-745-3886.

www.edd.ca.gov
DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET)
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Correcting Prior Payroll Tax Deposits

You can correct a prior Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) tax deposit(s) online even if it was submitted on paper.
File your corrected DE 88 online at e-Services for Business at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

The following two tables clarify when to notify the EDD of adjustments and how to make them.

Form Reason for Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment
Correcting Overpaid Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT on On the next DE 88 for the same calendar
prior Payroll | a DE 88 prior to filing your Quarterly quarter, reduce the amount of taxes due
Tax Deposit | Contribution Return and Report of by the amount of the overpayment. Do not
(DE 88) Wages (DE 9) and Quarterly Contribution | show credits on the DE 88.
coupons Return and Report of Wages

(Continuation) (DE 9C).

Overpaid Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT on a
DE 88 prior to filing DE 9/DE 9C and you
cannot reduce the overpayment on your
next deposit within the quarter.

Claim refund on line J when you file your
DE 9 at the end of the quarter.

Overwithheld PIT and
e DE 9 was filed.
e DE 9C was filed.

e Form W-2 was issued to the
employee.

DO NOT:
e Refund overwithheld PIT to the
employee;

e Change the California PIT
withholding amount shown on the
Form W-2; or

e File a claim for refund with the EDD.

The employee will receive a credit for

the PIT over withholdings when filing a
California State income tax return with the
Franchise Tax Board (FTB).

Underpaid Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT prior to
filing your DE 9/DE 9C.

File a DE 88 and pay the amount due,
including penalty and interest. Indicate the
payroll date on the DE 88.

Underpaid Ul, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT and
your DE 9/DE 9C was filed.

Complete a DE 88 and pay the additional
amount due for the quarter, including any
penalty and interest, or when you receive a
Statement of Account (DE 2176) in the mail,
pay the balance due.

Allocated the wrong amounts to specific
funds on a DE 88.

Do not adjust. The EDD will make the
necessary adjustments at the end of the
guarter when your DE 9 is filed.

When written permission is obtained from an employee, you are authorized to adjust any over or
underwithheld California PIT from the employee if the adjustment is made within the same calendar year
and before the IRS Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) is issued.

Overwithheld SDI and/or PIT must be credited or refunded to your employee before you can take a credit
or receive a refund from the EDD. You should obtain a receipt from the employee whenever a credit
adjustment or repayment of overwithheld tax is made.

NOTE: A claim for credit or refund must be filed within three years of the delinquent date for the quarter
being adjusted.

www.edd.ca.gov

DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET)
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

Correcting Prior Reports

You can correct your previously filed reports online even if the prior report was filed by paper. File your
corrected report online at e-Services for Business at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

prior Quarterly
Contribution

Reason for
Form Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment
Correcting Incorrect File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections | and Ill. Section Il

employee Social
Security number

requires two entries. For the first entry, enter the quarter,
incorrect SSN, employee name, and enter zeros in total subject

prior Quarterly
Contribution
Return and Report
of Wages (DE 9)

Return and (SSN) or name wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld fields. For the second
Report of Wages reported. entry, enter the corrected information. For examples, refer to
(Continuation) page 2 of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions.
(DE 9C) : ) )
Incorrect wages File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections | and Il with correct wages
and/or PIT and/or PIT information for each employee by quarter. For
information examples, refer to page 2 of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions.
for employees NOTE: If DE 9 has been filed with incorrect information, also
previously complete Section 1.
reported.
No SSN reported | File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections | and Ill. Section IlI
for employee. requires two entries. For the first entry, enter the quarter, all
zeros for the SSN filed, employee name, and zeros in subject
wages, PIT wages, and PIT withheld fields. In the second entry,
enter the corrected information. For examples, refer to page 2
of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions.
Employee(s) File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections | and Il with unreported
not previously employee(s) SSN and full name, total subject wages, PIT
reported. wages, and PIT withheld by quarter.
NOTE: If a DE 9 has been filed with incorrect information, also
complete Section II.
Correcting Provided incorrect | File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections | and Il with the correct

Ul, ETT, SDI, and/
or PIT information.

information. If DE 9C forms were filed incorrectly, also complete
Section Il of the DE 9ADJ as instructed above

NOTE: If taxes are due, send a payment for the tax amount
plus penalty and interest, if any, with the DE 9ADJ.

Detailed DE 9ADJ instructions are provided on the Instructions for Completing the Quarterly Contribution
and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ-I). To obtain the DE 9ADJ and DE 9ADJ-I, access the EDD website
at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm. For questions about when or how

to use the form, adjusting previously reported payroll taxes or wages, or to order forms, please call the
Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

A completed sample DE 9ADJ is shown on pages 39 and 40.

NOTE: Examples were created using 2013 rates. Refer to inside cover for 2014 rates.

www.edd.ca.gov

DE 8829 Rev. 34 (1-14) (INTERNET)
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

Examples were created using 2013 rates.
Refer to inside cover for 2014 rates.

o BmplloYme": STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS
evelopmen A claim for refund or credit must
EDD Department QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION AND be filed within three years of the
A‘H . .
State of California WAGE ADJUSTMENT FORM last timely filing date of the quarter
being adjusted.
~ o= You can file this adjustment form online through the Employment Development Department’s (EDD) e-Services for Business.
- Services Please visit our website at www.edd.ca.gov. See Instructions for Completing the Quarterly Contribution and Wage
\,_\J ] Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ-I) for completing this form.
SI °TION LF PR YEAR / QUARTER
File this form -5 AND JANE JONES 1w
I online through EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO.
' e-Services for Business 12345 ‘ 000-0000-0

I https:/leddservices.edd.ca.gov =~ CA 12345

- Inderstated 4th quarter by $9,000. Did not report one employee.

(1) (2 3)
SECTION II: DIFFERENCES
ADJUSTMENT TO WAGES AND CONTRIBUTIONS Previously reported Should have reported Debit/(Credit)
A. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES........ccoomimmerrernninernesnernesnnnes 9,000100 18,000}00 9,000/00
B. UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (Ul) Taxable Wages ........ 7,000{00 14,000} 00 7,000 400
C. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) Taxable Wages ... 9,000[00 18,000} 00 9,000 00‘
D. EMPLOYER'S Ul CONTRIBUTIONS (Ul Rate 3 . 4 % times B).. 238100 476,00 238 /00
E. EMPLOYMENT TRAINING TAX (ETT Rate 0. 1 % times B)... 7100 14100 7400
F. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE* (SDI) Withheld (SDI Rate
1.0 % times C; complete Box 1 below if credit on row F.).. 90100 180,00 9000
& ox 2 below f et on Ine G oo 150/.00 300}00 150 100
H. SUBTOTAL (Lines D, E, F,and G) . .. 485100 970100 485 /00
I. Penalty (Refer to instructions on DE GADUJ-1) ......oouiiiiiiiiieii ettt b et sttt nne e nae ] 0.00
J. Interest (Refer to instructions on DE GADU-I) .....ccuiiiiiiiiiiiii ettt 0.00
K. Erroneous SDI Deductions not refunded (See Box 1, NOTE DEIOW) ..........c.cooveviveveeeeeieeeieeeieie e 0.00
L. Less contributions and withholdings paid for the qQUANET ..ot 1,000. OO‘I
M. Total taxes due or overpaid (H2 + 1+ J + K) = L ..ot -30.00

* Includes Paid Family Leave amount.

BOX 1. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE OVERPAYMENTS (Must be completed for credit to be allowed.)
1. Was the credit claimed in column 3 withheld from the wages of employee(s)?........
If yes, has this amount been refunded to employee(s)? ........cccceeeiieiiniiiiiiienennens
If not refunded: employee(s) no longer employed, unable to locate.
NOTE: The EDD cannot refund these contributions to you unless you first refund the erroneous deductions to the employee(s).
(List each employee name, Social Security Number, and amount of SDI not refunded.)

BOX 2. PERSONAL INCOME TAX OVERPAYMENTS (Must be completed for credit to be allowed.)
If you paid the Employment Development Department (EDD) more than the amount of California PIT withheld from wages of employee(s),
you can adjust the amount reported by using this form. The EDD will allow credit adjustments prior to the issuance of Forms W-2. If you
have already issued Forms W-2, please read the additional information on page 2 before proceeding.

Yes [] No
Yes [] No

1. Was the credit claimed in column 3 withheld from the pay of employee(s)? ............ [ No
If yes, has this credit been refunded to employee(s)? .........ccceovrireneeiereniieieeee J No
2. Was the credit claimed in column 3 included on Forms W-2 issued to employee(s)? [ Yes No

Be sure to sign this declaration: | declare that the information herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Signature Title EMPLOYER Phone (123 ) 555-7899 Date 03/31/2014

(Owner, Accountant, Preparer, etc.)

SIGN AND MAIL TO: Employment Development Department / P.O. Box 989073 / West Sacramento, CA 95798-9073

DE 9ADJ Rev. 3 (7-13) (INTERNET) Page 1 of 2 cu
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

Examples were created using 2013 rates.
Refer to inside cover for 2014 rates.

—— ~ Employment

ED Development

Department
State of California

QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION AND WAGE ADJUSTMENT FORM

EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO.

BUSINESS NAME _JAMES AND JANE JONES 000-0000-0

SECTION lll: QUARTERLY WAGE AND WITHHOLDING ADJUSTMENTS

Enter amounts that should have been reported; if unchanged, leave field blank. Correcting the Social Security Number or Name
requires two entries. See Instructions for Completing the Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ-I),
Section I, for additional information and instructions.

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) J
14/1 000-00-0000 THOMAS T. TAYLOR
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES ! PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD '
9,000.00 9,000.00 150.00
— . . 'BER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) ' '
File this form
| online th rough TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES ! PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD |
! e-Services for Business I EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, li/llDDLE INITIAL, LAST) : :
: https :lleddservices.edd.ca.gov TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD |
’7‘ s JAC "RITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, li/IIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) : :
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD |
YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, li/IIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) : :
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD |
‘ YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, IIVIIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) : :
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD ~
‘ YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, I‘VIIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) : :
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD |
‘ YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, ;VIIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) I I
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD |
‘ YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, IIVIIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) : :
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD ~
‘ YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, I‘VIIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) I I
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD |
‘ YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, ;VIIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) I I
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES ' PIT WITHHELD ' |
‘ YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, I‘VIIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) I I
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES | PIT WAGES ] PIT WITHHELD ] 1
DE 9ADJ Rev. 3 (7-13) (INTERNET) Page 2 of 2
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QUARTERLY HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS

No Longer Paying Wages

If you stop employing people to work in your home and do not intend to hire anyone in the future, you must
send the EDD a final Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) (enter the last date you
paid wages) and a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C), and Payroll
Tax Deposit (DE 88) coupon with payment of any taxes within ten days. If you plan to employ people to
work in your home in the future but do not have payroll this quarter, mark “No Wages Paid this Quarter”
(Item A) on the DE 9 and “No Payroll” (Item C) on the DE 9C and send the form to the EDD. This report
must be filed even if no wages were paid in the quarter. To obtain these forms, access the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm, order them using the EDD Internet order
form at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/, or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

Registered employers may inactivate their account online using the EDD e-Services for Business at
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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REPORTING NEW EMPLOYEES

All employers are required to report new employees to the New Employee Registry (NER). The NER
assists California’s Department of Child Support Services and Department of Justice in locating parents to
collect delinquent child support payments. Employers must also report the actual start-of-work date (not the
date hired) for each newly hired employee so that the NER data can be cross-matched to the Unemployment
Insurance (Ul) benefit file. This will result in the early detection and prevention of Ul benefit overpayments.

How to Obtain: New employers receive a Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) as part of their new
employer package from the EDD. To obtain additional DE 34 forms, access the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de34.pdf. You may also file online using the EDD e-Services for Business
at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

When Due: You must report all newly hired employees (refer to “Who Are Household Employees?” on
page 8) within 20 days of the start-of-work date, which is the first day of work. Any employee that is rehired
or returns to work after a separation of at least 60 consecutive days must also be reported within the 20 days.

The following information must be included when reporting new employees:

Employer Information Employee Information

EDD Employer Account Number First Name, Middle Initial, Last Name

Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

Social Security Number (SSN)

Business Name

Home Address

Business Address

Start-of-Work Date

Business Phone Number

Contact Person

Refer to sample DE 34 on page 43.
Filing an Informal Report

If you are not able to obtain a DE 34 form by the due date, file an informal report or a copy of the
employee’s Form W-4 to avoid penalty and interest charges. Your informal report should include all the
information listed in the above table.

Mail or fax your new employee information to:

Employment Development Department
Document Management Group, MIC 96
P.O. Box 997016

West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016

Fax: 916-319-4400

NOTE: If the people who work in your home are independent contractors, you do not need to report them
to the EDD (refer to “Who Are Household Employees?” on page 8). The requirement for businesses
and government entities to report independent contractors does not apply to household employers.

If you are not sure if the people who work in your home are employees or independent contractors,
please call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886 for assistance.

Registered employers may report new employees online using the EDD e-Services for Business at
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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REPORTING NEW EMPLOYEES

FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

File this form

online through
| e-Services for Business

https:/leddservices.edd.ca.gov

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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FEDERAL WAGE AND TAX STATEMENT (FORM W-2)

As an employer, you are required to prepare a federal Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) for each of your
employees. You must provide your employees with their 2014 Form W-2 by February 2, 2015.* Prepare the
Form W-2 on the federal/state four-part paper form.

If you need information on Form W-2 reporting requirements, refer to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
Employer’s Tax Guide (Publication 15, Circular E). For instructions on completing Form W-2, refer to IRS
Instructions for Forms W-2 and W-3. To obtain these publications, access the IRS website at
www.irs.gov or call the IRS at 800-829-3676.

In addition to the federal information required, you must include California Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages,
PIT withheld, and State Disability Insurance (SDI) withheld in the following Form W-2 boxes:

FORM W-2
Box Enter
Box 16 (State wages, tips, etc.) California PIT wages
Box 17 (State income tax) California PIT withheld (if any)
Box 19 (Local income tax) The abbreviation “CASDI” and SDI withheld

NOTE:

e |f Box 19 has local taxes, use Box 14, Other. If no boxes are available, you are required to provide
your employees with a separate written statement containing:

o Name of household employer, address, Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), and the
EDD eight-digit employer account numbers.

o The employee’s name, address, and Social Security number.
o The amount of SDI withheld and/or paid directly by you.
e |f the wages were not subject to SDI, show “CASDI 0” (zero).

e If you paid SDI taxes without withholding the SDI from the employee’s wages, you should show the
SDI taxes as if they were withheld and increase the amount you report according to the formula shown
on the Information Sheet: Social Security/Medicare/SDI Taxes Paid By an Employer (DE 231Q). To
obtain a DE 231Q, access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf, or call the
Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

Generally, the amount reported as California PIT wages on Form W-2 in Box 16 is the same as the federal
wages (Box 1).

If you discover an error on a previously issued Form W-2, refer to the IRS publication Instructions for Forms
W-2C and W-3C for instructions on completing an IRS Corrected Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2C).

Send Forms W-2 and Forms W-2C to your employees and the Social Security Administration. Do not send the
“state” copies of Forms W-2 and Forms W-2C to the State of California (the EDD or Franchise Tax Board).

* Employers failing to provide a Form W-2 to each employee, or who furnish a false or fraudulent statement,
are subject to a penalty of fifty dollars ($50) for each such failure as imposed under Section 13052 of
the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC). Employers may also be subject to an additional
penalty for failure to file informational returns (Form W-2 or Form 1099-MISC) to misclassified employees
as provided under Section 13052.5 of the CUIC. The amount of the penalty is determined based upon
the unreported remuneration for personal services multiplied by the maximum rate as provided under
Section 17041 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. Contact the EDD Taxpayer Assistance Center at
888-745-3886 for assistance.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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FEDERAL WAGE AND TAX STATEMENT (FORM W-2)

Earned Income Tax Credit Information Act

Effective January 1, 2008, all employers are required to notify all of their employees of the federal Earned
Income Tax Credit (EITC).

Employers who are subject to and required to provide Unemployment Insurance to their employees must
provide EITC notification to the employee by either handing it directly to the employee or mailing it to the

employee’s last known address. Posting of this information on an employee bulletin board will not satisfy
the notification requirement.

The notification shall be provided at the same time or within one week before or after, that the employer
provides the employee with an annual wage summary, including, but not limited to, a Form W-2 or a Form
1099. The notice shall include instructions on how to obtain any notices available from the Internal Revenue
Service (IRS) for this purpose, including, but not limited to, the IRS Notice 797, or any successor notice or
form, or any notice created by you, as long as it contains substantially the same language as the notice below.

“Based on your annual earnings, you may be eligible to receive the earned income tax credit
from the federal government. The earned income tax credit is a refundable federal income
tax credit for low-income working individuals and families. The earned income tax credit has
no effect on certain welfare benefits. In most cases, earned income tax credit payments will
not be used to determine eligibility for Medicaid, supplemental security income, food stamps,
low-income housing, or most temporary assistance for needy families’ payments. Even if
you do not owe federal taxes, you must file a tax return to receive the earned income tax
credit. Be sure to fill out the earned income tax credit form in the federal income tax return
booklet. For information regarding your eligibility to receive the earned income tax credit,
including information on how to obtain the IRS Notice 797, or any other necessary forms and
instructions, contact the Internal Revenue Service by calling 1-800-829-3676 or through its
website at www.irs.gov.”

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee e-mail subscription services at
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email notices.htm.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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WHAT PAYROLL RECORDS MUST BE KEPT?

Employers are required to keep payroll records for at least four years. If you believe that you are not a
subject employer or your employees are exempt, state law requires that you maintain records of payments
made to people who provide household services for at least eight years in case of an employment tax audit.

Your records must provide a true and accurate account of all workers (employed, no longer employed, or
on a leave of absence, and independent contractors) and all payments made. Records must include the
following information for each worker:

e Worker’s:
o Full name (first name, middle initial, and last name).
o Social Security number.
e Date hired, rehired, or returned to work after a temporary layoff.
e Last date services were performed.
e Place of work.
e Money paid:
o Dates and amounts of payment.
o Pay period covered.

o Cash or cash value of in-kind wages (such as meals, lodging, bonuses, and gifts)
(Refer to “Values of Meals and Lodging” on page 12).

e The amounts withheld from employee wages.
e Disbursement records showing payments to workers.

e Other information necessary to determine payments to workers.

You may use any payroll record that provides the information listed above. A sample Employee Earnings
Record is provided on page 47.

If you have any questions about the records you must keep, please refer to Information Sheet: Employment
Tax Audit Process (DE 231TA). This form is available on the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ta.pdf or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

Do you need hands-on experience on how to calculate taxes and complete payroll tax forms?

Consider attending one of the EDD State Payroll Tax Workshops. To learn more or to register for a seminar,
visit the website at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/ or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
888-745-3886.

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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WHAT PAYROLL RECORDS MUST BE KEPT?

Sample Employee Earnings Record

Date Hired/Rehired/

Employee’s Returned to Work
Name: from Layoff:
Social
Security Last Date Services
Number: Were Performed:
Reason for
For Year Ending: Separation:
Withholdings
State
V;/I'otal | Person_zra l Federal Net Wages
ages ncome H Income Tax (Total
Earned (Optional (Optional Wages
Cash Noncash (Cash + State for for Earned—
Wages Wages Noncash | Disability | Household Social Household With-
Pay Period Earned Earned Wages) Insurance | Employers) Security Medicare | Employers) | holdings)
Year Totals
Employer’s
Name:
Employee’s
Work Address:

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

Your Reserve Account

If you pay $1,000 or more in cash wages to household employees during a calendar quarter, you are required
to pay Unemployment Insurance (Ul) tax and Employment Training Tax (ETT) on each employee’s wages

up to the Ul taxable wage limit, each calendar year. Your Ul reserve account is a record of the Ul taxes you
have paid (credits) and the Ul benefits that the EDD has paid (charges) to your former employees who were
found eligible to receive Ul benefits or who qualified for reduced Ul benefits when working less than full-time
for you. Your Ul reserve account is a “paper” account for recordkeeping purposes and has no cash value.
The difference between the credits and charges is the reserve account balance, which may be positive or
negative. Your account balance is used only to determine your annual Ul tax rate. If you have a negative
reserve account balance as of June 30, you will not have to pay ETT the following calendar year.

Notices

When your former employee (“claimant”) applies for Unemployment Insurance (Ul) benefits, the last
employer reported by the claimant will receive a Notice of Ul Claim Filed (DE 1101C/Z or DE 1101ER).
Only the last employer of record will receive this notice to advise them that the claimant has filed a Ul claim,
and it includes the reason the claimant stated for no longer working.

If you have any information that would affect the claimant’s eligibility for Ul benefits, please complete the

form and return it to the EDD within 10 days of the date the notice was mailed to you. If you believe that your
Ul reserve account should not be charged for the benefits, it is important that you provide information by the
required deadline explaining why the claimant was terminated or the reasons the claimant gave for voluntarily
quitting. The DE 1101C/Z and DE 1101ER includes instructions that explain how to complete the form. Your
information is needed to gather relevant facts that will assist the EDD in determining if the claimant is eligible
to receive Ul benefits. Failure to respond timely may result in an increase to your Ul tax rate.

If you respond to the notice within the legally required 10 days of the notice date and provide information
why you think the claimant should not be eligible for Ul benefits, the EDD will send you a Notice of
Determination and/or Ruling (DE 1080EZ). The DE 1080EZ advises you whether or not the claimant is
eligible for Ul benefits and if your Ul reserve account will be charged for Ul benefits if the claimant is found
eligible based on the reason for separation from your employment. If you fail to respond to the DE 1101C/Z
or DE 1101ER, or respond untimely, you are not entitled to a determination and/or a ruling. However, if you
respond untimely and provide the reason you are submitting the eligibility information untimely, the EDD will
determine if you had good cause for not submitting your response timely. If there is a finding of good cause,
you will be entitled to a determination and/or ruling. Also, if you respond untimely with eligibility information,
the EDD will conduct a determination of eligibility for Ul benefits with the claimant regardless of whether you
are entitled to a notice of determination and/or a ruling.

If the EDD finds that a claimant is eligible to receive Ul benefits, a Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment
Insurance (Ul) Claim (DE 1545) is mailed to all base-period employers after the first benefit check is mailed
to the claimant. For more information, please refer to page 57. If you are a base-period employer, you will
receive a DE 1545. The DE 1545 will inform you of the wages used to establish the Ul claim and the amount
of potential charges to your Ul reserve account. All or part of the benefits paid to the claimant may be
charged to your Ul reserve account.

If you believe that your Ul reserve account should not be charged for the benefits, it is important that you
complete the form and return it by the required deadline to the EDD as indicated on the form. The DE 1545
includes instructions on how to complete the form. You will need to explain why your account should not
be charged for the Ul benefits. If you previously responded to a DE 1101C/Z or DE 1101ER for the same
employee concerning the same separation or other issue, you do not need to return the DE 1545.

www.edd.ca.gov
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

However, if you have new information that may affect the claimant’s eligibility for Ul benefits then you

must report the new information to the EDD. Please complete the DE 1545 timely by returning it within

15 calendar days from the mail date of the notice. If the wage information is incorrect, you must submit a
corrected copy of the wages within 20 days from the mail date of the notice. When a claimant is approved for
the California Training Benefits (CTB) program, a Notice of Potential Increased Liability for Training Extension
Benefits (DE 1545TE) is mailed to all base-period employers. This notice will inform you of the maximum
amount of potential benefits payable, including training extension benefits, and the amount of potential
charges to your Ul reserve account. If you believe that your Ul reserve account should not be charged for the
training benefits, your protest must be mailed by the date indicated on the form. The response should provide
information explaining why the claimant should not be eligible for CTB under the California Unemployment
Insurance Code section cited. If the DE 1545TE indicates that you previously received a favorable ruling, your
account will not be charged, and no response will be necessary.

To maintain the integrity of the Ul program, the EDD investigates cases of potential imposter fraud

and identity theft. As part of our investigation, you may receive a Request for Additional Information

(DE 1326ER) asking you to validate information provided to us by an individual who has filed a claim for Ul
benefits. The DE 1326ER is mailed to the last employer and base-period employers to request additional
identifying information to validate the identity of the individual. Your prompt response to the DE 1326ER will
protect your employer account from charges if the determination of eligibility results in a disqualification, and
will assist the EDD in maintaining the integrity of the Ul Fund.

Additional information on protecting your employer account from fraudulent Unemployment Insurance
claims, protecting your employees, and fighting imposter fraud can be found on the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/fraud_prevention.htm.

NOTE: You should keep copies of all your responses to the EDD notices for your records.

Notices of Determination, Ruling, or Modification

You will receive a notice from the EDD in response to the timely information reported regarding a claimant’s
eligibility for Ul benefits on the DE 1101C/Z, DE 1101ER, DE 1545, or DE 1545TE. Depending on the
specific circumstances involved, you will receive one of the following notices:

Notice Purpose
DE 1080EZ: Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101C/Z, DE 1101ER, DE 1545,
e Notice of or DE 1545TE, or who submits timely correspondence with claimant eligibility

Determination | information other than information regarding a voluntary quit or discharge.

e Notice of Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101C/Z or DE 1101ER with
Determination/ | information regarding a voluntary quit or discharge. This notice informs the
Ruling employer whether or not their reserve account will be charged for Ul benefits paid.
e Notice of Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1545 with information regarding
Ruling separation(s) that occurred within the base period. This notice informs the employer

whether or not their reserve account will be charged for Ul benefits paid.

DE 1080M: Sent to an employer who previously received a DE 1080EZ stating that the claimant
e Notice of was disqualified from receiving Ul benefits. The purpose of this form is to inform
Modification the employer that the claimant’s disqualification period has ended and the claimant

has met the criteria required to receive Ul benefits. This notice does not change the
original ruling issued to the employer.
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

Appeal Rights

You have the right to file an appeal if you do not agree with the EDD decision about:

e Former employee’s eligibility to receive Ul benefits.
e Charges made to your Ul reserve account due to paid Ul benefits.

You must send your written appeal to the EDD within 20 days of the mail date of the Notice of Determination
and/or Ruling (DE 1080EZ). The EDD will send you an acknowledgment of receipt and registration of your
appeal with the phone number for the Office of Appeal hearing the case. The Office of Appeal will schedule
a hearing with an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). Both you and your former employee will be notified of the
date, time, and place of the hearing at least ten days before the hearing date. If you are filing an appeal to a
Notice of Ruling (DE 1080EZ), the employee is not considered a party to the proceeding and is not notified
of the hearing. The ALJ will conduct a hearing and give all interested parties the opportunity to present

their evidence. The ALJ will consider the facts presented at the hearing and issue a written decision that is
mailed to all concerned parties.

If you do not agree with the ALJ’s decision, you may appeal to the California Unemployment Insurance
Appeals Board (CUIAB). The CUIAB reviews appeals to decisions rendered by ALJs. Both the CUIAB and
the ALJs operate impartially and independently of the EDD.

The CUIAB provides the following publications to assist in filing an appeal and preparing for an
administrative hearing:
e Office of Appeals Tax Hearing Information Pamphlet (DE 6412)
e Twenty-Seven Ways to Avoid Losing Your Unemployment Appeal (DE 1432)
e Unemployment Appeals — A Guide for Claimants, Employers, and Their Representatives (DE 1434)
e Appeals Procedure (DE 1433)

For copies of these publications, visit the State of California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board
website at www.cuiab.ca.gov/forms.shtm, or write to:

California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board
Sacramento Office of Appeals

2400 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 100

Sacramento, CA 95833-4224

If you have any questions about appeals:

e Access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/first_level_appeal.htm.
e Access the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board website at www.cuiab.ca.gov.

e Call the EDD Unemployment Insurance (Ul) Customer Service at 800-300-5616 or go to the EDD
website at www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/contact_ui.htm.
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Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T)

Each October, the annual Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T) is mailed to you. This
statement notifies you of the Unemployment Insurance (Ul) benefit charges and credits to your reserve
account from July 1 through June 30 of the previous fiscal year. Charges are itemized and based on

the Ul benefits paid to your former employees. Charges to your reserve account may increase your

Ul contribution rate for the next calendar year. It is important to review your statement carefully and respond
timely if you do not agree with the charges. You have 60 days from the mail date on your statement to
protest, in writing, any charges you believe are incorrect. An extension of up to 60 days may be granted
for “good cause” (refer to page 58) if your request is submitted before the protest deadline. When filing
your protest, you must include your EDD eight-digit employer account number, the claimant’s name,
Social Security number, claim date, the dollar amount, and the specific reason for protesting. Protests with
missing information will be returned. If you have address changes and/or agent updates, inform the EDD
immediately in order to receive your DE 428T timely.

For further information, refer to the Explanation and Instruction Sheet (DE 428C) included with your
DE 428T or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886. The DE 428C is also available on the
EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de428c.pdf.

Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of Ul Reserve Account (DE 2088)

The Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI)
tax rates and taxable wage limits may change each year. Each December, the EDD sends you a Notice
of Contribution Rates and Statement of Ul Reserve Account (DE 2088) to notify you of your tax rates and
taxable wage limits for the upcoming year. Your 2014 notice will show the items used to determine your
Ul rate and the balance in your Ul reserve account as of July 31, 2013.

Any item on the DE 2088 can be protested except the ETT and SDI tax rates, which are set by law. Your
protest must be filed in writing within 60 days of the mail date shown on the notice. An extension of up to
60 days may be granted for “good cause” (refer to page 58) if your request is submitted before the protest
deadline. When filing your protest, you must include your EDD employer account number, the specific
item(s) being protested, and why you are protesting.

Please mail your protest to:

Employment Development Department
Rate Management Group, MIC 4

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

For further information, refer to the Explanation of the Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of Ul
Reserve Account (DE 2088) for the period of January 1, 2014, to December 31, 2014 (DE 2088C) included
with the DE 2088, or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886. The DE 2088C is also available
on the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2088c.pdf.
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STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE

The State Disability Insurance (SDI) Program provides Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave
(PFL) benefits to eligible workers experiencing a loss of wages. The SDI Program is funded by mandatory
payroll deductions from employee wages.

Disability Insurance

Disability Insurance is a component of the SDI Program. The DI benefits are paid to eligible California
workers experiencing a loss of wages when they are unable to perform their regular or customary work due
to non-work-related illness or injury, pregnancy, or childbirth.

Paid Family Leave

Paid Family Leave is a component of the SDI Program. The PFL program provides benefits to individuals
who take time off from work to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, parent, or registered domestic partner
or to bond with a new child. Beginning on July 1, 2014, the PFL program will include time off to care for a
seriously ill grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or parent-in-law.

Claim Notices

When a DI claim is filed, the employer(s) shown on the DI claim form will receive a Notice to Employer of
Disability Insurance Claim Filed (DE 2503). When a PFL claim is filed, the employer(s) will receive a Notice
of Paid Family Leave (PFL) Claim Filed (DE 2503F). Complete and return the DE 2503 or DE 2503F within
two working days. You may also submit this information online through the SDI Online at
www.edd.ca.gov/disability.

Because employees pay for DI and PFL, the filing of a DI or PFL claim will not affect your Unemployment
Insurance reserve account. Therefore, you will not be notified of the claimant’s eligibility for DI/PFL benefits
for each occurrence of disability or family care leave as a result of the information supplied on the DE 2503
or DE 2503F.

If you have any questions about DI, please access the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/disability/disability_insurance.htm or call DI Customer Service at 800-480-3287.
If you have any questions about PFL, please access the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/disability/paid_family_leave.htm or call PFL Customer Service at 877-238-4373.

SDI Online

SDI Online is an online system available to employers, claimants, physicians/practitioners, and voluntary
plan third-party administrators for submission of Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) claim
information. Employers can securely submit employee information (wages earned, last day worked, etc.)
online. For more information on these online services, visit the SDI website at www.edd.ca.gov/disability.
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ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

Other EDD Programs and Services
America’s Job Center of Californias™
To find the nearest America’s Job Center of CaliforniasM, go online at: www.edd.ca.gov/office_locator.
State Disability Insurance (SDI)
Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) are benefits paid under the SDI Program.

The DI and PFL Customer Service is available through the toll-free phone numbers listed below:

DI: English.................. 800-480-3287 PFL: English........c.......... 877-238-4373
Spanish................. 866-658-8846 Spanish.................. 877-379-3819
TTY (nonverbal).... 800-563-2441 Cantonese. ............. 866-692-5595

Vietnamese............ 866-692-5596
Armenian ............... 866-627-1567
Tagalog......ccccvveee... 866-627-1569
Punjabi................... 866-627-1568

TTY (nonverbal)..... 800-445-1312

In addition, DI information is located on the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/disability/disability_insurance.htm
and PFL information at www.edd.ca.gov/disability/paid_family_leave.htm.

Unemployment Insurance (Ul)

The Ul customer service representatives are available through the toll-free phone numbers listed below.
When you call, an automated system will provide a menu of services. Press “5” for the employer menu
(available in English and Spanish) that provides Ul and Job Service information.

English.......ooovvviiiiii 800-300-5616
Spanish ...............c 800-326-8937
Cantonese........ccceeeeevvevnnnnnn. 800-547-3506
Mandarin ..........ccceevvvvnennnnn. 866-303-0706
Viethnamese...........cceevevvvvnnn. 800-547-2058
TTY (nonverbal)................... 800-815-9387

Customers who have filed a claim for Ul benefits may call the automated self-service number at
866-333-4606. Press “5” for the employer menu (available in English and Spanish) for Ul and America’s Job
Center of Californias™ information. You can access information about Ul claim processing, hiring assistance,
Ul fraud, California Payroll Tax information, and an explanation of various employer forms. Additionally,
there is a variety of Ul information available for employers and claimants located on the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov. Information on the EDD website includes answers to several of the most frequently
asked questions (FAQ).
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Other Agencies You Should Contact
For assistance with:

e Federal tax requirements, please access the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) website at
www.irs.gov, or call the IRS at 800-829-1040.

e Labor law requirements (such as overtime, minimum wage, and employee benefits), please
access the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) website at www.dir.ca.gov/dlse or call DIR’s
Labor Standards Enforcement Division (refer to the government listings in your local phone book).

e Workers’ Compensation requirements, please access the DIR website at www.dir.ca.gov/dwc
or call DIR’s Workers’ Compensation Division (refer to the government listings in your local phone
book).

Help Us Fight Fraud

The “underground economy” is comprised of those individuals and businesses that deal in cash

and/or use other schemes to conceal their activities and their true tax liability from government licensing and
taxing agencies. When businesses operate in the underground economy, they gain an unfair competitive
advantage over businesses that comply with the law because they do not pay Workers’ Compensation and
state and federal payroll taxes. This causes unfair competition in the marketplace and forces law-abiding
businesses to pay higher taxes. To address this, the EDD, in partnership with several other governmental
entities, follows up on leads and conducts on-site inspections of businesses throughout the state. To learn
more about the EDD Underground Economy Operation (UEO) programs, visit the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/underground_economy_operations.htm.

To report businesses that are paying workers undocumented cash payments, failing to carry Workers'’
Compensation insurance, or not complying with labor and licensing laws, please download and complete
an Underground Economy Operations Lead Referral/Complaint Form (DE 660 in English or DE 660/S/ in
Spanish) available at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660.pdf. You can request a DE 660 or contact
UEO at:

Hotline: 800-528-1783

Fax: 916-227-2772

E-mail: ueo@edd.ca.gov

Online: www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes (Select “Report Fraud”)

To obtain the brochure Paying Cash Wages “Under the Table” (DE 573CA in English or DE 573CA/S/ in
Spanish), access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm or
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.
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The EDD’s Commitment to You

The EDD is committed to applying the payroll tax laws of the State of California in an equitable and impartial
manner. Toward that goal, we have developed the following information to inform you of your rights during
the employment taxation process.

Your Rights as an Employer

As an employer, you have the right to:

Courteous and timely service from the EDD employees.

Expect that information maintained by the EDD be kept confidential and not published or made
available for public inspection. However, in certain instances, the law requires that this information
be shared with other governmental agencies. When those instances occur, the EDD closely follows
the law to protect your rights to confidentiality.

Call upon the EDD for accurate information and assistance and to have all your questions
answered.

Receive a clear and accurate account statement if the EDD believes you owe taxes.

Request a filing extension for up to 60 days. The law provides that the EDD may grant a filing
extension where “good cause” is shown for a delay. Refer to the Glossary for the definition of “good
cause.”

Request a waiver of penalty by showing “good cause” for filing a report or making a payment late.

An impartial audit and a full explanation of our findings if your business is selected for an audit.

Discuss the issue(s) with an EDD representative, supervisor, office manager, and the Taxpayer
Advocate Office if you disagree with an action taken by the EDD staff.

Appeal certain actions to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board.

The Employers’ Bill of Rights (DE 195) brochure has been developed to inform you of your rights during the
employment taxation process. To obtain a copy of the DE 195, access the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/del95.pdf or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.
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Office of the Taxpayer Rights Advocate

The Employment Development Department (EDD) has established the Office of the Taxpayer Rights
Advocate (OTRA), which is responsible for providing a clear, consistent focus on protecting the rights of the
taxpayer. Incorporated within the OTRA is the Taxpayer Advocate Office.

Taxpayer Advocate Office

The Taxpayer Advocate Office is responsible for protecting the rights of taxpayers during all phases of the
payroll tax administration, assessment, and collection process, while also protecting the interests of the state.

If you are unable to resolve a payroll tax problem with an EDD representative, supervisor, and office
manager, you may contact the Taxpayer Advocate Office for assistance. This office will review the issues
and facts of your case to ensure that your rights have been protected and work to facilitate a resolution to
your problem. Please contact the Taxpayer Advocate Office for further assistance:

Employment Development Department
Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93

P.O. Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Toll-free Phone: 866-594-4177
Phone: 916-654-8957
Fax: 916-654-6969

Protecting Your Privacy

The EDD recognizes that your privacy is a personal and fundamental right. The EDD values and protects
your privacy and places strict controls on the gathering and use of personally identifiable data. Your
personal information may not be disclosed, made available, or otherwise used for purposes other than those
specified at the time of collection, without your consent or as authorized by law or regulation.

Payroll tax and benefit information collected and maintained by the EDD is confidential. As an employer,
you have the right to obtain access to and inspect your records. You may also authorize your agent or
representative to access your records through a written authorization or a Power of Attorney Declaration
(DE 48). To obtain a copy of the DE 48, access the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de48.pdf or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

If you have further questions regarding your privacy rights, please contact the Tax Information Security
Office at 916-654-5981.
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Account Number

Annual Household
Employer

Base Period

Base Period, Alternate

(Un

Base Period Employer

Base Period, Standard

(Un

The Employment Development Department (EDD) eight-digit employer account
number assigned to each registered employer (for example, 000-0000-0).
Always refer to your employer account number when communicating with the
EDD. Omission of your account number may result in delays in processing
payments, reporting documents, and correspondence.

An employer, who pays $20,000 or less in wages in a calendar year and has
elected to pay taxes annually, sends an Employer of Household Worker(s)
Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholding (DE 3BHW) to the EDD quarterly.
An Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW) is
sent to the EDD with payment annually.

The base period consists of four calendar quarters of three months each. When a
base period begins and which calendar quarters are used depends on whether the
claim is for Unemployment Insurance (Ul) or State Disability Insurance (SDI) and
on what date the claim begins. For Unemployment Insurance, there are two types
of base periods: the Standard Base Period (see “Base Period Standard [UI]") and
the Alternate Base Period (see “Alternate Base Period [UI]"). There is an option of
an alternate base period when the standard base period is not monetarily valid.

The Ul Alternate Base Period is the last four completed calendar quarters prior
to the beginning date of the claim. The Alternate Base Period can only be used
if an individual cannot monetarily establish a valid Ul claim with the Standard
Base Period.

Employers who paid the earnings used to establish a Ul claim and calculate an
award.

The Ul Standard Base Period is the first four of the last five completed calendar
quarters prior to the beginning date of the claim.

California Unemployment The laws administering California’s Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment

Insurance Code (CUIC)

Cash Wages

Claim

www.edd.ca.gov
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Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and Personal Income Tax
(PIT) programs. The CUIC is available on the Internet at
www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html.

Checks and currency paid to people who work for you.

An application for Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Disability Insurance (DI) or
Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits:

e Ul —The process that establishes a Ul benefit year is called a new claim.
The weekly Continued Claim Form (DE 4581) is used by claimants to
certify for Ul benefits during the benefit year. The EDD has two new
methods that unemployed individuals may use to certify for Ul benefits.
Rather than filling out and submitting a paper DE 4581 form by mail,
individuals may use the EDD Tele-Cert®M to certify for benefits using the
phone, or the EDD Web-Cert™ to certify for Ul benefits through the EDD
website. After establishing a benefit year, a claimant may interrupt his or
her claim for a variety of reasons, for example, the claimant could receive
a disqualification, obtain intervening employment, or fail to continue to
certify for benefits. The claimant may request to reopen an existing claim
with a claim balance by filing an additional or reopened claim during the
benefit year.

Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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Claim (Cont.)

Claimant

Contributions

Disability Insurance (DI)

Domestic Employee

Domestic Employer

e DI - The application that establishes a DI benefit period is called a
first claim. Subsequent certifications on an active DI claim are called
continued claims. For each separate period of disability, a new first claim
must be filed.

e PFL — The application that establishes a PFL benefit period is called a
first claim. Subsequent certifications on that claim are called continued
claims. For each separate period of family care leave, a new first claim
must be filed.

A wage earner who files a claim for Ul, DI, or PFL benefits.

Payroll tax payments for Ul and ETT. The CUIC refers to taxes under its
provisions as “contributions.” In this guide, “contributions” are generally referred
to as “taxes.”

Benefits paid to eligible California workers experiencing a loss of wages when
they are unable to perform their regular or customary work due to a non-work-
related illness or injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. The DI is a component of the
State Disability Insurance (SDI) Program and funded through SDI employee
payroll withholdings.

Same as “Household Employee.”

Same as “Household Employer.”

Employment Training Tax A payroll tax of 0.1 percent (.001) used to fund job training for people likely to

(ETT)

e-Services for Business

Exempt Employment

Experience Rating

Good Cause

Household Employee

Household Employer

www.edd.ca.gov
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become unemployed or people who have been receiving Ul benefits.

Online access that allows employers to manage their employer payroll tax
accounts through the Internet. New employers can register for an EDD employer
payroll tax account online. Registered employers can access account and
payment information, file most returns and reports, including New Employee
Registry and Independent Contractor Reporting, pay tax deposits and tax
liabilities, review statements, correspondence, and e-mail messages, obtain tax
rates, change addresses, make payment arrangements, and close their account.

Employment specifically excluded from coverage under the California
Unemployment Insurance Code.

The system by which an employer’s Ul contribution rate is determined each
calendar year based on previous employment experience.

A substantial reason that provides a legal basis for an employer filing a tax
report or payment late. “Good cause” cannot exist unless there are unusual
circumstances or circumstances that could not be reasonably foreseen (for
example, earthquakes or floods). For more information, please call the Taxpayer
Assistance Center at 888-745-3886.

A person hired to work for wages in or around your home.

A person who hires one or more people to work for wages in or around his or
her home.

Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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New Employee
Registry (NER)

Noncash Wages

Paid Family Leave (PFL)

Payroll Period

Payroll Records

Payroll Taxes (State)
Personal Income Tax
(PIT) Wages

Personal Income Tax

(PIT) Withholding

Quarter

Quarterly Household
Employer

Reserve Account

SDI Online

Settlement Date
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California’s new-hire reporting program. Employers are required to report their
new or rehired employees within 20 days of their start-of-work date. Refer to the
Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) on page 43.

Payments other than cash that are made to people who work for you, for
example, meals and/or lodging you provide to your employee(s).

Benefits paid to eligible California workers unable to work due to the need to
care for a seriously ill family member or to bond with a new child. Beginning
on July 1, 2014, the PFL program will include time off to care for a seriously ill
grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or parent-in-law. PFL is a component of the
State Disability Insurance (SDI) Program and funded through SDI employee
payroll withholdings.

The frequency you pay wages: daily, weekly, biweekly (every two weeks), or
semi-monthly (twice a month), etc.

Information you keep regarding wages paid to each employee.

Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability
Insurance (SDI), and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding.

All wages paid that are subject to California PIT, even if no PIT is withheld. For
a calendar year, an employee’s PIT wages should match the amount reported
in Box 16 (state wages, tips, etc.) of the employee’s Internal Revenue Service
Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2).

Commonly known as state income tax, which you are not required to withhold
from your household employees’ wages. You and your employees may
voluntarily agree to withhold PIT.

A three-month period in a calendar year, as shown below:

Quarter Months in Quarter
1st January, February, March
2nd April, May, June
3 July, August, September
4t October, November, December

A household employer who pays more than $20,000 in accumulated wages in

a calendar year or who has not elected to pay taxes annually. Sends payroll
taxes (with a DE 88) and Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
(DE 9) and a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation)
(DE 9C) to the EDD quarterly.

A book account kept for each tax-rated employer to measure employment
experience and set the employer’s Ul tax rate. Your Ul reserve account is a
“paper” account for recordkeeping purposes and has no cash value.

An online system available to employers, claimants, physicians/practitioners,
and voluntary plan administrators for submission of Disability Insurance (DI) and
Paid Family Leave (PFL) claim information.

The date an Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) transaction is completed and
posted on the books of the Federal Reserve Bank and the state’s bank account.
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SSN

State Disability
Insurance (SDI)

Subject Employer

Subject Quarter

Subject Wages

Taxable Wage Limit

Unemployment
Insurance (Ul)

Wages

Withholding
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Also known as Social Security number. All employee wage records and claim
actions are filed under this number, rather than by name.

The SDI Program provides DI and PFL benefits to eligible workers experiencing
a loss of wages. The SDI Program is funded by mandatory payroll withholdings
from employee wages.

An employer who is liable under the rules and regulations of the California
Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC).

Calendar quarter when an employer first meets the requirements for reporting
their payroll taxes.

Subject wages are used to determine Unemployment Insurance (Ul), Disability
Insurance (DI), and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits. The DI and PFL are
components of SDI. Generally, all wages are considered subject wages,
regardless of the Ul and SDI taxable wage limits. Refer to inside front cover of
this guide for current rates and taxable wage limits.

The maximum amount of an employee’s wages that certain taxes apply to in a
calendar year. For example, in 2014, the taxable wage limit for Ul and ETT is
$7,000. Therefore, an employer’s Ul and ETT tax rate applies to the first $7,000
paid to each worker during the calendar year. The taxable wage limit for SDI

is $101,636. Since the SDI tax rate is 1.0 percent (.01), the maximum 2014

SDI tax on any one employee is $1,016.36. There is no limit on the taxability of
wages for California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding purposes.

Benefits paid to eligible California workers who are unemployed. Claimant(s)
must meet specific eligibility requirements in order to receive benefits, which are
funded by employer payroll taxes.

All payments made to people who work for you whether paid by check, cash, or
the reasonable cash value of noncash payments, such as meals and lodging.

Money deducted from your employees’ wages for State Disability Insurance
(SDI) and California Personal Income Tax (PIT). You must send SDI and PIT
withholdings to the EDD at least quarterly, unless you are an Annual Household
Employer.

Taxpayer Assistance Center 888-745-3886
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The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon
request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to
be made by calling 888-745-3886 (voice). TTY users, please call 800-547-9565.
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