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The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. 
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon 
request to individuals with disabilities. Requests 
for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to 
be made by calling 1‑888‑745‑3886 (voice) or TTY 
1‑800‑547‑9565.  

Your Employees Face Consequences 
When Paid “Under the Table”
• When they file for UI or SDI, their benefits 

may be delayed or denied.

• They may be subject to state and federal 
income tax audits for not reporting 
the wages.

• They will not have check stubs, a Wage and 
Withholding Statement (Form W-2) (irs.gov), 
or a way to verify their earnings.

Paying Cash Wages “Under the Table” 
Affect California Taxpayers Who Pay 
Their Taxes
Taxpayers assume a greater burden to 
support public services such as:

• UI

• SDI

• Schools

• Law enforcement

For more information about state payroll 
tax reporting, please visit the EDD 
Payroll Taxes (edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes), 
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center 
at 1‑888‑745‑3886, or visit your local 
Employment Tax Office (edd.ca.gov/Office_
Locator) listed in the California Employer’s 
Guide (DE 44) (PDF) (edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_
ctr/de44) and at the EDD (edd.ca.gov).

To report instances of cash wages paid “under the 
table,” please call 1‑800‑528‑1783.

You do not have to provide your name if you wish 
to remain anonymous.

“Under the Table”

http://www.irs.gov
http://www.irs.gov
https://edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes
http://edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator
https://edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf
https://edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf
http://www.edd.ca.gov


Paying Cash Wages “Under the Table”
“Under the table” means paying wages 
to employees by cash, check, or other 
compensation with the intent to evade paying 
payroll taxes.

How Some Justify Paying 
“Under the Table”
• It is a common practice in some industries.

• Cannot afford the tax and insurance expenses 
associated with payroll.

• The reduced expenses allow the business to be 
more competitive.

• Employees request no withholding on their pay.

• It simplifies bookkeeping.

Why You Shouldn’t Pay Cash Wages 
“Under the Table”
It is illegal. This practice may result in a large 
unplanned liability, including substantial penalty 
and interest charges for failing to comply with 
reporting requirements. You could also face 
criminal prosecution.

Paying “Under the Table” Does Not 
Avoid Paying Payroll Tax Expenses
Let’s compare two employers: Employer A is 
properly reporting. Employer B is not, and is 
undergoing a payroll audit.

Employer A is reporting yearly payroll of 
$100,000 (five employees at $20,000 each). 
The state payroll tax expense to this employer 
is for the Unemployment Insurance (UI) and 
Employment Training Tax (ETT) up to the wage 
limit of $7,000 per employee.

1 SDI — Normally withheld from the worker.
2 PIT may be abated. Refer to Information Sheet: Personal Income 

Tax Adjustment Process (DE 231W) (PDF) 
(edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231w).

3 Sections 1112.5 (15%), 1126 (15%), 1128(a) (50%), 1128(b) (50%), 
and 13052.5 (12.3%) of the California Unemployment Insurance 
Code (CUIC) (leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes). The penalties 

Employer B paid the same $100,000 in wages for 
the year. However, this employer paid cash wages 
under the table, was audited, and did not keep 
records of payments made to specific employees. 
Therefore, this employer could not prove there 
were only five employees. An Employment 
Development Department (EDD) auditor had to 
assess taxes on the full $100,000 in wages paid.

As you can see, Employer B would pay 20 
times more in state payroll taxes, penalty, and 
interest than Employer A. This liability will grow 
substantially when other governmental agencies 
become aware of the employer’s illegal activity. 

The survival of your business could depend on 
your ability to pay your tax liabilities, penalties, 
and interest.

listed in this example do not represent all possible penalties that 
may be charged.

4 Section 1126.1 of the CUIC ($100 per employee).
5 Section 13052 of the CUIC ($50 per estimated employee).
6 Section 1112.1 of the CUIC ($50 for failure to file return per 

quarter) effective January 1, 2019.
7 Calculations are based on 2022 tax rates. Tax rates, interest, and 

penalties are subject to change each year.
8 The interest rate is adjusted semiannually based on the short‑

term federal rates in January and July of each year. Visit the EDD 
Interest Rate Web Page (edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/interest_rate.
htm) for more information.

* Includes Paid Family Leave (PFL).

Note: The UI and ETT are paid by you, the 
employer. The SDI and PIT are paid by your 
employees. However, if you fail to withhold 
employee‑paid taxes, they become your 
responsibility.

If Your Employees Request Cash Wages 
“Under the Table”
• Deny the request. This is not an option. You have 

a legal obligation to withhold payroll taxes and 
report your employees’ wages.

• If your employees are injured on or off the job, 
they have the right to file a claim for workers’ 
compensation or SDI benefits. If your employees’ 
wages have not been reported, an investigation 
by the EDD may follow.

Paying “Under the Table” Does Not 
Reduce Your Bookkeeping Burden
Initially this may be the case, but when the EDD 
finds unreported wages you will be required to 
reconstruct payroll records for an audit. If fraud 
or intent to evade the law is found, the audit 
could go back to the beginning of your business 
and you could end up paying far more preparing 
for an audit alone than you would have paid by 
reporting correctly from the beginning.

Information Table Employer A Employer B

UI/ETT (3.5%) $1,225.00 $3,500.00
1 State Disability Insurance* (SDI)
(1.1%)

1,100.00

2 Personal Income Tax (PIT) (6%) 6,000.00

3 Penalty (142.3% ‑ see footnote) 15,083.80

4 Non‑Registered Penalty 500.00
5 Failure to Issue Withholding 
Statement Penalty

250.00

6 Failure to File Electronic Return 
Penalty

200.00

7 Total due for 1 year $1,225.00
$26,633.80

plus 
interest8
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