Five things to
know about
California Paid
Family Leave

1. You could qualify for eight weeks

of partial wage replacement.

California Paid Family Leave (PFL) provides up to 8 weeks of
partial wage replacement benefits to workers every 12 months.
Your PFL time can be split and doesn’t have to be taken all at
once.

2. This is your money.
Funding for PFL benefits comes from California State
Disability Insurance, which is a tax most of us already pay
(noted as “CASDI” on most paystubs). This is your money, not
a government subsidy. Citizenship and immigration status do
not affect eligibility.

3. You could receive approximately
60 to 70 percent of your salary.
If you paid California State Disability Insurance taxes in the
past 5 to 18 months, you could qualify. You can estimate your
weekly benefit amount using the Disability Insurance and PFL

Calculator (edd.ca.gov/PFL_Calculator).

4. It’s not just for bonding with a newborn.
You can use PFL to bond with a new child entering the family
(either through birth, adoption, or foster care placement).
Leave must be taken within 12 months of a child joining
the family. You can use PFL to care for a seriously ill family
member (child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild,
sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner). You can also
use PFL to participate in a qualifying event resulting from a
family member’s (spouse, registered domestic partner, parent,
or child) military deployment to a foreign country.

5. It’s worth it.
PFL claims require documentation and can take a couple
weeks to process. Take the time to be there for the moments
that matter.
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Visit CaliforniaPaidFamilyLeave.com
to learn more.

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services
are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services,
aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 1-866-490-8879 (voice).
TTY users, please call the California Relay Service at 711.
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