FAQs - California New Employee Registry
All California employers are required to report information about new employees to the California New Employee Registry. This includes all businesses, state and local government employers, nonprofit organizations, and household employers, regardless of the number of employees.
Every newly hired or rehired employee must be reported to the California New Employee Registry. This includes employees of all ages, those who work less than a full day, part-time and seasonal employees, and those who discontinue their employment prior to the 20th day of work.
If you acquire an ongoing business and employ any of the former owner’s workers, these employees are considered new hires and should be reported to the New Employee Registry. If you change your entity type (sole proprietorship to partnership, partnership to corporation, etc.), it is not necessary to report the workers that continue working for you.
No. There are no exceptions.
For the purpose of the Registry, any employee that is rehired after a separation of at least sixty (60) consecutive days must be reported within twenty (20) days of the start-of-work date, which is the first day of work.
The start-of-work date is the first day your newly hired or rehired employee started working.
Employers may use any of the following to report new employee information:
- Submit a Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) electronically with, e-Services for Business. (Minimum browser requirements: Best viewed using Internet Explorer 8.0 or higher. If you do not have any of these versions, they can be downloaded from Microsoft); or
- Submit a paper Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34). A fill-in DE 34 can be downloaded if you have the Adobe Reader. Forms may also be ordered through the Online Forms and Publications page or by calling our toll-free number 1-888-745-3886 or visiting your nearest Employment Tax Office. You may also print your data directly from your computer to the DE 34 by following the Print Specifications; or
- Submit a copy of the employee’s W-4 form, but you must add the employee’s start-of-work date, your California employer account number and Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) to the W-4.
- You may create your own form with all of the required information.
You are required by law to report the following:
- Employer’s business name, contact person name, address, California employer account number, and Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
- Employee’s full name, social security number, address, and start-of-work date.
- Can I use my Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) to report to the New Employee Registry?
No. The DE 9C is a quarterly report of all employees. The correct reporting form is the DE 34, which meets the requirements of the law for reporting new employees within 20 calendar days of the employee’s first day of work.
You may send the information to the New Employee Registry using, e-Services for Business. See How do I report? for instructions on obtaining the DE 34.
Employment Development Department
PO Box 997016 MIC 96
West Sacramento CA 95799-7016
You must report the new employee information no later than 20 calendar days from the employee’s first day of work. Employers who report electronically must submit two monthly transmissions which are not less than 12 days or more than 16 days apart.
Yes. Because wages were earned, a New Employee Registry report must be submitted. Even though the employment period was short, the reported information may be the key to locating a noncustodial parent.
No. You only have to report when an employee begins his or her employment with you.
Employers who fail to report the hiring or rehiring of an employee, as required and within the time required, may be assessed a penalty of $24 for each failure to report or $490 if the failure to report is an intentional agreement between the employer and employee to not supply the required information or to supply a false or incomplete report.
You must report all employees who work in California, regardless of where they live.
Multistate employers that file electronically may elect to report all new hires to one state in which they have employees. The State of California encourages multistate employers to report California employees to the California New Employee Registry. Reporting the information to California’s New Employee Registry will help employers reduce unemployment insurance costs by detecting and preventing unemployment insurance overpayments and fraud. This election can be made by notifying the federal Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of Child Support Enforcement. See the “Multistate Employer Issues” section on the New Hire Reporting – Answers to Employers Questions Web page for information on how to notify the Office of Child Support Enforcement office. Multistate employers electing to report all new hires to California must comply with California’s program requirements. Employers may file electronically with e-Services for Business.
The California New Employee Registry maintains a hotline with trained customer service staff to help employers to understand and meet the New Employee Registry requirements. For assistance or to order forms, please call 916-657-0529, Monday to Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. (PST).
For assistance, call 1-888-745-3886 or visit your local Employment Tax Office.