Skip to Main Content
Employment Development Department
Employment Development Department

New Hire Reporting

New Employee Registry – California’s New Hire Reporting Program

As an employer, you play a vital role in the success of California’s New Employee Registry.

Fact Sheet

Children of child support debtors often become dependent on public assistance (welfare) because a parent does not provide financial support as obligated. Under the New Employee Registry program:

Effective January 1, 2001, businesses and government entities are required to report specific independent contractor information to the EDD. Like the New Employee Registry, Independent Contractor Reporting will increase child support collection by helping to locate parents who are delinquent in their child support obligations.

Reporting Requirements

All California employers must report all of their new or rehired employees who work in California to the New Employee Registry within twenty (20) days of their start-of-work date, which is the first day of work. Any employee that is rehired after a separation of at least sixty (60) consecutive days must also be reported within 20 days. Employers who report electronically must submit two files each month that are not less than 12 days and not more than 16 days apart. No report should be submitted if there are no new or rehired employees to report..

The following information must be reported:


Employers who fail to report the hiring or rehiring of an employee, as required and within the time required, may be assessed a penalty of $24 for each failure to report or $490 if the failure to report is an intentional agreement between the employer and employee to not supply the required information or to supply a false or incomplete report.

Electronic Reporting

For additional information regarding New Employee Registry electronic filing, please review the Electronic Filing Guide for New Employee Registry (DE 340).

Reporting Formats

Employers may use any of the following to report new employee information:

To report new employees, mail or fax information to:

Employment Development Department
Document Management Group, MIC 96
P.O. Box 997016
West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016


Multistate Employers

Employers who hire employees in more than one state may elect to report electronically all newly hired employees to one state in which they have employees. This will relieve employers of the need to report new hires to several different states. Multistate employers who choose to file to one state must notify the federal Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of Child Support Enforcement. See Reporting Formats for information on electronic reporting.

For more information, visit the California Department of Child Support (DCSS) Employer Resource Center website.

To contact the New Employee Registry Hotline, call 916-657-0529, Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. (PST).

New Employee Registry Hotline

To contact the New Employee Registry Hotline, call 916-657-0529, Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. (PST).

Frequently Asked Questions

Thank you for your support of the California New Employee Registry program. Your cooperation will make an important difference in the lives of many children in need.