LEAP Program

The Limited Examination and Appointment Program (LEAP) is a recruitment and hiring program for individuals with disabilities. It provides other ways to demonstrate qualifications for employment rather than the traditional state civil service exam process.

Applying for LEAP Certification

The Department of Rehabilitation (DOR) must certify that you meet the disability requirements to be eligible for a LEAP class exam. You can contact the DOR and speak with a counselor to find out how to obtain LEAP certification. To find a local DOR office, here are a few different options:

If you are a Rehabilitation Client, contact your counselor to determine your eligibility.

Applying for LEAP Exams

Once you have obtained your LEAP certification from the DOR, you can apply for LEAP class examinations. In addition, you can continue to apply for traditional State examinations.

Here is a listing of current LEAP exams being offered. Once on this page, enter “LEAP” in the search engine.

Applying for Job Openings

Once you have taken a LEAP exam for a particular classification, you will be placed on a LEAP hiring list and are eligible to start applying for job openings in that particular classification. To search for job openings, visit California State Jobs and search for that classification.

For more information on how to apply at EDD, visit How to Get a State Job. Individuals with disabilities should consider using the CalCareers job search engine dedicated to LEAP.

LEAP on the Job Testing

The LEAP examination has two parts:

Part I – Readiness Evaluation: Your education, experience and personal qualifications will be evaluated through a competitive examination process to determine your readiness to work. The type of examination will be described on the examination bulletin.

Part II – Job Examination Period: Once hired, you will serve a temporary two to four month on-the-job performance evaluation period. A written review will be given every month of your evaluation period. If you meet performance standards, you pass your examination.

After successfully passing your examination, you will then be appointed to the regular civil service classification. The appointment could be permanent or limited term, depending on the position. You will then start the standard probationary period for that classification.