Holidays

All EDD payroll tax offices are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except on state holidays.

When the due date for reporting or paying payroll taxes is on any of the below legal holidays, the due date is extended to the next business day. Refer to the table below for details on how 2019 legal holidays will affect payroll tax due dates.

Observed Legal Holidays
Holiday Date Observed in 2019 Next Business Day in 2019 EDD Offices Open
New Year’s Day January 1 January 2 (Wednesday) No
Martin Luther King Jr. Day January 21 January 22 (Tuesday) No
Lincoln’s Birthday February 12 February 13 (Wednesday) Yes
Presidents’ Day February 18 February 19 (Tuesday) No
Cesar Chavez Day April 1 April 2 (Tuesday) No
Emancipation Day April 16 April 17 (Wednesday) Yes
Good Friday April 19 April 22 (Monday) Yes
Memorial Day May 27 May 28 (Tuesday) No
Independence Day July 4 July 5 (Friday) No
Labor Day September 2 September 3 (Tuesday) No
California Admission Day September 9 September 10 (Tuesday) Yes
Native American Day September 27 September 30 (Monday) Yes
Columbus Day October 14 October 15 (Tuesday) Yes
Veterans Day November 11 November 12 (Tuesday) No
Thanksgiving Day (and the day after) November 28 & 29 December 2(Monday) No
Christmas Day December 25 December 26 (Thursday) No